Yishensu – Restaurant Review

Jul 26, 2012 | Views: 2,160
Share this article

[Disclaimer: The following review has been reviewed by the Vegetarian Restaurant Review team)

 

 

Overview

Located in One Utama Shopping Complex, Yishensu has been providing quality and delicious vegetarian food to Malaysians for the past 25 years. Yishensu started their humble beginnings in a small hawker stall in Kampar by the Wong family. After 25 years of promoting vegetarianism passionately amongst Malaysians, Yishensu has now expanded to 4 fine dining restaurants in Kampar, Ipoh, Klang, and Petaling Jaya. 

The founders of Yishensu strongly believes that with a slight encouragement, anyone would turn vegetarian. Due to this, Yishensu emphasizes strongly on the taste of the food served, as well as their culinary presentation. This brings about a fine and good dining experience. 


Reviewer's Rating

Interior - 4/5

The shop looks very Japanese, but Yishensu is 100% Malaysian - origin, cuisine and owned. The lay out of the restaurant gives their customers a very comfortable dining experience. Whether the customer needs a small private area for entertaining guests or just for casual dining, Yishensu provides a very good environment for either one. There is also a cosy waiting area for their guests in case of a full-house or for take-aways. The lighting of the environment is very cosy, those who like dining under natural light may prefer having their meals at the back of the restaurant. 

Waiting area  Dining tables near the entrance of the restaurant
   
Tables lined up all the way to the back of the restaurant Small cosy corners for diners to enjoy their meals

Private corners for small gatherings

 

Food - 4.5/5

Yishensu serves a wide variety of Chinese cuisine, with some choices of a variety of local Malaysian favourites. The presentation of each and every dish is beautifully done. It is neat, reasonably artistic and most importantly looks appetizing! The serving size is also just nice, neither too much nor too little.

The secret to Yishensu's uniqueness is that many of their dishes are either freshly made or obtained from their own vegetarian food manufacturing factory. For example the House Tofu with Luffa; the tofu are freshly made everyday by their chefs which gives it a special and unique taste that can only be found in Yishensu. The handmade char siew pau are manufactured by their factory in Kampar; this delicacy is offered off the menu as they usually have very limited supply, so remember to ask the waitress if they have any the next time you visit! 

 Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce

(recommended!)

 Milky Fragrant Oat Pumpkin
   
 Handmade Char Siew Pau  House Tofu with Luffa

 Heavenly King dish - Vege "Belacan"

 

Pricing - 4/5

With a price range of RM 3 - RM 20, Yishensu certainly serves one of the best vegetarian food at a very reasonable price. They offer lunch and dinner sets at an affordable price starting from RM 10.80, a great deal for a complete and balance meal. 

 

Vegetarian Selection - 4/5

Yishensu provides a reasonably wide variety of choices on their menu. Although the source of their product are not organic, the chefs at Yishensu believes in healthy dining and often encourage the use of natural sources in their dishes rather than processed mock meat. They are also one of the few vegetarian restaurants that actively promotes vegetarianism to the public through an ambassador. 

 

Service - 4/5

The Yishensu staff provides very good service. Their waiters and waitresses are trained to greet the customers appropriately and even trained to know the content of the food served to cater to their vegan customers. The restaurant is also very clean, when the restaurant is less busy such as after lunch hours, the waitresses can be seen cleaning the tables using disinfectants. 


Find your way there!


Yishensu – A Vegetarian Connoisseur

Address: Lot G207, Grd Flr., 1-Utama Shopping Ctr., 1, Lebuh Bandar Utama, Bandar Utama, 47800, Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Contact: 03-77294313

Website: www.yishensu.com

Opening Hours: Mon-Sun 10 am – 10 pm (1-Utama outlet)

Features:

  • Vegan friendly (remember to inform the waiter upon ordering)
  • Malaysian cuisine
  • Catering services
  • Walk in/Reservations
  • Small gatherings
  • Smart casual
  • Credit Card accepted

Tags: , , ,

Please support us so that we can continue to bring you more Dharma:

If you are in the United States, please note that your offerings and contributions are tax deductible. ~ the tsemrinpoche.com blog team

Share this article

40 Responses to Yishensu – Restaurant Review

  1. Milly on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:42 am

    The dishes all look so yummy. Have been there once and tried their nasi lemak. Quite nice. Thank you for sharing all these food reviews to encourage vegetarianism.

  2. Sheryl KH (JB) on Jul 26, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Yishensu DEFINITELY is a place that I would love to go and that I will introduce to my friends.

    The restaurant looks cosy. Well, I would have to say that those pictures of foods draw me in very much. THEY LOOK SO APPETISING, SIMPLY CANT RESIST!!!

    I would have to congratulate the owner – The Wong Family – for after 2 ½ decade of trying, they now have branches in four places, definitely not easy.

    I love their business philosophy – to introduce vegetarianism to more people, so that less animals will suffer. I also love their idea of having food factory of their own – so things can be fresher!!!

    May I ask Wong Family if you have any plan to set up businesses in Johor?? J

  3. Julia Tan on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    I ate at Yishensu many times, sometimes alone sometimes with friends. The food was not bad at all, price also reasonable too. What I like about them was they serve food pretty quick. I do not have to wait for long. Their waiters are very good in recommending food to the customers. This is what I like about them. I have stop going there for many months. I now dine in Kechara Oasis http://www.kecharaoasis.com/default.shtml most of the time. I find KO more exclusive where I go with my guests. It’s also a good place for a big function because the hall can cater 500 people.

    • Siong Woan on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:16 am

      Julia, remember Kechara Oasis’ vegetarian tim sum that we had a couple of weeks ago? Should we go back for more ?? :)

  4. choisheem on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Thank you for highlighting this restaurant. Although I have walked pass this area many times, I did not notice this restaurant. I guess it is shrouded by the many other restaurants around it. The dishes that you have featured in this article looks very tempting. I will definitely give this a try the next time I am in 1 Utama.

