Khoo’s interesting book review on Gurus for Hire

Oct 8, 2012 | Views: 761

Dear friends,

A few years back, I gave a series of teachings on the different roles in Dharma centres, the Guru, the disciples, sponsors, assessing which centre is best suited for you… and many other subjects that a modern day practitioner must know.

Kechara’s publishing arm then published a book based on the teachings, entitled Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale. This book is important for all who are attached to a Dharma center.

I had Khoo who just joined full-time, Khoo read the book and write a concise report on it. Below is the report by Khoo who spent intensive hours to complete this report. I thank Khoo who took the effort to complete this task given to him. I admire people who do as they say and are always consistent…Read his review as I find it very interesting and it might help you to understand the book better.

I invite everyone to read the report below and let me know your views in the comments section.

Tsem Rinpoche

 


 

Book Report for “Gurus For Hire”

Gurus For Hire is a book that recorded a series of talks given by His Eminence Tsem Tulku Rinpoche, and edited by Jamie Khoo, a student of His Eminence.

His Eminence Tsem Tulku Rinpoche is a high incarnate Lama of Gaden Shartse Monastery and Spiritual Guide of Kechara Buddhist Organisation in Malaysia, known by his unconventional ways of bringing Dharma to the modern spiritual seeker.

Gurus For Hire is compiled with 4 parts which are Motivation, Guru, Centre, and Self.

 

Motivation

Motivation is a very important part of how and why we should set a good motivation when listening to Dharma teachings. His Eminence uses the example of the 3 pots that represent the 3 types of wrong approach towards listening to Dharma talks, and our responsibility to share the teachings.

This section also explains the prayer of Guru Yoga, which comprised the 84,000 teachings of Lord Buddha, and it is a prayer to start our day with good motivation.

 

Guru

“ No one has ever become Enlightened without a teacher.” This is how important a teacher is in our life. We need teachers in everything in our life, and Dharma is no exception.

This section serves as a perfect guide for people who are looking for a Guru, as well as people who already have a Guru. It explains how we identify our Root Guru, taking a Guru, The Fifty Verses on Guru Devotion – The outer protocol towards Guru, Guru Devotion with Nine Attitudes – The inner qualities of a Dharma student, the Samaya – the honest, pure, real relationship with the Guru, and our spiritual commitment towards our Guru.

We should always practice the Guru devotion because our Guru is the person who can guide us the Enlightenment. But before Enlightenment, we have a lot of non-virtuous acts that we may be aware of or not aware of, we have a lot of bad karma waiting to jump on us, and that is exactly why we are still in samsara. The Guru’s mission before He can liberate us is to help us in overcoming these non-virtuous acts, purify our bad karma. But this will never be an easy job for the Guru, and will never be a joyous experience for the student. This requires the Guru to use different methods including giving us instructions which we feel reluctant to do, being harsh or loud to us, or even just ignoring us. The Guru never has to do that if He only wants to benefit Himself. He is doing these because He wants to save us.

So as the student, we must believe in Guru for His intention in doing these, we must prepare ourselves outer and inner to get through this. Outer, we have a lot of obstacles, things and people who will try to separate us from our Guru; inner, we have all the delusion, anger, ignorance to separate us from our Guru too. So, the faith we have for Guru is very important. Our samaya to Guru must be pure and clean, so that our connection with Guru will be strong. Guru devotion is not for the Guru to feel good. It is for us to help the Guru in helping us. If we give up on Guru Devotion, we give up on Enlightenment.

The story of H.E. Tsem Tulku Rinpoche with His root Guru, H.H. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche in Los Angeles when He was 17 years old is a very good example of Guru Devotion. The achievements of Rinpoche now are the result of Guru Devotion.

 

Centre

We have Dharma Centre here instead of Monastery, that is because we do not have the qualified conditions and people to build the monastery. Our environment here does not have mass Buddhist consciousness. And we do not have sufficient knowledge, support, and ability to run a monastery. So we built Dharma centre for people to learn, study, practice and meditate, so that when we have created the awareness of the Guru and Dharma, and we are capable, we can build the monastery. We have all kinds of people in the Dharma centre. We come here for different purposes. But one thing for sure is, we all have problems. We must be firm in our objective in coming the Dharma centre, we must help each other but we must also not be affected by the problems of others.

We must learn up knowing that we are lack in Dharma knowledge. We support the Guru and centre all the way because the Guru build the centre here with only mission that is to help us. We must offer whatever ability we have in the growth of the centre either by full time or volunteering. And we must encourage people to join the centre and take care of them. However, we must also respect other centre and their Guru because they are here for the same purpose, to spread the Dharma. When we start bashing others centre and Guru, we create obstacles for Dharma to spread here. So, if we meet members of other centre, we must encourage them to contribute to their centre. There is no better or worse Guru, as all Gurus are of same qualities if they are here to spread Dharma.

When we conduct ourselves good, when we followed our Guru’s instructions well, when we learnt and practice what our Guru had taught us, we maintain clean and pure samaya with our Guru. So, when the Guru reincarnate, our strong connection with Him will make Him comes back and continue teaching us. And by that time, everything that the Guru prepared for us, and we are capable of maintaining it until He comes back, He can start spreading the Dharma faster and does not have to go through long time to build the centre again.

 

State 10 points that hit you hard and why?

 
1. If books were enough, then the Buddha would have emanated as books and he would never have spoken a single word of teaching. (page 42)

We always thought that by reading books, we can obtain enough knowledge, which is true. But knowledge itself doesn’t guide us to reach Enlightenment. With our education, we may be able to read the text but without someone to elaborate, we cannot understand what the meaning of the text is. Even we did, it will be based on our assumption. But Dharma is not about knowledge and Dharma cannot be assume, it is about the life of others and ours, we cannot be assume on this, we must be sure of this; Dharma is correct way of applying knowledge. Dharma is wisdom. For Dharma, we need our Guru, our linage which the correct teaching from Buddha Shakyamuni Himself, passed down through all the Great Masters. And all these Great Master devoted their whole life again and again to keep it pure so that we who do not have the merit to be with Buddha Shakyamuni will still have the merit to listen to His teachings.

Secondly, Buddha Shakyamuni did not write the text Himself in our language. The text was written by Great Masters in Sanskrit, and then translated to Tibetan and other languages. It is known that our languages nowadays cannot fully translate the full, correct meanings of some of the important Sanskrit words used to record Buddha’s teachings. Hence, we need Guru to explain and elaborate for us to understand it.

Thirdly, our mind is control by our emotions, so do our understanding. Same sentence viewed by different people will have different meanings. Even same sentence viewed by same person under different emotions will have different meanings. The text may be correct, but we cannot totally trust our understanding since we do not have the mindset that is free of emotions and disturbance. Of course it is very important to read the books and obtain the knowledge first. But to be sure of our understanding, we must need Guru to guide us.

 
2. Our Guru is our battleground. (page 65)

A lot of people including myself, coming to Dharma centre and listen to Guru’s teachings, but treating it like a playground. We come here because we want to feel good. There is no wrong to feel good knowing that we will be liberate if we follow the Dharma correctly. But our way of feeling good is to feed our ego, our ignorance. By coming here, I was thinking; at least I did something good, so I don’t have to worry about going to hell (which I knew now I was underrating the Karma). I wanted people to know that I am volunteering for Dharma centre so that we will admire me, say good things about me, we only wanted to hear the Guru praises us, or say and do something that make us happy.

The Guru did do that because He does not want to scare us away as we were not ready for the training. If we send a newly recruited rookie into a battleground, even if we give him a powerful weapon, he will be defeated because he doesn’t know how to use the weapon. Even if he knows how to use the weapon, he will be stunned by the force of the enemy who are much well trained than him.

Guru prepares us for our battleground which our enemy is our own delusion, illusions, hatred, anger and all the ten non-virtuous acts that have been trained by ourselves since many life times. For this, we must follow the training from Guru 100%, as a slightest mistake can lead us to be defeated, because our enemy knows us every well. The toughness of the training from Guru is equivalent to the toughness of our enemy. All these trainings from Guru are to protect our life. There is no other motive.

 
3. Consistency comes from commitment. Commitment comes from care. Care comes from understanding that this is really important. (page 80)

I like this sentence because it ready explains very clearly why we should be consistent, and why we cannot be consistent. Consistency without understanding what is important will not be consistent. Our consistency should not be broken by someone who does not understand what is important to us, or something that is not important to us. If it is broken, it only means it is not as important as compare to the people or things that cause it.

As we study Dharma, we knew that the most and only important thing is to be Enlightened. We must be consistent in doing the Guru’s instructions to us as those are the things we know for sure it will lead us to Enlightenment.

 
4. We should not run away from our responsibilities or escape his instructions. We should not avoid him because we cannot do it out of our laziness or any of the delusions. Also, if our Guru tells us something, we should not do it just because we are scared that we will be punished if we don’t, and that there will be bad karma. We should try to understand and think about his intention for giving us these instructions. (page 92)

If we treat our Guru the same as Buddha, then we must also know that our Guru is able to see what is the Karma coming to us. By Guru giving instructions to do something, we must always bear in mind that He is doing it out of our own good, to protect us, ,to prepare us, and to make us grow. There must be something that we will gain from follow Guru’s instruction. If we cannot understand the Guru’s intention at that moment, we must always know that our Guru will never enslave us. He will never give instructions that will benefit only Himself. The instruction will always be to bring benefits to others and us. Of course there will be bad karma if we do not follow the instruction, but the bad karma is not because of our Guru, the bad karma is there coming whether or not we meet our Guru.

