Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale: A Review

By | May 12, 2016 | Views: 1,214

(By Tsem Rinpoche and Pastor Han Nee)

Is Enlightenment for Me?

An Enlightened Mind is A Mind of No More Disturbance, a Mind of Clarity, Kindness and Commitment. Enlightenment, as Tsem Rinpoche teaches, is experienced as a state of mind, where there is no more disturbance, as we have already removed and eradicated all forms of disturbance and all causes for disturbance. In other words, we have eliminated all forms of difficulties and suffering and their causes. Our mind has achieved true inner peace.

The Mind of Enlightenment, Tsem Rinpoche states, is a mind that arises when nothing disturbs it anymore as it creates no negative karma. Indeed this mind is a wish-fulfilling jewel that fulfils all our wishes. It is a mind of kindness, commitment and clarity.

What is most uplifting to know about this mind of kindness, commitment and clarity is that it is our natural state of mind.

 

Hiring a Guru for Enlightenment?

In “Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale”, Tsem Rinpoche shows us how a Guru- a spiritual guide and trainer of the mind- is the one who can guide us unerringly toward this state of mind.

Applying the Dharma he teaches and has practised from a young age, he trains our mind to transcend our ego and all illusions and delusions, to recognize and accept the reality of who we really are, as well as the reality of the world surrounding us, and to ultimately reach a point where “nothing disturbs it anymore”. It becomes a mind of peace, a mind of kindness, commitment and clarity. Tsem Rinpoche himself is, without doubt, the living proof of the infallibility of this method of training that is called Guru Devotion.

Tsem Rinpoche brings to “Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale” his unique style of presenting the Dharma (the teachings of Lord Buddha of over 2500 years ago) with its special flavour of wisdom, wit, humor and compassion. His honesty and sincerity will not allow him to sugar-coat the truth of the Dharma that he presents. At the same time, we cannot doubt his sincerity because he teaches us the truth and reality of life out of his own experiences in living his life, with all its travails and woes, using this Dharma as his compass and a beacon (in troubled times). Furthermore he presents this profound Dharma in a practical and accessible manner, so that we can make it our spiritual practice for everyday life.

 

What touched me the most in “Gurus For Hire, Enlightenment for Sale” is Tsem Rinpoche’s Devotion to his Root Guru, Zong Rinpoche

What touched me the most is Tsem Rinpoche’s sincere and faultless devotion to his Root Guru, H.H. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche. He saw his Guru as worthy of the highest reverence. He describes Kyabje Zong Rinpoche as a “Living Buddha”. Prostrating to him was prostrating to a Living Buddha. Serving him was serving a Living Buddha.

In the practice of Guru Devotion, it is essential that we develop a whole-hearted commitment to our Guru in all our thoughts and actions. The “Fifty Verses on Guru Devotion” strongly urges us to develop “the total conviction that your Guru is a Buddha”. Only then, can you practise all the protocol of the “Fifty Verses on Guru Devotion” and “Practicing Guru Devotion with the Nine Attitudes” faultlessly. Only then can you receive the full benefits of Devotion to a Guru, including the ultimate benefit of peace and Enlightenment.

From this chapter, we can see that for Tsem Rinpoche, this total conviction of Zong Rinpoche as a Buddha and more so, as a Living Buddha, was spontaneous and instantaneous! Every day, for the six months that Zong Rinpoche was there in Thubten Dhargye Ling , Tsem Rinpoche served him with the immense reverence that one would accord a holy attained Being, a Living Buddha. Getting up early in the morning, he would prepare and bring breakfast to Zong Rinpoche. Immediately upon offering the breakfast to Rinpoche, he would make three prostrations.

“I made prostrations because I did not know how long I could be with him, and I did not want to prostrate to a statue; I wanted to prostrate to a Living Buddha”.

Throughout the six months, he gave his single-minded focus to serving his Guru and devoting himself to him. He cooked and served him food, listened to his teachings, massaged him and was always in close attendance on him and seeing to his every need. The following account shows the care, respect and reverence he gave Zong Rinpoche, even to the minutest detail of making sure his plates and cups were clean and not irreverently touched or used by others:

“I would wash his cups and his plates first, clean them and put them in the highest shelf in the kitchen, without damaging anything. Sometimes I would wash his silverware twice, wipe it carefully so that none of it was dirty or sticky. I would put away everything in a special place so no one could touch his items. I even put up a sign in case anybody made a mistake. This was an opportunity to serve my Guru”.

No one taught Tsem Rinpoche about how to show such great reverence and devotion. He said all this came from his hunger and thirst for the Dharma. He had run away from home, traverse the continent to reach California, and had found the Dharma in Thubten Dhargye Ling, Los Angeles.

“So when I came across such a great master, I was not going to lose my chance”.

Late at night, he would clean the kitchen and mop the floor. He did all this to make sure the place was clean for Zong Rinpoche’s feet to step on, if he walked downstairs and past the kitchen.

Tsem Rinpoche will never forget those days. There was a lot of work. But he never felt tired or felt he did not want to do it. He never regretted all the hard work he put in. Nor did he remember he was ever in pain, or fell sick. It was not work, he says. He was collecting such a tremendous amount of merits with a person without faults.

“I felt I was collecting merits with a person without any faults, that everything that I did would accelerate my Dharma practice and attainments. It was all joyous effort and nothing short of that”!

I am also extremely touched by Tsem Rinpoche’s recollection of the extraordinary kindness of his Guru and his deep gratitude to him, by his saying that everything he is doing today is totally a result of his kindness. Every word here is an expression of his devotion to Zong Rinpoche.

“Zong Rinpoche taught me the Dharma, his lineage was pure, he conferred on me the highest initiations, and he gave me my Dharma Protector practices and all the paths of Dharma from the ‘Lamrim Chenmo’ to the highest practices. He scolded me, he shouted at me. He gave me so much love that everything I am doing today is totally a result of his kindness. He is the only person I miss every single day, and I do not have much attachment to people”.

Tsem Rinpoche’s devotion to his Guru has inspired in him a firm resolve to never ever give up his commitments, vows and promises to him, “even at the cost of my life”. “One big reason that I teach Dharma today is because of Rinpoche and the promise I made to him”. His devotion is also seen in his firm resolve to follow “the manuals of Guru Devotion” all the way. “I have not made any infractions of my Guru Devotion, not that I know of”. Hence, following the instructions in the Fifty Verses to the letter, he never ever slouched or twisted his body around or even burped, in his Guru’s presence!

Hence in the concluding part of the chapter on Tsem Rinpoche’s devotion to his Guru Zong Rinpoche, when Tsem Rinpoche says that if we do not have Guru devotion, if we do not keep our samaya and commitments clean, where does our spiritual practice go, I immediately agreed wholeheartedly with him.

At this point of the book, I was deeply moved, grateful and exhilarated by the thought of a Living Buddha who is my guru, and the tremendous potential this opens up for me to practise this Path of Guru Devotion, under his wise and compassionate guidance! This whole chapter on Tsem Rinpoche’s devotion to his Guru spells out in detail how to best devote oneself to one’s Guru and get the optimum benefit from this most intensive and extensive spiritual Path, which is true inner peace, happiness and Enlightenment. I am fully convinced now that Guru Devotion is the “pith of practice”. Having a qualified and highly experienced Spiritual Guide, like Tsem Rinpoche, is most important.

 

The Five Things I Learned From “Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale”

1) We need to practise Guru Devotion, as is defined and described in this book.

We need a Spiritual Practice that will lead us to Enlightenment, for Enlightenment is about achieving a state of mind of true inner peace, where nothing disturbs the mind anymore, where the mind is all about kindness, commitment and clarity.

Guru Devotion is the spiritual practice that will lead us to Enlightenment. In order for the mind to attain a state of clarity, where all the blocks to Enlightenment are removed, in order for the mind to be led back to its natural state of kindness, commitment and clarity, we need a Guru or Spiritual Guide to guide and train our minds to achieve all that.

In essence, Guru Devotion is about training the mind to develop and hold the spiritual qualities which our Spiritual Guide embodies– the qualities of keeping our promises and commitments at all cost, of non-harming of all beings, and of being increasingly kind to others.

Real Guru devotion is about destroying the self-cherishing mind, which is the root cause of all our pain and suffering. Our Guru is the one to guide us to destroy our ego and self-cherishing. When we practice real Guru devotion, we become increasingly less selfish and more caring of others. Real Guru Devotion means listening to the Guru’s instructions and ‘submitting’ ourselves to all the wrathful methods he employs to help us destroy our egoistic and self-cherishing mind.

Real Guru Devotion leads us to practise the “Fifty Verses on Guru Devotion” and the “Nine Attitudes” in order to overcome and remove all delusions or afflictive emotions, like anger and strong attachments, which are the causes of suffering.

In summary, Devotion to the Guru leads to our natural state of mind, to our original self of clarity, after we have destroyed the negative qualities in our mind that block us from Enlightenment. In the first place, it is our Guru who will lead us to recognise these negative qualities when he brings them forth to us. Devotion to the Guru will ultimately lead you to your natural state of mind of kindness, commitment and clarity. By realising the qualities which our Guru embodies, we are led to this natural state of mind, our Inner Guru.

 

2) We need a qualified and highly experienced Guru, one who has already attained Enlightenment and embodies these qualities of the mind, a Guru whose pure motivation is to see us achieve Enlightenment.

A Guru, says Tsem Rinpoche, is a spiritual teacher, mentor and friend. The one who can free our enlightened potential, who can guide us to destroy the qualities in our mind that block us from Enlightenment, and uncover our naturally clear and compassionate true mode of being. We need a highly qualified guide with an ocean of experience, like Tsem Rinpoche, who can tailor his teachings, advice and instructions to suit the needs and propensities of each student.

Tsem Rinpoche: “We need a real Guru who challenges us, who pushes us, tells us ugly things about ourselves that are both true and untrue. When we are challenged, we will see where our mind is”.

However, the thing that matters is how we react. This reaction determines our level of practice. Ultimately, through the Guru’s skillful training and guidance, and our commitment to practise, we will get to the point where nothing disturbs our mind anymore. Then the mind of peace, clarity and compassion will arise.

A real Guru is compassionate to the point of not only guiding you to Enlightenment for free and without agenda, but will also risk your anger and hatred of him, your fighting him, your running away and saying negative and abusive things about him, so long as he can benefit you. All a real Guru wants for his students is that we truly engage in real Dharma practice and free ourselves from the bonds of ego and self-cherishing, and from all afflictive emotions or delusions, which block us from realising true peace. All he wishes for us is that we ultimately attain the goal of Enlightenment. The irony of it is that whatever we do in relation to him- serving him, making offerings to him, enduring hardships in the wake of his instructions and advice to us- they are all ultimately not for him but for ourselves.

 

3) Guru Devotion Leads to Freedom.

Tsem Rinpoche: “Devotion to and submission to our Guru is the beginning of us becoming independent– of our ego, of samsara and of our afflictive emotions”.