  5. nicholas on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    I have been to this restaurant a few times. I love their Nasi Lemak and my daughter love their fried rice very much. There are quite a variety of food and really taste good. I love the potato salad with raisin too.

    Worth to try with family.

  6. Paul Yap on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    I went to Yishensu few times, the pricing is very reasonable, food presentation and taste is not bad at all. Try “Ba Kut Teh Soup” next time if you going there ;)

  7. mayy on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    This place Yishensu has become one of my favourite eateries here in One Utama. I love the “Chicken” Claypot rice and “Fish Head” noodle too. Great place to have your friends and family over for lunch or dinner.

  8. Lai Boon Run on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Been few times to this restaurant and find the choice of dishes very good and tasty.Must try the pineapple fried rice….very delicious

  9. patsy on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    I have been to this restaurant many times as the food is tasty and affordable, the service is good and the deco is nice. I like the noodles with braised mushroom and the nasi lemak. For the lunch set, a bowl of complimentary soup is served.

  10. justin cheah on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:00 am

    Been to the main branch in Kampar which is where i am from really. The food is very nice and its vegetarian. Didn’t know they have this branch in 1U! Gotta go and try. Thank you for sharing this Rinpoche!

  11. Cynthia Ng on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:33 am

    Look deliciouns! Yishensu provide home cook food :) The enviroment look comfortable and price is reasonable too. Thank you for sharing!

  12. william on Jul 27, 2012 at 7:23 am

    I like this restaurant as they serve yummy food. Their olive fried rice is also very nice. It is a great place to go with friends and family as their food is tasty and service is also good. Will try the Char Siew Pau the next time I am there!

  13. Uncle Eddie on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:58 am

    As above mentioned, a vegetarian restuarant with a 25 years experiences, located in One-Utama Shopping Complex, has now expanded to a 4 fine dining restuarant chain at Ipoh(Kampar), Klang and Petaling Jaya. As from the ambience in pictures, it looks beautiful, nice and full of style with an Japanese oriental taste. Yishenu, produces their own raw vegetarian food for cooking from their own manufacturing factory; said to give a special and unique taste only to be found at Yishenu. With such a claim, it certainly would be worth a visit to find out. Happy eating!

  14. Wah Ying on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    See, being vegetarian still can have my lovely delicious Char Siew Bao!

    There are more and more vegetarian restaurants opened in Klang Valley and other places. Vegetarian dishes are with more varieties, delicious and most importantly healthy.

    (If you happen to know any of the vegetarian restaurant around Kuala Lumpur or Malaysia perhaps, please share with us).

  15. Han on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Yishensu is one of my choice of Vegetarian Restaurant, I been there for few times with friends, and we all ordered different dishes, I like the nasi lemak and Milky Fragrant Oat Pumpkin, the Bak Kut Teh also quite nice. Worth go again and again!

  16. Helena Chin on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:38 am

    I went few times and ts really good and reasonable. I love the place and the deco is very nice too. They are currently having a promo on Groupon, check it out guys :)
    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing.

  17. Lim (KH JB) on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:45 am

    Thanks Rinpoche for the sharing. The owner already serve the vegetarian food for 25 years how wonderful. The food look so delicious and feel to have a bite on it.

  18. June (KH-JB) on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:14 am

    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing this article,i will give it a try when i am at KL.From the pictures I can feel the cosy place with good food served at reasonable price.hmm…i want to try the vege
    “belacan” and handmade char siew pau ^_^ Be vegetarian is not only save a lot of animals,also the way to have good health !!sooo,,,
    start be a vegetarian by now!!

  19. Siong Woan on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:13 am

    This is one of my favourite vegetarian restaurant!

    One more dish to recommend – the vegetarian Bak Kut Teh – YUM !!

  20. verontung on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Thanks for sharing this lovely restaurant. I used to work at office right besides One Utama, so i spent quite a lot of time eating at this one and only vegetarian restaurants for my lunch. We always like to ordered their lunch set as it is very affordable and tasty! I especially likes their curry mutton rice (but i don’t think they still have that in their lunch set now :P ). It always makes my tastebud “alive” whenever i get no appetite!

  21. Leann Lim on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Yishensu Restaurant always is our 1st choice when we visit to one utama. From delicious food, cosy environment till the reasonable prices, we always have good times there. And is very good to promote vegetarianism by bringing Veg Restaurant to shopping mall, and is acceptable by people non-vegetarian. That i have intro to some friends, they like it too…hehe

  22. David Lai on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    I have been to Yishenzu several times and I really like a lot of the food there but I guess my favourite would be the ‘Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce’, Bak Kut Teh and few more that I can’t recall at this time. It is really neat that we do have a number of vegetarian options here in Malaysia although not all of them are health-inclined.

  23. Wendy Loh on Jul 31, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation. Will surely visit the restaurant. Yum! _/\_

  24. MayOng on Jul 31, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    This is another vegetarian restaurant that has good reviews by people who frequent the place. Will need to drop by in 1Utama soon and give my verdict.

  25. pat on Aug 1, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Visited Yishensu few times, the food and the service is good.I’ve tried the Nasi Lemak and Bak kut teh but not the Char Siew Pau yet, will do so next round when at One Utama…..most important is the price is reasonable

  26. Wan Wai Meng on Aug 2, 2012 at 2:39 am

    I have eaten here many times and the food has never failed to disappoint me.

  27. Mei Fong on Aug 2, 2012 at 10:53 am

    Wow…what a great restaurant which is just a stone throw away from Gompa…cant wait to visit and try it out one day.

