Yishensu – Restaurant Review

Jul 26, 2012 | Views: 2,340
Share this article

[Disclaimer: The following review has been reviewed by the Vegetarian Restaurant Review team)




Located in One Utama Shopping Complex, Yishensu has been providing quality and delicious vegetarian food to Malaysians for the past 25 years. Yishensu started their humble beginnings in a small hawker stall in Kampar by the Wong family. After 25 years of promoting vegetarianism passionately amongst Malaysians, Yishensu has now expanded to 4 fine dining restaurants in Kampar, Ipoh, Klang, and Petaling Jaya. 

The founders of Yishensu strongly believes that with a slight encouragement, anyone would turn vegetarian. Due to this, Yishensu emphasizes strongly on the taste of the food served, as well as their culinary presentation. This brings about a fine and good dining experience. 

Reviewer's Rating

Interior - 4/5

The shop looks very Japanese, but Yishensu is 100% Malaysian - origin, cuisine and owned. The lay out of the restaurant gives their customers a very comfortable dining experience. Whether the customer needs a small private area for entertaining guests or just for casual dining, Yishensu provides a very good environment for either one. There is also a cosy waiting area for their guests in case of a full-house or for take-aways. The lighting of the environment is very cosy, those who like dining under natural light may prefer having their meals at the back of the restaurant. 

Waiting area  Dining tables near the entrance of the restaurant
Tables lined up all the way to the back of the restaurant Small cosy corners for diners to enjoy their meals

Private corners for small gatherings


Food - 4.5/5

Yishensu serves a wide variety of Chinese cuisine, with some choices of a variety of local Malaysian favourites. The presentation of each and every dish is beautifully done. It is neat, reasonably artistic and most importantly looks appetizing! The serving size is also just nice, neither too much nor too little.

The secret to Yishensu's uniqueness is that many of their dishes are either freshly made or obtained from their own vegetarian food manufacturing factory. For example the House Tofu with Luffa; the tofu are freshly made everyday by their chefs which gives it a special and unique taste that can only be found in Yishensu. The handmade char siew pau are manufactured by their factory in Kampar; this delicacy is offered off the menu as they usually have very limited supply, so remember to ask the waitress if they have any the next time you visit! 

 Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce


 Milky Fragrant Oat Pumpkin
 Handmade Char Siew Pau  House Tofu with Luffa

 Heavenly King dish - Vege "Belacan"


Pricing - 4/5

With a price range of RM 3 - RM 20, Yishensu certainly serves one of the best vegetarian food at a very reasonable price. They offer lunch and dinner sets at an affordable price starting from RM 10.80, a great deal for a complete and balance meal. 


Vegetarian Selection - 4/5

Yishensu provides a reasonably wide variety of choices on their menu. Although the source of their product are not organic, the chefs at Yishensu believes in healthy dining and often encourage the use of natural sources in their dishes rather than processed mock meat. They are also one of the few vegetarian restaurants that actively promotes vegetarianism to the public through an ambassador. 


Service - 4/5

The Yishensu staff provides very good service. Their waiters and waitresses are trained to greet the customers appropriately and even trained to know the content of the food served to cater to their vegan customers. The restaurant is also very clean, when the restaurant is less busy such as after lunch hours, the waitresses can be seen cleaning the tables using disinfectants. 

Find your way there!

Yishensu – A Vegetarian Connoisseur

Address: Lot G207, Grd Flr., 1-Utama Shopping Ctr., 1, Lebuh Bandar Utama, Bandar Utama, 47800, Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Contact: 03-77294313

Website: www.yishensu.com

Opening Hours: Mon-Sun 10 am – 10 pm (1-Utama outlet)


  • Vegan friendly (remember to inform the waiter upon ordering)
  • Malaysian cuisine
  • Catering services
  • Walk in/Reservations
  • Small gatherings
  • Smart casual
  • Credit Card accepted

Tags: , , ,

Please support us so that we can continue to bring you more Dharma:

If you are in the United States, please note that your offerings and contributions are tax deductible. ~ the tsemrinpoche.com blog team

Share this article

40 Responses to Yishensu – Restaurant Review


Kindly note that the comments or posts given by third parties in the comment section below do not represent the views of the owner and/or host of this Blog, save for responses specifically given by the owner and/or host. All other comments or posts or any other opinions, discussions or views given below under the comment section do not represent our views and should not be regarded as such. We reserve the right to remove any comments/views which we may find offensive but due to the volume of such comments, the non removal and/or non detection of any such comments/views does not mean that we condone the same.

We do hope that the participants of any comments, posts, opinions, discussions or views below will act responsibly and do not engage nor make any statements which are defamatory in nature or which may incite and contempt or ridicule of any party,individual or their beliefs or to contravene any laws.

  1. Sean Wang on Jan 19, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    The first time I went to Yishenshu was Wednesday when Rinpoche brought some Kecharians (including me) to have a shopping spree and dinner. The food here is really one of the very best. Their starter course really reminds me of Kechara Oasis’ starter course lol. I guess great restaurants think alike.

  2. Albert Ratchaga on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:17 am

    I used to go Yishensu to eat frequently, because the food is tasty, reasonable pricing and nice environment to dine in. they have wide range of food, from traditional chinese food ‘man tao’ to western food spaghetti.

    Beside the food in there, the staff are polite, friendly too, you will feel comfortable while eating there. A must try place and you’ll never regret.

