Yishensu – Restaurant Review

Jul 26, 2012 | Views: 2,050
Share this article

[Disclaimer: The following review has been reviewed by the Vegetarian Restaurant Review team)

 

 

Overview

Located in One Utama Shopping Complex, Yishensu has been providing quality and delicious vegetarian food to Malaysians for the past 25 years. Yishensu started their humble beginnings in a small hawker stall in Kampar by the Wong family. After 25 years of promoting vegetarianism passionately amongst Malaysians, Yishensu has now expanded to 4 fine dining restaurants in Kampar, Ipoh, Klang, and Petaling Jaya. 

The founders of Yishensu strongly believes that with a slight encouragement, anyone would turn vegetarian. Due to this, Yishensu emphasizes strongly on the taste of the food served, as well as their culinary presentation. This brings about a fine and good dining experience. 


Reviewer's Rating

Interior - 4/5

The shop looks very Japanese, but Yishensu is 100% Malaysian - origin, cuisine and owned. The lay out of the restaurant gives their customers a very comfortable dining experience. Whether the customer needs a small private area for entertaining guests or just for casual dining, Yishensu provides a very good environment for either one. There is also a cosy waiting area for their guests in case of a full-house or for take-aways. The lighting of the environment is very cosy, those who like dining under natural light may prefer having their meals at the back of the restaurant. 

Waiting area  Dining tables near the entrance of the restaurant
   
Tables lined up all the way to the back of the restaurant Small cosy corners for diners to enjoy their meals

Private corners for small gatherings

 

Food - 4.5/5

Yishensu serves a wide variety of Chinese cuisine, with some choices of a variety of local Malaysian favourites. The presentation of each and every dish is beautifully done. It is neat, reasonably artistic and most importantly looks appetizing! The serving size is also just nice, neither too much nor too little.

The secret to Yishensu's uniqueness is that many of their dishes are either freshly made or obtained from their own vegetarian food manufacturing factory. For example the House Tofu with Luffa; the tofu are freshly made everyday by their chefs which gives it a special and unique taste that can only be found in Yishensu. The handmade char siew pau are manufactured by their factory in Kampar; this delicacy is offered off the menu as they usually have very limited supply, so remember to ask the waitress if they have any the next time you visit! 

 Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce

(recommended!)

 Milky Fragrant Oat Pumpkin
   
 Handmade Char Siew Pau  House Tofu with Luffa

 Heavenly King dish - Vege "Belacan"

 

Pricing - 4/5

With a price range of RM 3 - RM 20, Yishensu certainly serves one of the best vegetarian food at a very reasonable price. They offer lunch and dinner sets at an affordable price starting from RM 10.80, a great deal for a complete and balance meal. 

 

Vegetarian Selection - 4/5

Yishensu provides a reasonably wide variety of choices on their menu. Although the source of their product are not organic, the chefs at Yishensu believes in healthy dining and often encourage the use of natural sources in their dishes rather than processed mock meat. They are also one of the few vegetarian restaurants that actively promotes vegetarianism to the public through an ambassador. 

 

Service - 4/5

The Yishensu staff provides very good service. Their waiters and waitresses are trained to greet the customers appropriately and even trained to know the content of the food served to cater to their vegan customers. The restaurant is also very clean, when the restaurant is less busy such as after lunch hours, the waitresses can be seen cleaning the tables using disinfectants. 


Find your way there!


Yishensu – A Vegetarian Connoisseur

Address: Lot G207, Grd Flr., 1-Utama Shopping Ctr., 1, Lebuh Bandar Utama, Bandar Utama, 47800, Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Contact: 03-77294313

Website: www.yishensu.com

Opening Hours: Mon-Sun 10 am – 10 pm (1-Utama outlet)

Features:

  • Vegan friendly (remember to inform the waiter upon ordering)
  • Malaysian cuisine
  • Catering services
  • Walk in/Reservations
  • Small gatherings
  • Smart casual
  • Credit Card accepted

Tags: , , ,

Please support us so that we can continue to bring you more Dharma:

If you are in the United States, please note that your offerings and contributions are tax deductible. ~ the tsemrinpoche.com blog team

Share this article

40 Responses to Yishensu – Restaurant Review

  1. Milly on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:42 am

    The dishes all look so yummy. Have been there once and tried their nasi lemak. Quite nice. Thank you for sharing all these food reviews to encourage vegetarianism.

  2. Sheryl KH (JB) on Jul 26, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Yishensu DEFINITELY is a place that I would love to go and that I will introduce to my friends.

    The restaurant looks cosy. Well, I would have to say that those pictures of foods draw me in very much. THEY LOOK SO APPETISING, SIMPLY CANT RESIST!!!

    I would have to congratulate the owner – The Wong Family – for after 2 ½ decade of trying, they now have branches in four places, definitely not easy.

    I love their business philosophy – to introduce vegetarianism to more people, so that less animals will suffer. I also love their idea of having food factory of their own – so things can be fresher!!!

    May I ask Wong Family if you have any plan to set up businesses in Johor?? J

  3. Julia Tan on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    I ate at Yishensu many times, sometimes alone sometimes with friends. The food was not bad at all, price also reasonable too. What I like about them was they serve food pretty quick. I do not have to wait for long. Their waiters are very good in recommending food to the customers. This is what I like about them. I have stop going there for many months. I now dine in Kechara Oasis http://www.kecharaoasis.com/default.shtml most of the time. I find KO more exclusive where I go with my guests. It’s also a good place for a big function because the hall can cater 500 people.