  28. Carmen on Aug 2, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    Their Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce is really really good!! This place is a nice, leisure and simple place to go to for casual dining. Affordable, nice environment, pleasant and delicious food. What more can one ask for! Try it, you won’t regret it!

  29. JP on Aug 3, 2012 at 4:57 am

    I’ve eaten at this restaurant many times when I go to One Utama. The ratings given are what I would give as well. In general, the food is good. I don’t think they put any MSG in the food because I don’t get thirsty after eating there.

    I’ve brought my non vegetarian friends to eat there and they enjoy the food there as well. I guess when it’s cooked well, you tend to forget that you must have meat. So eating meat is just a habit that we can kick if we want to.

  30. lucy yap on Aug 4, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Being vegetarian have never been easier with so many vegetarian restaurants.Vegetarian dishes are very tastefully served and the menus are aplenty!This is another restaurant that serves delicious and nutritious meals at a reasonable prize.
    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing info on this restaurant,will definitely try it out when I’m in 1 Utama shopping complex.

  31. EricLee KHJB on Aug 4, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    谁说吃素的人选择很少,菜色不吸引人,环境差。 现在的素食餐厅,不仅是提供食物而已,而是让人有一种享受的感觉。所以说,现在的我们除了借助吃素来培养我们的慈悲心,而且还可以在如此享受的地方用餐,聪明的朋友们我们又何乐而不为呢? 让我们一起享受素所带来的好处吧。。。。

  32. Lim Han Nee on Aug 5, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    I have been to Yishensu many times. I love its great variety of delicious food, and its ‘artistic’ presentation of the dishes. I usually am by myself and I love the sense of privacy and comfort that Yishensu offers to solitary diners.

  33. bengkooi on Aug 6, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    I used to be a frequent visitor of Yishensu, and I really enjoy their nasi lemak (with veggie ikan bilis!) and their mutton rendang. I only wished they opened till much later, so that I can also have supper there!

  34. June Kang on Aug 8, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    It is nice that shopping center has vegetarian restaurant. It is convenient for people who want to try vegetarian. Kechara Oasis is one of the them open vegetarian restaurant at Viva Mall shopping complex to make the vegetarian life easier.We should support them so that less animal being killed.

  35. Sharon Saw on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:43 am

    I’ve been to Yishensu a few times and it’s pretty good. I liked the western selection they had too.. What i like about vegetarian restaurants is that i can order anything on the menu!

    Thanks for these food reviews. It certainly lets everyone know that there is a lot of variety and availability out there for vegetarians!

  36. tenzin llhamo on Aug 13, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    When I was on my shifts in 1U, I’d have their fried rice for lunch. Its not easy to find yummy vegan in 1U plus I am not a fan of mock meat. I prefer simple ways of cooking and their service is fast. I didnt have to wait too long for it. Must go there again and try something else on the menu.

  37. Girlie Ooi on Nov 20, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    I have been to this place quite a number of times. I enjoyed the food and the ambience. I, too, love the nasi lemak.

  38. Albert Ratchaga on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:17 am

    I used to go Yishensu to eat frequently, because the food is tasty, reasonable pricing and nice environment to dine in. they have wide range of food, from traditional chinese food ‘man tao’ to western food spaghetti.

    Beside the food in there, the staff are polite, friendly too, you will feel comfortable while eating there. A must try place and you’ll never regret.

  39. Sean Wang on Jan 19, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    The first time I went to Yishenshu was Wednesday when Rinpoche brought some Kecharians (including me) to have a shopping spree and dinner. The food here is really one of the very best. Their starter course really reminds me of Kechara Oasis’ starter course lol. I guess great restaurants think alike.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

 

BLOG CHAT

Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you.

Tsem Rinpoche


 

Scheduled Chat Sessions

Every Wednesday: 10-11pm (GMT+8) | Wednesday, 6am (PST)
Every Saturday: 11am-12pm (GMT+8) | Friday, 7pm (PST)

Upcoming Discussion Topics

Please come and join in the chat for a fun time and support. See you all there.

 


Blog Chat Etiquette

These are some simple guidelines to make the blog chat room a positive, enjoyable and enlightening experience for everyone. Please note that as this is a chat room, we chat! Do not flood the chat room, or post without interacting with others.

Be friendly

Remember that these are real people you are chatting with. They may have different opinions to you and come from different cultures. Treat them as you would face to face, and respect their opinions, and they will treat you the same.

Be Patient

Give the room a chance to answer you. Patience is a virtue. And if after awhile, people don't respond, perhaps they don't know the answer or they did not see your question. Do ask again or address someone directly. Do not be offended if people do not or are unable to respond to you.

Be Relevant

This is the blog of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche. Please respect this space. We request that all participants here are respectful of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche and his organisation, Kechara.

Be polite

Avoid the use of language or attitudes which may be offensive to others. If someone is disrespectful to you, ignore them instead of arguing with them.

Please be advised that anyone who contravenes these guidelines may be banned from the chatroom. Banning is at the complete discretion of the administrator of this blog. Should anyone wish to make an appeal or complaint about the behaviour of someone in the chatroom, please copy paste the relevant chat in an email to us at care@kechara.com and state the date and time of the respective conversation.

Please let this be a conducive space for discussions, both light and profound.


NEW! TsemRinpoche.com Navigation Video!

Find out how to navigate through Rinpoche's blog for a better browsing experience.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mh_PbIYDHSg

KECHARA FOREST RETREAT PROGRESS UPDATES

Here is the latest news and pictorial updates, as it happens, of our upcoming forest retreat project.

The Kechara Forest Retreat is a unique holistic retreat centre focused on the total wellness of body, mind and spirit. This is a place where families and individuals will find peace, nourishment and inspiration in a natural forest environment. At Kechara Forest Retreat, we are committed to give back to society through instilling the next generation with universal positive values such as kindness and compassion.

