Yishensu – Restaurant Review

Jul 26, 2012 | Views: 2,373
Share this article

[Disclaimer: The following review has been reviewed by the Vegetarian Restaurant Review team)




Located in One Utama Shopping Complex, Yishensu has been providing quality and delicious vegetarian food to Malaysians for the past 25 years. Yishensu started their humble beginnings in a small hawker stall in Kampar by the Wong family. After 25 years of promoting vegetarianism passionately amongst Malaysians, Yishensu has now expanded to 4 fine dining restaurants in Kampar, Ipoh, Klang, and Petaling Jaya. 

The founders of Yishensu strongly believes that with a slight encouragement, anyone would turn vegetarian. Due to this, Yishensu emphasizes strongly on the taste of the food served, as well as their culinary presentation. This brings about a fine and good dining experience. 

Reviewer's Rating

Interior - 4/5

The shop looks very Japanese, but Yishensu is 100% Malaysian - origin, cuisine and owned. The lay out of the restaurant gives their customers a very comfortable dining experience. Whether the customer needs a small private area for entertaining guests or just for casual dining, Yishensu provides a very good environment for either one. There is also a cosy waiting area for their guests in case of a full-house or for take-aways. The lighting of the environment is very cosy, those who like dining under natural light may prefer having their meals at the back of the restaurant. 

Waiting area  Dining tables near the entrance of the restaurant
Tables lined up all the way to the back of the restaurant Small cosy corners for diners to enjoy their meals

Private corners for small gatherings


Food - 4.5/5

Yishensu serves a wide variety of Chinese cuisine, with some choices of a variety of local Malaysian favourites. The presentation of each and every dish is beautifully done. It is neat, reasonably artistic and most importantly looks appetizing! The serving size is also just nice, neither too much nor too little.

The secret to Yishensu's uniqueness is that many of their dishes are either freshly made or obtained from their own vegetarian food manufacturing factory. For example the House Tofu with Luffa; the tofu are freshly made everyday by their chefs which gives it a special and unique taste that can only be found in Yishensu. The handmade char siew pau are manufactured by their factory in Kampar; this delicacy is offered off the menu as they usually have very limited supply, so remember to ask the waitress if they have any the next time you visit! 

 Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce


 Milky Fragrant Oat Pumpkin
 Handmade Char Siew Pau  House Tofu with Luffa

 Heavenly King dish - Vege "Belacan"


Pricing - 4/5

With a price range of RM 3 - RM 20, Yishensu certainly serves one of the best vegetarian food at a very reasonable price. They offer lunch and dinner sets at an affordable price starting from RM 10.80, a great deal for a complete and balance meal. 


Vegetarian Selection - 4/5

Yishensu provides a reasonably wide variety of choices on their menu. Although the source of their product are not organic, the chefs at Yishensu believes in healthy dining and often encourage the use of natural sources in their dishes rather than processed mock meat. They are also one of the few vegetarian restaurants that actively promotes vegetarianism to the public through an ambassador. 


Service - 4/5

The Yishensu staff provides very good service. Their waiters and waitresses are trained to greet the customers appropriately and even trained to know the content of the food served to cater to their vegan customers. The restaurant is also very clean, when the restaurant is less busy such as after lunch hours, the waitresses can be seen cleaning the tables using disinfectants. 

Find your way there!

Yishensu – A Vegetarian Connoisseur

Address: Lot G207, Grd Flr., 1-Utama Shopping Ctr., 1, Lebuh Bandar Utama, Bandar Utama, 47800, Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Contact: 03-77294313

Website: www.yishensu.com

Opening Hours: Mon-Sun 10 am – 10 pm (1-Utama outlet)


  • Vegan friendly (remember to inform the waiter upon ordering)
  • Malaysian cuisine
  • Catering services
  • Walk in/Reservations
  • Small gatherings
  • Smart casual
  • Credit Card accepted

Tags: , , ,

Please support us so that we can continue to bring you more Dharma:

If you are in the United States, please note that your offerings and contributions are tax deductible. ~ the tsemrinpoche.com blog team

Share this article

40 Responses to Yishensu – Restaurant Review


Kindly note that the comments or posts given by third parties in the comment section below do not represent the views of the owner and/or host of this Blog, save for responses specifically given by the owner and/or host. All other comments or posts or any other opinions, discussions or views given below under the comment section do not represent our views and should not be regarded as such. We reserve the right to remove any comments/views which we may find offensive but due to the volume of such comments, the non removal and/or non detection of any such comments/views does not mean that we condone the same.

We do hope that the participants of any comments, posts, opinions, discussions or views below will act responsibly and do not engage nor make any statements which are defamatory in nature or which may incite and contempt or ridicule of any party,individual or their beliefs or to contravene any laws.

  1. Sean Wang on Jan 19, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    The first time I went to Yishenshu was Wednesday when Rinpoche brought some Kecharians (including me) to have a shopping spree and dinner. The food here is really one of the very best. Their starter course really reminds me of Kechara Oasis’ starter course lol. I guess great restaurants think alike.

  2. Albert Ratchaga on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:17 am

    I used to go Yishensu to eat frequently, because the food is tasty, reasonable pricing and nice environment to dine in. they have wide range of food, from traditional chinese food ‘man tao’ to western food spaghetti.

    Beside the food in there, the staff are polite, friendly too, you will feel comfortable while eating there. A must try place and you’ll never regret.