    • Siong Woan on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:16 am

      Julia, remember Kechara Oasis’ vegetarian tim sum that we had a couple of weeks ago? Should we go back for more ?? :)

  4. choisheem on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Thank you for highlighting this restaurant. Although I have walked pass this area many times, I did not notice this restaurant. I guess it is shrouded by the many other restaurants around it. The dishes that you have featured in this article looks very tempting. I will definitely give this a try the next time I am in 1 Utama.

  5. nicholas on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    I have been to this restaurant a few times. I love their Nasi Lemak and my daughter love their fried rice very much. There are quite a variety of food and really taste good. I love the potato salad with raisin too.

    Worth to try with family.

  6. Paul Yap on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    I went to Yishensu few times, the pricing is very reasonable, food presentation and taste is not bad at all. Try “Ba Kut Teh Soup” next time if you going there ;)

  7. mayy on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    This place Yishensu has become one of my favourite eateries here in One Utama. I love the “Chicken” Claypot rice and “Fish Head” noodle too. Great place to have your friends and family over for lunch or dinner.

  8. Lai Boon Run on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Been few times to this restaurant and find the choice of dishes very good and tasty.Must try the pineapple fried rice….very delicious

  9. patsy on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    I have been to this restaurant many times as the food is tasty and affordable, the service is good and the deco is nice. I like the noodles with braised mushroom and the nasi lemak. For the lunch set, a bowl of complimentary soup is served.

  10. justin cheah on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:00 am

    Been to the main branch in Kampar which is where i am from really. The food is very nice and its vegetarian. Didn’t know they have this branch in 1U! Gotta go and try. Thank you for sharing this Rinpoche!

  11. Cynthia Ng on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:33 am

    Look deliciouns! Yishensu provide home cook food :) The enviroment look comfortable and price is reasonable too. Thank you for sharing!

  12. william on Jul 27, 2012 at 7:23 am

    I like this restaurant as they serve yummy food. Their olive fried rice is also very nice. It is a great place to go with friends and family as their food is tasty and service is also good. Will try the Char Siew Pau the next time I am there!

  13. Uncle Eddie on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:58 am

    As above mentioned, a vegetarian restuarant with a 25 years experiences, located in One-Utama Shopping Complex, has now expanded to a 4 fine dining restuarant chain at Ipoh(Kampar), Klang and Petaling Jaya. As from the ambience in pictures, it looks beautiful, nice and full of style with an Japanese oriental taste. Yishenu, produces their own raw vegetarian food for cooking from their own manufacturing factory; said to give a special and unique taste only to be found at Yishenu. With such a claim, it certainly would be worth a visit to find out. Happy eating!

  14. Wah Ying on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    See, being vegetarian still can have my lovely delicious Char Siew Bao!

    There are more and more vegetarian restaurants opened in Klang Valley and other places. Vegetarian dishes are with more varieties, delicious and most importantly healthy.

    (If you happen to know any of the vegetarian restaurant around Kuala Lumpur or Malaysia perhaps, please share with us).

  15. Han on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Yishensu is one of my choice of Vegetarian Restaurant, I been there for few times with friends, and we all ordered different dishes, I like the nasi lemak and Milky Fragrant Oat Pumpkin, the Bak Kut Teh also quite nice. Worth go again and again!

  16. Helena Chin on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:38 am

    I went few times and ts really good and reasonable. I love the place and the deco is very nice too. They are currently having a promo on Groupon, check it out guys :)
    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing.

  17. Lim (KH JB) on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:45 am

    Thanks Rinpoche for the sharing. The owner already serve the vegetarian food for 25 years how wonderful. The food look so delicious and feel to have a bite on it.

  18. June (KH-JB) on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:14 am

    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing this article,i will give it a try when i am at KL.From the pictures I can feel the cosy place with good food served at reasonable price.hmm…i want to try the vege
    “belacan” and handmade char siew pau ^_^ Be vegetarian is not only save a lot of animals,also the way to have good health !!sooo,,,
    start be a vegetarian by now!!

  19. Siong Woan on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:13 am

    This is one of my favourite vegetarian restaurant!

    One more dish to recommend – the vegetarian Bak Kut Teh – YUM !!

  20. verontung on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Thanks for sharing this lovely restaurant. I used to work at office right besides One Utama, so i spent quite a lot of time eating at this one and only vegetarian restaurants for my lunch. We always like to ordered their lunch set as it is very affordable and tasty! I especially likes their curry mutton rice (but i don’t think they still have that in their lunch set now :P ). It always makes my tastebud “alive” whenever i get no appetite!

  21. Leann Lim on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Yishensu Restaurant always is our 1st choice when we visit to one utama. From delicious food, cosy environment till the reasonable prices, we always have good times there. And is very good to promote vegetarianism by bringing Veg Restaurant to shopping mall, and is acceptable by people non-vegetarian. That i have intro to some friends, they like it too…hehe

  22. David Lai on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    I have been to Yishenzu several times and I really like a lot of the food there but I guess my favourite would be the ‘Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce’, Bak Kut Teh and few more that I can’t recall at this time. It is really neat that we do have a number of vegetarian options here in Malaysia although not all of them are health-inclined.

  23. Wendy Loh on Jul 31, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation. Will surely visit the restaurant. Yum! _/\_

  24. MayOng on Jul 31, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    This is another vegetarian restaurant that has good reviews by people who frequent the place. Will need to drop by in 1Utama soon and give my verdict.