For more information, please read here (english), here (chinese), or the official site: retreat.kechara.com.



Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you

Name:
Email:
For:  
Mail will not be published
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Jan 30. 2015 02:19 PM)
    Join us this week for the discussion on “Amongst White Clouds” here http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/inspiration-worthy-words/amongst-white-clouds-amazing.html.

    Date and time:
    USA Friday 30th Jan @7pmPST
    Malaysia Saturday 31st Jan @11amGMT+8
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Jan 30. 2015 02:17 PM)
    Trakzey is a special practice to help us bless our environment, for protection for our family, dispel negative energy and negative entities. We’ve just published and it’s live for the first time!!! See: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57357. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Jan 30. 2015 12:30 AM)
    Ms. Sarah Yap, Pastor David and Pastor JJ are working with me to come out with a powerful practice of Trakze. We should be finishing soon and will post on the blog. It is the first of it’s kind and I wish that it will bring benefits to many beings. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Jan 30. 2015 12:17 AM)
    Every single day now I look forward very much to the day coming soon where the disappointing ban against the World Peace Buddha Protector Dorje Shugden will be over. It will be soon. Everything the Tibetan leadership has said against the Dorje Shugden practice has not made any sense. At first it sounded good, but as time goes on, educated people are examining their claims and coming to the conclusion it does not make sense. More are speaking out. Any government or leader should never criticize or ‘advise’ against any religious faith, path or practice. It is politically wrong not to mention it infringes on our religious freedom. If you don’t like a certain religious path, you keep it to yourself and not announce it publicly disappointing many.Un-democratic. What is important is look at the person not their skin color, race, religion or economic background. Religious apartheid must be removed even in the ‘advices’ we give others. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Jan 30. 2015 12:15 AM)
    In Malaysia we are blessed with a government that allows us religious freedom and for that I am thankful. So the Dorje Shugden issue should not be brought to Malaysia and Malaysian Buddhists have the right to explore the practice of Dorje Shugden without interference from any outside governments or outside religious authorities.

    http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/dorje-shugden/dalai-lama-china-shugden.html
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Jan 30. 2015 12:13 AM)
    In the Gelug Monasteries debate is an integral part of learning, retaining and understanding the Buddha’s teachings. So I laid out three possible debate scenarios for you. Therefore whatever is in the questions and in the answers is not definite but it is just thoughts I had. I would like all of you to read through it carefully and not be offended by what I say because no matter what I say, I still have the deepest respect for the Dalai Lama and my faith is unwavering in him, my teachers, my practice and my protector.

    http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/dorje-shugden/can-tibetan-lamas-make-mistakes.html
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Jan 30. 2015 12:12 AM)
    你不享受宗教自由吗?你喜欢因为你的信仰被另一些人标签为恶劣的而被禁止上学、被迫与你的朋友和亲人隔开、不被允许经商吗?我们可以争吵至湿婆、梵天和毗湿奴毁坏、重建再保留宇宙几百次,即使是这样,我们也不会争出个胜负、对错来。事实是:我们每一个人都有权接受平等的对待,没有人应该面对基于自己的宗教信仰而被某些条例和规则所束缚的不公。无论我们的信仰是否被接受,或是否被视为正统的,说到底我们还是凡人一个。我们都需要食物、关爱、慈悲的对待,更值得拥有不可剥夺、与生俱来的权利,好比说选择的自由。不管是世俗或是宗教的领袖都不应从我们身上剥夺此权利。

    http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/inspiration-worthy-words/%E6%88%91%E5%BF%A0%E4%BA%8E%E6%88%91%E7%9A%84%E4%BF%AE%E6%8C%81.html
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Jan 30. 2015 12:09 AM)
    当雄登修持者靠近佛陀、莲花生大士或宗喀巴大师的时候,这些证悟者会将他们赶走,并说他们破坏了三昧耶,所以是不合格,也不纯净的人吗?

    http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/%E9%9B%84%E7%99%BB%E4%BA%BA.html
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Friday, Jan 30. 2015 12:08 AM)
    “纯净的传承十分重要。它不仅必须拥有纯正的来源,还要能够说明出处。根据宗喀巴大师传承,即格鲁派,当上师授予教诲的时候,他们必须说明来源、出处,以及他们在何时接受这项教诲。上师不能随意告诉你“我从文殊菩萨那儿接受这项修持……”

    http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/great-lamas-masters/a-gift-from-geshe-kelsang-gyatso.html
  • tsemtulku
    (Thursday, Jan 29. 2015 01:38 PM)
    Every single day now I look forward very much to the day coming soon where the disappointing ban against the World Peace Buddha Protector Dorje Shugden will be over. It will be soon. Everything the Tibetan leadership has said against the Dorje Shugden practice has not made any sense. At first it sounded good, but as time goes on, educated people are examining their claims and coming to the conclusion it does not make sense. More are speaking out. Any government or leader should never criticize or ‘advise’ against any religious faith, path or practice. It is politically wrong not to mention it infringes on our religious freedom. If you don’t like a certain religious path, you keep it to yourself and not announce it publicly disappointing many.Un-democratic. What is important is look at the person not their skin color, race, religion or economic background. Religious apartheid must be removed even in the ‘advices’ we give others. Tsem Rinpoche
  • tsemtulku
    (Wednesday, Jan 28. 2015 03:05 PM)
    Dorje Shugden followers in the millions will not abandon their practice. So it would be good leaders of the Dorje Shugden practicing community met with the Tibetan leadership to work out something that will be a win-win situation for both sides. His Holiness Dalai Lama wants to meet the Chinese current leaders to resolve the Tibet issue. Why not meet the Shugden followers to resolve this issue too? Why forgive one ‘enemy’ and ignore another?~Tsem Rinpoche (Please read more here: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57431)
  • tsemtulku
    (Wednesday, Jan 28. 2015 04:59 AM)
    Bradley Kassian: Might interest a few people here. It’s amazing what can pop up on youtube these days. This initiation of Dorje Shugden was conferred in Los Angeles in the 1980s onto Geshe Tsultim Gyeltsen’s own students in Thubten Dhargye Ling. Prior to Kyabje Zong Rinpoche giving the advice, Geshe-la formally requested Kyabje Zong Rinpoche to give an initiation of Dorje Shugden. Geshe Tsultim Gyeltsen was a very strong and devoted practitioner of Dorje Shugden and you can hear Geshe Tsultim Gyeltsen’s voice at the beginning of the video. After the formal request was made, Kyabje Zong Rinpoche himself, who is the overlord of all tantric mandalas, gave the profound initiation of Dorje Shugden to Geshe-la and all his disciples. And thereafter, Geshe-la and all his students practiced Dorje Shugden very strongly and very devotedly until the ban. : http://youtu.be/f6KuCPKDuCI
  • abby foo
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 08:01 PM)
    Now I understand, spirituality is NEVER about how great my practice, my Guru, my lineage are. Spirituality is NOT a competition of I am better than you or I am the best, spirituality is NEVER about right or wrong, higher or lower, bad or good. All these are what make us bitter and unhappy, and are the reasons why we came to seek spirituality because we know deep down inside we should be someone with a more opened heart that accepts and tolerates. Why putting ourselves back to the bitter situation again when we are in spiritual?