  3. Girlie Ooi on Nov 20, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    I have been to this place quite a number of times. I enjoyed the food and the ambience. I, too, love the nasi lemak.

  4. tenzin llhamo on Aug 13, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    When I was on my shifts in 1U, I’d have their fried rice for lunch. Its not easy to find yummy vegan in 1U plus I am not a fan of mock meat. I prefer simple ways of cooking and their service is fast. I didnt have to wait too long for it. Must go there again and try something else on the menu.

  5. Sharon Saw on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:43 am

    I’ve been to Yishensu a few times and it’s pretty good. I liked the western selection they had too.. What i like about vegetarian restaurants is that i can order anything on the menu!

    Thanks for these food reviews. It certainly lets everyone know that there is a lot of variety and availability out there for vegetarians!

  6. June Kang on Aug 8, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    It is nice that shopping center has vegetarian restaurant. It is convenient for people who want to try vegetarian. Kechara Oasis is one of the them open vegetarian restaurant at Viva Mall shopping complex to make the vegetarian life easier.We should support them so that less animal being killed.

  7. bengkooi on Aug 6, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    I used to be a frequent visitor of Yishensu, and I really enjoy their nasi lemak (with veggie ikan bilis!) and their mutton rendang. I only wished they opened till much later, so that I can also have supper there!

  8. Lim Han Nee on Aug 5, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    I have been to Yishensu many times. I love its great variety of delicious food, and its ‘artistic’ presentation of the dishes. I usually am by myself and I love the sense of privacy and comfort that Yishensu offers to solitary diners.

  9. EricLee KHJB on Aug 4, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    谁说吃素的人选择很少,菜色不吸引人,环境差。 现在的素食餐厅,不仅是提供食物而已,而是让人有一种享受的感觉。所以说,现在的我们除了借助吃素来培养我们的慈悲心,而且还可以在如此享受的地方用餐,聪明的朋友们我们又何乐而不为呢? 让我们一起享受素所带来的好处吧。。。。

  10. lucy yap on Aug 4, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Being vegetarian have never been easier with so many vegetarian restaurants.Vegetarian dishes are very tastefully served and the menus are aplenty!This is another restaurant that serves delicious and nutritious meals at a reasonable prize.
    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing info on this restaurant,will definitely try it out when I’m in 1 Utama shopping complex.

  11. JP on Aug 3, 2012 at 4:57 am

    I’ve eaten at this restaurant many times when I go to One Utama. The ratings given are what I would give as well. In general, the food is good. I don’t think they put any MSG in the food because I don’t get thirsty after eating there.

    I’ve brought my non vegetarian friends to eat there and they enjoy the food there as well. I guess when it’s cooked well, you tend to forget that you must have meat. So eating meat is just a habit that we can kick if we want to.

  12. Carmen on Aug 2, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    Their Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce is really really good!! This place is a nice, leisure and simple place to go to for casual dining. Affordable, nice environment, pleasant and delicious food. What more can one ask for! Try it, you won’t regret it!

  13. Mei Fong on Aug 2, 2012 at 10:53 am

    Wow…what a great restaurant which is just a stone throw away from Gompa…cant wait to visit and try it out one day.

  14. Wan Wai Meng on Aug 2, 2012 at 2:39 am

    I have eaten here many times and the food has never failed to disappoint me.

  15. pat on Aug 1, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Visited Yishensu few times, the food and the service is good.I’ve tried the Nasi Lemak and Bak kut teh but not the Char Siew Pau yet, will do so next round when at One Utama…..most important is the price is reasonable

  16. MayOng on Jul 31, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    This is another vegetarian restaurant that has good reviews by people who frequent the place. Will need to drop by in 1Utama soon and give my verdict.

  17. Wendy Loh on Jul 31, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation. Will surely visit the restaurant. Yum! _/\_

  18. David Lai on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    I have been to Yishenzu several times and I really like a lot of the food there but I guess my favourite would be the ‘Vege Bacon Meat with Mongolian Sauce’, Bak Kut Teh and few more that I can’t recall at this time. It is really neat that we do have a number of vegetarian options here in Malaysia although not all of them are health-inclined.

  19. Leann Lim on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Yishensu Restaurant always is our 1st choice when we visit to one utama. From delicious food, cosy environment till the reasonable prices, we always have good times there. And is very good to promote vegetarianism by bringing Veg Restaurant to shopping mall, and is acceptable by people non-vegetarian. That i have intro to some friends, they like it too…hehe

  20. verontung on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Thanks for sharing this lovely restaurant. I used to work at office right besides One Utama, so i spent quite a lot of time eating at this one and only vegetarian restaurants for my lunch. We always like to ordered their lunch set as it is very affordable and tasty! I especially likes their curry mutton rice (but i don’t think they still have that in their lunch set now :P ). It always makes my tastebud “alive” whenever i get no appetite!

  21. Siong Woan on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:13 am

    This is one of my favourite vegetarian restaurant!

    One more dish to recommend – the vegetarian Bak Kut Teh – YUM !!

  22. June (KH-JB) on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:14 am

    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing this article,i will give it a try when i am at KL.From the pictures I can feel the cosy place with good food served at reasonable price.hmm…i want to try the vege
    “belacan” and handmade char siew pau ^_^ Be vegetarian is not only save a lot of animals,also the way to have good health !!sooo,,,
    start be a vegetarian by now!!