  25. pat on Aug 1, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Visited Yishensu few times, the food and the service is good.I’ve tried the Nasi Lemak and Bak kut teh but not the Char Siew Pau yet, will do so next round when at One Utama…..most important is the price is reasonable

  26. Wan Wai Meng on Aug 2, 2012 at 2:39 am

    I have eaten here many times and the food has never failed to disappoint me.

  27. Mei Fong on Aug 2, 2012 at 10:53 am

    Wow…what a great restaurant which is just a stone throw away from Gompa…cant wait to visit and try it out one day.

  28. Carmen on Aug 2, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    Their Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce is really really good!! This place is a nice, leisure and simple place to go to for casual dining. Affordable, nice environment, pleasant and delicious food. What more can one ask for! Try it, you won’t regret it!

  29. JP on Aug 3, 2012 at 4:57 am

    I’ve eaten at this restaurant many times when I go to One Utama. The ratings given are what I would give as well. In general, the food is good. I don’t think they put any MSG in the food because I don’t get thirsty after eating there.

    I’ve brought my non vegetarian friends to eat there and they enjoy the food there as well. I guess when it’s cooked well, you tend to forget that you must have meat. So eating meat is just a habit that we can kick if we want to.

  30. lucy yap on Aug 4, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Being vegetarian have never been easier with so many vegetarian restaurants.Vegetarian dishes are very tastefully served and the menus are aplenty!This is another restaurant that serves delicious and nutritious meals at a reasonable prize.
    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing info on this restaurant,will definitely try it out when I’m in 1 Utama shopping complex.

  31. EricLee KHJB on Aug 4, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    谁说吃素的人选择很少,菜色不吸引人,环境差。 现在的素食餐厅,不仅是提供食物而已,而是让人有一种享受的感觉。所以说,现在的我们除了借助吃素来培养我们的慈悲心,而且还可以在如此享受的地方用餐,聪明的朋友们我们又何乐而不为呢? 让我们一起享受素所带来的好处吧。。。。

  32. Lim Han Nee on Aug 5, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    I have been to Yishensu many times. I love its great variety of delicious food, and its ‘artistic’ presentation of the dishes. I usually am by myself and I love the sense of privacy and comfort that Yishensu offers to solitary diners.

  33. bengkooi on Aug 6, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    I used to be a frequent visitor of Yishensu, and I really enjoy their nasi lemak (with veggie ikan bilis!) and their mutton rendang. I only wished they opened till much later, so that I can also have supper there!

  34. June Kang on Aug 8, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    It is nice that shopping center has vegetarian restaurant. It is convenient for people who want to try vegetarian. Kechara Oasis is one of the them open vegetarian restaurant at Viva Mall shopping complex to make the vegetarian life easier.We should support them so that less animal being killed.

  35. Sharon Saw on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:43 am

    I’ve been to Yishensu a few times and it’s pretty good. I liked the western selection they had too.. What i like about vegetarian restaurants is that i can order anything on the menu!

    Thanks for these food reviews. It certainly lets everyone know that there is a lot of variety and availability out there for vegetarians!

  36. tenzin llhamo on Aug 13, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    When I was on my shifts in 1U, I’d have their fried rice for lunch. Its not easy to find yummy vegan in 1U plus I am not a fan of mock meat. I prefer simple ways of cooking and their service is fast. I didnt have to wait too long for it. Must go there again and try something else on the menu.

  37. Girlie Ooi on Nov 20, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    I have been to this place quite a number of times. I enjoyed the food and the ambience. I, too, love the nasi lemak.

  38. Albert Ratchaga on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:17 am

    I used to go Yishensu to eat frequently, because the food is tasty, reasonable pricing and nice environment to dine in. they have wide range of food, from traditional chinese food ‘man tao’ to western food spaghetti.

    Beside the food in there, the staff are polite, friendly too, you will feel comfortable while eating there. A must try place and you’ll never regret.

  39. Sean Wang on Jan 19, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    The first time I went to Yishenshu was Wednesday when Rinpoche brought some Kecharians (including me) to have a shopping spree and dinner. The food here is really one of the very best. Their starter course really reminds me of Kechara Oasis’ starter course lol. I guess great restaurants think alike.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

 

BLOG CHAT

Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you.

Tsem Rinpoche


 

Scheduled Chat Sessions

Every Wednesday: 10-11pm (GMT+8) | Wednesday, 7am (PST)
Every Saturday: 11am-1pm (GMT+8) | Friday, 8pm (PST)

Upcoming Discussion Topics

  • The Gelug School - a Mahayana School of Buddhism (Wed)
  • Earthlings (Sat)

Please come and join in the chat for a fun time and support. See you all there.

 


Blog Chat Etiquette

These are some simple guidelines to make the blog chat room a positive, enjoyable and enlightening experience for everyone. Please note that as this is a chat room, we chat! Do not flood the chat room, or post without interacting with others.

Be friendly

Remember that these are real people you are chatting with. They may have different opinions to you and come from different cultures. Treat them as you would face to face, and respect their opinions, and they will treat you the same.

Be Patient

Give the room a chance to answer you. Patience is a virtue. And if after awhile, people don't respond, perhaps they don't know the answer or they did not see your question. Do ask again or address someone directly. Do not be offended if people do not or are unable to respond to you.

Be Relevant

This is the blog of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche. Please respect this space. We request that all participants here are respectful of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche and his organisation, Kechara.

Be polite

Avoid the use of language or attitudes which may be offensive to others. If someone is disrespectful to you, ignore them instead of arguing with them.