  3. Girlie Ooi on Nov 20, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    I have been to this place quite a number of times. I enjoyed the food and the ambience. I, too, love the nasi lemak.

  4. tenzin llhamo on Aug 13, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    When I was on my shifts in 1U, I’d have their fried rice for lunch. Its not easy to find yummy vegan in 1U plus I am not a fan of mock meat. I prefer simple ways of cooking and their service is fast. I didnt have to wait too long for it. Must go there again and try something else on the menu.

  5. Sharon Saw on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:43 am

    I’ve been to Yishensu a few times and it’s pretty good. I liked the western selection they had too.. What i like about vegetarian restaurants is that i can order anything on the menu!

    Thanks for these food reviews. It certainly lets everyone know that there is a lot of variety and availability out there for vegetarians!

  6. June Kang on Aug 8, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    It is nice that shopping center has vegetarian restaurant. It is convenient for people who want to try vegetarian. Kechara Oasis is one of the them open vegetarian restaurant at Viva Mall shopping complex to make the vegetarian life easier.We should support them so that less animal being killed.

  7. bengkooi on Aug 6, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    I used to be a frequent visitor of Yishensu, and I really enjoy their nasi lemak (with veggie ikan bilis!) and their mutton rendang. I only wished they opened till much later, so that I can also have supper there!

  8. Lim Han Nee on Aug 5, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    I have been to Yishensu many times. I love its great variety of delicious food, and its ‘artistic’ presentation of the dishes. I usually am by myself and I love the sense of privacy and comfort that Yishensu offers to solitary diners.

  9. EricLee KHJB on Aug 4, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    谁说吃素的人选择很少,菜色不吸引人,环境差。 现在的素食餐厅,不仅是提供食物而已,而是让人有一种享受的感觉。所以说,现在的我们除了借助吃素来培养我们的慈悲心,而且还可以在如此享受的地方用餐,聪明的朋友们我们又何乐而不为呢? 让我们一起享受素所带来的好处吧。。。。

  10. lucy yap on Aug 4, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Being vegetarian have never been easier with so many vegetarian restaurants.Vegetarian dishes are very tastefully served and the menus are aplenty!This is another restaurant that serves delicious and nutritious meals at a reasonable prize.
    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing info on this restaurant,will definitely try it out when I’m in 1 Utama shopping complex.

  11. JP on Aug 3, 2012 at 4:57 am

    I’ve eaten at this restaurant many times when I go to One Utama. The ratings given are what I would give as well. In general, the food is good. I don’t think they put any MSG in the food because I don’t get thirsty after eating there.

    I’ve brought my non vegetarian friends to eat there and they enjoy the food there as well. I guess when it’s cooked well, you tend to forget that you must have meat. So eating meat is just a habit that we can kick if we want to.

  12. Carmen on Aug 2, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    Their Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce is really really good!! This place is a nice, leisure and simple place to go to for casual dining. Affordable, nice environment, pleasant and delicious food. What more can one ask for! Try it, you won’t regret it!

  13. Mei Fong on Aug 2, 2012 at 10:53 am

    Wow…what a great restaurant which is just a stone throw away from Gompa…cant wait to visit and try it out one day.

  14. Wan Wai Meng on Aug 2, 2012 at 2:39 am

    I have eaten here many times and the food has never failed to disappoint me.

  15. pat on Aug 1, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Visited Yishensu few times, the food and the service is good.I’ve tried the Nasi Lemak and Bak kut teh but not the Char Siew Pau yet, will do so next round when at One Utama…..most important is the price is reasonable

  16. MayOng on Jul 31, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    This is another vegetarian restaurant that has good reviews by people who frequent the place. Will need to drop by in 1Utama soon and give my verdict.

  17. Wendy Loh on Jul 31, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation. Will surely visit the restaurant. Yum! _/\_

  18. David Lai on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    I have been to Yishenzu several times and I really like a lot of the food there but I guess my favourite would be the ‘Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce’, Bak Kut Teh and few more that I can’t recall at this time. It is really neat that we do have a number of vegetarian options here in Malaysia although not all of them are health-inclined.

  19. Leann Lim on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Yishensu Restaurant always is our 1st choice when we visit to one utama. From delicious food, cosy environment till the reasonable prices, we always have good times there. And is very good to promote vegetarianism by bringing Veg Restaurant to shopping mall, and is acceptable by people non-vegetarian. That i have intro to some friends, they like it too…hehe

  20. verontung on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Thanks for sharing this lovely restaurant. I used to work at office right besides One Utama, so i spent quite a lot of time eating at this one and only vegetarian restaurants for my lunch. We always like to ordered their lunch set as it is very affordable and tasty! I especially likes their curry mutton rice (but i don’t think they still have that in their lunch set now :P ). It always makes my tastebud “alive” whenever i get no appetite!

  21. Siong Woan on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:13 am

    This is one of my favourite vegetarian restaurant!

    One more dish to recommend – the vegetarian Bak Kut Teh – YUM !!

  22. June (KH-JB) on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:14 am

    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing this article,i will give it a try when i am at KL.From the pictures I can feel the cosy place with good food served at reasonable price.hmm…i want to try the vege
    “belacan” and handmade char siew pau ^_^ Be vegetarian is not only save a lot of animals,also the way to have good health !!sooo,,,
    start be a vegetarian by now!!