  23. Lim (KH JB) on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:45 am

    Thanks Rinpoche for the sharing. The owner already serve the vegetarian food for 25 years how wonderful. The food look so delicious and feel to have a bite on it.

  24. Helena Chin on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:38 am

    I went few times and ts really good and reasonable. I love the place and the deco is very nice too. They are currently having a promo on Groupon, check it out guys :)
    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing.

  25. Han on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Yishensu is one of my choice of Vegetarian Restaurant, I been there for few times with friends, and we all ordered different dishes, I like the nasi lemak and Milky Fragrant Oat Pumpkin, the Bak Kut Teh also quite nice. Worth go again and again!

  26. Wah Ying on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    See, being vegetarian still can have my lovely delicious Char Siew Bao!

    There are more and more vegetarian restaurants opened in Klang Valley and other places. Vegetarian dishes are with more varieties, delicious and most importantly healthy.

    (If you happen to know any of the vegetarian restaurant around Kuala Lumpur or Malaysia perhaps, please share with us).

  27. Uncle Eddie on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:58 am

    As above mentioned, a vegetarian restuarant with a 25 years experiences, located in One-Utama Shopping Complex, has now expanded to a 4 fine dining restuarant chain at Ipoh(Kampar), Klang and Petaling Jaya. As from the ambience in pictures, it looks beautiful, nice and full of style with an Japanese oriental taste. Yishenu, produces their own raw vegetarian food for cooking from their own manufacturing factory; said to give a special and unique taste only to be found at Yishenu. With such a claim, it certainly would be worth a visit to find out. Happy eating!

  28. william on Jul 27, 2012 at 7:23 am

    I like this restaurant as they serve yummy food. Their olive fried rice is also very nice. It is a great place to go with friends and family as their food is tasty and service is also good. Will try the Char Siew Pau the next time I am there!

  29. Cynthia Ng on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:33 am

    Look deliciouns! Yishensu provide home cook food :) The enviroment look comfortable and price is reasonable too. Thank you for sharing!

  30. justin cheah on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:00 am

    Been to the main branch in Kampar which is where i am from really. The food is very nice and its vegetarian. Didn’t know they have this branch in 1U! Gotta go and try. Thank you for sharing this Rinpoche!

  31. patsy on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    I have been to this restaurant many times as the food is tasty and affordable, the service is good and the deco is nice. I like the noodles with braised mushroom and the nasi lemak. For the lunch set, a bowl of complimentary soup is served.

  32. Lai Boon Run on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Been few times to this restaurant and find the choice of dishes very good and tasty.Must try the pineapple fried rice….very delicious

  33. mayy on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    This place Yishensu has become one of my favourite eateries here in One Utama. I love the “Chicken” Claypot rice and “Fish Head” noodle too. Great place to have your friends and family over for lunch or dinner.

  34. Paul Yap on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    I went to Yishensu few times, the pricing is very reasonable, food presentation and taste is not bad at all. Try “Ba Kut Teh Soup” next time if you going there ;)

  35. nicholas on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    I have been to this restaurant a few times. I love their Nasi Lemak and my daughter love their fried rice very much. There are quite a variety of food and really taste good. I love the potato salad with raisin too.

    Worth to try with family.

  36. choisheem on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Thank you for highlighting this restaurant. Although I have walked pass this area many times, I did not notice this restaurant. I guess it is shrouded by the many other restaurants around it. The dishes that you have featured in this article looks very tempting. I will definitely give this a try the next time I am in 1 Utama.

  37. Julia Tan on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    I ate at Yishensu many times, sometimes alone sometimes with friends. The food was not bad at all, price also reasonable too. What I like about them was they serve food pretty quick. I do not have to wait for long. Their waiters are very good in recommending food to the customers. This is what I like about them. I have stop going there for many months. I now dine in Kechara Oasis http://www.kecharaoasis.com/default.shtml most of the time. I find KO more exclusive where I go with my guests. It’s also a good place for a big function because the hall can cater 500 people.

    • Siong Woan on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:16 am

      Julia, remember Kechara Oasis’ vegetarian tim sum that we had a couple of weeks ago? Should we go back for more ?? :)

  38. Sheryl KH (JB) on Jul 26, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Yishensu DEFINITELY is a place that I would love to go and that I will introduce to my friends.

    The restaurant looks cosy. Well, I would have to say that those pictures of foods draw me in very much. THEY LOOK SO APPETISING, SIMPLY CANT RESIST!!!

    I would have to congratulate the owner – The Wong Family – for after 2 ½ decade of trying, they now have branches in four places, definitely not easy.

    I love their business philosophy – to introduce vegetarianism to more people, so that less animals will suffer. I also love their idea of having food factory of their own – so things can be fresher!!!

    May I ask Wong Family if you have any plan to set up businesses in Johor?? J

  39. Milly on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:42 am

    The dishes all look so yummy. Have been there once and tried their nasi lemak. Quite nice. Thank you for sharing all these food reviews to encourage vegetarianism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you.

Tsem Rinpoche


10 - 11PM (GMT +8)
6 - 7AM (PST)
11AM - 12PM (GMT +8)
9:30 - 10PM (GMT +8)
5:30 - 6AM (PST)


Why We Should Focus Outward
Dorje Shugden Teachings Video - Video (How To Set Up A Tibetan Buddhist Altar by Pastor Henry Ooi)
Kechara YAK: Fur from China

Please come and join in the chat for a fun time and support. See you all there.