Please be advised that anyone who contravenes these guidelines may be banned from the chatroom. Banning is at the complete discretion of the administrator of this blog. Should anyone wish to make an appeal or complaint about the behaviour of someone in the chatroom, please copy paste the relevant chat in an email to us at care@kechara.com and state the date and time of the respective conversation.

Please let this be a conducive space for discussions, both light and profound.


NEW! TsemRinpoche.com Navigation Video!

Find out how to navigate through Rinpoche's blog for a better browsing experience.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mh_PbIYDHSg

KECHARA FOREST RETREAT PROGRESS UPDATES

Here is the latest news and pictorial updates, as it happens, of our upcoming forest retreat project.

The Kechara Forest Retreat is a unique holistic retreat centre focused on the total wellness of body, mind and spirit. This is a place where families and individuals will find peace, nourishment and inspiration in a natural forest environment. At Kechara Forest Retreat, we are committed to give back to society through instilling the next generation with universal positive values such as kindness and compassion.

For more information, please read here (english), here (chinese), or the official site: retreat.kechara.com.



Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you

Name:
Email:
For:  
Mail will not be published
  • tsemtulku
    (Saturday, Oct 18. 2014 12:15 PM)
    I really enjoyed watching the blog chat and seeing all of you learn and share. It was music for my eyes!! :) And just now, Jean Mei follow the recipe here: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/animals-vegetarianism/aunt-matza-teaches-bortsik-perisiki.html made traditional bortiks and peroshkis for us today as per my request. It came out delicious. She is really helpful and good at doing so many things. Thank you Jean Mei and she made enough for the US Ladrang team here! It’s one of my favorites from childhood.
  • Pastor David Lai
    (Saturday, Oct 18. 2014 12:09 PM)
    When your Guru Calls you… I thought I share these devotional pictures of Tsem Rinpoche standing up, bowing and folding his hands while listening to a voice message and receiving a phone call from his Guru recently. Even before receiving the phone call, Rinpoche would offer incense before hand… Read why does Rinpoche do this – http://www.davidlai.me/2014/10/17/when-your-guru-calls-you/
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Saturday, Oct 18. 2014 12:01 PM)
    18 October 2014 – There are 176 users now which means many are also joining in by reading the posts. I really like the learning happening here. Wonderful. ~ His Eminence Tsem Rinpoche
  • tsemtulku
    (Saturday, Oct 18. 2014 11:00 AM)
    Dear friends around the world,

    This is so wonderful that all of you are discussing dharma here on my blog chat (www.tsemrinpoche.com). I am so glad to see this every Friday on US Pacific Coast time 8PM (Malaysian timing every Saturday 11AM). For next Friday (October 24, 2014) we have something very interesting for sharing on blog chat, please learn up on “Earthlings” post and video: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=17514. How much we can learn is a plus. We can never overlearn the dharma.

    We will discuss about this beneficial read. You will learn more as you read the post and discuss here with friends. I rejoice when you learn more. It stabilizes the mind to understand our spiritual practice and the benefits. :) Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 04:19 PM)
    Complete Commentary on 50 Verses of Guru Devotion http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/complete-commentary-on-50-verses-of-guru-devotion.html

    We’ll be discussing this very important topic again in our upcoming blog chat session at http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/chat 11am for M’sia (GMT+8) 18th Oct, SATURDAY | 8pm for USA (PST) 17th FRIDAY. Do join us!
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 04:09 PM)
    Scroll up to keep yourself updated for our beautiful retreat land in Bentong under the KECHARA FOREST RETREAT PROGRESS UPDATES section. There are the latest news and pictorial updates for all to keep you updated as they happen of our upcoming forest retreat project.

    The Kechara Forest Retreat is a unique holistic retreat centre focused on the total wellness of body, mind and spirit. This is a place where families and individuals will find peace, nourishment and inspiration in a natural forest environment. At Kechara Forest Retreat, we are committed to give back to society through instilling the next generation with universal positive values such as kindness and compassion.

    For more information, please read got to the Kechara Forest Retreat official site: retreat.kechara.com.
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 03:31 PM)
    15 Oct 14, 09:54 PM
    Tsem Rinpoche: I hope everyone has seen the new short videos posted on VIDEOS ON THE GO. I hope you all enjoyed them.