 
5. When I was young, my Gurus never let me go to other teachings anywhere. They would say outright, “No. You don’t need to go. Have you learnt everything I taught you?” (page 96)

This can be the example of the pot faces upwards with holes. A lot of us here like to listen to Dharma teachings. Whenever there is an event, we always ask around “Will the Guru be coming?”, whereas we haven’t even start practicing what our Guru have taught us. In fact, most of the time, we’ve forgot about it. We just remembered the funny jokes that made us laugh. As long as we don’t fix the hole in our pot, there will be no result no matter how many Dharma teachings we attend. If we don’t even learn and practice what our Guru taught us, then what use is that we go for other teachings? The Guru will give us the teachings when we are ready, when we have been practicing what He has taught. If we have not practice what we have learnt, and still keep receiving new teachings. Then the teachings we received before but not practicing will pushed away and we will forget about it because we haven’t make it part of our lives. Practicing is our action to repair the holes. Without that, anything goes in will comes out.

 
6. Home is a place where you can find home, yourself. (page 107)

I have always thought that my home, the place I lived with my family is my home where I can be myself. This sentence makes me wake up. My that home is actually a home to my laziness, my ego, and my ignorance, I am not myself when I was there. It has become a home for my laziness, ego and ignorance, where when they were there, nothing will force them to go away, they were safe there as I allowed them to grow there. In fact I keep myself outside when I was at that home. If we practice Dharma, everywhere is our home, as every sentient being is our family.

 
7. If you are hanging off the edge of a cliff and I need help to get you off, I will need to scream very loudly for help. (page 123)

We are all walking on the edge of a cliff, one misstep we will fall down to three lower realms. Guru uses any methods just to get us off the cliff. Some people will listen when He uses the gentle way, some will only listen when He use the wrathful way. For those who do not listen in any way and are hanging off the edge, what else can a Guru do? He will never let us fall down the cliff, He must scream for help. When He screams, we must know that we are hanging off the edge of the cliff already. We must never let go and prepare to receive any help from Guru. If we are thinking Guru is coming to harm us and let go of our hand, then we are bringing this to ourselves.

 
8. A Dharma centre’s growth depends on our individual growth. If we do not individually grow, the centre will never grow. (page 129)

I always thought that the growth of a Dharma centre depends on the number of their members, the amount of the sponsors, and the products in the centre. But when I think deeper, all these are depend on the individual in the centre. Most of us cannot force the other person to grow unless we grow ourselves. It is only when we grow; we have the power to inspire others to grow. No one likes to be left behind, when one person grows, the other will catch up, and otherwise they will feel left out. And we can set an example for them to catch up with us.

It is when we grow; we will be able to attract more members as they can see the quality of us in the centre. It is when we grow; the sponsors will be inspired to donate to our works. Most donors do not donate because of the centre, as there are hundreds of Dharma centre out there. They will consider donating when they see the quality of the people who approached them. And when they got the chance to visit the centre, and see with their own eyes so many people with qualities are helping out there, it will strengthen their faith and they will be relief knowing that their donations are going to be put in good use. And this will even make them decided to donate more!

Quality of products will definitely depends on the quality of the people. Good quality product produced by people who are sincere, hardworking, and responsible. People without these qualities will never produce quality products.

 
9. You are not doing anyone a favour, you are doing yourself a favour. (page 135)

The Guru is not here because He wanted to be here with us. He is here with us because we need Him to be here to teach us, to save us. Buddha did not teach Dharma because He wanted people to listen to Him. Buddha taught Dharma because the people needed the Dharma. The Dharma centre is not here just because it can make profit, most Dharma centre are not profitable. The Dharma centre is here because we needed the centre. The centre is here because of the compassion of our Guru to make us stay with the Dharma, to allow us to have the chance to collect merit by bringing others to Dharma, by offer to the Three Jewels, by serving the holy place. So, the Guru, Dharma and centre are doing us a big favour, and we are just doing ourselves a favour. We do not do Guru, Dharma and centre any favour.

 
10. When I receive the gift, I think of it as their only link to the Dharma. (page 156)

This is what I’ve never think of. That receiving can be a giving also. At some time when the people who like us gave us gift, and we feel guilty that we have nothing to give them in return. But if we can offer their gift to the Three Jewels, we can indirectly make them collect merit for themselves, make them connect to Three Jewels. To me, this is the greatest gift we can give to them in return to their kindness.

 
What else could have been raised more in the book?

  1. It will be great if we can include the picture of Lama Tsongkhapa’s Guru Yoga and a detail explanation of Dissolution. This will definitely benefit a lot of people.
  2. It will be interesting to include the photo of Rinpoche with H.H. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche. From this photo we can feel the kindness of H.H. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche and the Guru devotion of Rinpoche towards H.H. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche. And also Rinpoche’s American Tantric Dress, as this create the curiosity for people to learn more about Rinpoche’s story.
  3. The Crazy Wisdom of The Guru part will be more interesting if we can include the example of some “Crazy” Guru such as Chogyam Thungpa Rinpoche, why he disrobe and went against Tibetan traditions to mix Himself with the Hippies culture of west and bring Dharma to the westerner.

 
How would you market the book?

I would market the book on various Buddhist Forums especially those in China, because a lot of our searching for Buddhist information leads back to China’s Buddhist forum. I have found a China website which has a lot of links to various Buddhist websites and Forums, this is a very good place for me to start with.

  • http://tianyan.goodweb.cn

And also, I do not need to worry about how the China people purchase the book because I found out that in their most popular trading website, taobao.com, there are a lot of traders selling this book in Chinese version. Although there are also some traders selling the pirated one, but I can provide the link to the stores with original book in my forum posts.

Below are few links that provide the review of Guru For Hire Chinese version, which we can use as a marketing tools:

 
What would you do with the book to promote it?

  1. I think this book is very helpful for people who are new to Tibetan Buddhism. I think every of our new member should read this. This book should be strongly recommended to all our new members or we can offer them this book when they sign up for membership.
  2. At outlet, we can package an affordable “Altar Start-up Kits” which includes Tsa Tsa, Stupa, Guru For Hire, and 8 water bowl.
  3. We can form a weekly study group to introduce this book to all members. Senior member should study this book thoroughly and be in the study group to guide and clarify questions by other members.

 
What ideas get clearer or cleared up after reading this book?

 
1. How strong our commitment is, is how much we want it. How much we want it depends on us realizing the value of what we are doing. Understanding the value of what we are doing is dependent on knowledge. Knowledge is dependent on listening; listening is dependent on patience; patience is dependent on compassion compassion is dependent on knowing that if we do not do this, we and others that we love will suffer. It all comes back to the self-cherishing mind. (page 87)

This is very clear as to why I should keep my commitments. I can also understand now what are the tangible steps for me to keep commitments.

 
2. If a Guru manifested perfectly, does not touch the ground, walks by floating three inches off from the ground, has a halo around him, never smells, does not have to take a bath, we would all think that is too far away and that we would not be able to accomplish that. (page 93)

This is so true, if Guru shows us supernatural powers, I’m sure a lot of people will rush to seek protection but no one will be going looking for Enlightenment.

 
3. The Dharma centre is there out of compassion. We volunteer, we work, and we give our time for the Dharma out of compassion. Therefore, it becomes Dharma practice. (page 113)

When I first involved in volunteering, I was always wonder and complains. Why they have to ask for help even for little minor things, can’t they just do it themselves?

Now I know that by having the volunteers involve in as many activities, as many help they can offer, they will collect merits and create a connection to the Guru. So that the Dharma become stronger and stronger in us.

 
4. Dharma Protectors and members are very kind – they may choose qualified people for the committee or sometimes they may choose people who will become qualified. (page 131)

Some tasks I was requested to help voluntary were not something I’m familiar with. But by committed in doing it, I found out that I am actually capable in doing it, and before this was just mere laziness that was keeping me from learning.
 

Tags: , , ,

Please support us so that we can continue to bring you more Dharma:

If you are in the United States, please note that your offerings and contributions are tax deductible. ~ the tsemrinpoche.com blog team

19 Responses to Khoo’s interesting book review on Gurus for Hire

DISCLAIMER IN RELATION TO COMMENTS OR POSTS GIVEN BY THIRD PARTIES BELOW

Kindly note that the comments or posts given by third parties in the comment section below do not represent the views of the owner and/or host of this Blog, save for responses specifically given by the owner and/or host. All other comments or posts or any other opinions, discussions or views given below under the comment section do not represent our views and should not be regarded as such. We reserve the right to remove any comments/views which we may find offensive but due to the volume of such comments, the non removal and/or non detection of any such comments/views does not mean that we condone the same.

We do hope that the participants of any comments, posts, opinions, discussions or views below will act responsibly and do not engage nor make any statements which are defamatory in nature or which may incite and contempt or ridicule of any party, individual or their beliefs or to contravene any laws.

  1. Paris on Jan 18, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    Thank you for all the time you have spent to write this Khoo! What a comprehensive and truthful insight into the book – I don’t think I’ve ‘heard’ you speak so much in person!

    I liked especially the section that Khoo speaks of what sticks out for him – this differs from person to person of course, and it’s always interesting to know what stands out for people or makes a difference in their practices, and how.

    I remember that as I worked on the book with a few others in KMP, we would find different meanings in every chapter each time we went through it. We edited it many, many times, but the teachings would still bounce out at us in different ways when we read them again. For this, I would recommend everyone read this book several times throughout their life, at different junctures of their spiritual journey, and to think about how the teachings will apply differently at each time.

    Just a note too, that the original teachings that this book derived from are also available on youtube under a whole series of 12 videos. Check it out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xHLkcamyPxc

    also, for those short on time, we’ve selected a few key points and extracted them into small videos with a little short introduction in the front by yours truly! you might be interested? Check out this one as an example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yRLnDDc3gdU

  2. Joy on Dec 31, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    I was there when Rinpoche gave a marathon 3 day discourse on this mind blowing subject that basically every Buddhist should really really know before they go looking for a teacher or a Dharma centre.

    It answers every single question and doubts you even wondered or had about being a Buddhist, how one should conduct oneself with a Guru, how to treat monks, how to look for a suitable Guru and Dharma centre… the politics, the ups and downs and all that mysteries behind it all.