Blog Chat Etiquette

These are some simple guidelines to make the blog chat room a positive, enjoyable and enlightening experience for everyone. Please note that as this is a chat room, we chat! Do not flood the chat room, or post without interacting with others.

Be friendly

Remember that these are real people you are chatting with. They may have different opinions to you and come from different cultures. Treat them as you would face to face, and respect their opinions, and they will treat you the same.

Be Patient

Give the room a chance to answer you. Patience is a virtue. And if after awhile, people don't respond, perhaps they don't know the answer or they did not see your question. Do ask again or address someone directly. Do not be offended if people do not or are unable to respond to you.

Be Relevant

This is the blog of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche. Please respect this space. We request that all participants here are respectful of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche and his organisation, Kechara.

Be polite

Avoid the use of language or attitudes which may be offensive to others. If someone is disrespectful to you, ignore them instead of arguing with them.

Please be advised that anyone who contravenes these guidelines may be banned from the chatroom. Banning is at the complete discretion of the administrator of this blog. Should anyone wish to make an appeal or complaint about the behaviour of someone in the chatroom, please copy paste the relevant chat in an email to us at [email protected] and state the date and time of the respective conversation.

Please let this be a conducive space for discussions, both light and profound.


Here is the latest news and pictorial updates, as it happens, of our upcoming forest retreat project.

The Kechara Forest Retreat is a unique holistic retreat centre focused on the total wellness of body, mind and spirit. This is a place where families and individuals will find peace, nourishment and inspiration in a natural forest environment. At Kechara Forest Retreat, we are committed to give back to society through instilling the next generation with universal positive values such as kindness and compassion.

For more information, please read here (english), here (chinese), or the official site: retreat.kechara.com.


Name: Email:
Mail will not be published
  • tsemtulku
    Wednesday, Oct 7. 2015 06:32 PM
    “Long ago, in one of Lord Buddha’s precious lives, when he was a Bodhisattva in the form of a snake, some cruel children caught him to death. Had he been wanted, the Bodhisattva could have annihilated them with a single glance; but as his heart was free from the slightest thought of anger, that was not what he did. Instead, he prayed that through the connection they were making with him by killing him, they would in future become his disciples and be led by him to enlightenment. This exemplary courage and patience was the result of his complete realization of voidness and compassion.” ~ H.H. Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche (This is very powerful. Realized beings can often let others hurt them, damage them, cheat them or take advantage of them in order for them to make a karmic connection to help them in the future. You may think but it’s a bad connection. But a bad connection is a connection and better than no connection. Some can only make a bad karmic connection with realized beings as their karma is only negative and their thoughts dwell in negativity. The realized being can turn the bad karmic connection into something good and benefit that being in the future. Highly realized beings can work in many ways counter to what we think is right or wrong to benefit others. Realized beings do not work to suit what we think is right or wrong or they will accomplish very little as our perception of right and wrong suits only temporary situations and not long term..Tsem Rinpoche)
  • Pastor Adeline
    Wednesday, Oct 7. 2015 01:49 PM
    Please support H.E. the 25th Tsem Rinpoche for His efforts in lifting the Dorje Shugden Ban by sharing the videos below. Thank you kindly!

    Voice For Dorje Shugden Practitioners 1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0E9O694_pYE
    Voice For Dorje Shugden Practitioners 2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CUk7M-lPL0s
  • Pastor Adeline
    Wednesday, Oct 7. 2015 01:47 PM

    为多杰雄登修持者发声 (一)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JddTLJtKVWE
    为多杰雄登修持者发声 (二)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aKPx7EvZmiA
  • xuliang
    Wednesday, Oct 7. 2015 11:50 AM
    Excerpt from an on-line article “The Defiling of the Dhamma”

    “In today’s diaspora of religious philosophies, many ancient teachings can be apportioned to the realms of hearsay, cults and airy, fairy superstition, more so in the philosophy of the Buddha and what He stood for, than others. The multi variants and “brands” of the self-appointed robed disciples of the Buddha has, down through the ages, for their own commercial and personal enrichment fabricated the pristine factual knowledge of the True Buddha to something of a legend that is not entirely false but indeed retain some grains of truth in the fabric of these woven tapestry that was supposed to depict the life, teachings and reality of the Buddha’s utterances, thus engendering doubts and dis-interest in the Noble Truth of the Buddha’s pristine words; causing the true disciples to waver and turn away from the True Words of the Buddha; endangering the Buddha’s Teachings and consigning the true believers to lives of suffering.

    Not only are the varied robed disciples to be apportioned their share of demerits to the manufacturing of the “truth”, but more so the lay devotees of these robed disciples who had ignorantly and superstitiously accord to these robed disciples the respect and adoration they mistakenly believed was due to them as they were the guardians of the rites and rituals the robed disciples maintained as belonging to the realm of the Buddha Himself; thus begetting a religious and purportedly tradition of worship, benefitting the office of the robed disciples and the construction of many ornate and totally dis-functioning colossal superstructures for the purpose of supposedly glorifying the status of the Buddha, but more so the robed disciples themselves. The lay disciples must in all honesty bear more of the blame of the destruction of the True Teachings as due to their cravings for merits and cravings for a better “after life” has fallen victim to those robed disciples who see these lay devotees as “ripe for the killing” to gain their own self-glorification and capital enrichment. These lay devotees, if endowed with knowledge and wisdom could have said “No” to rites and rituals that do not benefit any but the robed disciples. …………………”
  • Pastor Adeline
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 07:00 PM
    Tsem Rinpoche: If we keep Kampung chickens and have them run free, then the eggs will be natural and without male chickens around, the eggs will not be fertilized. This might be good for our eco community.
  • Pastor Adeline
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 07:00 PM
    Theories 2, 4 and 7 really attract me. What is amazing is these three theories are explained clearly in the Vajra Yogini tantras that can only be explained more in-depth after initiation. Vajra Yogini’s tantra goes into much more in-depth on these three theories. There are specific meditations in Vajra Yogini’s tantra that complement, accentuate and help you to realize solipsism, logos and ‘brain the jar’ theories. I really am stunned how these three theories match nearly perfectly to what is explained in the holy tantras of Vajra Yogini. Vajra Yogini tantra is ‘designed’ to change our reality by using our mind to focus on the truth of existence. How we exist is not at all how we thought.