    From Blog Chat
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 03:02 PM)
    I like when people listen to the dharma, apply and transform their minds. My methods are for you to transform your mind. If you have a better method, then by all means apply it. The issue is whether your mind is transforming or not. Don’t abandon the teachings on mind transformation blaming methods. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 02:55 PM)
    I have a few Mother’s Tongue plants as well as Monkey Palm plants in my room to absorb the radiation that emits from prolonged computer use. My Chinese doctor is into plants, herbs and natural healing highly recommended this and I do appreciate it. I did a blog post on it for those interested… So I did some research and sure enough he is right. These days, I always have these plants in my room and they are very easy to maintain and hassle free. They do very well in the house and without direct sunlight under all temperature situations. They do not need much water either…Very easy plants to keep indoors.~ H.E. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 02:55 PM)
    You know the Xmas lights we hang on trees years ago. They were hot and can be dangerous and burned out easily. If one bulb burned out or faulty, the whole string doesn’t work. Sigh. These days the same lights come in so many varieties, colors, shapes and sizes and available all year round for outdoor and indoor. They are cheap, last a long time, not hot as they are LED and very convenient. They are not just used for Xmas anymore. So we purchased quite a few colored ones and hung them all over the ladrang here in the USA as an offering. Will be getting more tomorrow. They are beautiful.~ H.E. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 02:53 PM)
    Am watching a program on people who see mystical faery people and nature beings. They are suppose to be great musicians and the music heard is very ethereal. Some of these music is brought to the human realm. My mom use to see supernatural beings as she was very psychic. She would have very strong premonitions and dreams. She would tell me her dreams and immediately within a short time, just as she had dreamed, things come true. For example she told me one morning while cleaning her room she had a dream of blue baby shoes and that a friend who just got pregnant will have a boy. And sure enough months later it was a boy. I remember she was say things like that very often. She is highly attuned to her surroundings. When I use to sleep walk nightly, she placed a Avalokitesvara Tsatsa on my head and recited the mantra and I stopped immediately. I use to walk up and down the stairs. Dangerous.~ H.E. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 02:52 PM)
    Our team now steaming corn to offer the Buddhas. Also offering flowers. Fruits and drinks to the Buddhas. I enjoy buying nice offerings from supermarkets to offer food to Buddhas. We are also offering Macaroni dish to the Buddhas too and nice fresh soft bread too…. Once the offerings are done, then we will do puja. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 02:51 PM)
    I usually take notes and write them down in a notebook so I don’t forget any promises or works I need to do. I don’t like forgetting things because it might disappoint someone. So I usually take special care to write everything down and mark them off when it’s complete. I have been doing this for over 30 years. I use to do this as a kid for all my homework so nothing is missed. I guess being responsible is just respectful of others. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 02:50 PM)
    There are many ethereal beings around us that have no form. Formless beings. They abide in trees, rocks, water, hills, crossroads, old structures, buildings and forests. They can be benevolent, peaceful, playful, harmful, angersome, vengeful, or simply just like to avoid contact. They have different moods and temperaments. Some have been around for hundreds of years and some are recent. It is important not to contact these beings unnecessarily as most people will not understand what they are dealing with. Once attached to you, they are pesky to get rid of. Some might eventually give wrong information also although accurate at first.~ H.E. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Oct 17. 2014 02:50 PM)
    There are quite a few consistent people who always gives me good updates and I do appreciate it very much. I appreciate consistency. This shows a sincere and stabilized mind. ~ H.E. Tsem Rinpoche

1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · »

Archives

CREDITS

Concept: Tsem Rinpoche
Technical: Lew Kwan Leng, Justin Ripley, Yong Swee Keong
Design: Justin Ripley, Cynthia Lee
Content: Tsem Rinpoche, Khong Jean Mei, Justin Ripley, Shin Tan, Sarah Yap
Writer: Pastor Loh Seng Piow
Admin: Pastor Loh Seng Piow, Beng Kooi

I must thank my dharma blog team who are great assets to me, Kechara and growth of dharma in this wonderful region. I am honoured and thrilled to work with them. I really am. Maybe I don't say it enough to them, but I am saying it now. I APPRECIATE THESE GUYS VERY MUCH!

Tsem Rinpoche

What I am writing now

Scroll down and click on "older messages" to view archived chit messages. Use 'prev' and 'next' links to navigate between pages

The Unknown

The Known and unknown are both feared,
Known is being comfortable and stagnant,
The unknown may be growth and opportunities,
One shall never know if one fears the unknown more than the known.
Who says the unknown would be worse than the known?
But then again, the unknown is sometimes worse than the known. In the end nothing is known unless we endeavour,
So go pursue all the way with the unknown,
because all unknown with familiarity becomes the known.
~Tsem Rinpoche