The real Guru will push us so that we achieve the six paramitas or Perfections, Bodhicitta and compassion, as these are the necessary prerequisites of higher practices. The six Paramitas or Perfections are ethics, giving, patience, perseverance or joyous effort, concentration and wisdom. We develop the virtues embodied in Bodhicitta and the Six Perfections as antidotes to our delusions, which are the root causes of our pain and suffering. For example, practising Patience as an antidote to anger, leads us to the lessening of our anger, and in its place we develop the virtue of Patience. Compassion for others is also an effective counter to anger and other afflictive emotions. Thus do we free ourselves from the control of afflictive negative emotions and the negative karma they create.

In this way, practising Guru Devotion, ultimately leads us to total freedom from suffering and the causes of suffering. In a similar way, the purpose of submitting to our Guru is to free us from the stranglehold of ego and afflictive emotions and from samsara which is in the nature of suffering.

 

4) Samaya and Spiritual Commitment

Samaya is about having an honest, pure real relationship with the Guru. Having a clean samaya with our Guru is very important because we are engaged in a spiritual relationship for a very high spiritual goal like Enlightenment.

The guidelines for maintaining a clean samaya with the Guru is contained in the “Fifty Verses on Guru Devotion” and the “Nine Attitudes”.
The devotion and respect we show our Guru has to be exemplary as our Guru is the one whose compassionate motivation and mission is to train our minds to let go of ego and self-cherishing and all negative afflictive emotions.

Spiritual Commitment

Tsem Rinpoche: “How strong our commitment is how much we want it. How much we want it depends on us realising the value of what we are doing”.

How much we value something comes from our knowledge of it. Eventually, our commitment is dependent on how compassionate we are, and the compassion is dependent on knowing that if we do not do it, we and others we love will suffer. It all comes back again to the self-cherishing mind. Commitment is about cutting this mind.

Our commitment to the practice of Guru Devotion and our spiritual commitments and promises and vows must never ever be given up at all cost. Keeping our commitments, vows and promises show a mind of compassion at work. The compassionate mind sees that breaking of a commitment or promise will lead to our suffering and the suffering of others. Thus it is important to keep our samaya clean and never break our commitments.

 

5) Having the Correct Perception of the Guru is Important

Ultimately it is the student’s correct perception of the guru that will remove all doubts and will truly determine if they will be able to devote themselves to him. So we have to train ourselves to perceive him correctly.

At first, we may react to what he teaches, with doubt, impatience and even anger, especially when he exposes what is ugly and unpalatable about us– our selfishness, our ego, our irresponsibility and our clinging to our comfort zones. What he says about us and others often runs contrary to the way we are used to viewing and perceiving them.

We also think negative things about him because he tells us what we don’t want to hear. He has to tell us what is wrong, tell us the truth. He has to encourage us to do daily practices, to attend pujas and go to Dharma classes. He has to urge us to be kind to each other, to keep our promises and commitments, and to study the Dharma.

Furthermore, we do not like it when he scolds, criticises or pushes us or presses our buttons. We are more familiar with people who tells us nice things and we want to hear the Guru say that Devotion is a breeze or only requires some effort. Guru Devotion requires hard work and entails hardship. But, don’t we want ultimate peace and Enlightenment?

As Tsem Rinpoche tells us, we have to learn to see things, including the Guru’s scolding, like a wrathful mantra, purifying our obscurations and negative karma. Eventually, all the hardships and criticisms become incredibly worthwhile because he is destroying our ego and our attachments, which block our mind’s attainment of no more disturbance.

We must cultivate a correct perception, by training our mind to focus and meditate on our Guru’s many good qualities and the great compassion behind all his actions. Having a correct perception of our Guru is a necessary condition for us to be able to devote ourselves to him.

 

How do I benefit from reading Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale?

“Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale” is worth reading for every one who wishes to have a practice to do for daily life. There are daily practices of the Dharma we can engage in, which is given in this book, for example in the section on the “50 Verses on Guru Devotion” and the “Nine Attitudes”, and also in the section on the “Dharma Centre”- working for the Dharma Centre, and on “The Refuge Vows”. These daily practices will help us develop an increasingly peaceful state of mind.

 

The Daily Practices from “Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale” That We Can Engage In for Peace and Happiness

  1. Essentially, as Lord Buddha has emphasized, we should focus on non-harming of other beings in our daily actions, as harming others and other beings will lead to negative consequences of suffering for ourselves and of being harmed ourselves. An example of non-harming is become a vegetarian. When we are vegetarians, we are consciously practising a peaceful life-style of non-killing.
  2. Even from a daily viewpoint, it is most beneficial to engage in the Dharma practice of mind transformation to cut down our negative afflictive emotions, like anger or hatred, and to cut down our self-cherishing mind, which are the causes of our mind’s perpetual state of unrest and disturbance.
  3. At the same time, it will be to our greatest benefit to engage in the Dharma practice of kindness and compassion, patience, giving and joyous effort and the other Perfections. From this, we gather virtues and merits, which will lead us to temporary short term happiness and the ultimate happiness of Peace and Enlightenment.

All these practices are drawn together under the main practice of Guru Devotion. Guru Devotion then is Dharma practice on an intense and extensive scale, which we engage in every minute of each day for short and long term benefits.

The greatest benefit we can derive from this book is to practice Guru Devotion, following the method or path of practice that Tsem Rinpoche has given here, with a qualified Guru as our teacher and guide. Guru Devotion is, in actual fact, an intensive practice of the stages of the Path to ultimate peace and Enlightenment.

 

“Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale” an invaluable guide- book for open-minded spiritual seekers.

In essence, “Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale” is about training our mind to the point where nothing disturbs it anymore. Seeing that our mind is perpetually in a disturbed and even turbulent state, and it is from our mind that most of our suffering comes, doesn’t it behoove us to get a grip on it, by training our mind to achieve the state of no more disturbance? We put ourselves through much hardship to attend training courses that bring us some sense of security or well-being that lasts only for a while. Whereas, if we were to put our minds to it, and read “Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale”, we will discover in it the method of training the mind for this enduring state of peace or no more disturbance.

 

When shall we practise Guru Devotion? If not now when?

When there is a qualified and experienced Guru, who wants to put Liberation and Peace in the palm of your hand, why should anyone hesitate?
The path of Guru Devotion– the path to true inner peace and happiness or Enlightenment may be a hard one. There are no shortcuts nor easy way out. Nonetheless, when we have a most compassionate spiritual guide and mentor who is there to guide, propel and push us with such great care for our liberation from suffering and for our ultimate happiness, peace (and without agenda) would we turn our back on him? There will never be another chance- our chance is as great as the proverbial blind turtle coming to the surface of the ocean once in a hundred years and trying to put his neck into the constantly moving float (which is the dharma or Buddha’s teachings presented to us in such a powerfully effective though unconventional style by Tsem Rinpoche, coupled with the vigorous practice and training).

 

Conclusion

I strongly recommend “Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale” to be read by everyone who cares about their spiritual growth, who wants to be assured that they are treading the correct path to real Peace, Happiness, and Enlightenment, and who knows the importance of having a Spiritual Guide and mentor of infinite wisdom and compassion, a Spiritual Guide who is most experienced and who cares very much that we will make it. Indeed “Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale” gives us, who wish to follow it, a clear and precise road map to freedom and real happiness.

To purchase a copy of Gurus For Hire, Enlightenment for Sale, click here.

 

About the Book

Author: H.E Tsem Rinpoche
Publisher: Kechara Media and Publications (March 20, 2009)
Paperback: 252 pages
ISBN: 978 983 4339 98 2
Product dimensions: 21.59cm (H) x 13.97cm (W) x 1.52cm (D)
Weight: 323g

 

For more interesting information:

Please support us so that we can continue to bring you more Dharma:

If you are in the United States, please note that your offerings and contributions are tax deductible. ~ the tsemrinpoche.com blog team

Pastor Lim Han Nee

About Pastor Lim Han Nee

A teacher for 30 years, it is no surprise that Pastor Lim Han Nee's life long passion was reading philosophical books to quench her thirst for knowledge. Upon meeting her Spiritual Guide H.E. the 25th Tsem Rinpoche, she was amazed by the brilliance of the Dharma, and began to immerse herself in Buddhist Philosophy through countless of hours listening and studying the Dharma.
Pastor Lim Han Nee

Latest posts by Pastor Lim Han Nee (see all)

15 Responses to Gurus for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale: A Review

DISCLAIMER IN RELATION TO COMMENTS OR POSTS GIVEN BY THIRD PARTIES BELOW

Kindly note that the comments or posts given by third parties in the comment section below do not represent the views of the owner and/or host of this Blog, save for responses specifically given by the owner and/or host. All other comments or posts or any other opinions, discussions or views given below under the comment section do not represent our views and should not be regarded as such. We reserve the right to remove any comments/views which we may find offensive but due to the volume of such comments, the non removal and/or non detection of any such comments/views does not mean that we condone the same.

We do hope that the participants of any comments, posts, opinions, discussions or views below will act responsibly and do not engage nor make any statements which are defamatory in nature or which may incite and contempt or ridicule of any party, individual or their beliefs or to contravene any laws.

  1. S.Prathap on Sep 8, 2020 at 4:15 pm

    This book brings alive many technical aspects of a spiritual relationships and puts into perspective why we would like to seek for a spiritual mentor in the first place. The guidelines mentioned in this book is very logical and practical.

    So many people do not understand why Guru is so important. This book will explain in a language that individualistic practitioners of the 21st century will appreciate. Thank you for the information about this book.

  2. Samfoonheei on Sep 2, 2020 at 1:17 pm

    Thank you Pastor Han Nee for this book review. A good book to read and understand better of Guru Devotion. Guru Devotion is must for Dharma practice in every Buddhist centre. Having a comprehensive book that explains the importance on Guru Devotion for modern day Buddhist practitioners is very helpful. We are very fortunate to have Rinpoche with us giving all the profound teachings from what he had learned, experienced and so forth. Even though Rinpoche is not here with us now yet Rinpoche will always be in our heart. Rinpoche will be back soon to continue turning the Dharma Wheel.

  3. Marek on Dec 22, 2016 at 10:42 pm

    what advice can you offer about finding an authentic teacher? Opinions may be subjective, BUT, there are plenty of fake gurus, lamas, rinpoches and teachers out there – just as much as there are sincere and genuine ones – how do we know whom to trust? How do we check? You wouldn’t go to a fake doctor, or a fake professor, so . . .

  4. Wan Wai Meng on Oct 1, 2016 at 4:46 am

    This book addresses many of the finer points about the relationship of a qualified Mahayana Guru and a modern spiritual practitioner. This book brings alive many technical aspects of a spiritual relationships and puts into perspective why we would like to seek for a spiritual mentor in the first place.

    Born from 27 hours of teachings this piece of literature will endure for many years ahead for many students of Buddhism in the future.