  • tsemtulku
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 02:41 PM
    : I was thrilled to find this as it says the same thing according to tantra- http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=78160
  • Pastor Adeline
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 01:27 PM
    Sometimes it really is not what people give, but the thought and care that is so deep behind it. You are a simple person but deeply caring. I am moved by your gesture. I have started taking the oils. It taste pleasant. I thank you from the bottom of heart for your generosity on so many levels.

  • Pastor Adeline
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 01:25 PM
    Within the complex, food, water, and clothing are in short supply, and electric power is only available from 7pm to 10pm every day. In such tight quarters, communicable illnesses are a problem and medical facilities meager, so the nuns depend on each other to survive. Winters can be very snowy and temps fall to minus 20-30 degrees C at night. There is no sanitation system, so the nuns have to resort to toilets in the open air beside the river.

    So, the next time you catch yourself feeling stressed about your practice, think about one of those Juemu sitting alone in the snow at 13,000 feet. She won’t be watching the New England Patriots this weekend. She’s up there examining the innate nature of her own mind. She’s up there with her sisters on the roof of the world, praying day and night for all sentient beings to see through the illusion of samsara. That’s practice!

  • Pastor Adeline
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 01:24 PM
    In this video, I talked a little about the vastness of our mind, how our mind shapes our present condition and how it’s interlinked with our spiritual practice.

    I hope that this short teaching will help you understand more about the true nature of our minds and how we can transform our minds to be more stable and understand the Dharma clearer through Lama Tsongkhapa’s practice. I received these teachings from my gurus, and I hope it will benefit you as it did me.

  • Pastor Adeline
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 01:23 PM
    In the tantras such as Tara, White Tara, Vajrapani, Manjushri, Saraswati, Tsongkapa, Dukkar, Avalokitesvara, Oserchenma, Maitreya, etc, it is highly recommended you do not eat meat/eggs when you engage in their sadhanas, practice, retreats. When you do Tara Pujas (Drolchok), you are suppose to avoid meat or you shouldn’t engage in the pujas. In the Monastery, countless times we have to do Tara puja or engage monks to do for us, they have to avoid meat before coming..it was strict. If you are doing Naga pujas, you have to avoid meat and it is a must. There are many types of beneficial naga pujas such as Lutor, Lusang, etc that you avoid meat totally. There’s a very powerful Naga vase (Lubum), which my guru made and I have one for years now, and it is specifically for generating wealth for dharma activities. If you keep this vase, make proper offerings, then with the motivation of dharma, your financial resources will increase to fund the dharma works. 10 years ago, when I was literally down to a few dollars and struggled financially very badly, I called my Guru for divination, he said to get a Naga vase and then with some time it will be ok. He taught me how to make offerings and what to offer and not offer and one big no-no is meat. He said avoid meat…or in my thinking no wealth…LOL. Well I didn’t offer meat, after that yearly I can see growth in Kechara.So no meat in this case was worth it for growth to benefit others.

  • Pastor Adeline
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 01:22 PM
    When we are highly, extremely attained, eating meat, ‘breaking’ vows, taking up consorts, etc etc would not incur negative karma since our mind has attained emptiness and not returning to samsara,and hence our actions have no contaminated motivation both subtle and gross and until then, we have to be careful of any actions we do. This is my thoughts. I do not mean to offend or hurt, but I sincerely feel it is more compassionate to not eat meat in the 21st century and for 21st Century Buddhism/Buddhists. What good karma do we gain from eating meat? How does it benefit animals if we murder them and then eat them. Go on the youtube and see how they are butchered. There are hundreds of videos. It is a real lesson and a real dharma practice to wish to not be a part of it. I wish my prayers that all animals will not be hurt and tortured as well as all six realms beings always. Om Mani Peme Hung…

  • Pastor Adeline
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 01:21 PM
    Tsem Rinpoche’s New Idea – (Offering Gold to Vajra Yogini in KFR)
    Making offerings to the Buddhas are acts of generosity and therefore highly meritorious. Tsem Rinpoche is perpetually looking for new, innovative and creative ways for Kecharians, visitors and guests to Kechara Forest Retreat (KFR) to collect merits. And earlier today (Thursday, 1 October 2015), Rinpoche conceptualized another exciting and powerful way for people to make offerings and accrue merits that is: Offering gold on to the body of a Vajra Yogini statue (the gold refers to real gold in tablet form that will be melted and applied on the statue).

    In principle it is similar to how the Thais offer gold leaf on their Buddha statues, except in this case it is 100% gold applied to the face and body of a new Vajra Yogini statue in liquid form.