Photos On The Go

Click on the images to view the bigger version. And scroll down and click on "View All Photos" to view more images.
Click on this picture to enlarge and tell me what they are doing? Tsem Rinpoche 
5 days ago
"One isn't necessarily born with courage, but one is born with potential. Without courage, we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency. We can't be kind, true, merciful, generous or honest." ~ Maya Angelou
2 weeks ago
Mother gorilla's heart- A child fell into the gorilla cage. She broke her arms and legs and she was unconcious. A male gorilla came and tried to hurt her. Luckily, a female gorilla rescued her by chasing other gorillas away not to hurt her. This is an instinct of mother animals that take care of their babies. The mother gorilla climbed the 57 ft wall and took the girl to the zoo officer. The girl was sent to hospital and the doctor cured her. Thanks to mother gorilla's kind heart. -From FB (Please always be kind to animal. Never hurt them, kill them or eat them. Tsem Rinpoche)
2 weeks ago
October 3, 2014-Karen said there were even people in the Gifts Department of Kechara participating in Blog Chat today. Wonderful to learn. Tsem Rinpoche
2 weeks ago
October 3, 2014-William, Pastor David, Pastor Jean Ai and Jean Mei preparing for blog chat. Nice people here!
2 weeks ago
October 3, 2014-In Kechara Forest Retreat, the room is filled with Kecharians on the blog chat right now. According to Pastor Adeline who sent the photo, the whole room is buzzing with blurping sounds from blog chat!! LOL. I like this when people learn the dharma. Tsem Rinpoche
2 weeks ago
I've been friends with Dato' Ruby for nearly 20 years. When I asked her to head the Kechara Soup Kitchen she immediately agreed and put all her energy into making it successful. Many are benefitted by this. Kechara is committed to continuing to benefit others. Thank you. Tsem Rinpoche
2 weeks ago
Our likes and dislikes are impermanent, so don't be stuck.~Tsem Rinpoche 
2 weeks ago
LOL. This guy is cute!
2 weeks ago
Please sign this petition. It will take five minutes to make a difference. Tsem Rinpoche https://action.hsi.org/ea-action/action?ea.client.id=104&ea.campaign.id=31967&ea.tracking.id=facebook
3 weeks ago
When this female named Dorothy died of heart failure, all the chimpanzee family came out of the forest to say good bye..... the most stunning reaction was a recurring, almost tangible silence, reported staff at Cameroon’s Sanaga-Yong Chimpanzee Rescue Centre. If you know chimpanzees, then you know that they are not usually silent beings. I think it’s beautiful how many of the chimps are touching each others’ shoulders.~from Butterbin
3 weeks ago
Praise to the Lady Buddha who eliminates all source of suffering. Tsem Rinpoche 
3 weeks ago
This is a cool snapshot! I love the paranormal mysteries. Tsem Rinpoche 
3 weeks ago
Our Kechara's Dato' Ruby is on this month's cover of prestige magazine for her work in our Soup Kitchen. Congratulations to a kind lady and my good friend. Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
Is it time to worry? You tell me. See what I'm talking about please: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=53452
3 weeks ago
How nice that Caryl Dumaine Lamont Munson reminds us that although the contest is over, the goal of the contest is still to be achieved. See what he is talking about: Win A Manjushri: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=52496 Thank you so much. Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
Once in a while we step through something magical that gives us hope and we continue on. ~Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
New species of herbivores discovered in USA...LOL...Tsem R
3 weeks ago
Must read this chart and share. TR
3 weeks ago
This is excellent! Save photo!
3 weeks ago
These two bright young people arrived in Los Angeles today to visit and help. They are very sincere and caring people. Glad to see them. Tsem Rinpoche 
3 weeks ago
If you want to read about compassion, strength, wisdom and fortitude, get this special edition of Essence. I did. Wonderful and a lot to learn from this lady of wisdom Ms. Maya Angelou. Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
The holy Tsongkapa image when He first arrived to Kechara.  Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
The other day I mentioned to my US team that it would be nice to have a oversized Monoply set to play with everyone for good clean relaxation sometimes. Guess what? Pastor Moh Mei secretly got us a set!! How thoughtful and sweet. Thank you very much. I appreciate it very much. Especially the thought. Tsem Rinpoche
4 weeks ago
His Holiness Kyabje Zong Dorje Chang
4 weeks ago
His Holiness the current Kyabje Pabongka Rinpoche. Who is very learned and spends much time in deep meditational retreats. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche said that Pabongka Rinpoche has merged and became one with Heruka-Chakrasamvara already and those who see fault in Pabongka Rinpoche do not have merits. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
I gave a special talk on equanimity, I am sure it will help you to understand this subject better: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=42419
4 weeks ago
Every week we have blog chat, this is Kecharians in E-division preparing for the blog chats. Nice to see this. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
When I see this, I primarily think of my guru and dharma friends immediately. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
Beautiful people bring happiness to others. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
Don't break another person's heart, it's hard to mend. ~Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
I have just finished doing 50+ tweets on mind, Buddhism, spirituality, acceptance, love, entanglements, thoughts and inner battles. Do enjoy reading them and sharing them. It might help someone I humbly hope. I do so every few days to share about wisdom, kechara and our spiritual journey. If it can reach people and benefit them, why not. Our lives and being alive is totally about benefitting others. That is the purpose of breathing and being human... Tsem Rinpoche Do follow me on tweets: http://www.twitter.com/tsemtulku
4 weeks ago
I would love to live in the Mt. Shasta area of Northern California. It has been recognized by the Native American Indian people to be a spiritually charged area. It has a power vortex under the ground in that area that energizes the place to be very blessed for spiritual practice, meditation and contemplations. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
Dear Andree Duckworth, Thank you very much for your feedback on our Kechara Pastors. They work very hard, they have great knowledge and very patient. I started the program so people who wish to bring dharma to others can have a lay life as well as a spiritual life recognized by others. Halfway to monk/nun-hood without being ordained. So naming them Pastors and having basic lay vows is good and it helps the public in Malaysia to identify with them easily. It worked out very much. I hope you will let them know you are benefitted by their hardwork. They will appreciate it very much as I do. Tsem R
4 weeks ago
When all will end and karma catches up, why live as it will be forever? ~Tsem Rinpoche
4 weeks ago
VERY INTERESTING: Does anyone know what this is? Please investigate here: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=16347
4 weeks ago
What a nice message. All my work/posts on tweet does make a difference in people's lives. Nice to know that. Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
When we work with integrity and harmoniously with eachother, we can accomplish much. Harmony and integrity are the keys. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
I've asked the same question too. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
To take Manjushri as one's special practice has innumerable benefits. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
This is a special statue of Je Tsongkapa. It was made during Tsongkapa's time by a student and offered to Him. It is said to resemble Tsongkapa very much. And this holy statue is now housed in Tashi Lunpo Monastery, Shigatse Tibet. To see, hear and contemplate Je Tsongkapa is so meaningful and collect one aeons of merits.
1 month ago
His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche with his two disciples Geshe Tsultrim Gyeltsen and Geshe Lhundrup Sopa.
1 month ago
When you accuse others of this and that, time will tell who is successful in the end. Because accomplishments speak the loudest. ~Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
Don't lounge around and do nothing, accomplish nothing and be nothing. Benefit others and make your life the cause for many lives to find relief, comfort and hope. ~Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
Friends and people will come and go, but your determination and goal must be firm. Let nothing deter you to succeed in your goal and later in life, look back and rejoice in all you've done. ~Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
Don't listen to rumours and negative talk about someone who has benefitted you. Be loyal and reciprocate the kindness you have received. ~Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
When you feel hurt, realize and understand the pain, get up and keep trying until you succeed.~Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
Many will accuse us, threaten us and even make up tales about us, but we must be truthful in all our actions always and forgive them. ~Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
Click on "View All Photos" above to view more images