  5. Stella Cheang on Jul 29, 2016 at 1:41 pm

    Guru for Hire and Enlightenment for Sale is not just any Dharma book (or DVD). It is the holy “bible” for all of us who are keen and genuine in wanting to immerse ourselves in Dharma. The guidelines mentioned in this book is very logical and practical. For example, how should we manage or handle new students, what are the basic infrastructure required for a retreat centre or dharma centre, and how should we handle VIP that is brought in by another member? It certainly sound funny the way Rinpoche articulated it, but some of those examples are true stories in real life. We committed those “silly mistakes” because we, citizen of this beautiful country, do not have the mass consciousness for Buddhism. We are lacking in the general knowledge or etiquette of being a Buddhist, leave alone knowing the protocol on how to respect a lama, or understand the importance to sponsor a lama and the holy sangha. In Tibet, a revered high lama like Rinpoche will not be subjected to all the mundane chores like how Rinpoche used to be doing for his students. But Rinpoche did. We are very fortunate to have Rinpoche laid down plainly the guidelines as well as procedures for us, hence we must cherish the knowledge, learn up as best as we can, and be ready to share it with others.

    Thank you Rinpoche and Pastor Han Nee for this sharing.

  6. Uncle Eddie on Jun 21, 2016 at 9:46 am

    H.E. Tsem Tulku Rinpoche, since early childhood days, has been strongly inclined towards Dharma – eventually went on to receive his monastic education at Gaden Shartse Monastery. Having studied under 15 illustrious and eminent Gurus of Tibetan Buddhist lineage, including His Holiness, The 14th Dalai Lama, and prominent masters such as Kyabje Zong Rinpoche and Lama Zopa Rinpoche, Tsem Tulku Rinpoche will make one of the rare, precious gurus and a fearless pioneer who is master at turning every situation into a spiritual learning experience. He is said to be recognised as a real-life Bodisattva by all his teachers and students alike! In his teaching mission, Tsem Tulku Rinpoche, with his deep love and concern has always peppered his students with large doses of humour. Rinpoche’s ability to effortlessly combined vast amount of his profound wisdom with being practically straight- forward, moving us to tears in one minute, and shaking us up with great laughter the next, truly reveal his enormous skills, power and strength, as being a great Dharma master of the first degree! In this “Guru for Hire, Enlightenment for Sale?” episode, Tsem Tulku Rinpoche will make us the ‘best of best’ and most suitable spiritual Guru, guide and trainer of the mind, and stir us merrilly towards the precious goal of enlightment! Thankyou so much for the sharing, Pastor Lim Han Nee.

  7. sonny tan on May 27, 2016 at 10:26 am

    Thank you Pastor Han Nee for this review I bought this book on the advice of Pastor Tat Meng as I was guru hopping for quite sometime not knowing what’s guru devotion. I purchased this book at KP Sunway even though it was a browsing copy.
    Rinpoche indepth explanation clearly define the objectives, repercussion and advice of this important step we take in defining our religious pursuit.
    Pastor Adeline also advise me on the importance of lineage when seeking a guru, this important and pretty much overlooked aspect did not crossed my mind when I requested to be a disciple with my previous master. Upon acceptance by my previous master, vows were made as it is a prerequisite to discipleship. I mentioned to Pastor Adeline that I am keen to seek refuge in Rinpoche and ask her whether I am eligible knowing my predicament she advise me to seek blessings from my previous master to offically release me.
    I went through several steps and measures to seek my previous master blessings and also request a official release letter and finally after about two months they officially requested back my discipleship card and release me as a disciple.
    Though I have not been granted a refuge by Rinpoche up to this moment but I remembered he says that if my devotion is from my sincere heart it can be done by just with folded palms silently wish for a refuge at the altar.
    Coming from a Hinanaya background whenever I do my prayers and meditation the first salutation I do is to seek refuge in Lord Buddha followed by his dhamma and sangha. Thank you, Sadhu, sadhu, sadhu

  8. shelly tai on May 26, 2016 at 1:00 pm

    Thank you Rinpoche and Pastor Han Nee for sharing with us about this important book about guru devotion. I think as a spiritual practitioner we is essential for us to have a guru because we as an ordinary person we cannot perceive the Buddha directly but out of the kindness of all the Buddhas they manifested in this human form for us to see and learn from, so finding a right guru is important in our spiritual journey hence Gurus for hire , Enlightenment for sale is a perfect guide for us to read in order for us to look for perfect guru and how to devote ourself to our guru and also it explain to us why we need to devote ourself to our guru.

  9. Jacinta Goh on May 19, 2016 at 5:57 pm

    What a joyous moment for me to read the book reviewed by Pastor Han Nee. This was the first book I bought online and I’ve read it many times. Although Guru Devotion is main point for this book but it has many other information such as the refuge vows and the twelve commitments. Pastor Han Nee has managed to describe the Guru Devotion part very well. It is indeed true that, the only thing that Guru wants is our liberation. Hence, we must learn to free our mind from all the disturbances. We should strive to develop inner peace of mind if we want to help others as well. For me, these are the guidelines for self-examination. An inspiration for me to carry on the true essence of the teachings despite the circumstances.

    • Pastor Shin on May 22, 2016 at 12:44 am

      Thank you for sharing Jacinta. This book is compiled based on the Dharma talk given by H.E. Tsem Rinpoche in 2006 of over 24 hours, which lasted 3 days. Rinpoche wanted to reveal and debunk the many myths that surround spiritual practice, Gurus, Dharma centres and more.. Rinpoche spoke about about the ups, downs, benefits and troubles of Dharma centres all around the world.

      You can watch the original video recording here on this post: https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/gurus-for-hire-enlightenment-for-sale.html

  10. Jason on May 18, 2016 at 2:38 am

    I just bought this book few weeks ago at Kechara House.It is really a very interesting and informative book about Guru Devotion. I am very respect on Tsem Rinpoche on how he devoted to his Root Guru Zong Rinpoche. Most important is practice 50 verses of Guru Devotion with 9 attitudes.By practice it, we can destroy our ego,arrogant and create a clean samaya with our Guru. This will enhance our spiritual practice and transformation of our mind to be selflessness.
    Although my English is not good but I found that this book is really easy to understand.
    Thanks Rinpoche , You are my spiritual teacher.
    With folded hands,
    Jason

  11. Li Kheng on May 14, 2016 at 8:47 pm

    Thank you for this book review! Guru Devotion is the cornerstone for Dharma practice. Having a comprehensive book that shed light on this subject for modern day Buddhist practitioners is really helpful.

    So many people do not understand why Guru is so important. This book will explain in a language that individualistic practitioners of the 21st century will appreciate.

    Thank you again Pastor Hannee for your insight!

  12. Pastor David Lai on May 13, 2016 at 9:35 pm

    Gurus For Hire is one of those spiritual classics from Tsem Rinpoche that is really under-rated and one that has tremendous spiritual advice for spiritual seekers who are looking to traverse the Buddhist path, particularly that of Tantra. In this book, Rinpoche explains in rich detail the complete explanation of the 50 Stanzas of Guru Devotion that is re-explained in the current spiritual context.

    The explanations are peppered with real life accounts of Rinpoche’s own experience that are funny, practical, amazing and inspirational. I believe the book has much to offer I feel but Rinpoche’s reputation as a Shugden lama has hampered the proliferation of this incredible teaching. Therefore, I hope that this book will take off one day and be of infinite benefit to all spiritual seekers traversing the spiritual path.

  13. Yeo Kwai Gin on May 13, 2016 at 3:10 am

    感恩 Pastor Han Nee 分享了这编文章和分享了这书的要点让我们学习!

    在走上证悟的道路上,拥有一位具格的上师,是那么的重要!一位具格上师会运用不同的方式,方法,让弟子们以最迅速的时间,得到解脱! 尊贵的詹杜固仁波切,就是以善巧,幽默和风趣的方式,让大家对佛法深入了解,用心的对弟子们教导佛法!但对某些习气比较恶略弟子,上师会以善巧和一针见血的教导,直接指出弟子们的弱点和恶习,让弟子们走出舒适地带,在修行的道路上,更加精进。

    实践“上师五十颂”与“事师九心”在我们和上师之间是何等的重要,因为自我和我执,往往在我们的修行道路上成了很大的障碍,所以需要上师的指导将障碍清除,就如尊贵的上师詹杜固仁波切对宋仁波切之间清净的三昧耶,遵守其承诺,上师各种方式的教导,都珍惜一一的铭记在心里,尤其是上师对宋仁波切的信念就如对在世佛陀的信念一样,完全拥有这信念,那么实践“上师五十颂”和“事师九心”就能轻易驾驱了,所以,我们也应该一样对上师拥有“视师如佛”的信念,拥有慈悲心,彻底的改变我们的看法,态度和观点,在修行的道路上,必有所领悟与成就。

    希望更多人阅读了此书会有更高的领悟,在修行的道路上证得更高的成就 !

    感恩合十
    YEO KWAI GIN

  14. kb thapa on May 13, 2016 at 1:36 am

    We need a highly qualified guide with an experienced like Rinpoche.. He is a spiritual teacher, mentor and friend. The one who can free our enlightened potential, who can guide us to destroy the qualities in our mind that block us from Enlightenment, and uncover our naturally clear and compassionate true mode of being. To break samaya is to go against our words of honour to our Guru. It is when we are not honest, if we are deceptive or lie. if we do not carry out the instructions of our teacher and do not practice what he has told us to. This collects a huge amount of negative karma because we directly contradict the Dharma teachings and go against what our guru telling us to do, which is only for the benefit of others. By not following through with the instructions. There for very important to listen and follow the instruction.. This is the complete book for the students to have to learn and apply in our daily life and teach others…

Leave a Reply

Maximum file size: 15MB each
Allowed file types: jpg, jpeg, gif, png

 

Maximum file size: 50MB
Allowed file type: mp4
Maximum file size: 15MB each
Allowed file types: pdf, docx

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Blog Chat

BLOG CHAT

Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you.

Tsem Rinpoche


SCHEDULED CHAT SESSIONS / 聊天室时间表

(除了每个月的第一个星期五)
SUNDAY
8 - 9PM (GMT +8)
4 - 5AM (PST)

UPCOMING TOPICS FOR APRIL / 四月份讨论主题

Please come and join in the chat for a fun time and support. See you all there.


Blog Chat Etiquette

These are some simple guidelines to make the blog chat room a positive, enjoyable and enlightening experience for everyone. Please note that as this is a chat room, we chat! Do not flood the chat room, or post without interacting with others.

EXPAND
Be friendly

Remember that these are real people you are chatting with. They may have different opinions to you and come from different cultures. Treat them as you would face to face, and respect their opinions, and they will treat you the same.

Be Patient

Give the room a chance to answer you. Patience is a virtue. And if after awhile, people don't respond, perhaps they don't know the answer or they did not see your question. Do ask again or address someone directly. Do not be offended if people do not or are unable to respond to you.

Be Relevant

This is the blog of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche. Please respect this space. We request that all participants here are respectful of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche and his organisation, Kechara.