    The following are salient points that Rinpoche thought of and articulated. These are not yet final or comprehensive, and Rinpoche may add to the points or amend them.

  • Pastor Adeline
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 01:19 PM


  • Pastor Adeline
    Tuesday, Oct 6. 2015 01:19 PM



1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · »


Concept: Tsem Rinpoche
Technical: Lew Kwan Leng, Justin Ripley, Yong Swee Keong
Design: Justin Ripley, Cynthia Lee
Content: Tsem Rinpoche, Khong Jean Mei, Justin Ripley, Pastor Shin Tan, Sarah Yap
Writer: Pastor Loh Seng Piow
Admin: Pastor Loh Seng Piow, Beng Kooi

I must thank my dharma blog team who are great assets to me, Kechara and growth of dharma in this wonderful region. I am honoured and thrilled to work with them. I really am. Maybe I don't say it enough to them, but I am saying it now. I APPRECIATE THESE GUYS VERY MUCH!

Tsem Rinpoche

What Am I Writing Now


The Unknown

The Known and unknown are both feared,
Known is being comfortable and stagnant,
The unknown may be growth and opportunities,
One shall never know if one fears the unknown more than the known.
Who says the unknown would be worse than the known?
But then again, the unknown is sometimes worse than the known. In the end nothing is known unless we endeavour,
So go pursue all the way with the unknown,
because all unknown with familiarity becomes the known.
~Tsem Rinpoche

Photos On The Go

Click on the images to view the bigger version. And scroll down and click on "View All Photos" to view more images.
16 hours ago
Lord Tsongkhapa's holy retreat house in Tibet. Huge pilgrimage spot.
16 hours ago
Lama Tsongkhapa footprint as a child
16 hours ago
Kedrub Je's personal statue of Yamantaka
16 hours ago
Prince Siddhartha with his maternal aunt Queen Mahaprajapati Gotami
16 hours ago
Lama Tsongkhapa assigned Khedrub je to carved this Chenrezig but he was unable to complete (only half) the rest formed itself to completion. Very blessed.
17 hours ago
Cinca-Manavika making a false accusation against the Buddha. She saw imperfections in the Buddha due to her karma and in anger accused Buddha. 
I was thrilled to find this as it says the same thing according to tantra- http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=78160
5 days ago
Thank you for this picture
5 days ago
This is a beautiful and unusual thangka.
1 week ago
The Goddess Kandarohi of the Vajra Yogini tantra. She is invoked to expel negative interferences. Tsem Rinpoche
1 week ago
His Holiness Gaden Trisur Rinpoche Jetsun Lungrik Namgyal Pelsango. This picture of this very holy lama taken yesterday September 27, 2015. His Holiness is very well. I thank our good karma for this and grateful to see His picture. May we all become like His Holiness Gaden Trisur who is accomplished in his mind. My prostrations to this great lineage master who has commitment, samaya to His guru and who is Lord Tsongkapa's representative on earth, Tsem Rinpoche
2 weeks ago
Making long life offerings to His Holiness Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche who is one with Heruka Chakrasamvara.~Tsem Rinpoche
2 weeks ago
Buddha and Jesus are best buddies and going out on the town to save some souls. Sure wish the followers can be just as open and liberal. Tsem Rinpoche
2 weeks ago
Beautiful mural painting of H.H. Pabongka Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
This is something interesting: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=75096
3 weeks ago
You don't want to miss out what this incredible lady Magadha Sangmo (须摩提女) did that benefitted so many during Buddha's time: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=69946
3 weeks ago
You have to see this as it's super cute and brightens your day: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=4556 --------- Being creative is an expression of helping others to understand something by various unconventional means.~Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
Do you know what this flag represents and the meaning behind it: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=74486
3 weeks ago
Such wonderful and hardworking people of Kechara! I respect them alot. Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
His Excellency the YDP of Bentong gracing Kechara Forest Retreat today! He is taking a picture with our hardworking Kechara Forest Retreat team. They are the team that build, maintain and expand our plans in Kechara Forest Retreat. All future buildings and many exciting new plans will be made manifested by this group of beautiful people of Kechara Forest Retreat. (From Left to right: Ms Phng Li kheng, Pastor Chia Song Peng, Pastor Henry, His Excellency the YDP, Mr Nicholas Yu, Ms. Pammie Yap, Ms. Julia Tan and Mr Khoo. I am so proud of our team and I humbly thank the YDP for visiting us from his very busy schedule. Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
Parnashavari-Special healing goddess for contagious diseases. I want a 9ft statue of Her on Kechara Forest Retreat's land...very beneficial.
3 weeks ago
Sacred Vajra Yogini with the root and lineage guru on top and Her entourage surrounding Her.
4 weeks ago
Mongolian rare statue of White Heruka
4 weeks ago
11th Century Nepalese Manjushri
4 weeks ago
Beautiful ancient carving of Manjushri.
4 weeks ago
A sacred Manjushri made during the Kangxi period of China.
4 weeks ago
You are going to be amazed at these beautiful pictures! Guess what arrived on Kechara Forest Retreat's pond? See here: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=74057
4 weeks ago
This is so beautiful. Our Kecharians do deserve to read this and feel good. They are hard working. Thank you so much.
1 month ago
You'll have to watch Kechara's version. Camp, funny and really 'good' acting---Some things are just TOO FUNNY to see once! See this- http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=53930
1 month ago
Beautiful pendant of Dorje Shugden Trakzey available now for your invite and blessings from http://www.vajrasecrets.com! So beautifully crafted! This special form of Dorje Shugden rides on a garuda representing destruction of anger and protection of malevolent forces. Dorje Shugden protecting you wherever you go in the form of this sacred art pendant.
1 month ago
Amazing Wangzey Dorje Shugden pendant available now for your invite and blessings from http://www.vajrasecrets.com! So beautifully crafted! This form of Dorje Shugden helps us to overcome insecurities, fears and difficult situations. Wear this special form of Dorje Shugden always!
1 month ago
The principle form of Dorje Shugden in 18 inches riding on a powerful snow lion the King of celestial beasts representing Dorje Shugden has overcome all obscurations and four maras and is fully enlightened. The remaining form of Gyenze Dorje Shugden will be available soon here at http://www.vajrasecrets.com.
1 month ago
Beautiful 18 inches Shitzey Dorje Shugden available now for your invite and blessings from http://www.vajrasecrets.com! So beautifully crafted! This form of Dorje Shugden rides on a celestial elephant representing firmness and strength of the enlightened mind of Dorje Shugden. Shitzey helps us to heal, overcome diseases, placate anger and dangerous environmental situations.
1 month ago
Beautiful 18 inches Trakzey Dorje Shugden available now for your invite and blessings from http://www.vajrasecrets.com! So beautifully crafted! So very rare riding on a Garuda. This form of Dorje Shugden is powerful to protect from negative energy and powerful energies that disrupt our minds, work and spiritual progress.
1 month ago
Beautiful 18 inches Wangzey Dorje Shugden available now for your invite and blessings from http://www.vajrasecrets.com! So beautifully crafted! This form of Dorje Shugden helps us to overcome insecurities, fears and difficult situations.
1 month ago
This stunning Hayagriva thangka is in my aunt's shrine
1 month ago
Stunning Protector Brahmarupa
1 month ago
Protector Brahmarupa
1 month ago
Interesting background on Protector Brahmarupa
1 month ago
The Goddess Trokner Jenma or Bhrikuti...Very nice
1 month ago
So picturesque: Japanese small towns are quaint, neat, clean and very organized and it has very rustic feeling and they connect with nature. They are timeless with modern conveniences but old world feel. I love small Japanese towns.
1 month ago
Japanese small towns are quaint, neat, clean and very organized and it has very rustic feeling and they connect with nature. They are timeless with modern conveniences but old world feel. I love small Japanese towns.
1 month ago
This Vajra Yogini is in Rashi Gempil Temple in Howell, New Jersey. My guru Kensur Rinpoche invited this from India and enshrined Her in his house next to the temple. His house was right next to the temple. I use to go and look at Her always extremely fascinated. The statue is there now and here it is. Beautiful. Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
Whenever we think we can't we should take refuge in Manjushri and do his practice and retreats and then our minds will open up more and then we will understand we can. That nothing is can't but everything should be CAN!~ Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
H.H.Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche drew this Buddha.
2 months ago
Four wonderful people at a very holy and sacred location making pilgrimage. Many dakinis were sighted in this area.
2 months ago
Nice painting of Tibetan King Trisong Deutsen who did alot for the propagation of Dharma during his reign. He is worshipped as a Dharma king and attained being also.
2 months ago
Congratulations to Kyabje Zawa Rinpoche in Canada! See: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=73108
Click on "View All Photos" above to view more images