    I would strongly recommend this book or teaching to anyone that is serious about looking for a spiritual guide and centre. If people had the knowledge that Rinpoche shared, I think many would not have misconception and wrong views of the Dharma and Lama as much as they have now… and there will be less superficial practitioners who is basically shopping and hopping around in the Dharma super market. Hence the apt title which interprets this book best Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment For Sale…because many has this view that Enlightenment can be bought.

    Khoo is indeed very lucky to have been given this assignment by Rinpoche. I’m sure it has stregthen his faith in Dharma, clear away many questions or doubts and made his spiritual path a more meaningful one.

  3. AdelineTan on Nov 7, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    I’v read this book quite a long time ago and i find it very useful for vajrayana path practitioners.You can study a teacher for 12 years before you take him as your Guru.Once you take him as your Guru you don’t hop anymore,one Guru one center,must practice Guru devotion and the 8 verses of thought transformation.I shall re read this book again.Thank you Khoo for such a wonderful review.

  4. Darren Kechara Paradise on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    This a good book. Am gonna read it again. Thanks for the review.

  5. Milly on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Khoo has extracted its essence and made it easier to understand. His honesty in sharing his thoughts/perception during his early days in Kechara connects him to the reader who is able to relate as he/she may also be going through those delusion. The 10 points stated are very useful guidelines to a practitioner. Again, thanks to Rinpoche’s wisdom and motivation that he knows Khoo will be able to do a good summary for the benefit of all. Thank you Khoo for this good summary.

  6. Mei Fong on Oct 18, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Gurus for Hire book contains all the basic Dharma knowledge that every Kecharians should read and re-read again. It helps to provide oneself with the basic understanding about Dharma and the possibility to answer Dharma questions that are thrown to you by other members or even friends who are not related to Kechara. I will re-read this book again definitely from time to time. There is no way one can remember everything just by reading once. Nonetheless if there is someone who can remembers everything by just reading once, i rejoice for him/her.

  7. Jace Chong on Oct 14, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Thank you Khoo and welcome to Kechara!

    It’s a very clear summary and I re-learn what is the real Dharma practice. I especially like the point “Our Guru is our battleground.”

    Guru, someone who do the best for the student without wanting anything in return. Guru just can not stand to see the student drowning in the sea of suffering. ANYTHING that the Guru does, it’s to benefit you, the best that he can.

    I think when taking Guru’s instruction, any negative thought that arise in our mind, is the thing that the Guru want to break it, to make us a better person. That’s why I agree about what Khoo says, Guru prepares us to the battle of our delusions.

    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing this with us. And congratulation to Khoo for doing a good review on this book. I remember he spent 3 days 3 night, didn’t really sleep to do this. Thank you for your efforts!

  8. Wan Wai Meng on Oct 14, 2012 at 12:41 am

    Thank you for sharing.

  9. So Kin Hoe on Oct 10, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    Thank you Khoo for your profound and precise summary of Gurus for Hire. I am actually half way reading this book since few days ago. After reading this summary, it has made me to understand and think deeper about the role of a Guru in Dharma center. Khoo has shared with us on his own experience before he has engaged with Dharma work and this has certainly revealed himself as a humble person who is willing to help us to understand more in this book. Thank you Khoo and Rinpoche for this powerful summary that hits into our mind deeply.

  10. guat hee on Oct 10, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    Thank you Khoo for the thought on State 10 points that hit you hard and why?

  11. .. .. . on Oct 10, 2012 at 6:55 am

    I really appreciate this post – it made me stop & think quite a
    I had wanted to say sorry to Rinpoche, (I know maybe silly) but I realised the other day, after asking a question – that maybe it wasn’t coming from quite the right place – I’m not quite sure why, or what it was – perhaps because I have to enact some fundamental changes, in who & how I am, and what I asked, is probably way beyond where I am at the mo –

    what I learnt from this post – or perhaps, more accurately what it reminds me of, is the importance of appreciating the opportunity, of being able to connect with the dharma, and the importance of remembering how vital the role of a teacher is, who has knowledge and understanding, and can begin to lead you in the right direction
    anyways -this was just from reading the above. I haven’t read your book yet. 🙂 maybe I just need to think on this – or remember this for a while

  12. David Lai on Oct 10, 2012 at 3:58 am

    Gurus For Hire is one of the jewel-like classics of Kechara Media and Publications. This book report a well-written report based upon the reading of Gurus For Hire and his own personal references of his practice while working in Kechara Organisation. Khoo delivers the books main points pretty well and I like the parts where he shares his own experiences and reflections that are relevant to the topic at hand. I think this is a really good commentary.

  13. Lim Han Nee on Oct 9, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    Khoo reveals, here, amazing insights into, and deep understanding of,the role and importance of the Guru and the Center as we tread our Dharma Path of Practice towards Enlightenment.

    I like his thought-provoking responses in the sections – “State the 10 points that hit you hard and why.” and “What ideas get cleared or cleared up after reading this book?”.From ” 10 points”,his response to “Our Guru is our battleground” shows his understanding of who our true enemies are and how battling these for and with us, the Guru becomes our battle ground.

    When I read his response to ” Home is a place where you can find yourself”, it really made me sit up and reflect and see clearly how home is really a place where you can and should find yourself.

    His response to “When I receive the gift, I think of it as their only link to the Dharma” resonates well with me, because, i too have been similarly motivated to make an offering of a gift from a non-Dharma friend to connect that friend to the Three Jewels.

    Yes, Khoo has presented a concise,clear and interesting report on the book “Gurus For Hire”, which should make all, who have not read it, want to do so now, and those who have read it, want to reread it.

  14. Doreen Teoh on Oct 9, 2012 at 9:27 am

    Khoo, thank you for the great review and also make this as a good example to remember and follow. It has reminds me about the elements of a dharma centre, volunteering, our motivation and practice. Thanks again, Khoo. This review will be my reference.

  15. Sheryl KH (JB) on Oct 9, 2012 at 12:35 am

    It is not a straightforward thing like copy and paste to write out a report/summary. It requires a person to take things seriously.

    Khoo has certainly taken the effort and time to do up this report. I like especially the marketing and promotion part because these are the places where he really needs to sit down and think of all possible ways.

    Khoo’s write up on the marketing this book in the China market shows that he has done his homework.

    I rejoice for the dedication that Khoo has put in this assignment.

  16. Emile on Oct 8, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    Really nice summary. I was fortunate to see the actual vid of this teaching years ago. Really nice. For me, this is the best and most influential teaching Rinpoche had. It suits everybody’s level quite right.

    At the sme time, I am happy to know that Rinpoche’s books are now available in China for those without credit cards. Mostly Chinese books though, but at least I ordered one English (the only English book available on Taobao) and it will be delivered in a few weeks!

  17. Martin on Oct 8, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    Gurus For Hire, Enlightenment For Sale to me, is a most important book for any student of the Vajrayana path. Even now, in reading this post I am reminded of many key points by which I can match recent experiences and get a clearer picture of the training that we come under as students of Rinpoche. The importance of the book cannot be understated and even Khoo’s brilliant summary is quite profound. I like how Khoo articulates his thoughts based on how he personally experiences Rinpoche’s teachings.

    I am going to print this out and make this compulsory reading from time to time

  18. Pastor Susan on Oct 8, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    This past sunday, we offered refuge briefing class in both english and chinese languages. Gurus for Hire book was one of the book we recommended for everyone to read. It is a book every Buddhist should read. it’ll answer many of your questions as a buddhist starting out and looking for a centre, a teacher and more. Khoo’s review of this book is wonderful.

  19. daisy sun on Oct 8, 2012 at 9:16 am

    I would like to thank you Khoo and rinpoche for a million times!!! This summary is so useful for busy/distracted people. Yet to finish the Guru Devotion book after 2-3 days reading… 😉

Leave a Reply

Maximum file size: 15MB each
Allowed file types: jpg, jpeg, gif, png

 

Maximum file size: 50MB
Allowed file type: mp4
Maximum file size: 15MB each
Allowed file types: pdf, docx

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Blog Chat

BLOG CHAT

Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you.

Tsem Rinpoche


SCHEDULED CHAT SESSIONS / 中文聊天室时间表

(除了每个月的第一个星期五)
SUNDAY
8 - 9PM (GMT +8)
4 - 5AM (PST)

UPCOMING TOPICS FOR OCTOBER / 十月份讨论主题

Please come and join in the chat for a fun time and support. See you all there.


Blog Chat Etiquette

These are some simple guidelines to make the blog chat room a positive, enjoyable and enlightening experience for everyone. Please note that as this is a chat room, we chat! Do not flood the chat room, or post without interacting with others.

EXPAND
Be friendly

Remember that these are real people you are chatting with. They may have different opinions to you and come from different cultures. Treat them as you would face to face, and respect their opinions, and they will treat you the same.

Be Patient

Give the room a chance to answer you. Patience is a virtue. And if after awhile, people don't respond, perhaps they don't know the answer or they did not see your question. Do ask again or address someone directly. Do not be offended if people do not or are unable to respond to you.

Be Relevant

This is the blog of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche. Please respect this space. We request that all participants here are respectful of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche and his organisation, Kechara.

Be polite

Avoid the use of language or attitudes which may be offensive to others. If someone is disrespectful to you, ignore them instead of arguing with them.

Please be advised that anyone who contravenes these guidelines may be banned from the chatroom. Banning is at the complete discretion of the administrator of this blog. Should anyone wish to make an appeal or complaint about the behaviour of someone in the chatroom, please copy paste the relevant chat in an email to us at care@kechara.com and state the date and time of the respective conversation.

Please let this be a conducive space for discussions, both light and profound.

KECHARA FOREST RETREAT PROGRESS UPDATES

Here is the latest news and pictorial updates, as it happens, of our upcoming forest retreat project.

The Kechara Forest Retreat is a unique holistic retreat centre focused on the total wellness of body, mind and spirit. This is a place where families and individuals will find peace, nourishment and inspiration in a natural forest environment. At Kechara Forest Retreat, we are committed to give back to society through instilling the next generation with universal positive values such as kindness and compassion.