    Then what is spirituality? From Tsem Rinpoche’s actions and teachings, I know loyalty IS spirituality. Humble, tolerance, respect, understanding, keeping promises and being kind are spirituality no matter what you practice, no matter what is your religion/belief. All the qualities above have nothing to do with what your religion/belief are, but how you act, speak and think determine if you are a spiritual person.

    Those who don’t like Dorje Shugden, why keep condemning people over and over? Why speaks against it over and over? If you think you going to stop people from getting ‘harm’ because Dorje Shugden is bad, your intention is to stop harm, but why end up you actually CREATING HARM everytime you speak against Dorje Shugden and put those who practice it down??? If your intention is pure and kind, then the results should be pure and kind too, but obviously you are hurting people’s belief and emotions, and you show no respect to people.
  • Ashlee
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 05:33 PM)
    Buddhism is about following the true lineage passed down from Buddha Shakyamuni to his disciples and i personally find that Buddhist teachings are very logical hence i continue to learn and practice it by following my Guru, Tsem Tulku Rinpoche. If Dorje Shugden is an enlightened protector practices by high lamas such as Trijang Rinpoche, Zong Rinpoche and passed down to Tsem Rinpoche, how can they be doing the wrong practice? After all, Dorje Shugden is an “Enlightened Protector” and not just any normal worldly protector. Enlightened protector are suppose to help excel our Dharma practice and help us clear away our Dharma obstacles in this degenerate age. Logically speaking, then how can an enlightened protector bring harm to us or even help us to harm others? Also how can an enlightened being harm another enlightened being? That is illogical.Each of us bring with us imprints from previous lives and for some of us, we do have strong affinity with Dorje Shugden due to our practices from previous lives. I personally feel that i have a very strong affinity with Dorje Shugden protector and if it’s good enough for my Lama and his root Gurus and other high lamas to practice it, i think i can safely practice it without any doubt and at the same time still respect H.H. Dalai Lama. Thank you Rinpoche for speaking up.
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 05:25 PM)
    Tsem Rinpoche: I hadn’t spoken up about the Dorje Shugden ‘conflict’ for 15 years. Let me explain why: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57431.

1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · »

Archives

CREDITS

Concept: Tsem Rinpoche
Technical: Lew Kwan Leng, Justin Ripley, Yong Swee Keong
Design: Justin Ripley, Cynthia Lee
Content: Tsem Rinpoche, Khong Jean Mei, Justin Ripley, Shin Tan, Sarah Yap
Writer: Pastor Loh Seng Piow
Admin: Pastor Loh Seng Piow, Beng Kooi

I must thank my dharma blog team who are great assets to me, Kechara and growth of dharma in this wonderful region. I am honoured and thrilled to work with them. I really am. Maybe I don't say it enough to them, but I am saying it now. I APPRECIATE THESE GUYS VERY MUCH!

Tsem Rinpoche

What I am writing now

Scroll down and click on "older messages" to view archived chit messages. Use 'prev' and 'next' links to navigate between pages

The Unknown

The Known and unknown are both feared,
Known is being comfortable and stagnant,
The unknown may be growth and opportunities,
One shall never know if one fears the unknown more than the known.
Who says the unknown would be worse than the known?
But then again, the unknown is sometimes worse than the known. In the end nothing is known unless we endeavour,
So go pursue all the way with the unknown,
because all unknown with familiarity becomes the known.
~Tsem Rinpoche