  23. Lim (KH JB) on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:45 am

    Thanks Rinpoche for the sharing. The owner already serve the vegetarian food for 25 years how wonderful. The food look so delicious and feel to have a bite on it.

  24. Helena Chin on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:38 am

    I went few times and ts really good and reasonable. I love the place and the deco is very nice too. They are currently having a promo on Groupon, check it out guys :)
    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing.

  25. Han on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Yishensu is one of my choice of Vegetarian Restaurant, I been there for few times with friends, and we all ordered different dishes, I like the nasi lemak and Milky Fragrant Oat Pumpkin, the Bak Kut Teh also quite nice. Worth go again and again!

  26. Wah Ying on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    See, being vegetarian still can have my lovely delicious Char Siew Bao!

    There are more and more vegetarian restaurants opened in Klang Valley and other places. Vegetarian dishes are with more varieties, delicious and most importantly healthy.

    (If you happen to know any of the vegetarian restaurant around Kuala Lumpur or Malaysia perhaps, please share with us).

  27. Uncle Eddie on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:58 am

    As above mentioned, a vegetarian restuarant with a 25 years experiences, located in One-Utama Shopping Complex, has now expanded to a 4 fine dining restuarant chain at Ipoh(Kampar), Klang and Petaling Jaya. As from the ambience in pictures, it looks beautiful, nice and full of style with an Japanese oriental taste. Yishenu, produces their own raw vegetarian food for cooking from their own manufacturing factory; said to give a special and unique taste only to be found at Yishenu. With such a claim, it certainly would be worth a visit to find out. Happy eating!

  28. william on Jul 27, 2012 at 7:23 am

    I like this restaurant as they serve yummy food. Their olive fried rice is also very nice. It is a great place to go with friends and family as their food is tasty and service is also good. Will try the Char Siew Pau the next time I am there!

  29. Cynthia Ng on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:33 am

    Look deliciouns! Yishensu provide home cook food :) The enviroment look comfortable and price is reasonable too. Thank you for sharing!

  30. justin cheah on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:00 am

    Been to the main branch in Kampar which is where i am from really. The food is very nice and its vegetarian. Didn’t know they have this branch in 1U! Gotta go and try. Thank you for sharing this Rinpoche!

  31. patsy on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    I have been to this restaurant many times as the food is tasty and affordable, the service is good and the deco is nice. I like the noodles with braised mushroom and the nasi lemak. For the lunch set, a bowl of complimentary soup is served.

  32. Lai Boon Run on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Been few times to this restaurant and find the choice of dishes very good and tasty.Must try the pineapple fried rice….very delicious

  33. mayy on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    This place Yishensu has become one of my favourite eateries here in One Utama. I love the “Chicken” Claypot rice and “Fish Head” noodle too. Great place to have your friends and family over for lunch or dinner.

  34. Paul Yap on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    I went to Yishensu few times, the pricing is very reasonable, food presentation and taste is not bad at all. Try “Ba Kut Teh Soup” next time if you going there ;)

  35. nicholas on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    I have been to this restaurant a few times. I love their Nasi Lemak and my daughter love their fried rice very much. There are quite a variety of food and really taste good. I love the potato salad with raisin too.

    Worth to try with family.

  36. choisheem on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Thank you for highlighting this restaurant. Although I have walked pass this area many times, I did not notice this restaurant. I guess it is shrouded by the many other restaurants around it. The dishes that you have featured in this article looks very tempting. I will definitely give this a try the next time I am in 1 Utama.

  37. Julia Tan on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    I ate at Yishensu many times, sometimes alone sometimes with friends. The food was not bad at all, price also reasonable too. What I like about them was they serve food pretty quick. I do not have to wait for long. Their waiters are very good in recommending food to the customers. This is what I like about them. I have stop going there for many months. I now dine in Kechara Oasis http://www.kecharaoasis.com/default.shtml most of the time. I find KO more exclusive where I go with my guests. It’s also a good place for a big function because the hall can cater 500 people.

    • Siong Woan on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:16 am

      Julia, remember Kechara Oasis’ vegetarian tim sum that we had a couple of weeks ago? Should we go back for more ?? :)

  38. Sheryl KH (JB) on Jul 26, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Yishensu DEFINITELY is a place that I would love to go and that I will introduce to my friends.

    The restaurant looks cosy. Well, I would have to say that those pictures of foods draw me in very much. THEY LOOK SO APPETISING, SIMPLY CANT RESIST!!!

    I would have to congratulate the owner – The Wong Family – for after 2 ½ decade of trying, they now have branches in four places, definitely not easy.

    I love their business philosophy – to introduce vegetarianism to more people, so that less animals will suffer. I also love their idea of having food factory of their own – so things can be fresher!!!

    May I ask Wong Family if you have any plan to set up businesses in Johor?? J

  39. Milly on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:42 am

    The dishes all look so yummy. Have been there once and tried their nasi lemak. Quite nice. Thank you for sharing all these food reviews to encourage vegetarianism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you.

Tsem Rinpoche


10 - 11PM (GMT +8)
6 - 7AM (PST)
9:30 - 10:30PM (GMT +8)
5:30 - 6:30AM (PST)
11AM - 12PM (GMT +8)
9:30 - 10PM (GMT +8)
5:30 - 6AM (PST)


The Greatness of Je Tsongkhapa
Dorje Shugden Teaching Videos - Video (The Mantras of Dorje Shugden by Pastor KH)

Please come and join in the chat for a fun time and support. See you all there.