For more information, please read here (english), here (chinese), or the official site: retreat.kechara.com.

Noticeboard

Name: Email:
For:  
Mail will not be published
  • sarassitham
    Friday, Oct 23. 2020 04:19 PM
    I am blessed to see the amazing and best 10 meditation retreats in the world. I believe it is such because of its rich and long history with pure spiritual practice and way of life, culture and religion.

    Traditionally all retreats has a beautiful landscape and quiet environment for anyone to have more freedom, peace and happiness in our daily life. It is also a chance to nurture our inner growth as it’s take time to look deeply in order to transform both our individual difficulties and the difficulties in our society.

    We are so fortunate with Rinpoche kindness to have a similar retreat for us to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Such a great place to practice dharma in nature with walks, breath meditations and fresh air.

    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing this article and giving an opportunity to explore the beautiful retreats in the world.

    https://bit.ly/34jcxqK

  • S.Prathap
    Friday, Oct 23. 2020 12:27 PM
    This is definitely one of the best way for us to collect merits and plant seed for us to be able to do her practice in future. From this article I know and learn about the very sacred female Buddha. It gives us great opportunity to collect merits and make offering by having Vajrayogini stupa and statue in Kechara Forest Retreat.Thank you very much for the guidance and sharing such a good article.

    https://bit.ly/3kpdPpB
  • Samfoonheei
    Friday, Oct 23. 2020 11:55 AM
    China to Open its Own Nalanda University in Hainan Province . The campus of Nanhai Buddhism Academy was designed by internationally acclaimed architect which is located in the scenic Nanshan Cultural Tourism Zone. That’s wonderful. It’s the only institute of higher education in the world offering instruction. Offering various programs on Buddhist Studies in Han-Chinese Buddhism, Tibetan Buddhism and Southern Buddhism . The Chinese government are willing to invest billions in having such a university to benefits the people and for most spreading Buddhism .
    Thank you Rinpoche for this sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/art-architecture/new-nalanda-university-in-china.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Friday, Oct 23. 2020 11:53 AM
    Came across this old post . Well for someone to admit one mistakes , realised the true , having the courage to swallow one’s pride and apologise, I rejoice for them. Some might not have the courage to admit it. Admitting a mistake is not a weakness after all on the contrary, it shows an openness of our heart. Every one of us might have made mistakes along our life path. We learn from our mistakes, admit our own before we point out someone else’s and grow from there.
    Lobsang Monlam ‘s message is very touching , its better for him to say sorry now than never. Or else he will regret forever. A good teacher like our Lama is hard to find. We are very fortunate to have met Rinpoche in this life , Rinpoche had changed the lives of many.
    Thank you Rinpoche and Pastor Seng Piow for this sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/students-friends/dear-rinpoche-i-am-sorry.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Friday, Oct 23. 2020 11:51 AM
    Depression is a mood disorder that causes a persistent feeling of sadness and lack of interest. Different causes can often combine to trigger depression. Whatever it is ….depression comes from our own karma for what we did in this life or the previous life. People who suffer from depression often report feelings of loneliness and isolation. If not treated it could lead to more serious matters related. It will interfere with our daily life for sure. Learning Dharma, practicing it will help us to transform our mind more positively. We will see the light even in the darkest of times in our life.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this teachings with folded hands.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/etc/some-thoughts-on-depression.html
  • sarassitham
    Thursday, Oct 22. 2020 11:51 PM
    This is an amazing news for vegetarian and vegan eaters in California. I strongly believe it a great move to encourage more people to be vegan. Choosing a vegan lifestyle can contribute many beneficial factors to one’s life.

    A vegan diet is the most beneficial to mankind as it is one of the healthiest diets in the world, it is the world’s most environmentally friendly diet. Many vegans have found themselves starving while they are traveling and not being able to find any foods free of animal products on the road and this will be very convenient.

    Thank you for the interesting sharing, Hope to hear and see more countries could have Vegan Grocery. It will be extremely beneficial to the planet and will encourage a healthier lifestyle.

    https://bit.ly/3ji9V0F
  • Samfoonheei
    Thursday, Oct 22. 2020 12:48 PM
    We have to do our homework……yes I agree with what Rinpoche had said. We can’t go back and change the beginning but we can start where we are and change the present. We have to work it out somehow even there is a hurdle or obstacles to go. In life we bond to have obstacles to clear along the path of life. Accepting those obstacles as they come , learn from there and let it be. Choosing to learn, practice Dharma and putting it into action is the best choice. Doing Dharma I have chosen have make my life filled with happiness.
    Thank you Rinpoche for these teachings.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/20668.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Thursday, Oct 22. 2020 12:45 PM
    The Heart Sutra is the most widely known sutra of the Mahayana tradition of Tibetan Buddhism. We may try changing who we are in an attempt to fit in and even if we achieve a new feeling of belonging, the emptiness remains. Emptiness is an important door to liberation in life. The Heart Sutra is a very condensed contemplation manual. Will read it over and again to understand better . I still have a long way to go trying to absorb what ever I could. We have to develop a soft heart and compassion, firstly before we read the sutras. At the heart of emptiness is compassion….quoted.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this great teachings.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/emptiness-with-a-heart-of-compassion.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Thursday, Oct 22. 2020 12:44 PM
    Unbelievable what they did…. Mumu and Oser. They saved an injured tiny bird, bringing to Rinpoche. They are like one of us , can feel and knew that the bird needed help. Mumu and Oser knew who to bring to. Great Job, they did their best, sadly the injured bird passed away. But fortunate to have Rinpoche blessing. Mumu and Oser are amazing dogs had showed us an example to give care, love and be kind even they were of different species.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/animals-vegetarianism/a-tale-of-a-bird.html
  • sarassitham
    Wednesday, Oct 21. 2020 05:11 PM
    Really love this mysterious and yet beautiful, sacred and holy place. The temple is beautiful preserved with remarkable facts of tantric legacy. This sixty four yogini temple is very unique in many ways and all the yoginis represents the sixty four arts which very fascinating. I believe there are a lot more to discover from this temple.

    Thank you for the article sharing, I’m blessed to see the holy place and hope to visit them.

    https://bit.ly/3jha0Si
  • S.Prathap
    Wednesday, Oct 21. 2020 01:33 PM
    Dorje Shugden, the special protector emanation of Manjushri is a fully enlightened being which will help us at all times when we truly trusted and have faith in him and our Guru.

    There is nothing that is too small or too big or daunting for him, when it comes to helping us.I fold my hands in great faith and devotion to Dorje Shugden.Thank you for sharing this wonderful story and experience with us.


    https://bit.ly/3kl6M1s
  • sarassitham
    Tuesday, Oct 20. 2020 11:52 PM
    I believe that in life, we come across so many different experiences and opportunities to learn and grow, and in turn, every choice we make and everything that we go through shapes us into who we are. Challenging situations take us beyond our comfort zone and trigger fears and anxieties but also have the power to become moments of truth.

    It takes a lot of time to reached a level of acceptance and by doing dharma work we are trying to inculcate compassion into our lives . This powerful teaching helps to purify our karma and transform our thoughts.

    Thank you for the sharing, It serves as a reminder for all of us, of the reason why we are doing Dharma work and what kind of attitude one should have.

    https://bit.ly/3jg6K9E
  • S.Prathap
    Tuesday, Oct 20. 2020 05:37 PM
    This is one of the most sacred sites in all of Buddhism. Yearly thousands of Hindus and Buddhists pilgrims and tourist from all over the world will be come to The Mahabodhi Temple.

    This sacred sites is definitely imbued with the positive energies and blessings of great beings.Thank you very much for the good write up and share this nice article with us
  • S.Prathap
    Monday, Oct 19. 2020 04:52 PM
    Reading this article really me open up my views of what is existing beyond my imagination.They then discovered that the possibility of life on other planets ,the existence of black holes, and so forth.
    The universe, outer space, the galaxies have always fascinated me since I was very very young. I loved pictorial books on planets and space.Thank you very much for the good sharing.
  • Samfoonheei
    Sunday, Oct 18. 2020 04:22 PM
    Niguma is considered one of the most important and influential yoginis and Vajrayana teachers. A mysterious eleventh-century Kashmiri woman who became the source of a major Tibetan Buddhist practice lineage. Niguma was considered an emanation of the great dakini Mandarava. The legacy of Niguma’s teachings and spiritual practices is still available today within the Shangpa Kagyu tradition. Her teachings are also embodied within the Gelug school as well as the other sects of Tibetan Buddhism. Interesting related to Niguma and Khyungpo Naljor about the 500 gold coins and so forth. A very rare insight into the unusual role of women in the development of Buddhist history.
    Thank you Rinpoche and Pastor David so this sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/niguma-mistress-of-illusion.html

1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · »

Messages from Rinpoche

Scroll down within the box to view more messages from Rinpoche. Click on the images to enlarge. Click on 'older messages' to view archived messages. Use 'prev' and 'next' links to navigate between pages

Use this URL to link to this section directly: https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/#messages-from-rinpoche

Previous Live Videos

MORE VIDEOS

Shugdenpas Speaking Up Across The Globe

From Europe Shugden Association:


MORE VIDEOS

From Tibetan Public Talk:


MORE VIDEOS

CREDITS

Concept: Tsem Rinpoche
Technical: Lew Kwan Leng, Justin Ripley, Yong Swee Keong
Design: Justin Ripley, Cynthia Lee
Content: Tsem Rinpoche, Justin Ripley, Pastor Shin Tan, Sarah Yap
Admin: Pastor Loh Seng Piow, Beng Kooi

I must thank my dharma blog team who are great assets to me, Kechara and growth of dharma in this wonderful region. I am honoured and thrilled to work with them. I really am. Maybe I don't say it enough to them, but I am saying it now. I APPRECIATE THESE GUYS VERY MUCH!