Photos On The Go

Click on the images to view the bigger version. And scroll down and click on "View All Photos" to view more images.
This is my special thangka I had commissioned. It is my guru H.H. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche with Vajra Yogini and Dorje Shugden emanating  from His heart. He is the master of all mandalas and emanations. I will reproduce this thangka for the world to invite home. Tsem Rinpoche 
2 hours ago
This is an interesting picture. Please guess who this is. Is it Edward Ooi or a chicken?  LOL
2 hours ago
Trakzey is a special practice to help us bless our environment, for protection for our family, dispel negative energy and negative entities. We've just published and it's live for the first time!!! See: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57357
14 hours ago
This description sounds like me perfectly. Tsem Rinpoche
16 hours ago
This is super good news. Let's hope this trend continues to grow massive until everything is vegan. Tsem Rinpoche 
yesterday
In the monasteries we debate out issues for a logical conclusion. I have laid out three possible scenarios regarding: CAN TIBETAN LAMAS MAKE MISTAKES? Please take a look and let me know what you think: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57528
2 days ago
Dorje Shugden followers in the millions will not abandon their practice. So it would be good if leaders of the Dorje Shugden practicing community met with the Tibetan leadership to work out something that will be a win-win situation for both sides. His Holiness Dalai Lama wants to meet the Chinese current leaders to resolve the Tibet issue. Why not meet the Shugden followers to resolve this issue too? Why forgive one 'enemy' and ignore another?~Tsem Rinpoche (Please read more here: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57431)
2 days ago
Adorable little boy paying respects to Lord Shugden. 
2 days ago
I hadn't spoken up about the Dorje Shugden 'conflict' for 15 years. Let me explain why: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57431
3 days ago
Scotch and Mykol who are Valentina's wonderful good friends came to our LA Tsem Ladrang to have dinner. I am so glad they can come as they are nice friends. Tsem Rinpoche 
2 weeks ago
January 15, 2015. On today's Vajra Yogini day, the ladrang arranged a Vajra Yogini mandala made of flowers as an offering. Beautiful. Tsem Rinpoche 
2 weeks ago
January 15, 2015. Today is Vajra Yogini day. So Pastor Jj and our wonderful team has arranged these beautiful offerings on my shrine. Nice.  Tsem Rinpoche 
2 weeks ago
Uncle Lai for years now without a miss comes in once a week to clean the altar of the ladrang. To clean the sacred spots where holy images reside is considered good purification of karmas. He never misses this and then upon completion he makes nice fresh offerings. Uncle Lai is generally a very kind and reliable person. We all love him. Tsem Rinpoche 
2 weeks ago
Kyabje Dagom Rinpoche said to me a few years back that in order to practice or teach dharma these days, it's like being a white crow among the black. That means we will stand out and look unusual. But no matter what we must persevere. I miss this great teacher so much since his passing. He was gentle, scholarly, erudite, accomplished in sutra and tantra and had a very loving demeanor. He treated everyone equally and his vows of a monk were spotless. He was like a bright sun in the night sky. Even the first time I met him, he impacted me very strongly. I have received many teachings from him. He was a student of H.H. Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche and H. H. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche. I brought 60 students with me from various countries to have audience with Kyabje Dagom Rinpoche the last time I had a chance to gaze upon his golden face. His perfect incarnation has returned. May he manifest in this incarnation as the previous. Tsem Rinpoche
2 weeks ago
His Holiness Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche with his close disciple Kyabje Gangchen Rinpoche. Very beautiful and old vintage picture. TR
2 weeks ago
This was the first woman to request Buddha to become a nun. Because of her, the nun's tradition began. She is a Arhat in the Chinese Mahayana Buddhist Tradition. Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
January 10, 2015. Nice to see Kecharians studying the dharma together today. I really enjoy seeing this and Pastor Shin was leading the class. Thank you.
3 weeks ago
How lucky I would be to live here...TR
3 weeks ago
Must share this wisdom always. Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
This is wonderful to remember. Tsem Rinpoche 
3 weeks ago
Pastor Niral giving a talk in Kechara. Wonderful.
3 weeks ago
January 9, 2015. Pastor Seng Piow takes his little nephew out for some toy shopping. The little guy was waiting anxiously to go out. 
3 weeks ago
His Holiness 9th Panchen Lama in Calcutta in 1905.
3 weeks ago
How nice. What a great gift from Mavis Yeh.  Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
I was so lucky to get teachings by His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche today on the SIX YOGAS OF NAROPA translated by Kyabje Zasep Rinpoche. And also Kyabje Zasep Rinpoche was the one who sent me these videos. How fortunate for me to get this. Tsem Rinpoche 
3 weeks ago
We have wonderful Kechara dharma seniors who are good and caring guides for our precious youths. I am happy to see this. Youths are so important. We must love them, respect them and share dharma with them to they mature into good people. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
Click on this photo and enlarge then read the caption.
4 weeks ago
Beautiful Lady Buddha, not everyone has realized you are the alpha and omega of our inner liberation. Our mind constantly wanders in karmic creations weary yet still travelling of no choice. I seek the solace of your embrace to experience great bliss and home. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
Does this picture remind you where all of our lives are eventually heading to? It's just where in line are you right now? But you still are in line.  Tsem Rinpoche
4 weeks ago
We have to save this one and reflect upon it. TR
4 weeks ago
Very powerful. Never be stuck in our comfort zones. Think out of the box and do more to accomplish our goals. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
I love this type of environment so much. TR
1 month ago
Special gifts of toys and snacks for some special doggies...
1 month ago
This is very helpful. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
We have to be ready to change when we seek a teacher otherwise stay hidden.~Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
15 minutes to watch this will blow your mind: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=55883
1 month ago
H.H. the current Kyabje Pabongka Rinpoche -December 2014
1 month ago
December 2014-His Holiness Kyabje Pabongka Rinpoche in front of the largest Tsongkapa statue in the world. This Tsongkapa is in Champa Ling Monastery, Chamdo, Tibet. 
1 month ago
This is the perfect setting of the environment of where I like to live. With trees, blue waters, mountains, green, speckled with flowers. TR
1 month ago
Nothing can be found without searching for it. Just because others say you can't do it or don't believe in you or you can't see it, doesn't mean it cannot exist. Never give up!~Tsem Rinpoche 
2 months ago
This Manjushri is in Kechara's publishing wing. Stunning. TR
2 months ago
This Tara is beautiful. Save the pictures. TR
2 months ago
Having dinner with special friends from around the world. We are honored to be with Geshe Konchok Gyeltsen lak. 
2 months ago
This is very powerful. Share it. TR
2 months ago
Decemeber 2014-They just finished their Tsongkapa retreat and I am so glad for them. TR
2 months ago
We have so many mysteries and some can be proven while others not. TR
2 months ago
Amazing and so appropriate for some. 
2 months ago
This is so true and we have to think about it carefully. 
2 months ago
Click on "View All Photos" above to view more images