Be polite

Avoid the use of language or attitudes which may be offensive to others. If someone is disrespectful to you, ignore them instead of arguing with them.

Please be advised that anyone who contravenes these guidelines may be banned from the chatroom. Banning is at the complete discretion of the administrator of this blog. Should anyone wish to make an appeal or complaint about the behaviour of someone in the chatroom, please copy paste the relevant chat in an email to us at care@kechara.com and state the date and time of the respective conversation.

Please let this be a conducive space for discussions, both light and profound.

KECHARA FOREST RETREAT PROGRESS UPDATES

Here is the latest news and pictorial updates, as it happens, of our upcoming forest retreat project.

The Kechara Forest Retreat is a unique holistic retreat centre focused on the total wellness of body, mind and spirit. This is a place where families and individuals will find peace, nourishment and inspiration in a natural forest environment. At Kechara Forest Retreat, we are committed to give back to society through instilling the next generation with universal positive values such as kindness and compassion.

For more information, please read here (english), here (chinese), or the official site: retreat.kechara.com.

Noticeboard

Name: Email:
For:  
Mail will not be published
  • Samfoonheei
    Saturday, Apr 20. 2024 04:08 PM
    Momo is a dumpling made of all-purpose flour and filled with either meat or vegetables. Inspired by Tibetan dumplings, the dish is a very popular Nepali street food. It is one of my favourite foods. Last year while in Kathmandu I am fortunate given the opportunity to learn and made vegetarian Momos.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this sharing as it reminds me of trip there visiting some of the Holiest sites and trying my hand making momos then.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/students-friends/making-nepalese-momos.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Saturday, Apr 20. 2024 04:06 PM
    Bouddha, also known as Boudhanath, is a stupa in Kathmandu, Nepal which is located about 11 km from outskirts of Kathmandu. Its massive mandala makes it one of the largest spherical stupas in Nepal and the world. The Boudhanath Stupa pyramid is coated with over 60 pounds of gold, is one of the largest and one of the most significant Buddhist monuments in the world. This great Stupa is home to precious relics and this semi-circular structure stands out with its majestic mandala, recognized by UNESCO in 1979 as a World Heritage Site. The Boudhanath is the most sacred sites in Tibetan Buddhism outside of Tibet, reflecting the cosmological tenets of Buddhism. Was there last year June joining thousands of pilgrims circumambulate the stupa.
    The aerial view of this Boudhanath Stupa is magnificent indeed. Looking merely at the pictures is a blessing.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/art-architecture/aerial-view-of-bodha-stupa.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Saturday, Apr 20. 2024 04:04 PM
    Shanti Stupa in Pokhara was built by Nipponzan-Myōhōji monk Morioka Sonin with local supporters under the guidance of Nichidatsu Fujii, a Buddhist monk and the founder of Nipponzan-Myōhōji
    A famous site where locals as well as foreign tourists will go there throughout the year. One have to climb 400 steep steps to get to the Pagoda, it was worth the climb, as its situated on the Anadu Hill at the height of 1100 meters.
    Shanti Stupa shrine was built as a symbol of peace designed to provide a focus for people of all races and creeds, and to help unite them in their search for world peace. It has also become a tourist attraction as it provides a panoramic view of the Annapurna range, Pokhara city and Fewa Lake. The white pagoda has two tiers for tourists and religious visitors to circumambulate. Its location on the hilltop provides a splendid view of sunrise and sunset for visitors. Hopefully I could visit this amazing Holy site soon.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this great sharing

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/art-architecture/pokhara-stupa.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Saturday, Apr 20. 2024 04:04 PM
    Its an old blog yet its hold many wonderful memories for The Tsem Ladrang team , I am sure. They are the ones who found a beautiful house in the hills of Naranthan in Kathmandu, Nepal. The place is serene and peaceful with beautiful mountains ranges. Looking at the old pictures its breath-taking and brilliant. The Ladrang is surrounded by scenery of outstanding natural beauty. Having a spacious yard, guest quarters, butterlamp house, to mention a few. The Ladrang has a spectacular views of the surrounding mountains and Kathmandu Valley.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this sharing and teachings.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/me/tsem-ladrang-naranthan-nepal.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Saturday, Apr 20. 2024 04:02 PM
    Buddhist Pilgrimage in Nepal is the best trip that takes us to the spiritual centers where Buddhism’s practices and meditations emerged. Nepal is popular for its Buddhism practices and itself is the birthplace of the originator Gautam Buddha. This beautiful Himalayan nation hosts the amazing Buddhist trails, monuments and stupas. It’s the place where the Buddha meditated and the Buddha enlightened the people with wisdom. Kathmandu, the capital of Nepal, boasts many caves, stupas, and monasteries that are associated with Bodhisattvas, Buddha and Siddhas. The cave of Naropa and his guru Tilopa is beside Pashupatinath temple, bank of the holy Bagmati River. All these caves is considered as the holy site and Buddhist pilgrimage sites as the caves is the place where Naropa received training, teachings and had visions of Vajrayogini.
    I am fortunate to have visited this Holy caves while at Kathmandu last year.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this sharing .

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/travel/puja-at-naropas-cave-kathmandu-nepal.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Saturday, Apr 20. 2024 04:00 PM
    The Lord Buddha was born in 623 BC in the sacred area of Lumbini, southern Nepal.Lumbini is one of the world’s most important spiritual sites for the Buddhist pilgrims from around the world. The site is a popular place of Buddhist pilgrimage for many yearly. It was designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1997. The tranquility, aura and peace that we would experience in Lumbini makes it among the most holy places to visit in the world. I am fortunate going to this holiest place of Buddha birthplace last year with my Dharma brothers and sisters .It is the place where, according to Buddhist tradition, worth visiting
    Thank you Rinpoche for this sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/external-article/the-birth-palace-of-gautam-buddha
  • Samfoonheei
    Tuesday, Apr 2. 2024 02:06 PM
    Very interesting and informative article. In most cultures, women is consider as lower in status compared with men. Ancient times in India, man took the lead while women is seconded. But times has changed for the better where women are not degraded in society. They receive equal recognition, appreciation, and stature, yet in countries and places around the world, women are still viewed as inferior and treated accordingly. But in Buddhism women have been increasing in number and has proven that many of them have gained full enlightenment in a female body. In Buddhism is concerned there’s no discrimination toward women ,both men and women are equal. There‘s many female Mahasiddhas and Yoginis as in this blog. May it inspired many more to come. Interesting article and its great sharing knowledge.
    Thank you Rinpoche with folded hands,

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/courtesans-of-ancient-india.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Tuesday, Apr 2. 2024 02:05 PM
    Sleep paralysis is a feeling of being conscious but unable to move. It occurs when a person passes between stages of wakefulness and sleep. During these transitions, one may be unable to move or speak for a few seconds up to a few minutes. Some people may also feel pressure or a sense of choking. Sleep paralysis is a temporary inability to move or speak. It’s not harmful and should pass quickly, but at times can be frightening. It can affect anyone but is most common in young adults and they might have hallucination. The scary facts about sleep paralysis is those who suffer from it have said it felt like someone was choking them on their chest so they could not breathe.
    As for me I have not experience as such before as least i know now what i can to do.
    Thank you Vinnie Tan for sharing. Interesting read of these stories related to sleep paralysis.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/science-mysteries/sleep-paralysis-medical-or-paranormal.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Tuesday, Apr 2. 2024 02:03 PM
    nteresting as this texts been composed after being inspired to do so . That’s interesting as this nature are traditionally considered exceptionally potent in their blessings if the claim of divine inspiration is authentic. According to the account in the introduction, the author composed this text after being divinely inspired to do so. It’s a very rare kind and its acceptance been recognised and received praise by very high lamas of our tradition. Reading this article tell us all of how powerful Dorje Shugden when we invoke in our prayers.
    Interesting read of the short biography of Ven. Geshe Kunchok Gyaltsen, the author of Mass of Vajra Fire.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/mass-of-vajra-fire-invocation-of-the-mighty-dorje-shugden.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Tuesday, Apr 2. 2024 02:01 PM
    That’s wonderful Rinpoche has composed prayers in English so as everyone could recite and practice. For beginners is such a meaningful insights and perspectives without commitments and initiation. Moreover each prayers is for a specific blessing that helps practitioners to gain attainments and overcome obstacles. Easy and simple for everyone to start off.
    We are fortunate that everything Rinpoche did brought tremendous benefit to all sentient beings. Whatever prayers Rinpoche has composed are especially potent with blessings.
    Thank you Rinpoche and writers for this sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/holy-prayers-to-invoke-the-divine.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Tuesday, Apr 2. 2024 01:59 PM
    A great article , revisit this again of Tibetan Lamas and their dogs. As now I have a pet doggie with me, I came to understand more of them . Dogs are the most amazing creatures, they give us unconditional love. For me, they are the role model for being alive. Buddhists believe dogs also have the potential to become enlightened and can teach us about responsibility, love, and other Buddhist principles. The Q & A by Sandra Klein’s interview with the Venerable Gonsar Rinpoche gave us a better understanding and very informative of Tibetan dogs under Lamas care. ccording to the Buddha Dharma, all sentient beings have Buddha nature — from ants to humans. Though we often look at dogs as wonderful companions an teach us to embrace Buddhist principles. They, themselves, embody many of these principles.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this great sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/animals-vegetarianism/dogs-in-tibetan-monasteries.html
  • Brent
    Tuesday, Mar 26. 2024 04:47 PM
    Living with my wife, whose world is meticulously painted with the hues of OCD, is a journey that intertwines the essence of love with the complexities of the human mind. Her relentless pursuit of cleanliness and order, transforming even the most negligible corner into a testament of organization, often dances on the fine line between admiration and frustration. The sight of her steering clear from trash bins as if they were labyrinths of chaos, serves as a poignant reminder of the battles she fights within. Yet, it’s through these very battles that I’ve learned the profound language of patience and the unspoken strength of support. Therapy, in its gentle embrace, has been a beacon of light for her, guiding her through the stormy seas of OCD. It has not only offered her solace but has also unveiled the strength of her spirit, teaching us both the beauty of resilience. As she journeys through the pathways of healing, I stand by her, a testament to the power of love and the enduring promise of hope. Together, we navigate the complexities of her world, discovering that within the challenges lie opportunities for growth, understanding, and an unbreakable bond. https://www.mindfullyaliveonline.com/obsessive-compulsive-disorder-ocd/
  • Samfoonheei
    Friday, Mar 15. 2024 07:31 PM
    Venerable Ajahn Chah was a Thai Buddhist teacher of the Buddhadhamma and a founder of two major monasteries in the Thai Forest Tradition. Well respected and loved as a man of great wisdom, he was also instrumental in establishing Theravada Buddhism in the West. Interesting life story, how he chose to leave the settled monastic life and became a wandering ascetic. Walking across Thailand, lived in forests, caves and cremation grounds while learning from the meditation monks of the Forest of various monasteries. He wandered through the countryside in quest of quiet and secluded places for developing meditation. He even lived in tiger and cobra infested jungles, using reflections on death to penetrate to the true meaning of life. After years of wandering, Venerable Ajahn Chah established a monastery where he taught simple, practice-based form of meditation, and attracted a numerous of students including western foreigners. He was one of the greatest Dhamma teachers of the modern era. His wise teachings have continued to guide thousands of people along the path of Dharma. Venerable Ajahn Chah’s teachings of the Thai Forest Tradition gradually spread across all over the world. Several of Ajahn Chah’s Western students have since established monasteries throughout the world. Just in Thailand itself, there are more than 300 branch monasteries in Ajahn Chah’s tradition. Ven erable Ajahn Chah used his ill health as a teaching point, emphasizing that it was a living example of the impermanence of all things and reminded people to endeavour to find a true refuge within themselves. The legacy of Venerable Ajahn Chah’s teachings and legacy continues into the modern age.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this great sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/great-lamas-masters/venerable-ajahn-chah-the-forest-monk.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Friday, Mar 15. 2024 07:30 PM
    Wonderful blog written on the practice of Kalarupa for us to understand better. As an emanation of Manjushri, Kalarupa’s practice helps us to destroy ignorance and to develop wisdom overcoming our anger and suffering . Awesome Kalarupa manifested in multiple forms to help sentient beings who personifies enlightenment by the conquest of anger. Kalarupa also regard as one of the three main Dharma protectors of the Gelugpa is extremely fierce and ugly, and tames all kinds of spiritual ugliness. The fierceness of his iconography teaches us to remind ourselves that all the causes and effects of anger arising from ignorance are dreadful and distorted.
    Thank you Rinpoche and Pastor Antionette for this detailed sharing,