Blog Chat Etiquette

These are some simple guidelines to make the blog chat room a positive, enjoyable and enlightening experience for everyone. Please note that as this is a chat room, we chat! Do not flood the chat room, or post without interacting with others.

Be friendly

Remember that these are real people you are chatting with. They may have different opinions to you and come from different cultures. Treat them as you would face to face, and respect their opinions, and they will treat you the same.

Be Patient

Give the room a chance to answer you. Patience is a virtue. And if after awhile, people don't respond, perhaps they don't know the answer or they did not see your question. Do ask again or address someone directly. Do not be offended if people do not or are unable to respond to you.

Be Relevant

This is the blog of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche. Please respect this space. We request that all participants here are respectful of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche and his organisation, Kechara.

Be polite

Avoid the use of language or attitudes which may be offensive to others. If someone is disrespectful to you, ignore them instead of arguing with them.

Please be advised that anyone who contravenes these guidelines may be banned from the chatroom. Banning is at the complete discretion of the administrator of this blog. Should anyone wish to make an appeal or complaint about the behaviour of someone in the chatroom, please copy paste the relevant chat in an email to us at [email protected] and state the date and time of the respective conversation.

Please let this be a conducive space for discussions, both light and profound.


Here is the latest news and pictorial updates, as it happens, of our upcoming forest retreat project.

The Kechara Forest Retreat is a unique holistic retreat centre focused on the total wellness of body, mind and spirit. This is a place where families and individuals will find peace, nourishment and inspiration in a natural forest environment. At Kechara Forest Retreat, we are committed to give back to society through instilling the next generation with universal positive values such as kindness and compassion.

For more information, please read here (english), here (chinese), or the official site: retreat.kechara.com.


Name: Email:
Mail will not be published
  • Lucy Yap
    Tuesday, Dec 1. 2015 01:54 AM
    Dear students and friends,

    I came across this article on CNN and thought that I should share it with all of my blog readers. The article is on 10 of the best meditation retreats in the world!

    When I read it, I couldn’t help but think that it’s very much how I would like Kechara Forest Retreat (KFR) to be. A place where you can get away from the bustling crowd and heavy traffic in the city, and to find some peace, quiet and serenity away from it all. In the case of KFR, within the beautiful forest of Malaysia… H.E.The 25th Tsem Rinpoche . http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/…/10-of-the-worlds-best-meditat…
  • jillyam
    Tuesday, Dec 1. 2015 12:18 AM
    The 2nd reincarnation of H.E. The 25th Tsem Rinpoche was Drubchen Birwapa (or Virupa)
    Read more here :-

  • jillyam
    Tuesday, Dec 1. 2015 12:06 AM
    Help raise funds for Medicine Buddha Hill.
    The Medicine Buddha Hill project was conceptualised by H.E. The 25th Tsem Rinpoche to aid and benefit us in our spiritual journey. This project will be a part of Kechara Forest Retreat situated in the heart of Benton, Pahang, Malaysia.
    Read more here as to how you can be apart of this project.
  • Pastor Adeline
    Monday, Nov 30. 2015 08:54 PM
    His Holiness the Dalai Lama promotes kindness, compassion, tolerance, harmony, especially dialogue and non-violence approach to difficult issues which has won Him the Nobel Peace prize.

    However, His stand on the Dorje Shugden practise is a highly controversial one. He has gone to the extend to dispel Dorje Shugden monks https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tnae54qIyCM which is a total contradiction with what He promotes globally.

    Human beings has different mind that requires different religious practises. Hence the various religions on earth including the Dorje Shugden practise. For those of you who are new to this practise, you may like to viist http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/category/dorje-shugden for more information.

    On behalf of the Dorje Shugden practitioners, I would like to plea His Holiness for a chance to have dialogue and lift this unnecessary ban once and for all!

  • Pastor Adeline
    Monday, Nov 30. 2015 08:54 PM
    There are just too many things we are unaware of, unheard of or unseen of. We have not venture into the deep ocean, forest or snow mountains and are mostly ignorant about the lives there. We have limited knowledge and receive only what the society wanted us to know not realising what we knew is just a handful of sand in the vast dessert. Sometimes we tell ourselves we have to see to believe, but the truth is whether we see it or not, vast variety of lives do exist. This video is another proof for Big Foot sceptics, once again strengthen the possibilities of lives beyond our limited understanding and beliefs.

  • Pastor Adeline
    Monday, Nov 30. 2015 08:53 PM
    NgJesvin on Nov 25, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    Saya memang terharu apabila melihat Rinpoche yang begitu mengambil berat terhadap pasukan penyelamat dan pasukan kawalan di Bentong pada malam tragedi itu. Rinpoche yang bersifat baik hari tanpa mengira warna kulit, agama, bahasa dan latar belakang setiap ahli dalam pasukan penyelamat dan pasukan kawalan. Justerunya, saya juga berasa amat bangga dengan pelajar-pelajar Rinpoche yang sanggup mengorbankan masa dan tenaga tanpa mengenal penat dan waktu dengan rela hati menghantar makanan dan minuman untuk pasukan penyelamat dan pengawal. Kita sepatutnya mencontohi tindakan Rinpoche dan pelajar-pelajar beliau iaitu sentiasa sedia menyediakan bantuan kepada pihak yang memerlukan. Di samping itu, kita perlulah saling menyayangi antara satu sama lain tanpa mengira agama, latar belakang dan warna kulit begitu juga dengan segala makhluk hidup di persekitaran kita. Akhirnya, kita sepatutnya peka terhadap apa yang berlaku di persekitaran kita agar keharmonian dapat kekal selama-lamanya.Bak kata pepatah “yang baik dijadikan teladan, yang buruk dijadikan sempadan”.