Videos On The Go

Please click on the images to watch video
  • Socialite becomes a volunteer in Malaysian soup kitchen
    Socialite becomes a volunteer in Malaysian soup kitchen
    In the Malaysian capital, Ruby Khong devotes her lunch hours delivering food to the needy, even when the tropical heat and humidity make it hard to breathe. "It was always about myself, what I wanted and that continued on for a while until 1994," she says. That year, she was on a quest for spiritual guidance in India and met a Buddhist monk named Tsem Rinpoche. Read more here: http://www.bbc.com/news/business-29986205
    3 months ago
  • -
    -
    Mumu always prepares his bed this way before sleeping. Cute.
    3 months ago
  • Watch what Jason Clare said in parliament
    Watch what Jason Clare said in parliament
    Description
    3 months ago
  • Super cute attack. Have to watch!!
    Super cute attack. Have to watch!!
    4 months ago
  • -
    -
    They pump 'things' into poultry to make it look plump and bigger to attract you to buy. Then you eat whatever they've pumped and think how it builds up in your body? Is your taste buds worth it to risk your health? Tsem Rinpoche
    4 months ago
  • -
    -
    Look at this 2 minute video, while Hong Kong is having massive protests,right over the skyline of a city a UFO is spotted observing.. Incredible footage. UFO's are historically said to always gather where there is massive conflicts or congregations of people for hundreds of years.
    4 months ago
  • -
    -
    See this video and do share with friends. See what happens at 1:10........Om Mani Peme Hung Watch it for the sake of the beings within in enduring what they have to endure. Don't think about how you feel because you are not there, but how they feel. Tsem Rinpoche
    4 months ago
  • -
    -
    I just purchased an empty locket from an art store for around $10 and had a nice picture of His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche inserted in the front and His Holiness Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche inserted on the others side at home. Attached a str...ing and it's good to wear for blessings. Look how beautiful. I am the type, I devote myself to my practice but I remember it is the sole kindness of the guru's teachings. Without the guru there is no dharma at all as I cannot speak to Buddha directly. Tsem Rinpoche
    4 months ago
  • -
    -
    I was gifted this wonderful blingy shiny new pen by a spiritual friend. I didn't know Swarovski pens write so smoothly. I am going to enjoy writing with this. Thank you Jessica Pimentel. Tsem Rinpoche
    4 months ago
  • Is this the Loch Ness monster?
    Is this the Loch Ness monster?
    Description
    5 months ago
  • -
    -
    In Kechara Forest Retreat we have a large aviary with many rescued birds and tortoises. We just built a nice pool for them to cool down in. Tsem Rinpoche
    5 months ago
  • Rescuing dog in LA river
    Rescuing dog in LA river
    5 months ago
  • This is a very inspiring video by Jim Carrey you must see
    This is a very inspiring video by Jim Carrey you must see
    5 months ago
  • Dalai Lama watching TV
    Dalai Lama watching TV
    5 months ago
  • Dog with a heart of Gold
    Dog with a heart of Gold
    Description
    6 months ago
  • 14th Dalai Lama with Mrs.Indira Gandhi , Delhi INDIA 1966
    14th Dalai Lama with Mrs.Indira Gandhi , Delhi INDIA 1966
    8 months ago
  • The Girl Who Couldn't Cry - Water is Life
    The Girl Who Couldn't Cry - Water is Life
    It's really hard to educate a generation of people born in conditions where they take things for granted. A simple slogan campaign that says, "Save water, It's precious" isn't sticky enough to make inroads. That's exactly where this video steps in: to make people realize how precious water actually is. A brilliant video that follows the heartbreaking story of a young girl that cannot cry. Sounds like fiction? Sadly, it is not.
    9 months ago
  • -
    -
    Dear everyone, All sentient beings deserve to live, be happy and not hurt, including animals. We should never hurt them or eat them. Look how much this chicken welcomes a hug and love. Observe carefully. Don't eat beings who can feel pain because the karma comes back. Tsem Rinpoche
    9 months ago
  • The appreciation shown here is so deep and touching.
    The appreciation shown here is so deep and touching.
    Dear friends, See this incredible video. This chimp was found in captivity for many years. Dr Jane Goodall released him into the wild. Look how he comes back to thank her with deep apprecition. It's amazing. Animals have such strong feelings of pain and happiness just like us. We should never hurt them and share with others to not hurt them. Tsem Rinpoche http://www.tsemrinpoche.com
    9 months ago
  • Aki drinking some water in the aviary
    Aki drinking some water in the aviary
    Aki is a rescued bird, he now lives in Kechara Forest Retreat Aviary
    11 months ago
  • Jamyang enjoying some fresh corn
    Jamyang enjoying some fresh corn
    Jamyang is one of our rescue birds that live in Kechara Forest Retreat Aviary
    11 months ago
  • The Cute Mumus Practising Dog Orchestra at Kechara Forest Retreat
    The Cute Mumus Practising Dog Orchestra at Kechara Forest Retreat
    Today the Mumus (dogs) decided to do a dog orchestra rehearsal together with the Kechara Forest Retreat (KFR) dogs.
    11 months ago
  • -
    -
    Gongkar is our new bird for Kechara Forest Retreat's aviary. Gongkar never had friends and the original owner could not bring him to his destination. Now he is with us and assimilating in his cage within the aviary for a few weeks then released into aviary. Look at how much he wants attention from the other birds. Cute. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 years ago
  • Mumu, Oser and Dharma running and having a good time. I love seeing them playing. Tsem Rinpoche
    Mumu, Oser and Dharma running and having a good time. I love seeing them playing. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 years ago
  • Mumus running at Kechara Forest Retreat
    Mumus running at Kechara Forest Retreat
    1 years ago
  • Kechara Forest Retreat panorama, September 2013
    Kechara Forest Retreat panorama, September 2013
    1 years ago
  • -
    -
    Dechog our cockatoo at Kechara Forest Retreat grabbing long beans which he loves. Nice bird. We love him. Tsem Rinpoche
    2 yearss ago
  • The mumus having outdoor evening stroll!!!
    The mumus having outdoor evening stroll!!!
    2 yearss ago
  • -
    -
    17 May 2013, heavy rain at Kechara Forest Retreat from 7am-8am (1 hour). Water overflowed the existing drain and also opened up a much wider new "route" for itself.
    2 yearss ago
  • Must see video from Rajendra on our disciplined dogs
    Must see video from Rajendra on our disciplined dogs
    2 yearss ago