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/kalarupa.html
  • Samfoonheei
    Friday, Mar 15. 2024 07:27 PM
    Nepal is a very spiritual country, having a huge Dorje Shugden mural in Kathmandu, is indeed a big achievement for Kechara. Located on Charkhal Road in Dilli Bazaar, the mural can be found midway between our two Dorje Shugden chapels which are in Putalisadak and Chabahil. It is also very close to one of Kathmandu’s largest shopping malls. Many locals , tourist will be able to connect them to a powerful deity that is so closely associated with their culture. Well the mural not only beautiful but also full of symbolism and everyone merely by seeing it is blessed. Thanks to those talented artists and generous sponsors making it a success.
    Thank you Rinpoche for this sharing.

    https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/travel/spectacular-dorje-shugden-mural-in-kathmandu-nepal.html

1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · »

Messages from Rinpoche

Scroll down within the box to view more messages from Rinpoche. Click on the images to enlarge. Click on 'older messages' to view archived messages. Use 'prev' and 'next' links to navigate between pages

Use this URL to link to this section directly: https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/#messages-from-rinpoche

Previous Live Videos

MORE VIDEOS

Shugdenpas Speaking Up Across The Globe

From Europe Shugden Association:


MORE VIDEOS

From Tibetan Public Talk:


MORE VIDEOS

CREDITS

Concept: Tsem Rinpoche
Technical: Lew Kwan Leng, Justin Ripley, Yong Swee Keong
Design: Justin Ripley, Cynthia Lee
Content: Tsem Rinpoche, Justin Ripley, Pastor Shin Tan, Sarah Yap
Admin: Pastor Loh Seng Piow, Beng Kooi

I must thank my dharma blog team who are great assets to me, Kechara and growth of dharma in this wonderful region. I am honoured and thrilled to work with them. I really am. Maybe I don't say it enough to them, but I am saying it now. I APPRECIATE THESE GUYS VERY MUCH!

Tsem Rinpoche

Total views today
2,836
Total views up to date
26,041,536
Facebook Fans Youtube Views Blog Views
Animal Care Fund
  Bigfoot, Yeti, Sasquatch

The Unknown

The Known and unknown are both feared,
Known is being comfortable and stagnant,
The unknown may be growth and opportunities,
One shall never know if one fears the unknown more than the known.
Who says the unknown would be worse than the known?
But then again, the unknown is sometimes worse than the known. In the end nothing is known unless we endeavour,
So go pursue all the way with the unknown,
because all unknown with familiarity becomes the known.
~Tsem Rinpoche

Photos On The Go

Click on the images to view the bigger version. And scroll down and click on "View All Photos" to view more images.
According to legend, Shambhala is a place where wisdom and love reign, and there is no crime. Doesn\'t this sound like the kind of place all of us would love to live in? https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=204874
4 years ago
According to legend, Shambhala is a place where wisdom and love reign, and there is no crime. Doesn't this sound like the kind of place all of us would love to live in? https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=204874
108 candles and sang (incense) offered at our Wish-Fulfilling Grotto, invoking Dorje Shugden\'s blessings for friends, sponsors and supporters, wonderful!
4 years ago
108 candles and sang (incense) offered at our Wish-Fulfilling Grotto, invoking Dorje Shugden's blessings for friends, sponsors and supporters, wonderful!
Dharmapalas are not exclusive to Tibetan culture and their practice is widespread throughout the Buddhist world - https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=193645
4 years ago
Dharmapalas are not exclusive to Tibetan culture and their practice is widespread throughout the Buddhist world - https://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=193645
One of our adorable Kechara Forest Retreat\'s doggies, Tara, happy and safe, and enjoying herself in front of Wisdom Hall which has been decorated for Chinese New Year
4 years ago
One of our adorable Kechara Forest Retreat's doggies, Tara, happy and safe, and enjoying herself in front of Wisdom Hall which has been decorated for Chinese New Year
Fragrant organic Thai basil harvested from our very own Kechara Forest Retreat farm!
4 years ago
Fragrant organic Thai basil harvested from our very own Kechara Forest Retreat farm!
On behalf of our Puja House team, Pastor Tat Ming receives food and drinks from Rinpoche. Rinpoche wanted to make sure the hardworking Puja House team are always taken care of.
4 years ago
On behalf of our Puja House team, Pastor Tat Ming receives food and drinks from Rinpoche. Rinpoche wanted to make sure the hardworking Puja House team are always taken care of.
By the time I heard about Luang Phor Thong, he was already very old, in his late 80s. When I heard about him, I immediately wanted to go and pay my respects to him. - http://bit.ly/LuangPhorThong
4 years ago
By the time I heard about Luang Phor Thong, he was already very old, in his late 80s. When I heard about him, I immediately wanted to go and pay my respects to him. - http://bit.ly/LuangPhorThong
It\'s very nice to see volunteers helping maintain holy sites in Kechara Forest Retreat, it\'s very good for them. Cleaning Buddha statues is a very powerful and effective way of purifying body karma.
4 years ago
It's very nice to see volunteers helping maintain holy sites in Kechara Forest Retreat, it's very good for them. Cleaning Buddha statues is a very powerful and effective way of purifying body karma.
Kechara Forest Retreat is preparing for the upcoming Chinese New Year celebrations. This is our holy Vajra Yogini stupa which is now surrounded by beautiful lanterns organised by our students.
4 years ago
Kechara Forest Retreat is preparing for the upcoming Chinese New Year celebrations. This is our holy Vajra Yogini stupa which is now surrounded by beautiful lanterns organised by our students.
One of the most recent harvests from our Kechara Forest Retreat land. It was grown free of chemicals and pesticides, wonderful!
4 years ago
One of the most recent harvests from our Kechara Forest Retreat land. It was grown free of chemicals and pesticides, wonderful!
Third picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal.
Height: 33ft (10m)
5 years ago
Third picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal. Height: 33ft (10m)
Second picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal.
Height: 33ft (10m)
5 years ago
Second picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal. Height: 33ft (10m)
First picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal.
Height: 33ft (10m)
5 years ago
First picture-Standing Manjushri Statue at Chowar, Kirtipur, Nepal. Height: 33ft (10m)
The first title published by Kechara Comics is Karuna Finds A Way. It tells the tale of high-school sweethearts Karuna and Adam who had what some would call the dream life. Everything was going great for them until one day when reality came knocking on their door. Caught in a surprise swindle, this loving family who never harmed anyone found themselves out of luck and down on their fortune. Determined to save her family, Karuna goes all out to find a solution. See what she does- https://bit.ly/2LSKuWo
5 years ago
The first title published by Kechara Comics is Karuna Finds A Way. It tells the tale of high-school sweethearts Karuna and Adam who had what some would call the dream life. Everything was going great for them until one day when reality came knocking on their door. Caught in a surprise swindle, this loving family who never harmed anyone found themselves out of luck and down on their fortune. Determined to save her family, Karuna goes all out to find a solution. See what she does- https://bit.ly/2LSKuWo
Very powerful story! Tibetan Resistance group Chushi Gangdruk reveals how Dalai Lama escaped in 1959- https://bit.ly/2S9VMGX
5 years ago
Very powerful story! Tibetan Resistance group Chushi Gangdruk reveals how Dalai Lama escaped in 1959- https://bit.ly/2S9VMGX
At Kechara Forest Retreat land we have nice fresh spinach growing free of chemicals and pesticides. Yes!
5 years ago
At Kechara Forest Retreat land we have nice fresh spinach growing free of chemicals and pesticides. Yes!
See beautiful pictures of Manjushri Guest House here- https://bit.ly/2WGo0ti
5 years ago
See beautiful pictures of Manjushri Guest House here- https://bit.ly/2WGo0ti
Beginner’s Introduction to Dorje Shugden~Very good overview https://bit.ly/2QQNfYv
5 years ago
Beginner’s Introduction to Dorje Shugden~Very good overview https://bit.ly/2QQNfYv
Fresh eggplants grown on Kechara Forest Retreat\'s land here in Malaysia
5 years ago
Fresh eggplants grown on Kechara Forest Retreat's land here in Malaysia
Most Venerable Uppalavanna – The Chief Female Disciple of Buddha Shakyamuni - She exhibited many supernatural abilities gained from meditation and proved to the world females and males are equal in spirituality- https://bit.ly/31d9Rat
5 years ago
Most Venerable Uppalavanna – The Chief Female Disciple of Buddha Shakyamuni - She exhibited many supernatural abilities gained from meditation and proved to the world females and males are equal in spirituality- https://bit.ly/31d9Rat
Thailand’s ‘Renegade’ Yet Powerful Buddhist Nuns~ https://bit.ly/2Z1C02m
5 years ago
Thailand’s ‘Renegade’ Yet Powerful Buddhist Nuns~ https://bit.ly/2Z1C02m
Mahapajapati Gotami – the first Buddhist nun ordained by Lord Buddha- https://bit.ly/2IjD8ru
5 years ago
Mahapajapati Gotami – the first Buddhist nun ordained by Lord Buddha- https://bit.ly/2IjD8ru
The Largest Buddha Shakyamuni in Russia | 俄罗斯最大的释迦牟尼佛画像- https://bit.ly/2Wpclni
5 years ago
The Largest Buddha Shakyamuni in Russia | 俄罗斯最大的释迦牟尼佛画像- https://bit.ly/2Wpclni
Sacred Vajra Yogini
5 years ago
Sacred Vajra Yogini
Dorje Shugden works & archives - a labour of commitment - https://bit.ly/30Tp2p8
5 years ago
Dorje Shugden works & archives - a labour of commitment - https://bit.ly/30Tp2p8
Mahapajapati Gotami, who was the first nun ordained by Lord Buddha.
5 years ago
Mahapajapati Gotami, who was the first nun ordained by Lord Buddha.
Mahapajapati Gotami, who was the first nun ordained by Lord Buddha. She was his step-mother and aunt. Buddha\'s mother had passed away at his birth so he was raised by Gotami.
5 years ago
Mahapajapati Gotami, who was the first nun ordained by Lord Buddha. She was his step-mother and aunt. Buddha's mother had passed away at his birth so he was raised by Gotami.
Another nun disciple of Lord Buddha\'s. She had achieved great spiritual abilities and high attainments. She would be a proper object of refuge. This image of the eminent bhikkhuni (nun) disciple of the Buddha, Uppalavanna Theri.
5 years ago
Another nun disciple of Lord Buddha's. She had achieved great spiritual abilities and high attainments. She would be a proper object of refuge. This image of the eminent bhikkhuni (nun) disciple of the Buddha, Uppalavanna Theri.
Wandering Ascetic Painting by Nirdesha Munasinghe
5 years ago
Wandering Ascetic Painting by Nirdesha Munasinghe
High Sri Lankan monks visit Kechara to bless our land, temple, Buddha and Dorje Shugden images. They were very kind-see pictures- https://bit.ly/2HQie2M
5 years ago
High Sri Lankan monks visit Kechara to bless our land, temple, Buddha and Dorje Shugden images. They were very kind-see pictures- https://bit.ly/2HQie2M
This is pretty amazing!