  • Pastor Adeline
    Monday, Nov 30. 2015 08:51 PM
    A Little Change Can Save Another Life
    RM2 may not get us far these days but it will definitely transform the life of a bird that only knew the chaos inside dirty, overcrowded cages.

    A little CHANGE provides one nutritious and healthy meal of fresh vegetables, millet snacks and delicious seeds for a bird.

    A little CHANGE sets an example for our children to be caring, generous and kind.

    A little CHANGE preserves our humanity through helping those with no voice.

  • Pastor Adeline
    Monday, Nov 30. 2015 08:51 PM
    It’s a good program, a concept that combines Meditation & Photography. I gained consciousness and awareness for what I do and what I love to do without any emails or calls to draw me away. ~ Gary Chuah Cheng Wai

  • Pastor Adeline
    Monday, Nov 30. 2015 08:50 PM
    ooking for a vegetarian banquet experience? Look no further! Visit us at Kechara Oasis for special weekday promotions on vegetarian banquet menus.

    Promotion period runs from 1 Dec 2015 to 31 Jan 2016 with prices starting as low as RM488++. Make your reservation today at:

    Kechara Oasis Jaya One
    Tel: 03-7968 1818

    Kechara Oasis Viva Home
    Tel: 03-9284 1818

  • Pastor Adeline
    Monday, Nov 30. 2015 08:49 PM
    These precious teachings from Dorje Shugden are sacred and clearly dharmic. No devil will ask us to practise the buddha dharma and be of benefits of others. Some of the points I have learned as follows:

    1. When we apply the teachings of our Guru, putting dharma into actions, logically we will produce positive results and see the positive transformation of our mind.

    2. Eight Worldly Dharmas bring us no where but continue to suffer. These eight practices led us to the wrong path, causing our mind to become unstable, bear no results from our practise.

    3. When we show respect to our Guru from our heart sincerely, we will be the cause for others to meet dharma through any Guru they have karmic relation with.

    4. Black Manjushri will have many powerful effects. It will stave off the curses that people send to us, including negative words, curses, negative gossip and talk, ill-wishes and jealousies etc.

    5. Consistent practice is the remedy for our broken vows, through retreats we purify. Only through continued dharma work with a good mind, constantly striving to break our comfort zones will we be of benefit to others through our work. All results come from us making all necessary efforts.

  • Pastor Adeline
    Monday, Nov 30. 2015 08:48 PM



  • Pastor Adeline
    Monday, Nov 30. 2015 08:47 PM
    Unlock the W.O.A.H. factor in your child and enjoy Early Bird discounts now! Kechara’s Sunday Dharma School will be organising a 2D1N children’s camp during the long year end school holiday on 19 – 20 December, 2015. All children between 8 – 12 years old are welcome to join us.

    Places are limited to 40pax and will be allocated on a first come first serve basis. Book now for early bird discounts!

    Early Bird Fees: RM168
    Normal Fees: RM238

    For enquiries and registration, please call Kechara House at +603 7803 3908 or email us at [email protected]. Registration can also be done online here https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1BRmwM8GYJOWc6TbqVO5ZF82Kq84nvokXDbEU8KaxQOY/viewform?c=0&w=1.

  • Pastor Adeline
    Monday, Nov 30. 2015 08:44 PM




  • Lucy Yap
    Sunday, Nov 29. 2015 10:36 PM

    The offering of the mandala is one of the four main preliminary practices in Vajrayana Buddhism. This is one of the fastest ways to accumulate vast amounts of merit to sustain and advance in our spiritual practice in order to gain realisations.

    In this dharma talk, Pastor David Lai will explain the correct way of engaging in the Mandala Offering of the 37 Heaps, the significance of each offering and the accompanying visualisations. He will also be talking about various aspects of correct Dharma attitude and how to cultivate this type of mind. For more information:
  • Lucy Yap
    Sunday, Nov 29. 2015 10:17 PM
    H.E.The 25th Tsem Rinpoche’s third incarnation. Thonmi Sambhota is the 3rd incarnation of H.E. the 25th Tsem Rinpoche. Born in 619, he hailed from the Thonmi clan of Central Tibet. His father, Tonmi Anu Ragata, was a minister in the court of Emperor Songtsen Gampo. Read more :https://www.facebook.com/kecharahouse?fref=ts

1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · »


Concept: Tsem Rinpoche
Technical: Lew Kwan Leng, Justin Ripley, Yong Swee Keong
Design: Justin Ripley, Cynthia Lee
Content: Tsem Rinpoche, Justin Ripley, Pastor Shin Tan, Sarah Yap
Writer: Pastor Loh Seng Piow
Admin: Pastor Loh Seng Piow, Beng Kooi

I must thank my dharma blog team who are great assets to me, Kechara and growth of dharma in this wonderful region. I am honoured and thrilled to work with them. I really am. Maybe I don't say it enough to them, but I am saying it now. I APPRECIATE THESE GUYS VERY MUCH!