Videos On The Go

Please click on the images to watch video
  • -
    2 weeks ago
    HH the Dalai Lama prays with HH Trijang Rinpoche and HH Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche. Such a beautiful video of His Holiness Dalai Lama, His Holiness Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche and His Holiness Dilgo Kyentse Rinpoche (Very exalted high Nyingma lama) are all praying together. In the background you see a young Kyabje Lati Rinpoche too. So beautiful. This is how it was before the ban. All the sects and high lamas were superbly harmonious. After the Dorje Shugden ban things changed for the worse. May the ban be released soon. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Nice Dorje Shugden rock painting
    4 weeks ago
    Nice Dorje Shugden rock painting
  • His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche teaches the truth of life and our impeding death.
    1 month ago
    His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche teaches the truth of life and our impeding death.
  • A kind message from Mr. Tsering Wangchuk to me. Thank you so much. Tsem Rinpoche
    2 months ago
    A kind message from Mr. Tsering Wangchuk to me. Thank you so much. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Mr Chatreng Yeshe's message to me (Part 1)
    2 months ago
    Mr Chatreng Yeshe's message to me (Part 1)
  • Mr Chatreng Yeshe's message to me (Part 2)
    2 months ago
    Mr Chatreng Yeshe's message to me (Part 2)
  • His Holiness Trijang Rinpoche accepts Long Life puja
    3 months ago
    His Holiness Trijang Rinpoche accepts Long Life puja
  • Dorje Shugden/Kache Marpo makes offerings to Tsem Rinpoche
    3 months ago
    Dorje Shugden/Kache Marpo makes offerings to Tsem Rinpoche
  • My good friend Justin Ripley
    3 months ago
    My good friend Justin Ripley
  • -
    4 months ago
    I requested Choji Lah to do a trusol, rabney and soongdroop for our large DS and Buddha. In this video, he is performing trusol which is ritually 'bathing' the environment and blessing all those who come to visit our Wisdom Hall and Dorje Shugden. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Bigfoot arrives!!!
    4 months ago
    Bigfoot arrives!!!
    Tsem Rinpoche is an avid follower of the paranormal such as bigfoots. For more interesting writings and posts on the subject, please go to http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/category/yeti-bigfoot-sasquatch
  • Mumu Loves Snack!
    4 months ago
    Mumu Loves Snack!
  • -
    5 months ago
    For H.E. Tsem Tulku Rinpoche, a blog post is not just a blog post but Dharma work that generates merits which should be dedicated. Click here to find out what blog post Rinpoche was dedicating the merits for when he recited this prayer: http://bit.ly/1KiXWf9 ~Ani Lobsang Pema
  • -
    5 months ago
    Panchen Lama in Beijing on CCTV - China's official news. The respect and position they give His Holiness Panchen Lama is great.
  • Magical fish tank with Buddha statue
    5 months ago
    Magical fish tank with Buddha statue