First Sri Lankan Buddhist temple opened in Dubai!!!
5 years ago
This is pretty amazing! First Sri Lankan Buddhist temple opened in Dubai!!!
My Dharma boy (left) and Oser girl loves to laze around on the veranda in the mornings. They enjoy all the trees, grass and relaxing under the hot sun. Sunbathing is a favorite daily activity. I care about these two doggies of mine very much and I enjoy seeing them happy. They are with me always. Tsem Rinpoche

Always be kind to animals and eat vegetarian- https://bit.ly/2Psp8h2
5 years ago
My Dharma boy (left) and Oser girl loves to laze around on the veranda in the mornings. They enjoy all the trees, grass and relaxing under the hot sun. Sunbathing is a favorite daily activity. I care about these two doggies of mine very much and I enjoy seeing them happy. They are with me always. Tsem Rinpoche Always be kind to animals and eat vegetarian- https://bit.ly/2Psp8h2
After you left me Mumu, I was alone. I have no family or kin. You were my family. I can\'t stop thinking of you and I can\'t forget you. My bond and connection with you is so strong. I wish you were by my side. Tsem Rinpoche
5 years ago
After you left me Mumu, I was alone. I have no family or kin. You were my family. I can't stop thinking of you and I can't forget you. My bond and connection with you is so strong. I wish you were by my side. Tsem Rinpoche
This story is a life-changer. Learn about the incredible Forest Man of India | 印度“森林之子”- https://bit.ly/2Eh4vRS
5 years ago
This story is a life-changer. Learn about the incredible Forest Man of India | 印度“森林之子”- https://bit.ly/2Eh4vRS
Part 2-Beautiful billboard in Malaysia of a powerful Tibetan hero whose life serves as a great inspiration- https://bit.ly/2UltNE4
5 years ago
Part 2-Beautiful billboard in Malaysia of a powerful Tibetan hero whose life serves as a great inspiration- https://bit.ly/2UltNE4
Part 1-Beautiful billboard in Malaysia of a powerful Tibetan hero whose life serves as a great inspiration- https://bit.ly/2UltNE4
5 years ago
Part 1-Beautiful billboard in Malaysia of a powerful Tibetan hero whose life serves as a great inspiration- https://bit.ly/2UltNE4
The great Protector Manjushri Dorje Shugden depicted in the beautiful Mongolian style. To download a high resolution file: https://bit.ly/2Nt3FHz
5 years ago
The great Protector Manjushri Dorje Shugden depicted in the beautiful Mongolian style. To download a high resolution file: https://bit.ly/2Nt3FHz
The Mystical land of Shambhala is finally ready for everyone to feast their eyes and be blessed. A beautiful post with information, art work, history, spirituality and a beautiful book composed by His Holiness the 6th Panchen Rinpoche. ~ https://bit.ly/309MHBi
5 years ago
The Mystical land of Shambhala is finally ready for everyone to feast their eyes and be blessed. A beautiful post with information, art work, history, spirituality and a beautiful book composed by His Holiness the 6th Panchen Rinpoche. ~ https://bit.ly/309MHBi
Beautiful pictures of the huge Buddha in Longkou Nanshan- https://bit.ly/2LsBxVb
5 years ago
Beautiful pictures of the huge Buddha in Longkou Nanshan- https://bit.ly/2LsBxVb
The reason-Very interesting thought- https://bit.ly/2V7VT5r
5 years ago
The reason-Very interesting thought- https://bit.ly/2V7VT5r
NEW Bigfoot cafe in Malaysia! Food is delicious!- https://bit.ly/2VxdGau
5 years ago
NEW Bigfoot cafe in Malaysia! Food is delicious!- https://bit.ly/2VxdGau
DON\'T MISS THIS!~How brave Bonnie survived by living with a herd of deer~ https://bit.ly/2Lre2eY
5 years ago
DON'T MISS THIS!~How brave Bonnie survived by living with a herd of deer~ https://bit.ly/2Lre2eY
Global Superpower China Will Cut Meat Consumption by 50%! Very interesting, find out more- https://bit.ly/2V1sJFh
5 years ago
Global Superpower China Will Cut Meat Consumption by 50%! Very interesting, find out more- https://bit.ly/2V1sJFh
You can download this beautiful Egyptian style Dorje Shugden Free- https://bit.ly/2Nt3FHz
5 years ago
You can download this beautiful Egyptian style Dorje Shugden Free- https://bit.ly/2Nt3FHz
Beautiful high file for print of Lord Manjushri. May you be blessed- https://bit.ly/2V8mwZe
5 years ago
Beautiful high file for print of Lord Manjushri. May you be blessed- https://bit.ly/2V8mwZe
Mongolian (Oymiakon) Shaman in Siberia, Russia. That is his real outfit he wears. Very unique. TR
5 years ago
Mongolian (Oymiakon) Shaman in Siberia, Russia. That is his real outfit he wears. Very unique. TR
Find one of the most beautiful temples in the world in Nara, Japan. It is the 1,267 year old Todai-ji temple that houses a 15 meter Buddha Vairocana statue who is a cosmic and timeless Buddha. Emperor Shomu who sponsored this beautiful temple eventually abdicated and ordained as a Buddhist monk. Very interesting history and story. One of the places everyone should visit- https://bit.ly/2VgsHhK
5 years ago
Find one of the most beautiful temples in the world in Nara, Japan. It is the 1,267 year old Todai-ji temple that houses a 15 meter Buddha Vairocana statue who is a cosmic and timeless Buddha. Emperor Shomu who sponsored this beautiful temple eventually abdicated and ordained as a Buddhist monk. Very interesting history and story. One of the places everyone should visit- https://bit.ly/2VgsHhK
Manjusri Kumara (bodhisattva of wisdom), India, Pala dynesty, 9th century, stone, Honolulu Academy of Arts
5 years ago
Manjusri Kumara (bodhisattva of wisdom), India, Pala dynesty, 9th century, stone, Honolulu Academy of Arts
Click on "View All Photos" above to view more images