Tsem Rinpoche

What Am I Writing Now


The Unknown

The Known and unknown are both feared,
Known is being comfortable and stagnant,
The unknown may be growth and opportunities,
One shall never know if one fears the unknown more than the known.
Who says the unknown would be worse than the known?
But then again, the unknown is sometimes worse than the known. In the end nothing is known unless we endeavour,
So go pursue all the way with the unknown,
because all unknown with familiarity becomes the known.
~Tsem Rinpoche

Photos On The Go

Click on the images to view the bigger version. And scroll down and click on "View All Photos" to view more images.
2 weeks ago
Please see the WONDERFUL NEW PHOTOS taken just this morning (November 13, 2015) here: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=81688 (Be sure to scroll to the bottom until part 2 to see the pictures)
3 weeks ago
We at Kechara Forest Retreat had the honor to have a visit from Yang Dipertua Mohammad Shahid bin Ismail who is the Head of the Bentong Municipal Council. We thank him for taking the time as he was very busy. Thank you very much. Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
Pastor David giving a well received talk on the practice of Black Manjushri
3 weeks ago
Found a green patch of land to spend with friends...
3 weeks ago
Nice to see our fellow Modern Buddhist Fellowship members engaged in Dharma.
3 weeks ago
Manjushri-ghosha, Kumara (English: Youthful Prince, Melodious Voice)
3 weeks ago
Wonderful certificates of our Kechara pastors..meaningful and touching.
3 weeks ago
This office table has something interesting on it.
3 weeks ago
Powerfully true
3 weeks ago
To have kind and caring people in our lives is a blessing
3 weeks ago
3 weeks ago
I really wanted to share this incredible picture of the Tibetologist Alexandra David-Neel outside of her retreat cave in Tibet. She's one of the first non-Tibetans who penetrated Tibet to engage in the practice of Tibetan Buddhism. She really practiced and even wrote books on Buddhism and Tibet which are still available now. ~Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
A photo taken by Pastor Shin of Tsem Rinpoche's Dorje Shugden traditional mask. This is on Tsem Rinpoche's shrine. Very nice photo.
3 weeks ago
At Chin Swee Temple with my long time friend Dato' Wira Eric.
4 weeks ago
Amogha-pasa Avalokitesvara
4 weeks ago
I love small quaint towns in Japan. No matter how rural or small any village is in Japan, it is still kept very clean and asthetic matching nature. 
4 weeks ago
Left to right: Gekula (disciplinarian), Abbot Geshe Konchok Tsering, Tsem Rinpoche, H.E. Kensur Jampa Yeshe Rinpoche-We are inviting Kensur Rinpoche for tenshug. Tenshug is grand puja to request Kensur Rinpoche to live long. This is in Gaden and we are inviting him to the prayer hall to perform the tenshug. Tsem Rinpoche is the requester and sponsor.
4 weeks ago
This is a nice picture
4 weeks ago
Kyabje Lati Rinpoche and Geshe Tsultrim Gyeltsen
4 weeks ago
Kyabje Lati Rinpoche and Kari Kensur Rinpoche of Gaden Shartse Monastery
4 weeks ago
Kyabje Zemey Rinpoche, H.H. Zong Rinpoche & Kyabje Lati Rinpoche
4 weeks ago
Kyabje Lati Rinpoche makes offerings to H.H. Trijang Rinpoche
4 weeks ago
Kyabje Lati Rinpoche makes offering to their Holinesses Kyabje Ling and Trijang Rinpoches
4 weeks ago
Lady Buddha Janguli who protects from snakes and venom poisoning.
1 month ago
If there is a blind man walking towards a well and he can fall in, whose fault is it if he falls in? This can be related back to those in dharma should act to guide others by example otherwise you let everyone fall into the well. If they do fall in samsara's well, whose fault is it? Have the courage, integrity and fortitude to practice dharma and bring dharma to others to help them.~ Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
This group in Kechara Forest Retreat completed a Singdongma retreat on October 28, 2015.
1 month ago
Magnificent and Glorious Buddha Goddess Singdongma the Lion Faced lady who dispells all fear from the ten directions for those who invoke upon her fercocious and volcanic like power. Praise to this wrathful lady that burns all gnosis and projections! Remover of all that harms and obstructs and trampled under her feet. Tsem Rinpoche--To learn more about Singdongma: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=31904
1 month ago
Xiaqiong Monastary, Qinghai, Tibet, China. Over 100 meters tall Lord Tsongkapa statue. The only one of it's kind. Totally amazing. Picture 2
1 month ago
Xiaqiong Monastary, Qinghai, Tibet, China. Over 100 meters tall Lord Tsongkapa statue. The only one of it's kind. Totally amazing. Picture 1
1 month ago
This was taken in Kechara House. Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
This was taken in Gaden Shartse Monastery on the day of my enthronement as Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
I think I was in Sera Mey Monastery when this was taken over 18 years ago. Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
1 month ago
Many times we hear great Vajra Yogini practitioners when cremated, their fire pyres appear in the form of Vajra Yogini. We hear this many times as a sign they went to Kechara Paradise, gained high realizations or enlightened by Vajra Yogini's path. Although this picture does not depict a funeral pyre of a great practitioner, but the fire looks curiously like Vajra Yogini. Enjoy and may all be blessed by Vajra Yogini. Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
1 month ago
When you work hard and produce results, everyone is silenced and those who make noise is just noise and society allows you some freedoms. You have to have the integrity to finish what you started and what you promised. Do it for others, those concerned and for yourself.~Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
You can work with me and we finish the dreams. You can leave citing any reasons you may have. You may join back again with me and my arms are open to you. Or you may go away as an enemy or remain friends. However you do I will accept. I dream big and work hard and sometimes it's hard for you, others and me, but if we finish, there is great satisfaction. Satisfaction doesn't come free. But one thing for sure, I will finish what I have started with or without you. Too many depend on it and many have hopes in it. We need to remember our words, our promises and our hopes we gave others and not shatter it. Sometimes we need to put our personal feelings aside and just get it done with a bang and be happy about it because in the end letting others down is not a way of life. Be kind, have integrity, don't make excuses, don't justify but just complete the works that make the dreams materialize and in the process you fulfill the dreams of many others. Others is always the key. Others and oneself are intertwined. Life is then fulfilled. That is life. Life is like that.~Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
Please click on picture to see this special mantra
1 month ago
Long Manjushri mantra: Namo Manjushriye Kumara Bhutaya Bodhisattvaya Maha-sattvaya Maha-karuni-kaya Tayatha Om Aradzey Biradzey Shuddhey Bishuddhey Shodaya Bishodayey Amaley Bimaley Nirmaley Dzaya-varey Ruru-tsaley Hung Hung Hung Phet Phet Phet Soha!
2 months ago
Love is.....
2 months ago
Very powerful. Must click on picture and read and share.
2 months ago
Some people just work quietly in the background and do their best in their own way to benefit others. They don't say much but work super hard. I must say Pastor Dr. Lanse is one of them. She does not need attention, she does not complain and she does not ever create problems. She is independent and yet kind. She is our wonderful translator who works very hard to get translations of many dharma teachings into Chinese. This is just something short and sweet to let everyone know how much I appreciate Pastor Lanse and enjoy being with her work and her. Because of her and several other vital and lovely people, much practical dharma is in the Chinese speaking world. I thank Pastor Dr. Lanse from my heart. Tsem Rinpoche
2 months ago
Materialism is prevalent because the societal norms teaches people to be consumers at a young age. Buying things we don't need all to feed the ego. You can drive an expensive vehicle, but at the end of the day its still just a car. You can buy a flashy watch, but in reality all it does is tell time. People are more concerned with image and feeding their egos than being a beneficial person to society. Investing money on the outside to appear a certain way to others, yet forgetting to invest in yourself to becoming a better person. People spend their whole lives working to attain materialistic things using their accumulation of materialism to validate their existence, but when you die you can't take any of it with you. Don't let this system turn you into a vanity slave, realize you're worth much more than that. Feed your soul not your ego.-from Dr Asky (Powerful words of wisdom even from the secular point of view)
2 months ago
I love little Dharma boy.
2 months ago
Lord Tsongkhapa's holy retreat house in Tibet. Huge pilgrimage spot.
2 months ago
Lama Tsongkhapa footprint as a child
2 months ago
Kedrub Je's personal statue of Yamantaka
2 months ago
Prince Siddhartha with his maternal aunt Queen Mahaprajapati Gotami
Click on "View All Photos" above to view more images