Tsem Rinpoche

Total views today
2,831
Total views up to date
21,317,105

Stay Updated

What Am I Writing Now

Facebook Fans Youtube Views Blog Views
Animal Care Fund
  Bigfoot, Yeti, Sasquatch

The Unknown

The Known and unknown are both feared,
Known is being comfortable and stagnant,
The unknown may be growth and opportunities,
One shall never know if one fears the unknown more than the known.
Who says the unknown would be worse than the known?
But then again, the unknown is sometimes worse than the known. In the end nothing is known unless we endeavour,
So go pursue all the way with the unknown,
because all unknown with familiarity becomes the known.
~Tsem Rinpoche

Photos On The Go

Click on the images to view the bigger version. And scroll down and click on "View All Photos" to view more images.
According to legend, Shambhala is a place where wisdom and love reign, and there is no crime. Doesn\'t this sound like the kind of place all of us would love to live in? https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=204874
9 months ago
According to legend, Shambhala is a place where wisdom and love reign, and there is no crime. Doesn't this sound like the kind of place all of us would love to live in? https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=204874
108 candles and sang (incense) offered at our Wish-Fulfilling Grotto, invoking Dorje Shugden\'s blessings for friends, sponsors and supporters, wonderful!
9 months ago
108 candles and sang (incense) offered at our Wish-Fulfilling Grotto, invoking Dorje Shugden's blessings for friends, sponsors and supporters, wonderful!
Dharmapalas are not exclusive to Tibetan culture and their practice is widespread throughout the Buddhist world - https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=193645
9 months ago
Dharmapalas are not exclusive to Tibetan culture and their practice is widespread throughout the Buddhist world - https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=193645
One of our adorable Kechara Forest Retreat\'s doggies, Tara, happy and safe, and enjoying herself in front of Wisdom Hall which has been decorated for Chinese New Year
9 months ago
One of our adorable Kechara Forest Retreat's doggies, Tara, happy and safe, and enjoying herself in front of Wisdom Hall which has been decorated for Chinese New Year
Fragrant organic Thai basil harvested from our very own Kechara Forest Retreat farm!
9 months ago
Fragrant organic Thai basil harvested from our very own Kechara Forest Retreat farm!
On behalf of our Puja House team, Pastor Tat Ming receives food and drinks from Rinpoche. Rinpoche wanted to make sure the hardworking Puja House team are always taken care of.
9 months ago
On behalf of our Puja House team, Pastor Tat Ming receives food and drinks from Rinpoche. Rinpoche wanted to make sure the hardworking Puja House team are always taken care of.
By the time I heard about Luang Phor Thong, he was already very old, in his late 80s. When I heard about him, I immediately wanted to go and pay my respects to him. - http://bit.ly/LuangPhorThong
9 months ago
By the time I heard about Luang Phor Thong, he was already very old, in his late 80s. When I heard about him, I immediately wanted to go and pay my respects to him. - http://bit.ly/LuangPhorThong
It\'s very nice to see volunteers helping maintain holy sites in Kechara Forest Retreat, it\'s very good for them. Cleaning Buddha statues is a very powerful and effective way of purifying body karma.
9 months ago
It's very nice to see volunteers helping maintain holy sites in Kechara Forest Retreat, it's very good for them. Cleaning Buddha statues is a very powerful and effective way of purifying body karma.
Kechara Forest Retreat is preparing for the upcoming Chinese New Year celebrations. This is our holy Vajra Yogini stupa which is now surrounded by beautiful lanterns organised by our students.
9 months ago
Kechara Forest Retreat is preparing for the upcoming Chinese New Year celebrations. This is our holy Vajra Yogini stupa which is now surrounded by beautiful lanterns organised by our students.
One of the most recent harvests from our Kechara Forest Retreat land. It was grown free of chemicals and pesticides, wonderful!
9 months ago
One of the most recent harvests from our Kechara Forest Retreat land. It was grown free of chemicals and pesticides, wonderful!
Third picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal.
Height: 33ft (10m)
1 years ago
Third picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal. Height: 33ft (10m)
Second picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal.
Height: 33ft (10m)
1 years ago
Second picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal. Height: 33ft (10m)
First picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal.
Height: 33ft (10m)
1 years ago
First picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal. Height: 33ft (10m)
The first title published by Kechara Comics is Karuna Finds A Way. It tells the tale of high-school sweethearts Karuna and Adam who had what some would call the dream life. Everything was going great for them until one day when reality came knocking on their door. Caught in a surprise swindle, this loving family who never harmed anyone found themselves out of luck and down on their fortune. Determined to save her family, Karuna goes all out to find a solution. See what she does- https://bit.ly/2LSKuWo
1 years ago
The first title published by Kechara Comics is Karuna Finds A Way. It tells the tale of high-school sweethearts Karuna and Adam who had what some would call the dream life. Everything was going great for them until one day when reality came knocking on their door. Caught in a surprise swindle, this loving family who never harmed anyone found themselves out of luck and down on their fortune. Determined to save her family, Karuna goes all out to find a solution. See what she does- https://bit.ly/2LSKuWo
Very powerful story! Tibetan Resistance group Chushi Gangdruk reveals how Dalai Lama escaped in 1959- https://bit.ly/2S9VMGX
1 years ago
Very powerful story! Tibetan Resistance group Chushi Gangdruk reveals how Dalai Lama escaped in 1959- https://bit.ly/2S9VMGX
At Kechara Forest Retreat land we have nice fresh spinach growing free of chemicals and pesticides. Yes!
1 years ago
At Kechara Forest Retreat land we have nice fresh spinach growing free of chemicals and pesticides. Yes!
See beautiful pictures of Manjushri Guest House here- https://bit.ly/2WGo0ti
1 years ago
See beautiful pictures of Manjushri Guest House here- https://bit.ly/2WGo0ti
Beginner’s Introduction to Dorje Shugden~Very good overview https://bit.ly/2QQNfYv
1 years ago
Beginner’s Introduction to Dorje Shugden~Very good overview https://bit.ly/2QQNfYv
Fresh eggplants grown on Kechara Forest Retreat\'s land here in Malaysia
1 years ago
Fresh eggplants grown on Kechara Forest Retreat's land here in Malaysia
Most Venerable Uppalavanna – The Chief Female Disciple of Buddha Shakyamuni - She exhibited many supernatural abilities gained from meditation and proved to the world females and males are equal in spirituality- https://bit.ly/31d9Rat
1 years ago
Most Venerable Uppalavanna – The Chief Female Disciple of Buddha Shakyamuni - She exhibited many supernatural abilities gained from meditation and proved to the world females and males are equal in spirituality- https://bit.ly/31d9Rat
Thailand’s ‘Renegade’ Yet Powerful Buddhist Nuns~ https://bit.ly/2Z1C02m
1 years ago
Thailand’s ‘Renegade’ Yet Powerful Buddhist Nuns~ https://bit.ly/2Z1C02m
Mahapajapati Gotami – the first Buddhist nun ordained by Lord Buddha- https://bit.ly/2IjD8ru
1 years ago
Mahapajapati Gotami – the first Buddhist nun ordained by Lord Buddha- https://bit.ly/2IjD8ru
The Largest Buddha Shakyamuni in Russia | 俄罗斯最大的释迦牟尼佛画像- https://bit.ly/2Wpclni
1 years ago
The Largest Buddha Shakyamuni in Russia | 俄罗斯最大的释迦牟尼佛画像- https://bit.ly/2Wpclni
Sacred Vajra Yogini
1 years ago
Sacred Vajra Yogini
Dorje Shugden works & archives - a labour of commitment - https://bit.ly/30Tp2p8
1 years ago
Dorje Shugden works & archives - a labour of commitment - https://bit.ly/30Tp2p8
Mahapajapati Gotami, who was the first nun ordained by Lord Buddha.
1 years ago
Mahapajapati Gotami, who was the first nun ordained by Lord Buddha.
Mahapajapati Gotami, who was the first nun ordained by Lord Buddha. She was his step-mother and aunt. Buddha\'s mother had passed away at his birth so he was raised by Gotami.
1 years ago
Mahapajapati Gotami, who was the first nun ordained by Lord Buddha. She was his step-mother and aunt. Buddha's mother had passed away at his birth so he was raised by Gotami.
Another nun disciple of Lord Buddha\'s. She had achieved great spiritual abilities and high attainments. She would be a proper object of refuge. This image of the eminent bhikkhuni (nun) disciple of the Buddha, Uppalavanna Theri.
1 years ago
Another nun disciple of Lord Buddha's. She had achieved great spiritual abilities and high attainments. She would be a proper object of refuge. This image of the eminent bhikkhuni (nun) disciple of the Buddha, Uppalavanna Theri.
Wandering Ascetic Painting by Nirdesha Munasinghe
1 years ago
Wandering Ascetic Painting by Nirdesha Munasinghe
High Sri Lankan monks visit Kechara to bless our land, temple, Buddha and Dorje Shugden images. They were very kind-see pictures- https://bit.ly/2HQie2M
1 years ago
High Sri Lankan monks visit Kechara to bless our land, temple, Buddha and Dorje Shugden images. They were very kind-see pictures- https://bit.ly/2HQie2M
This is pretty amazing!