Videos On The Go

Please click on the images to watch video
  • Super cute attack. Have to watch!!
    Super cute attack. Have to watch!!
    2 weeks ago
  • -
    -
    They pump 'things' into poultry to make it look plump and bigger to attract you to buy. Then you eat whatever they've pumped and think how it builds up in your body? Is your taste buds worth it to risk your health? Tsem Rinpoche
    2 weeks ago
  • -
    -
    Look at this 2 minute video, while Hong Kong is having massive protests,right over the skyline of a city a UFO is spotted observing.. Incredible footage. UFO's are historically said to always gather where there is massive conflicts or congregations of people for hundreds of years.
    2 weeks ago
  • -
    -
    See this video and do share with friends. See what happens at 1:10........Om Mani Peme Hung Watch it for the sake of the beings within in enduring what they have to endure. Don't think about how you feel because you are not there, but how they feel. Tsem Rinpoche
    3 weeks ago
  • -
    -
    I just purchased an empty locket from an art store for around $10 and had a nice picture of His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche inserted in the front and His Holiness Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche inserted on the others side at home. Attached a str...ing and it's good to wear for blessings. Look how beautiful. I am the type, I devote myself to my practice but I remember it is the sole kindness of the guru's teachings. Without the guru there is no dharma at all as I cannot speak to Buddha directly. Tsem Rinpoche
    3 weeks ago
  • -
    -
    I was gifted this wonderful blingy shiny new pen by a spiritual friend. I didn't know Swarovski pens write so smoothly. I am going to enjoy writing with this. Thank you Jessica Pimentel. Tsem Rinpoche
    3 weeks ago
  • Is this the Loch Ness monster?
    Is this the Loch Ness monster?
    Description
    1 month ago
  • -
    -
    In Kechara Forest Retreat we have a large aviary with many rescued birds and tortoises. We just built a nice pool for them to cool down in. Tsem Rinpoche
    2 months ago
  • Rescuing dog in LA river
    Rescuing dog in LA river
    2 months ago
  • This is a very inspiring video by Jim Carrey you must see
    This is a very inspiring video by Jim Carrey you must see
    2 months ago
  • Dalai Lama watching TV
    Dalai Lama watching TV
    2 months ago
  • Dog with a heart of Gold
    Dog with a heart of Gold
    Description
    2 months ago
  • 14th Dalai Lama with Mrs.Indira Gandhi , Delhi INDIA 1966
    14th Dalai Lama with Mrs.Indira Gandhi , Delhi INDIA 1966
    4 months ago
  • The Girl Who Couldn't Cry - Water is Life
    The Girl Who Couldn't Cry - Water is Life
    It's really hard to educate a generation of people born in conditions where they take things for granted. A simple slogan campaign that says, "Save water, It's precious" isn't sticky enough to make inroads. That's exactly where this video steps in: to make people realize how precious water actually is. A brilliant video that follows the heartbreaking story of a young girl that cannot cry. Sounds like fiction? Sadly, it is not.
    5 months ago
  • -
    -
    Dear everyone, All sentient beings deserve to live, be happy and not hurt, including animals. We should never hurt them or eat them. Look how much this chicken welcomes a hug and love. Observe carefully. Don't eat beings who can feel pain because the karma comes back. Tsem Rinpoche
    6 months ago
  • The appreciation shown here is so deep and touching.
    The appreciation shown here is so deep and touching.
    Dear friends, See this incredible video. This chimp was found in captivity for many years. Dr Jane Goodall released him into the wild. Look how he comes back to thank her with deep apprecition. It's amazing. Animals have such strong feelings of pain and happiness just like us. We should never hurt them and share with others to not hurt them. Tsem Rinpoche http://www.tsemrinpoche.com
    6 months ago
  • Aki drinking some water in the aviary
    Aki drinking some water in the aviary
    Aki is a rescued bird, he now lives in Kechara Forest Retreat Aviary
    7 months ago
  • Jamyang enjoying some fresh corn
    Jamyang enjoying some fresh corn
    Jamyang is one of our rescue birds that live in Kechara Forest Retreat Aviary
    7 months ago
  • The Cute Mumus Practising Dog Orchestra at Kechara Forest Retreat
    The Cute Mumus Practising Dog Orchestra at Kechara Forest Retreat
    Today the Mumus (dogs) decided to do a dog orchestra rehearsal together with the Kechara Forest Retreat (KFR) dogs.
    8 months ago
  • -
    -
    Gongkar is our new bird for Kechara Forest Retreat's aviary. Gongkar never had friends and the original owner could not bring him to his destination. Now he is with us and assimilating in his cage within the aviary for a few weeks then released into aviary. Look at how much he wants attention from the other birds. Cute. Tsem Rinpoche
    12 months ago
  • Mumu, Oser and Dharma running and having a good time. I love seeing them playing. Tsem Rinpoche
    Mumu, Oser and Dharma running and having a good time. I love seeing them playing. Tsem Rinpoche
    12 months ago
  • Mumus running at Kechara Forest Retreat
    Mumus running at Kechara Forest Retreat
    1 years ago
  • Kechara Forest Retreat panorama, September 2013
    Kechara Forest Retreat panorama, September 2013
    1 years ago
  • -
    -
    Dechog our cockatoo at Kechara Forest Retreat grabbing long beans which he loves. Nice bird. We love him. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 years ago
  • The mumus having outdoor evening stroll!!!
    The mumus having outdoor evening stroll!!!
    1 years ago
  • -
    -
    17 May 2013, heavy rain at Kechara Forest Retreat from 7am-8am (1 hour). Water overflowed the existing drain and also opened up a much wider new "route" for itself.
    1 years ago
  • Must see video from Rajendra on our disciplined dogs
    Must see video from Rajendra on our disciplined dogs
    2 yearss ago
  • -
    -
    Dato' Ruby won the Bella Awards!
    2 yearss ago
  • -
    -
    This is a wonderful video for Moh Mei because she is sleeping in the KECHARA FOREST RETREAT CONTAINERS all alone...ehehehhehe...this is a new friend to keep her company....tsem rinpoche
    2 yearss ago
  • -
    -
    Answer to Jo
    2 yearss ago