Videos On The Go

Please click on the images to watch video
  • -
    2 months ago
    HH the Dalai Lama prays with HH Trijang Rinpoche and HH Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche. Such a beautiful video of His Holiness Dalai Lama, His Holiness Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche and His Holiness Dilgo Kyentse Rinpoche (Very exalted high Nyingma lama) are all praying together. In the background you see a young Kyabje Lati Rinpoche too. So beautiful. This is how it was before the ban. All the sects and high lamas were superbly harmonious. After the Dorje Shugden ban things changed for the worse. May the ban be released soon. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Nice Dorje Shugden rock painting
    3 months ago
    Nice Dorje Shugden rock painting
  • His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche teaches the truth of life and our impeding death.
    3 months ago
    His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche teaches the truth of life and our impeding death.
  • A kind message from Mr. Tsering Wangchuk to me. Thank you so much. Tsem Rinpoche
    3 months ago
    A kind message from Mr. Tsering Wangchuk to me. Thank you so much. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Mr Chatreng Yeshe's message to me (Part 1)
    3 months ago
    Mr Chatreng Yeshe's message to me (Part 1)
  • Mr Chatreng Yeshe's message to me (Part 2)
    3 months ago
    Mr Chatreng Yeshe's message to me (Part 2)
  • His Holiness Trijang Rinpoche accepts Long Life puja
    4 months ago
    His Holiness Trijang Rinpoche accepts Long Life puja
  • Dorje Shugden/Kache Marpo makes offerings to Tsem Rinpoche
    5 months ago
    Dorje Shugden/Kache Marpo makes offerings to Tsem Rinpoche
  • My good friend Justin Ripley
    5 months ago
    My good friend Justin Ripley
  • -
    6 months ago
    I requested Choji Lah to do a trusol, rabney and soongdroop for our large DS and Buddha. In this video, he is performing trusol which is ritually 'bathing' the environment and blessing all those who come to visit our Wisdom Hall and Dorje Shugden. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Bigfoot arrives!!!
    6 months ago
    Bigfoot arrives!!!
    Tsem Rinpoche is an avid follower of the paranormal such as bigfoots. For more interesting writings and posts on the subject, please go to http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/category/yeti-bigfoot-sasquatch
  • Mumu Loves Snack!
    6 months ago
    Mumu Loves Snack!
  • -
    6 months ago
    For H.E. Tsem Tulku Rinpoche, a blog post is not just a blog post but Dharma work that generates merits which should be dedicated. Click here to find out what blog post Rinpoche was dedicating the merits for when he recited this prayer: http://bit.ly/1KiXWf9 ~Ani Lobsang Pema
  • -
    6 months ago
    Panchen Lama in Beijing on CCTV - China's official news. The respect and position they give His Holiness Panchen Lama is great.
  • Magical fish tank with Buddha statue
    6 months ago
    Magical fish tank with Buddha statue