First Sri Lankan Buddhist temple opened in Dubai!!!
1 years ago
This is pretty amazing! First Sri Lankan Buddhist temple opened in Dubai!!!
My Dharma boy (left) and Oser girl loves to laze around on the veranda in the mornings. They enjoy all the trees, grass and relaxing under the hot sun. Sunbathing is a favorite daily activity. I care about these two doggies of mine very much and I enjoy seeing them happy. They are with me always. Tsem Rinpoche

Always be kind to animals and eat vegetarian- https://bit.ly/2Psp8h2
1 years ago
My Dharma boy (left) and Oser girl loves to laze around on the veranda in the mornings. They enjoy all the trees, grass and relaxing under the hot sun. Sunbathing is a favorite daily activity. I care about these two doggies of mine very much and I enjoy seeing them happy. They are with me always. Tsem Rinpoche Always be kind to animals and eat vegetarian- https://bit.ly/2Psp8h2
After you left me Mumu, I was alone. I have no family or kin. You were my family. I can\'t stop thinking of you and I can\'t forget you. My bond and connection with you is so strong. I wish you were by my side. Tsem Rinpoche
1 years ago
After you left me Mumu, I was alone. I have no family or kin. You were my family. I can't stop thinking of you and I can't forget you. My bond and connection with you is so strong. I wish you were by my side. Tsem Rinpoche
This story is a life-changer. Learn about the incredible Forest Man of India | 印度“森林之子”- https://bit.ly/2Eh4vRS
1 years ago
This story is a life-changer. Learn about the incredible Forest Man of India | 印度“森林之子”- https://bit.ly/2Eh4vRS
Part 2-Beautiful billboard in Malaysia of a powerful Tibetan hero whose life serves as a great inspiration- https://bit.ly/2UltNE4
1 years ago
Part 2-Beautiful billboard in Malaysia of a powerful Tibetan hero whose life serves as a great inspiration- https://bit.ly/2UltNE4
Part 1-Beautiful billboard in Malaysia of a powerful Tibetan hero whose life serves as a great inspiration- https://bit.ly/2UltNE4
1 years ago
Part 1-Beautiful billboard in Malaysia of a powerful Tibetan hero whose life serves as a great inspiration- https://bit.ly/2UltNE4
The great Protector Manjushri Dorje Shugden depicted in the beautiful Mongolian style. To download a high resolution file: https://bit.ly/2Nt3FHz
1 years ago
The great Protector Manjushri Dorje Shugden depicted in the beautiful Mongolian style. To download a high resolution file: https://bit.ly/2Nt3FHz
The Mystical land of Shambhala is finally ready for everyone to feast their eyes and be blessed. A beautiful post with information, art work, history, spirituality and a beautiful book composed by His Holiness the 6th Panchen Rinpoche. ~ https://bit.ly/309MHBi
1 years ago
The Mystical land of Shambhala is finally ready for everyone to feast their eyes and be blessed. A beautiful post with information, art work, history, spirituality and a beautiful book composed by His Holiness the 6th Panchen Rinpoche. ~ https://bit.ly/309MHBi
Beautiful pictures of the huge Buddha in Longkou Nanshan- https://bit.ly/2LsBxVb
1 years ago
Beautiful pictures of the huge Buddha in Longkou Nanshan- https://bit.ly/2LsBxVb
The reason-Very interesting thought- https://bit.ly/2V7VT5r
1 years ago
The reason-Very interesting thought- https://bit.ly/2V7VT5r
NEW Bigfoot cafe in Malaysia! Food is delicious!- https://bit.ly/2VxdGau
1 years ago
NEW Bigfoot cafe in Malaysia! Food is delicious!- https://bit.ly/2VxdGau
DON\'T MISS THIS!~How brave Bonnie survived by living with a herd of deer~ https://bit.ly/2Lre2eY
1 years ago
DON'T MISS THIS!~How brave Bonnie survived by living with a herd of deer~ https://bit.ly/2Lre2eY
Global Superpower China Will Cut Meat Consumption by 50%! Very interesting, find out more- https://bit.ly/2V1sJFh
1 years ago
Global Superpower China Will Cut Meat Consumption by 50%! Very interesting, find out more- https://bit.ly/2V1sJFh
You can download this beautiful Egyptian style Dorje Shugden Free- https://bit.ly/2Nt3FHz
1 years ago
You can download this beautiful Egyptian style Dorje Shugden Free- https://bit.ly/2Nt3FHz
Beautiful high file for print of Lord Manjushri. May you be blessed- https://bit.ly/2V8mwZe
1 years ago
Beautiful high file for print of Lord Manjushri. May you be blessed- https://bit.ly/2V8mwZe
Mongolian (Oymiakon) Shaman in Siberia, Russia. That is his real outfit he wears. Very unique. TR
1 years ago
Mongolian (Oymiakon) Shaman in Siberia, Russia. That is his real outfit he wears. Very unique. TR
Find one of the most beautiful temples in the world in Nara, Japan. It is the 1,267 year old Todai-ji temple that houses a 15 meter Buddha Vairocana statue who is a cosmic and timeless Buddha. Emperor Shomu who sponsored this beautiful temple eventually abdicated and ordained as a Buddhist monk. Very interesting history and story. One of the places everyone should visit- https://bit.ly/2VgsHhK
1 years ago
Find one of the most beautiful temples in the world in Nara, Japan. It is the 1,267 year old Todai-ji temple that houses a 15 meter Buddha Vairocana statue who is a cosmic and timeless Buddha. Emperor Shomu who sponsored this beautiful temple eventually abdicated and ordained as a Buddhist monk. Very interesting history and story. One of the places everyone should visit- https://bit.ly/2VgsHhK
Manjusri Kumara (bodhisattva of wisdom), India, Pala dynesty, 9th century, stone, Honolulu Academy of Arts
1 years ago
Manjusri Kumara (bodhisattva of wisdom), India, Pala dynesty, 9th century, stone, Honolulu Academy of Arts
Click on "View All Photos" above to view more images