ASK A PASTOR


A section for you to clarify your Dharma questions with Kechara’s esteemed pastors.

Just post your name and your question below and one of our pastors will provide you with an answer.

Scroll down and click on "View All Questions" to view archived questions.

View All Questions

SUPPORT THIS BLOG


Featured Books


Related Links To Myself

My Blog in Chinese:
zhandugu.blog.163.com
My website:
www.tsemtulku.com
My organisation's website:
www.kechara.com





CHAT PICTURES

Surely, if ‪#‎slaughterhouses‬ had glass walls, would not all of us be ‪#‎vegetarians‬? But slaughterhouses do not have glass walls. The architecture of slaughter is opaque, designed in the interest of denial, to insure that we will not see even if we wanted to look. And who wants to look? ~‪#‎Earthlings‬ Do take the time and watch this video because it is really about each and everyone one of us who inhabits this ‪#‎planet‬ ‪#‎earth‬! http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=17514 It will be our topic for our next ‪#‎blog‬ chat discussion... Date: Friday 24th 8PM USA (PST) / Saturday 25th 11AM M'sia (GMT+8) "How much we can learn is a plus. We can never overlearn the dharma" ~ Tsem Rinpoche (joy)
8 hours ago
A old homeless uncle was not feeling well and the medic team checked his blood pressure which was very high. He was sent to Penang General Hospital for observation. Patsy
10 hours ago
Food distribution in George Town, Penang. Patsy
10 hours ago
Staffs from AMD Global Services (M) Sdn Bhd collaborated with KSK to spread Deepavali joy to the less fortunate. Patsy
10 hours ago
11 hours ago
20 Oct, Monday. Beatiful altar set up to do Setrap Puja. May the sponsor obstacles be cleared and protected by Setrap -By Puja House
11 hours ago
20 Oct, Monday Drolchok puja or 21 Tara puja done at Kechara. May the sponsors wishes be fulfilled. -Puja House
12 hours ago
20 Oct. Monday. Puja House rushing for sets of torma to be ready for puja.-By Puja House
12 hours ago
Failure is only failure when you are afraid to try. . (Sourced from 108 ways to grab my APPLES from Tsem Tulku Rinpoche, conceptualised by Sharon Saw)_PB
13 hours ago
Don’t hang on to your failures, because you can always try again. Trying gives hope. Hope gives us life. (Sourced from 108 ways to grab my APPLES from Tsem Tulku Rinpoche, conceptualised by Sharon Saw)_PB
13 hours ago
The deepest spiritual practice you can do is to NEVER burden others out of selfishness. (Sourced from 108 ways to grab my APPLES from Tsem Tulku Rinpoche, conceptualised by Sharon Saw)_PB
13 hours ago
We cannot separate Dharma practice from life. We cannot separate We cannot separate Dharma practice from life. We cannot separate life from Dharma Practice. If we do, we don’t understand Dharma correctly, or life correctly.~TSEM RINPOCHE From: June Tang (Khjb)
14 hours ago
Don’t wait for others to realize anything, it may take them longer. YOU start and be the inspiration.~TSEM RINPOCHE From: June Tang (Khjb)
14 hours ago
Praise and blame, gain and loss, pleasure and sorrow come and go like the wind. To be happy, rest like a giant tree, in the midst of them all. ~ Buddha_Hee TS
22 hours ago
According to my own experience, the highest level of inner calm comes from the development of love and compassion.~H.H.DalaiLama_ Hee TS
22 hours ago

YOUR FEEDBACK

We are continously improving this blog, and a major upgrade will be coming in the near future. We invite all users to share your feedback with us, so that the next version of the blog will be even better. Just enter your comments in the space below.

Page Views By Country
Malaysia 1,835,570
United States 942,742
Singapore 327,539
United Kingdom 199,635
Canada 179,532
Australia 163,449
India 124,261
Philippines 79,748
Thailand 58,739
Indonesia 64,946
Germany 57,524
France 35,043
Netherlands 32,673
Italy 27,726
Bhutan 30,887
Hong Kong 26,539
Romania 24,922
Spain 24,728
New Zealand 23,838
Taiwan 27,124
Brazil 24,636
Mexico 19,382
Nepal 19,974
Portugal 18,703
Sweden 19,383
Switzerland 22,793
Hungary 13,977
Sri Lanka 12,635
United Arab Emirates 13,082
Greece 13,376
Japan 15,103
Vietnam 14,334
South Africa 12,551
Ireland 12,533
Poland 14,384
Bulgaria 11,876
Pakistan 10,025
Saudi Arabia 8,724
Russia 10,690
Total Pageviews: 4,829,345

Login