Videos On The Go

Please click on the images to watch video
  • Pig puts his toys away
    4 years ago
    Pig puts his toys away
    Animals are so intelligent. They can feel happiness, joy, pain, sorrow, just like humans. Always show kindness to them. Always show kindness to everyone.
  • Always be kind to animals-They deserve to live just like us.
    5 years ago
    Always be kind to animals-They deserve to live just like us.
    Whales and dolphins playing with each other in the Pacific sea. Nature is truly incredible!
  • Bodha stupa July 2019-
    5 years ago
    Bodha stupa July 2019-
    Rainy period
  • Cute Tara girl having a snack. She is one of Kechara Forest Retreat’s resident doggies.
    5 years ago
    Cute Tara girl having a snack. She is one of Kechara Forest Retreat’s resident doggies.
  • Your Next Meal!
    5 years ago
    Your Next Meal!
    Yummy? Tasty? Behind the scenes of the meat on your plates. Meat is a killing industry.
  • This is Daw
    5 years ago
    This is Daw
    This is what they do to get meat on tables, and to produce belts and jackets. Think twice before your next purchase.
  • Don’t Take My Mummy Away!
    5 years ago
    Don’t Take My Mummy Away!
    Look at the poor baby chasing after the mother. Why do we do that to them? It's time to seriously think about our choices in life and how they affect others. Be kind. Don't break up families.
  • They do this every day!
    5 years ago
    They do this every day!
    This is how they are being treated every day of their lives. Please do something to stop the brutality. Listen to their cries for help!
  • What happened at Fair Oaks Farm?
    5 years ago
    What happened at Fair Oaks Farm?
    The largest undercover dairy investigation of all time. See what they found out at Fair Oaks Farm.
  • She’s going to spend her whole life here without being able to move correctly. Like a machine. They are the slaves of the people and are viewed as a product. It’s immoral. Billions of terrestrial animals die annually. Billions. You can’t even imagine it. And all that because people don’t want to give up meat, even though there are so many alternatives. ~ Gabriel Azimov
    5 years ago
    She’s going to spend her whole life here without being able to move correctly. Like a machine. They are the slaves of the people and are viewed as a product. It’s immoral. Billions of terrestrial animals die annually. Billions. You can’t even imagine it. And all that because people don’t want to give up meat, even though there are so many alternatives. ~ Gabriel Azimov
  • Our Malaysian Prime Minister Dr. Mahathir speaks so well, logically and regarding our country’s collaboration with China for growth. It is refreshing to listen to Dr. Mahathir’s thoughts. He said our country can look to China for many more things such as technology and so on. Tsem Rinpoche
    5 years ago
    Our Malaysian Prime Minister Dr. Mahathir speaks so well, logically and regarding our country’s collaboration with China for growth. It is refreshing to listen to Dr. Mahathir’s thoughts. He said our country can look to China for many more things such as technology and so on. Tsem Rinpoche
  • This is the first time His Holiness Dalai Lama mentions he had some very serious illness. Very worrying. This video is captured April 2019.
    5 years ago
    This is the first time His Holiness Dalai Lama mentions he had some very serious illness. Very worrying. This video is captured April 2019.
  • Beautiful Monastery in Hong Kong
    5 years ago
    Beautiful Monastery in Hong Kong
  • This dog thanks his hero in such a touching way. Tsem Rinpoche
    5 years ago
    This dog thanks his hero in such a touching way. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Join Tsem Rinpoche in prayer for H.H. Dalai Lama’s long life~ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYy7JcveikU&feature=youtu.be
    5 years ago
    Join Tsem Rinpoche in prayer for H.H. Dalai Lama’s long life~ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYy7JcveikU&feature=youtu.be
  • These people going on pilgrimage to a holy mountain and prostrating out of devotion and for pilgrimage in Tibet. Such determination for spiritual practice. Tsem Rinpoche
    5 years ago
    These people going on pilgrimage to a holy mountain and prostrating out of devotion and for pilgrimage in Tibet. Such determination for spiritual practice. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Beautiful new casing in Kechara for Vajra Yogini. Tsem Rinpoche
    5 years ago
    Beautiful new casing in Kechara for Vajra Yogini. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Get ready to laugh real hard. This is Kechara’s version of “Whatever Happened to Baby Jane!” We have some real talents in this video clip.
    5 years ago
    Get ready to laugh real hard. This is Kechara’s version of “Whatever Happened to Baby Jane!” We have some real talents in this video clip.
  • Recitation of Dorje Dermo‘s mantra or the Dharani of Glorious Vajra Claws. This powerful mantra is meant to destroy all obstacles that come in our way. Beneficial to play this mantra in our environments.
    5 years ago
    Recitation of Dorje Dermo‘s mantra or the Dharani of Glorious Vajra Claws. This powerful mantra is meant to destroy all obstacles that come in our way. Beneficial to play this mantra in our environments.
  • Beautiful
    5 years ago
    Beautiful
    Beautiful sacred Severed Head Vajra Yogini from Tsem Rinpoche's personal shrine.
  • My little monster cute babies Dharma and Oser. Take a look and get a cute attack for the day! Tsem Rinpoche
    5 years ago
    My little monster cute babies Dharma and Oser. Take a look and get a cute attack for the day! Tsem Rinpoche
  • Plse watch this short video and see how all sentient beings are capable of tenderness and love. We should never hurt animals nor should we eat them. Tsem Rinpoche
    5 years ago
    Plse watch this short video and see how all sentient beings are capable of tenderness and love. We should never hurt animals nor should we eat them. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Cruelty of some people have no limits and it’s heartbreaking. Being kind cost nothing. Tsem Rinpoche
    5 years ago
    Cruelty of some people have no limits and it’s heartbreaking. Being kind cost nothing. Tsem Rinpoche
  • SUPER ADORABLE and must see
    5 years ago
    SUPER ADORABLE and must see
    Tsem Rinpoche's dog Oser girl enjoying her snack in her play pen.
  • Cute!
    5 years ago
    Cute!
    Oser girl loves the balcony so much. - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTcoWpKJm2c
  • Uncle Wong
    5 years ago
    Uncle Wong
    We were told by Uncle Wong he is very faithful toward Dorje Shugden. Dorje Shugden has extended help to him on several occasions and now Uncle Wong comes daily to make incense offerings to Dorje Shugden. He is grateful towards the help he was given.
  • Tsem Rinpoche’s Schnauzer Dharma boy fights Robot sphere from Arkonide!
    5 years ago
    Tsem Rinpoche’s Schnauzer Dharma boy fights Robot sphere from Arkonide!
  • Cute baby owl found and rescued
    5 years ago
    Cute baby owl found and rescued
    We rescued a lost baby owl in Kechara Forest Retreat.
  • Nice cups from Kechara!!
    5 years ago
    Nice cups from Kechara!!
    Dorje Shugden people's lives matter!
  • Enjoy a peaceful morning at Kechara Forest Retreat
    5 years ago
    Enjoy a peaceful morning at Kechara Forest Retreat
    Chirping birds and other forest animals create a joyful melody at the Vajrayogini stupa in Kechara Forest Retreat (Bentong, Malaysia).
  • This topic is so hot in many circles right now.
    6 years ago
    This topic is so hot in many circles right now.
    This video is thought-provoking and very interesting. Watch! Thanks so much to our friends at LIVEKINDLY.
  • Chiropractic CHANGES LIFE for teenager with acute PAIN & DEAD LEG.
    6 years ago
    Chiropractic CHANGES LIFE for teenager with acute PAIN & DEAD LEG.
  • BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN NEW YORK STATE-AMAZING.
    6 years ago
    BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN NEW YORK STATE-AMAZING.
  • Leonardo DiCaprio takes on the meat Industry with real action.
    6 years ago
    Leonardo DiCaprio takes on the meat Industry with real action.
  • Do psychic mediums have messages from beyond?
    6 years ago
    Do psychic mediums have messages from beyond?
  • Lovely gift for my 52nd Birthday. Tsem Rinpoche
    7 years ago
    Lovely gift for my 52nd Birthday. Tsem Rinpoche
  • This 59-year-old chimpanzee was refusing food and ready to die until...
    7 years ago
    This 59-year-old chimpanzee was refusing food and ready to die until...
    she received “one last visit from an old friend” 💔💔
  • Bigfoot sighted again and made it to the news.
    7 years ago
    Bigfoot sighted again and made it to the news.
  • Casper is such a cute and adorable. I like him.
    7 years ago
    Casper is such a cute and adorable. I like him.
  • Dorje Shugden Monastery Amarbayasgalant  Mongolia's Ancient Hidden Gem
    7 years ago
    Dorje Shugden Monastery Amarbayasgalant Mongolia's Ancient Hidden Gem
  • Don't you love Hamburgers? See how 'delicious' it is here!
    7 years ago
    Don't you love Hamburgers? See how 'delicious' it is here!
  • Such a beautiful and powerful message from a person who knows the meaning of life. Tsem Rinpoche
    7 years ago
    Such a beautiful and powerful message from a person who knows the meaning of life. Tsem Rinpoche
  • What the meat industry figured out is that you don't need healthy animals to make a profit.
    7 years ago
    What the meat industry figured out is that you don't need healthy animals to make a profit.
    Sick animals are more profitable... farms calculate how close to death they can keep animals without killing them. That's the business model. How quickly they can be made to grow, how tightly they can be packed, how much or how little can they eat, how sick they can get without dying... We live in a world in which it's conventional to treat an animal like a block of wood. ~ Jonathan Safran Foer
  • This video went viral and it's a must watch!!
    7 years ago
    This video went viral and it's a must watch!!
  • SEE HOW THIS ANIMAL SERIAL KILLER HAS NO ISSUE BLUDGEONING THIS DEFENSELESS BEING.
    7 years ago
    SEE HOW THIS ANIMAL SERIAL KILLER HAS NO ISSUE BLUDGEONING THIS DEFENSELESS BEING.
    This happens daily in slaughterhouse so you can get your pork and Bak ku teh. Stop eating meat.

ASK A PASTOR


Ask the Pastors

A section for you to clarify your Dharma questions with Kechara’s esteemed pastors.

Just post your name and your question below and one of our pastors will provide you with an answer.

Scroll down and click on "View All Questions" to view archived questions.