Videos On The Go

Please click on the images to watch video
  • Pig puts his toys away
    9 months ago
    Pig puts his toys away
    Animals are so intelligent. They can feel happiness, joy, pain, sorrow, just like humans. Always show kindness to them. Always show kindness to everyone.
  • Always be kind to animals-They deserve to live just like us.
    1 years ago
    Always be kind to animals-They deserve to live just like us.
    Whales and dolphins playing with each other in the Pacific sea. Nature is truly incredible!
  • Bodha stupa July 2019-
    1 years ago
    Bodha stupa July 2019-
    Rainy period
  • Cute Tara girl having a snack. She is one of Kechara Forest Retreat’s resident doggies.
    1 years ago
    Cute Tara girl having a snack. She is one of Kechara Forest Retreat’s resident doggies.
  • Your Next Meal!
    1 years ago
    Your Next Meal!
    Yummy? Tasty? Behind the scenes of the meat on your plates. Meat is a killing industry.
  • This is Daw
    1 years ago
    This is Daw
    This is what they do to get meat on tables, and to produce belts and jackets. Think twice before your next purchase.
  • Don’t Take My Mummy Away!
    1 years ago
    Don’t Take My Mummy Away!
    Look at the poor baby chasing after the mother. Why do we do that to them? It's time to seriously think about our choices in life and how they affect others. Be kind. Don't break up families.
  • They do this every day!
    1 years ago
    They do this every day!
    This is how they are being treated every day of their lives. Please do something to stop the brutality. Listen to their cries for help!
  • What happened at Fair Oaks Farm?
    1 years ago
    What happened at Fair Oaks Farm?
    The largest undercover dairy investigation of all time. See what they found out at Fair Oaks Farm.
  • She’s going to spend her whole life here without being able to move correctly. Like a machine. They are the slaves of the people and are viewed as a product. It’s immoral. Billions of terrestrial animals die annually. Billions. You can’t even imagine it. And all that because people don’t want to give up meat, even though there are so many alternatives. ~ Gabriel Azimov
    1 years ago
    She’s going to spend her whole life here without being able to move correctly. Like a machine. They are the slaves of the people and are viewed as a product. It’s immoral. Billions of terrestrial animals die annually. Billions. You can’t even imagine it. And all that because people don’t want to give up meat, even though there are so many alternatives. ~ Gabriel Azimov
  • Our Malaysian Prime Minister Dr. Mahathir speaks so well, logically and regarding our country’s collaboration with China for growth. It is refreshing to listen to Dr. Mahathir’s thoughts. He said our country can look to China for many more things such as technology and so on. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 years ago
    Our Malaysian Prime Minister Dr. Mahathir speaks so well, logically and regarding our country’s collaboration with China for growth. It is refreshing to listen to Dr. Mahathir’s thoughts. He said our country can look to China for many more things such as technology and so on. Tsem Rinpoche
  • This is the first time His Holiness Dalai Lama mentions he had some very serious illness. Very worrying. This video is captured April 2019.
    1 years ago
    This is the first time His Holiness Dalai Lama mentions he had some very serious illness. Very worrying. This video is captured April 2019.
  • Beautiful Monastery in Hong Kong
    2 yearss ago
    Beautiful Monastery in Hong Kong
  • This dog thanks his hero in such a touching way. Tsem Rinpoche
    2 yearss ago
    This dog thanks his hero in such a touching way. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Join Tsem Rinpoche in prayer for H.H. Dalai Lama’s long life~ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYy7JcveikU&feature=youtu.be
    2 yearss ago
    Join Tsem Rinpoche in prayer for H.H. Dalai Lama’s long life~ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYy7JcveikU&feature=youtu.be
  • These people going on pilgrimage to a holy mountain and prostrating out of devotion and for pilgrimage in Tibet. Such determination for spiritual practice. Tsem Rinpoche
    2 yearss ago
    These people going on pilgrimage to a holy mountain and prostrating out of devotion and for pilgrimage in Tibet. Such determination for spiritual practice. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Beautiful new casing in Kechara for Vajra Yogini. Tsem Rinpoche
    2 yearss ago
    Beautiful new casing in Kechara for Vajra Yogini. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Get ready to laugh real hard. This is Kechara’s version of “Whatever Happened to Baby Jane!” We have some real talents in this video clip.
    2 yearss ago
    Get ready to laugh real hard. This is Kechara’s version of “Whatever Happened to Baby Jane!” We have some real talents in this video clip.
  • Recitation of Dorje Dermo‘s mantra or the Dharani of Glorious Vajra Claws. This powerful mantra is meant to destroy all obstacles that come in our way. Beneficial to play this mantra in our environments.
    2 yearss ago
    Recitation of Dorje Dermo‘s mantra or the Dharani of Glorious Vajra Claws. This powerful mantra is meant to destroy all obstacles that come in our way. Beneficial to play this mantra in our environments.
  • Beautiful
    2 yearss ago
    Beautiful
    Beautiful sacred Severed Head Vajra Yogini from Tsem Rinpoche's personal shrine.
  • My little monster cute babies Dharma and Oser. Take a look and get a cute attack for the day! Tsem Rinpoche
    2 yearss ago
    My little monster cute babies Dharma and Oser. Take a look and get a cute attack for the day! Tsem Rinpoche
  • Plse watch this short video and see how all sentient beings are capable of tenderness and love. We should never hurt animals nor should we eat them. Tsem Rinpoche
    2 yearss ago
    Plse watch this short video and see how all sentient beings are capable of tenderness and love. We should never hurt animals nor should we eat them. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Cruelty of some people have no limits and it’s heartbreaking. Being kind cost nothing. Tsem Rinpoche
    2 yearss ago
    Cruelty of some people have no limits and it’s heartbreaking. Being kind cost nothing. Tsem Rinpoche
  • SUPER ADORABLE and must see
    2 yearss ago
    SUPER ADORABLE and must see
    Tsem Rinpoche's dog Oser girl enjoying her snack in her play pen.
  • Cute!
    2 yearss ago
    Cute!
    Oser girl loves the balcony so much. - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTcoWpKJm2c
  • Uncle Wong
    2 yearss ago
    Uncle Wong
    We were told by Uncle Wong he is very faithful toward Dorje Shugden. Dorje Shugden has extended help to him on several occasions and now Uncle Wong comes daily to make incense offerings to Dorje Shugden. He is grateful towards the help he was given.
  • Tsem Rinpoche’s Schnauzer Dharma boy fights Robot sphere from Arkonide!
    2 yearss ago
    Tsem Rinpoche’s Schnauzer Dharma boy fights Robot sphere from Arkonide!
  • Cute baby owl found and rescued
    2 yearss ago
    Cute baby owl found and rescued
    We rescued a lost baby owl in Kechara Forest Retreat.
  • Nice cups from Kechara!!
    2 yearss ago
    Nice cups from Kechara!!
    Dorje Shugden people's lives matter!
  • Enjoy a peaceful morning at Kechara Forest Retreat
    2 yearss ago
    Enjoy a peaceful morning at Kechara Forest Retreat
    Chirping birds and other forest animals create a joyful melody at the Vajrayogini stupa in Kechara Forest Retreat (Bentong, Malaysia).
  • This topic is so hot in many circles right now.
    3 yearss ago
    This topic is so hot in many circles right now.
    This video is thought-provoking and very interesting. Watch! Thanks so much to our friends at LIVEKINDLY.
  • Chiropractic CHANGES LIFE for teenager with acute PAIN & DEAD LEG.
    3 yearss ago
    Chiropractic CHANGES LIFE for teenager with acute PAIN & DEAD LEG.
  • BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN NEW YORK STATE-AMAZING.
    3 yearss ago
    BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN NEW YORK STATE-AMAZING.
  • Leonardo DiCaprio takes on the meat Industry with real action.
    3 yearss ago
    Leonardo DiCaprio takes on the meat Industry with real action.
  • Do psychic mediums have messages from beyond?
    3 yearss ago
    Do psychic mediums have messages from beyond?
  • Lovely gift for my 52nd Birthday. Tsem Rinpoche
    3 yearss ago
    Lovely gift for my 52nd Birthday. Tsem Rinpoche
  • This 59-year-old chimpanzee was refusing food and ready to die until...
    3 yearss ago
    This 59-year-old chimpanzee was refusing food and ready to die until...
    she received “one last visit from an old friend” 💔💔
  • Bigfoot sighted again and made it to the news.
    3 yearss ago
    Bigfoot sighted again and made it to the news.
  • Casper is such a cute and adorable. I like him.
    3 yearss ago
    Casper is such a cute and adorable. I like him.
  • Dorje Shugden Monastery Amarbayasgalant  Mongolia's Ancient Hidden Gem
    3 yearss ago
    Dorje Shugden Monastery Amarbayasgalant Mongolia's Ancient Hidden Gem
  • Don't you love Hamburgers? See how 'delicious' it is here!
    3 yearss ago
    Don't you love Hamburgers? See how 'delicious' it is here!
  • Such a beautiful and powerful message from a person who knows the meaning of life. Tsem Rinpoche
    3 yearss ago
    Such a beautiful and powerful message from a person who knows the meaning of life. Tsem Rinpoche
  • What the meat industry figured out is that you don't need healthy animals to make a profit.
    3 yearss ago
    What the meat industry figured out is that you don't need healthy animals to make a profit.
    Sick animals are more profitable... farms calculate how close to death they can keep animals without killing them. That's the business model. How quickly they can be made to grow, how tightly they can be packed, how much or how little can they eat, how sick they can get without dying... We live in a world in which it's conventional to treat an animal like a block of wood. ~ Jonathan Safran Foer
  • This video went viral and it's a must watch!!
    3 yearss ago
    This video went viral and it's a must watch!!
  • SEE HOW THIS ANIMAL SERIAL KILLER HAS NO ISSUE BLUDGEONING THIS DEFENSELESS BEING.
    3 yearss ago
    SEE HOW THIS ANIMAL SERIAL KILLER HAS NO ISSUE BLUDGEONING THIS DEFENSELESS BEING.
    This happens daily in slaughterhouse so you can get your pork and Bak ku teh. Stop eating meat.

ASK A PASTOR


Ask the Pastors

A section for you to clarify your Dharma questions with Kechara’s esteemed pastors.

Just post your name and your question below and one of our pastors will provide you with an answer.

Scroll down and click on "View All Questions" to view archived questions.