ASK A PASTOR


A section for you to clarify your Dharma questions with Kechara’s esteemed pastors.

Just post your name and your question below and one of our pastors will provide you with an answer.

Scroll down and click on "View All Questions" to view archived questions.

View All Questions

SUPPORT THIS BLOG


Featured Books


Related Links To Myself

My Blog in Chinese:
zhandugu.blog.163.com
My website:
www.tsemtulku.com
My organisation's website:
www.kechara.com





CHAT PICTURES

Reading and hold discussions on Tsem Rinpoche's blog chat weekly promotes healthy learning together @ Kechara Puja House team. 29Jan15 may ong
20 hours ago
House blessing in a new house today lead by Pastor Yek Yee and puja team. 29Jan15 may ong
20 hours ago
Alter setup of Dorje Shugden for a sponsor today in Kechara Puja House. 29Jan15 may ong
20 hours ago
Homeless no more! Uncle Tai (who was beaten and robbed the other night) is now living life #offthestreet. We also gave him new set of clothes and shower before referring him to Pusat Kebajikan Global for permanent stay. It took us quite a few days prior to this to build the trust that we can actually help him. Happy that this 72 year old uncle is now able to sleep on a comfortable bed with people taking care of him. Justin@KSK
21 hours ago
Students from INTI International University & Colleges who helped in the kitchen today! Justin@KSK
22 hours ago
Bless your home with beautiful Dorje Shugden canvas thangka available now at Kechara House gompa souvenir shop. Lucy Yap
yesterday
Karma is not fixed, take hope in that.~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
yesterday
No matter how big the opposition is, keep trying.~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
yesterday
Bless your home with this beautiful Dorje Shugden canvas thangka now available for invite at Kechara House gompa souvenir shop. Lucy Yap
yesterday
yesterday
Sometimes we have to realize nothing is fixed~~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
yesterday
Our life is filled with endless mysteries, embrace them and don't be attached~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
yesterday
Love is easy if we surrender our anger~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
yesterday
We could never harm another, but that doesn't mean we sit by and be harmed. ~ Tsem Rinpoche_Share by Frederick Law
2 days ago
I am not always available to meet, but my teachings are online always.~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
2 days ago
I am not always available to meet, but my teachings are online always.~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
2 days ago
Being kind to animals should be effortless.~Tsem Rinpoche_Share by Frederick Law
2 days ago
Weekly Dzambala puja (E) at Kechara House gompa was led by Tat Ming and assisted Choo Weng Loong. Time: 8pm to 9.30pm. Lucy Yap
2 days ago
Tonight's puja attendance in Kechara gompa for Lord Setrap and Dorje Shugden in chinese lead by Pastors. 28Jan15 may ong
2 days ago
At Puja House other than doing Torma, pujas, volunteers and staffs gathered to learn and discuss Dharma together from H.E Tsem Tulku Rinpoche Blog. http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/
2 days ago
Weekly Dzambala puja (E) at Kechara House was led by Tat Ming and assisted by Choo Weng Loong. Time: 8pm to 9.30 pm. Lucy Yap
2 days ago
Our Wednesday "A" team (from left) Ashley, Annabelle, Angeline and Agnieszka. Justin@KSK
2 days ago
Kechara House gompa is beautifully set up for tonight's auspicious double Protector Dorje Shugden and Setrap puja. Puja starts at 8pm to 9.30pm. Lucy Yap
2 days ago
New volunteers, Shuni and Hecelus Tan prepared cleaned fruits for the 1st double protector puja in chinese tonight. 28Jan15 may ong
2 days ago
#Gyabshi puja for a sponsor to remove dangerous negative energy and obstacles of health, financial or supernatural causes. 28Jan15 may ong
2 days ago

YOUR FEEDBACK

We are continously improving this blog, and a major upgrade will be coming in the near future. We invite all users to share your feedback with us, so that the next version of the blog will be even better. Just enter your comments in the space below.

Page Views By Country
Malaysia 1,925,167
United States 1,050,232
Singapore 352,623
United Kingdom 219,386
Canada 198,728
Australia 180,434
India 140,738
Philippines 92,900
Thailand 62,397
Indonesia 71,902
Germany 62,287
France 38,029
Netherlands 36,200
Bhutan 37,007
Italy 30,375
Hong Kong 29,080
Romania 27,625
Spain 27,645
New Zealand 27,326
Nepal 24,949
Taiwan 29,406
Brazil 26,444
Mexico 20,605
Portugal 20,638
Sweden 21,066
Switzerland 24,761
Japan 17,003
United Arab Emirates 14,609
South Africa 14,361
Greece 14,852
Vietnam 15,357
Hungary 14,717
Sri Lanka 13,310
Ireland 13,918
Bulgaria 12,781
Poland 15,267
Pakistan 10,560
Mongolia 11,866
Russia 12,048
Total Pageviews: 5,234,002

Login