View All Questions

CHAT PICTURES

Pastor Seng Piow guides us on the flow of Dorje Shugden puja, its benefits, significant of Chanting the names of Manjushri and also explaining the dedication for the sponsors and to those in need before we start the puja as we have 2 newcomers today.
24 hours ago
Pastor Seng Piow guides us on the flow of Dorje Shugden puja, its benefits, significant of Chanting the names of Manjushri and also explaining the dedication for the sponsors and to those in need before we start the puja as we have 2 newcomers today.
Two Pastors in da house! Double the merits, double the happiness. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
24 hours ago
Two Pastors in da house! Double the merits, double the happiness. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
Mr. Cheah Fook Wan offered lights and incense to The Three Jewels prior to the puja in Ipoh. (KISG - Kin Hoe)
1 week ago
Mr. Cheah Fook Wan offered lights and incense to The Three Jewels prior to the puja in Ipoh. (KISG - Kin Hoe)
Kechara Ipoh Study Group has carried out Mother Tara prayer recitations on Sunday afternoon in Ipoh. (KISG- Kin Hoe)
1 week ago
Kechara Ipoh Study Group has carried out Mother Tara prayer recitations on Sunday afternoon in Ipoh. (KISG- Kin Hoe)
Powerful Dorje Shugden puja @ Jalan Seang Tek, Penang. Every Saturday, 3 pm. Remove obstacles and grant blessings to fulfil wishes. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta. 6th April 2024
2 weeks ago
Powerful Dorje Shugden puja @ Jalan Seang Tek, Penang. Every Saturday, 3 pm. Remove obstacles and grant blessings to fulfil wishes. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta. 6th April 2024
Rejoice to the volunteers (also kind sponsors) who cleaned the Gyenze Chapel and made abundant offerings to Gyenze. ~ Alice
4 weeks ago
Rejoice to the volunteers (also kind sponsors) who cleaned the Gyenze Chapel and made abundant offerings to Gyenze. ~ Alice
Offered beautiful flowers abundantly to Gyenze. ~ Alice
4 weeks ago
Offered beautiful flowers abundantly to Gyenze. ~ Alice
Offered beautiful flowers abundantly to Gyenze. ~ Alice
4 weeks ago
Offered beautiful flowers abundantly to Gyenze. ~ Alice
Our weekly Dorje Shugden Puja @ 23/3/2024 . William, as the umze is seen here burning incense powder as we are about to recite the Sangsol Prayer to Dorje Shugden composed by Ganden Serkong. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
4 weeks ago
Our weekly Dorje Shugden Puja @ 23/3/2024 . William, as the umze is seen here burning incense powder as we are about to recite the Sangsol Prayer to Dorje Shugden composed by Ganden Serkong. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
And here's Mr Wong of KSK Ipoh who dropped by to pray and offered some donation to the Chapel. Kechara Penang Study Group. Pic by Siew Hong & uploaded by Jacinta.
1 month ago
And here's Mr Wong of KSK Ipoh who dropped by to pray and offered some donation to the Chapel. Kechara Penang Study Group. Pic by Siew Hong & uploaded by Jacinta.
Today's puja (16/3/2024) ended around 420pm, Jacinta was the umze of the day. Pic by Siew Hong. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
1 month ago
Today's puja (16/3/2024) ended around 420pm, Jacinta was the umze of the day. Pic by Siew Hong. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
Group photo taken after the last session, sealed with King of Prayers. Come and join us next time! Sayonara - 9-10th March 2024 - Kechara Penang DS Retreat by Jacinta.
1 month ago
Group photo taken after the last session, sealed with King of Prayers. Come and join us next time! Sayonara - 9-10th March 2024 - Kechara Penang DS Retreat by Jacinta.
Abundance altar! Fruits, flowers, Mee Koo (traditional Penang buns), Bee Hoon, sourdoughs and snacks are some of the offerings to Rinpoche, Buddhas & Bodhisattvas. Kechara Penang Dorje Shugden Retreat 9-10th March, 2024 by Jacinta.
1 month ago
Abundance altar! Fruits, flowers, Mee Koo (traditional Penang buns), Bee Hoon, sourdoughs and snacks are some of the offerings to Rinpoche, Buddhas & Bodhisattvas. Kechara Penang Dorje Shugden Retreat 9-10th March, 2024 by Jacinta.
Siew Hong, one of retreatants and an active member of Kechara Penang group proudly presented her torma to be used during the Kalarupa puja. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
1 month ago
Siew Hong, one of retreatants and an active member of Kechara Penang group proudly presented her torma to be used during the Kalarupa puja. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
Torma making was taught by Pastor Seng Piow and held one day before the retreat. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
1 month ago
Torma making was taught by Pastor Seng Piow and held one day before the retreat. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
Penang Dorje Shugden Retreat cum Puja, 9-10th March 2024 led by Pastor Seng Piow with 12 retreatants. Uploaded by Jacinta
1 month ago
Penang Dorje Shugden Retreat cum Puja, 9-10th March 2024 led by Pastor Seng Piow with 12 retreatants. Uploaded by Jacinta
The celebration ended with a Dorje Shugden puja, dedicated to all the sponsors, our loved ones and as well as for the happiness & good health for all sentient beings. May Rinpoche return swiftly too and taking this opportunity wishing all Happy Chinese New Year and Gong Xi Fa Cai from all of us, Kechara Penang Study Group. Uploaded by Jacinta.
2 months ago
The celebration ended with a Dorje Shugden puja, dedicated to all the sponsors, our loved ones and as well as for the happiness & good health for all sentient beings. May Rinpoche return swiftly too and taking this opportunity wishing all Happy Chinese New Year and Gong Xi Fa Cai from all of us, Kechara Penang Study Group. Uploaded by Jacinta.
Seen here, Pastor Seng Piow set off firecrackers - welcoming of the upcoming year with enthusiasm and positive energy. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
2 months ago
Seen here, Pastor Seng Piow set off firecrackers - welcoming of the upcoming year with enthusiasm and positive energy. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
In this pic, Pastor Seng Piow is sharing Dharma with newbies ~ Sharyn's friends. It's always good to make light offerings at the beginning of new year. By making light offerings, you are able to dispel the darkness of ignorance and achieve wisdom. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
2 months ago
In this pic, Pastor Seng Piow is sharing Dharma with newbies ~ Sharyn's friends. It's always good to make light offerings at the beginning of new year. By making light offerings, you are able to dispel the darkness of ignorance and achieve wisdom. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
One the day of Losar (new lunar year), it is always beneficial for Buddhist practitioners to get together in making abundant offerings to Buddhas on the altar to usher in goodness, prosperity and well-being of our loved ones. It's more auspicious this year as Losar and the Chinese New Year begin on the same date, 10th Feb, 2024. Back in Penang, our Kechara members came together to decorate the altar with abundance offerings for Dorje Shugden puja @3pm. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
2 months ago
One the day of Losar (new lunar year), it is always beneficial for Buddhist practitioners to get together in making abundant offerings to Buddhas on the altar to usher in goodness, prosperity and well-being of our loved ones. It's more auspicious this year as Losar and the Chinese New Year begin on the same date, 10th Feb, 2024. Back in Penang, our Kechara members came together to decorate the altar with abundance offerings for Dorje Shugden puja @3pm. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
Mr. Dared Lim was offering water bowls on behalf of Kechara Ipoh Study Group. (Kin Hoe)
3 months ago
Mr. Dared Lim was offering water bowls on behalf of Kechara Ipoh Study Group. (Kin Hoe)
Jun from Ipoh was offering mandarin oranges to Mother Tara and The Three Jewels. (Kin Hoe)
3 months ago
Jun from Ipoh was offering mandarin oranges to Mother Tara and The Three Jewels. (Kin Hoe)
Prior to our puja in Ipoh, Mr. & Mrs. Cheah Fook Wan were preparing for the offerings to the Buddhas. (Kin Hoe)
3 months ago
Prior to our puja in Ipoh, Mr. & Mrs. Cheah Fook Wan were preparing for the offerings to the Buddhas. (Kin Hoe)
On Sunday afternoon, Kechara Ipoh Study Group has carried out Mother Tara prayer recitations in Ipoh. (Kin Hoe)
3 months ago
On Sunday afternoon, Kechara Ipoh Study Group has carried out Mother Tara prayer recitations in Ipoh. (Kin Hoe)
Some of the best shots taken during Thaipusam in Penang. Swee Bee, Huey, Tang KS, Nathan, Choong SH and Jacinta volunteered. Wai Meng came all the way from KL to help out. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
3 months ago
Some of the best shots taken during Thaipusam in Penang. Swee Bee, Huey, Tang KS, Nathan, Choong SH and Jacinta volunteered. Wai Meng came all the way from KL to help out. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
Simple yet powerful ally ~ Bhagawan Dorje Shuden. Kechara Penang Study Group consists of Chien Seong, Hue, Choong SH, Tang KS, Swee Bee and Jacinta. Wai Meng came all the way from KL to help out. Uploaded by Jacinta.
3 months ago
Simple yet powerful ally ~ Bhagawan Dorje Shuden. Kechara Penang Study Group consists of Chien Seong, Hue, Choong SH, Tang KS, Swee Bee and Jacinta. Wai Meng came all the way from KL to help out. Uploaded by Jacinta.
Thaipusam in Penang. Some of the best shots. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
3 months ago
Thaipusam in Penang. Some of the best shots. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta
Nothing beats having a sacred audience with our lineage lamas. It's not selfie or wefie, but we have the best 'groufie'!!! 20th Jan 2024, Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
3 months ago
Nothing beats having a sacred audience with our lineage lamas. It's not selfie or wefie, but we have the best 'groufie'!!! 20th Jan 2024, Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
Welcoming our lineage Gurus to our Penang Chapel today! Pastor Seng Piow explained the significance of having Guru Tree and introduced to us our lineage lamas, Buddhas, deities, protectors and etc.
3 months ago
Welcoming our lineage Gurus to our Penang Chapel today! Pastor Seng Piow explained the significance of having Guru Tree and introduced to us our lineage lamas, Buddhas, deities, protectors and etc.
Umze for the day was Siew Hong. She's just been with us for slightly more than a year now but she's proven her capability in leading the puja. Our Penang group members are so proud of her and her commitment in attending the weekly puja. Despite being eloquence and smart, she has beautiful chant as well. When she leads, make sure you are there to hear her chant for yourself! Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
3 months ago
Umze for the day was Siew Hong. She's just been with us for slightly more than a year now but she's proven her capability in leading the puja. Our Penang group members are so proud of her and her commitment in attending the weekly puja. Despite being eloquence and smart, she has beautiful chant as well. When she leads, make sure you are there to hear her chant for yourself! Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
Umze for the day was Siew Hong. She's just been with us for slightly more than a year now but she's proven her capability in leading the puja. Our Penang group members are so proud of her and her commitment in attending the weekly puja. Despite being eloquence and smart, she has beautiful chant as well. When she leads, make sure you are there to hear her chant for yourself! Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
3 months ago
Umze for the day was Siew Hong. She's just been with us for slightly more than a year now but she's proven her capability in leading the puja. Our Penang group members are so proud of her and her commitment in attending the weekly puja. Despite being eloquence and smart, she has beautiful chant as well. When she leads, make sure you are there to hear her chant for yourself! Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
Tara Recitation is on now at KISG - Wai Meng
4 months ago
Tara Recitation is on now at KISG - Wai Meng
Photo from Wan Wai Meng
4 months ago
Photo from Wan Wai Meng
A sea of yellow ~usually in Tibetan Buddhism yellow represents growth. We prayed that our Penang group will grow in terms of people, wealth and attainments too. _/\_ Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
4 months ago
A sea of yellow ~usually in Tibetan Buddhism yellow represents growth. We prayed that our Penang group will grow in terms of people, wealth and attainments too. _/_ Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
After Dorje Shugden puja @3pm, we had Rinpoche's Swift Return puja too. We laughed as Sis Swee Bee was commenting that Tang should smile ~ here's the reason why we laughed.  Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta Goh
4 months ago
After Dorje Shugden puja @3pm, we had Rinpoche's Swift Return puja too. We laughed as Sis Swee Bee was commenting that Tang should smile ~ here's the reason why we laughed. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta Goh
4 months ago
Today's (9/12/2023)Dorje Shugden puja led by Gordon. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
4 months ago
Today's (9/12/2023)Dorje Shugden puja led by Gordon. Kechara Penang Study Group by Jacinta.
4 months ago
4 months ago
Dharma sharing by Hue before we proceeded with DS puja & Rinpoche Swift Return puja. Hue is one of the long time Kechara Penang members and he comes to puja regularly. He shared that he truly believes that Dorje Shugden and Rinpoche always there guiding him. He shared how sometimes DS will give him hints to avert troubles ahead or to alert him when he 'misbehaved'. Hope many will come to know more about this powerful Dharma Protector, Dorje Shugden aka DS. Having Dorje Shugden is like having a powerful ally that will protect us day and night. Just trust Him and have faith. Kechara Penang Study Group, 25/11/2023 by Jacinta.
5 months ago
Dharma sharing by Hue before we proceeded with DS puja & Rinpoche Swift Return puja. Hue is one of the long time Kechara Penang members and he comes to puja regularly. He shared that he truly believes that Dorje Shugden and Rinpoche always there guiding him. He shared how sometimes DS will give him hints to avert troubles ahead or to alert him when he 'misbehaved'. Hope many will come to know more about this powerful Dharma Protector, Dorje Shugden aka DS. Having Dorje Shugden is like having a powerful ally that will protect us day and night. Just trust Him and have faith. Kechara Penang Study Group, 25/11/2023 by Jacinta.
The Promise
  These books will change your life
  Support Blog Team
Lamps For Life
  Robe Offerings
  Vajrayogini Stupa Fund
  Dana Offerings
  Soup Kitchen Project
 
Zong Rinpoche

Archives

YOUR FEEDBACK

Live Visitors Counter
Page Views By Country
United States 6,560,748
Malaysia 4,932,712
India 2,510,845
Singapore 936,141
United Kingdom 915,882
Nepal 913,387
Bhutan 864,803
Canada 797,322
Australia 619,377
Philippines 555,278
Indonesia 451,828
Germany 370,298
France 312,722
Brazil 251,023
Vietnam 226,545
Thailand 217,772
Taiwan 206,933
Italy 175,641
Spain 160,953
Netherlands 156,804
Mongolia 147,273
Portugal 138,190
South Africa 138,017
Türkiye 132,302
Sri Lanka 128,762
United Arab Emirates 121,726
Japan 119,012
Russia 114,691
Hong Kong 114,218
China 107,718
Romania 104,740
Mexico 97,736
New Zealand 93,880
Switzerland 88,746
Myanmar (Burma) 88,535
Pakistan 82,184
Sweden 78,121
South Korea 75,124
Cambodia 70,770
Total Pageviews: 26,041,536

Login

Dorje Shugden
Click to watch my talk about Dorje Shugden....