View All Questions

CHAT PICTURES

Last weekend a Soup Kitchen activities @ Penang, Johor & Kuala Lumpur. Hot food, water, masks, biscuits, buns & fruits. This is what we give out to our friends living on the streets. Thank you to our sponsor & volunteers that make it happen. Come spread more love by being a volunteer at our activities. WhatsApp us today at 010-333-3260! See you soon! #kecharafoodbank #kecharaempowerment #kecharasoupkitchen - Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen
7 days ago
Last weekend a Soup Kitchen activities @ Penang, Johor & Kuala Lumpur. Hot food, water, masks, biscuits, buns & fruits. This is what we give out to our friends living on the streets. Thank you to our sponsor & volunteers that make it happen. Come spread more love by being a volunteer at our activities. WhatsApp us today at 010-333-3260! See you soon! #kecharafoodbank #kecharaempowerment #kecharasoupkitchen - Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen
Fwd: Dear Sotha
3 weeks ago
Fwd: Dear Sotha
Kechara Earth Project 13/9/2020
1 month ago
Kechara Earth Project 13/9/2020
Thank you Domino's Pizza Malaysia, Kasih & Piza campaign for sponsoring 85 boxes of pizza to our friends who live on the streets. Your flavourful pizzas have put a smile on their faces. Thank you! - Vivan @ Kechara Soup Kitchen #kecharafoodbank #kecharaempowerment #kecharasoupkitchen #KasihdanPiza #ItsAllAboutYou
1 month ago
Thank you Domino's Pizza Malaysia, Kasih & Piza campaign for sponsoring 85 boxes of pizza to our friends who live on the streets. Your flavourful pizzas have put a smile on their faces. Thank you! - Vivan @ Kechara Soup Kitchen #kecharafoodbank #kecharaempowerment #kecharasoupkitchen #KasihdanPiza #ItsAllAboutYou
Thank you Novo Nordisk! Your kind monetary donation and 1,320 boxes of masks will benefit many needy families under the Kechara Food Bank Program. Thank you! Much love from the needy families  ~ Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen #kecharafoodbank #kecharaempowerment #kecharasoupkitchen #novonordisk #novonordiskmalaysia
2 months ago
Thank you Novo Nordisk! Your kind monetary donation and 1,320 boxes of masks will benefit many needy families under the Kechara Food Bank Program. Thank you! Much love from the needy families ~ Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen #kecharafoodbank #kecharaempowerment #kecharasoupkitchen #novonordisk #novonordiskmalaysia
We were graced with the presence of Tengku Zatashah & The Alice Smith School Foundation yesterday. 130 homeless were blessed to be served by them. RM 20,000 donated by Alice Smith School Foundation will benefit 100 families registered under Kechara Food Bank Program. Thank you! Much love from the needy families ~ Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen #kecharafoodbank #kecharaempowerment #kecharasoupkitchen #alicesmithschoolfoundation #alicesmithschool #volunteerism #homeless
2 months ago
We were graced with the presence of Tengku Zatashah & The Alice Smith School Foundation yesterday. 130 homeless were blessed to be served by them. RM 20,000 donated by Alice Smith School Foundation will benefit 100 families registered under Kechara Food Bank Program. Thank you! Much love from the needy families ~ Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen #kecharafoodbank #kecharaempowerment #kecharasoupkitchen #alicesmithschoolfoundation #alicesmithschool #volunteerism #homeless
Thanks to the effort of our outstation team, we were able to mobilise food provisions to 600 families living in Kelantan, Penang, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka and Johor during the Raya period with each of these families receiving RM200 worth of provisions. Adding onto the current 368 families in Klang Valley, a total of 968 families were benefitted from this. Special thanks to the sponsors who have contributed especially Hong Leong Foundation and partially from Tesco Malaysia (where we also ordered the provisions from). ~ Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen
4 months ago
Thanks to the effort of our outstation team, we were able to mobilise food provisions to 600 families living in Kelantan, Penang, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka and Johor during the Raya period with each of these families receiving RM200 worth of provisions. Adding onto the current 368 families in Klang Valley, a total of 968 families were benefitted from this. Special thanks to the sponsors who have contributed especially Hong Leong Foundation and partially from Tesco Malaysia (where we also ordered the provisions from). ~ Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen
So glad that our soup kitchen operations are back in full swing. Good to see the clients are observing the SOPs. Some of them lost their job during MCO and ended up on the streets. Special thanks to our sponsors and volunteers for the great support! - Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen
4 months ago
So glad that our soup kitchen operations are back in full swing. Good to see the clients are observing the SOPs. Some of them lost their job during MCO and ended up on the streets. Special thanks to our sponsors and volunteers for the great support! - Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen
From serving cooked food to the homeless clients on the streets to mobilising provisions to the needy individuals in PPRs and shelters, we thank everyone of our Johor Bahru team for their kind contributions and effort to make it for the needy despite all the challenges! - Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen
5 months ago
From serving cooked food to the homeless clients on the streets to mobilising provisions to the needy individuals in PPRs and shelters, we thank everyone of our Johor Bahru team for their kind contributions and effort to make it for the needy despite all the challenges! - Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen
More photos taken from our "Hari Raya Hampers" distribution this week. Making sure everyone of our clients have something to be cheerful about. Apart from food, daily used items such as hygiene products, kitchen utensils, assorted fabric items, stationary items and toys were also included into our hamper bags making it extra heavier this month! Food items alone were about 35kg per family! Taking this opportunity to wish everyone of our Muslim volunteers, friends, supporters and clients a Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri and Maaf Zahir Batin. No doubt this year's celebration will be very different but appreciate everyone is safe and protected from the pandemic. We are in this together and let's work to fight this pandemic together! Thanking all sponsors and donors for the generous support enabling us to continue serve the needy with food, love and care. Big shoutout too to our wonderful team which already depleted by our very own strict SOP. All of you who worked tirelessly behind the s
5 months ago
More photos taken from our "Hari Raya Hampers" distribution this week. Making sure everyone of our clients have something to be cheerful about. Apart from food, daily used items such as hygiene products, kitchen utensils, assorted fabric items, stationary items and toys were also included into our hamper bags making it extra heavier this month! Food items alone were about 35kg per family! Taking this opportunity to wish everyone of our Muslim volunteers, friends, supporters and clients a Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri and Maaf Zahir Batin. No doubt this year's celebration will be very different but appreciate everyone is safe and protected from the pandemic. We are in this together and let's work to fight this pandemic together! Thanking all sponsors and donors for the generous support enabling us to continue serve the needy with food, love and care. Big shoutout too to our wonderful team which already depleted by our very own strict SOP. All of you who worked tirelessly behind the s
Our team have been working extra hours for the past few weeks to deliver provisions and hamper goodies to the needy families before Hari Raya! Heart warming to see the smiling faces of our recipients upon receiving 3 bags full of food and daily used items. Thanks to everyone of you who have contributed to our foodbank enabling us to give all our recipients (especially those celebrating) a Raya to remember! - Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen
5 months ago
Our team have been working extra hours for the past few weeks to deliver provisions and hamper goodies to the needy families before Hari Raya! Heart warming to see the smiling faces of our recipients upon receiving 3 bags full of food and daily used items. Thanks to everyone of you who have contributed to our foodbank enabling us to give all our recipients (especially those celebrating) a Raya to remember! - Vivian @ Kechara Soup Kitchen
Thankful to all donors and those who have been committed in contributing not just money but time over the past testing weeks to help us ease the work of our frontliners and also the livelihood of the needy, their struggles over this pandemic period seemed a little easier to bear with because of your contributions! - Vivian @Kechara Soup Kitchen
5 months ago
Thankful to all donors and those who have been committed in contributing not just money but time over the past testing weeks to help us ease the work of our frontliners and also the livelihood of the needy, their struggles over this pandemic period seemed a little easier to bear with because of your contributions! - Vivian @Kechara Soup Kitchen
KSDS Level 2 virtual class, Lin Mun KSDS
5 months ago
KSDS Level 2 virtual class, Lin Mun KSDS
KSDS Level 3 virtual class. Lin Mun KSDS
5 months ago
KSDS Level 3 virtual class. Lin Mun KSDS
Wesak 2020
5 months ago
Wesak 2020
Recycle today for a better tomorrow. KEP-Serena
7 months ago
Recycle today for a better tomorrow. KEP-Serena
Today we are having recycling at Kechara Soup Kitchen. Do drop by here if you would like to get ride of the recyclable items from home. KEP - Serena
7 months ago
Today we are having recycling at Kechara Soup Kitchen. Do drop by here if you would like to get ride of the recyclable items from home. KEP - Serena
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Seen here is Bam, Vajrayogini’s seed syllable and also Kechara's logo. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Seen here is Bam, Vajrayogini’s seed syllable and also Kechara's logo. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: More melted butter was offered. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: More melted butter was offered. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
H.E. Zawa Rinpoche in deep concentration. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
H.E. Zawa Rinpoche in deep concentration. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Geshela is seen here wearing ceremonial hat called tsoksha. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Geshela is seen here wearing ceremonial hat called tsoksha. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
The Shize Fire Puja was performed according to scriptural sources. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
The Shize Fire Puja was performed according to scriptural sources. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
To find out more about the substances offered during jinsek/fire puja, have a read here: http://bit.ly/WhatIsFirePuja - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
To find out more about the substances offered during jinsek/fire puja, have a read here: http://bit.ly/WhatIsFirePuja - shared by Pastor Antoinette
More about the symbolism of the offering items here: http://bit.ly/WhatIsFirePuja - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
More about the symbolism of the offering items here: http://bit.ly/WhatIsFirePuja - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Amongst all pujas, the fire puja is considered the king of all Pujas. It is the most powerful of all pujas within Tibetan Buddhism and its purpose is basically to remove all obstacles and its stains to enlightenment.
7 months ago
Amongst all pujas, the fire puja is considered the king of all Pujas. It is the most powerful of all pujas within Tibetan Buddhism and its purpose is basically to remove all obstacles and its stains to enlightenment.
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Graceful hand mudras were also part of the ritual. - shared Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Graceful hand mudras were also part of the ritual. - shared Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: One by one the offering substances were offered accompanied by traditional Tibetan recitations. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: One by one the offering substances were offered accompanied by traditional Tibetan recitations. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: JP Thong ensuring that Geshela's ritual items are within easy reach. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: JP Thong ensuring that Geshela's ritual items are within easy reach. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Pastor David Lai & Frederick Law were also on hand to assist with the puja ritual substances. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Pastor David Lai & Frederick Law were also on hand to assist with the puja ritual substances. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Pastor Niral Patel assisting H.E. Zawa Rinpoche during the puja. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Pastor Niral Patel assisting H.E. Zawa Rinpoche during the puja. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Peaceful fire pujas are excellent to remove inauspiciousness, problems that might be coming to our lifespan, wisdom, wealth, growth of Dharma. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Peaceful fire pujas are excellent to remove inauspiciousness, problems that might be coming to our lifespan, wisdom, wealth, growth of Dharma. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Over 100 Kecharians & their loved ones spent the Sunday evening immersed in this obstacle pacifying puja. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Over 100 Kecharians & their loved ones spent the Sunday evening immersed in this obstacle pacifying puja. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: H.E. Zawa Dakpa and Geshe Janchup Gyaltsen Lama inspecting the offering substances. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: H.E. Zawa Dakpa and Geshe Janchup Gyaltsen Lama inspecting the offering substances. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: H.E. Zawa Rinpoche & Geshe Janchup making last minute checks before the commencement of the Jinsek or Fire Puja. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: H.E. Zawa Rinpoche & Geshe Janchup making last minute checks before the commencement of the Jinsek or Fire Puja. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: The arrival of the Sangha conducting this sacred puja accompanied by Changtso Beng Kooi and Pastor Niral Patel - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: The arrival of the Sangha conducting this sacred puja accompanied by Changtso Beng Kooi and Pastor Niral Patel - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: The site of the Peaceful Fire Puja the calls upon the pacifying energies of Shize Shugden. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: The site of the Peaceful Fire Puja the calls upon the pacifying energies of Shize Shugden. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: A close-up of the ladle. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: A close-up of the ladle. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Substances such as sticks, melted butter, kusha grass, lentils and barley were traditionally offered during the prayers to create the causes for merits, long life and to pacify obstacles. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Substances such as sticks, melted butter, kusha grass, lentils and barley were traditionally offered during the prayers to create the causes for merits, long life and to pacify obstacles. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Beautifully handcrafted torma or food offering to the Buddha. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Beautifully handcrafted torma or food offering to the Buddha. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Some of the many offering items & substances used during this highly blessed Fire Puja. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
7 months ago
Highlights from the Shize Peaceful Fire Puja: Some of the many offering items & substances used during this highly blessed Fire Puja. - shared by Pastor Antoinette
The Promise
  These books will change your life
  Support Blog Team
Lamps For Life
  Robe Offerings
  Vajrayogini Stupa Fund
  White Tara Mantra Bank Project
  Dana Offerings
  Soup Kitchen Project
 
Zong Rinpoche

Archives

YOUR FEEDBACK

Live Visitors Counter
Page Views By Country
United States 5,336,393
Malaysia 4,333,499
India 1,831,614
Nepal 813,961
Singapore 797,440
United Kingdom 733,880
Canada 631,719
Bhutan 628,997
Australia 485,955
Philippines 397,616
Indonesia 359,169
Germany 293,082
France 276,234
Brazil 205,736
Vietnam 185,017
Taiwan 183,523
Thailand 182,657
Italy 144,171
Spain 135,362
Mongolia 134,872
Portugal 130,110
Netherlands 124,443
Turkey 119,880
United Arab Emirates 111,797
Russia 98,608
Sri Lanka 94,684
Romania 91,323
Hong Kong 90,698
South Africa 88,089
Mexico 82,142
Myanmar (Burma) 76,958
New Zealand 75,243
Switzerland 71,806
Japan 71,379
China 68,940
South Korea 63,152
Cambodia 61,665
Pakistan 58,681
Bangladesh 56,790
Total Pageviews: 21,317,214

Login

Dorje Shugden
Click to watch my talk about Dorje Shugden....