A section for you to clarify your Dharma questions with Kechara’s esteemed pastors.

Just post your name and your question below and one of our pastors will provide you with an answer.

Scroll down and click on "View All Questions" to view archived questions.

View All Questions


52 minutes ago
Thank you to everyone who participated and volunteered in the food distribution. Thank you Bayview Hotel for sponsoring the food. Patsy@KSK Penang
55 minutes ago
Medical team checking blood pressure of one of the food recipients. Patsy@KSK Penang
1 hour ago
Monday night food distribution around Little India. Patsy@KSK Penang
1 hour ago
Setting the right motivation by reciting motivational verses before food distribution. Patsy@KSK Penang
1 hour ago
The students were briefed before going out to the streets for distribution. Patsy@KSK Penang
1 hour ago
A busy night at the soup kitchen. Students from USM Penang helped our volunteers to sort and pack food for distribution. Patsy@KSK Penang
2 hours ago
Kfr before completed, road toward enlighten path. heng meng kiat
2 hours ago
Night View of Wisdom Hall with Tsongkhapa Statue !!!! heng meng kiat
2 hours ago
Dharmapala Setrap In Kechara House Prayer Hall. Heng Meng Kiat
2 hours ago
FW: kechara Prayer Hall with 15 magnificent Thangkas of Lord Tsongkhapa life story !!!! heng meng kiat
2 hours ago
kechara Prayer Hall with 15 magnificent Thangkas of Lord Tsongkhapa life story !!!!
2 hours ago
Rinpoche Previous reincarnation statue in Ladrang, Reincarnation of High Lama show the compassionate character to benefit more people . Heng Meng Kiat
4 hours ago
Gyenze puja did today for Sponsor for their business to bloom. By Puja House 30 November'15
4 hours ago
Druchuma puja did for Sponsor to restored harmony for their company. By Puja House 30 November'15
4 hours ago
Puja team did Outcall puja to Johor today to bless the new premises. By Puja House 30 November'15
4 hours ago
In torma making session, team work together to complete the torma. Some do butter flower, some shape the torma, some color the tormas. By Puja House 30 November'15
14 hours ago
Beautiful and perfect statue of Dorje Shugden at H.E.The 25th Tsem Rinpoche's pre- loved Buddhist items at Kechara House gompa souvenir shop for invite. http://www.kechara.com Lucy Yap
29 November 2015 Mr. Sugihara – Conspiracy of Kindness - MUST WATCH!!! http://bit.ly/1MNHCCD - Mr. Sugihara. A shining example of people who selflessly help other people with no agenda. Thank you sir! Thank you very much for following in your conscience. H.E. the 25th Tsem Rinpoche - Pastor Antoinette
Rejoice to my KSDS colleague Jesvin, who is a dear friend and a warm person who took up vegetarian vow with Pastor Adeline. Stella Cheang, KSDS
Retreatants of the Tsongkapa Retreat had to observe silent for 3 days 2 nights. Stella Cheang, KSDS
108 bowls of water offering. Stella Cheang, KSDS
The seating of each retreatant at Dukkar Apartment in the world class retreat centre at KFR. Stella Cheang, KSDS
First Tsongkapa Retreat at KFR for KSDS teachers and friends just ended today. Check out the happy radiant faces. :) Stella Cheang, KSDS
Mr Hee and Kent Kok arranging torma to the altar. By Puja House 29 November'15
Drolchok Puja did for Sponsor's who wish for her project to be successful. By Puja House 29 November'15





Page Views By Country
Malaysia 2,255,814
United States 1,391,141
Singapore 438,490
United Kingdom 284,224
Canada 262,038
Australia 234,573
India 198,117
Philippines 121,541
Nepal 81,865
Indonesia 96,269
Thailand 73,012
Germany 75,464
Netherlands 48,281
France 48,373
Portugal 38,661
Italy 44,163
Bhutan 47,102
Spain 38,370
Taiwan 38,157
Hong Kong 38,263
New Zealand 35,403
Brazil 33,002
Romania 31,513
Mexico 25,354
Switzerland 33,255
United Arab Emirates 21,689
South Africa 20,422
Japan 22,227
Sweden 24,771
Greece 18,308
Vietnam 18,452
Ireland 17,738
Sri Lanka 15,308
Hungary 16,691
Saudi Arabia 13,605
Poland 18,094
Mongolia 15,938
Russia 16,610
Pakistan 12,304
Total Pageviews: 6,610,737


Click to watch my talk about Dorje Shugden....