A section for you to clarify your Dharma questions with Kechara’s esteemed pastors.

Just post your name and your question below and one of our pastors will provide you with an answer.

Scroll down and click on "View All Questions" to view archived questions.

View All Questions
Today's quota for questions has been filled. Please come back tomorrow to re-submit your question


7 hours ago
Team Dupont helping to pack food from the kitchen this afternoon. Thank you very much everyone for being a great help! Justin@KSK
8 hours ago
Dorje Shugden puja is highly demanded by most sponsors. By Puja House 7 October'15
8 hours ago
Drolchok Puja conducted for Sponsor's kid to clear their obstacles. By Puja House 7 October'15
8 hours ago
Medicine Buddha puja did for Sponsor's beloved to heal fast. By Puja House 7 October'15
8 hours ago
Puja Team prepared for Tonite Lamrim recitation. By Puja House 7 October'15
8 hours ago
This afternoon puja Team did some cleaning at Kechara. From Kc Lounge library to Pastor office, and Gallery. By Puja House , 7 October'15
10 hours ago
Dharma classes 2016 now open for registration at Kechara House . For more details call Frontdesk 03 7803 3908. Lucy Yap
24 hours ago
Dzambala puja conducted for Sponsor to overcome his financial difficulty. By Puja House 6 October'15
24 hours ago
Focus fully on 108 bowls of water offering for White Tara puja . By Puja House 6 October '15
24 hours ago
Druchuma puja did today for Sponsor to have harmony in the company. By Puja House 6 October'15
24 hours ago
A Sponsor sponsored a year Medicine Buddha puja for her mother to stay healthy. By Puja House 6 October'15
Don't make laziness your comfort zone because it is really your enemy.~Tsem Rinpoche From: June Tang (Khjb)
~5 Unexpected Women Who Became Buddhist Nuns~ Hollywood socialite. Miss India finalist. Bollywood actress. Not the typical titles associated to women who would aspire to become Buddhist nuns. But then again, how set in stone are labels? The first Buddhist nun in history was named "Pajapati" at birth, meaning "leader of a great assembly". She became the ...~Tsem Rinpoche http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/etc/5-unexpected-women-who-became-buddhist-nuns.html From: June Tang (Khjb)
~10,000 Nuns here!~ E = MC2 Enlightenment equals Motivation times the presence of Consciousness squared. Whenever my motivation starts to flag, I remember the nuns of Yarchen Monastery. Their compound (in the shape of a giant bodhi leaf) sits on a peninsula in the Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture of ...~Tsem Rinpoche http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/10ooo-nuns-here.html From: June Tang (Khjb)
~The Mind and Lama Tsongkhapa~ I gave a Dharma talk to a few of my students in my residence a while ago and thought I'll share this on my blog for everyone to listen. In this Dharma talk, I shared a little about the vastness of our mind, how our mind shapes our present condition and how it’s interlinked with our spiritual practice. ..~Tsem Rinpoche From: June Tang (Khjb)
Gyenze Retreat in progress at Kechara (JB). Gyenze helps us overcome our karma of miserliness and bless us to gain spiritual prosperity. From: June Tang (Khjb)
I sincerely thank the Pastors of Kechara and attendees for doing this special blessing ceremony at our newly installed Manjushri in Kechara Forest Retreat. I know the Pastors have trained well and the pujas they perform are from the pure Gaden tradition. I rejoice from the depths of my heart to see this and many pictures of their actitivities.. I am proud of my Pastors. I send them my prayers for the Buddhas to always bless them as they do pujas to bless many others daily. Dear Pastors, go all the way and benefit people with love in your hearts, no judgement and complete fearlessness continuously. A life of service to others is a life of the best service to ourselves. Thank you for carrying on the lineage. ~Tsem Rinpoche From: June Tang (Khjb)
Lama Tsongkhapa retreats every three months consistently will heal the mind of pains and emotional scars. One should engage in retreats always.~ Tsem Rinpoche From: June Tang (Khjb)
We are truly lucky Dorje Shugden gave us Kechara Forest Retreat (KFR). We must honor his giving by developing KFR & simultaneously practice mind training to be better & better person. It's not hard to build KFR if we focus and commit. While building KFR we also develop the inner tools to tame our minds and we achieve both. A beautiful centre to benefit the masses and a beautiful mind within us to bring us happiness. ~Tsem Rinpoche From: June Tang (Khjb)
“ 有所為,無所畏 “ 每個人終究只能為自己的人生負責,現在就走出別人的嘴,活出自己的人生! http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/dorje-shugden/dear-dalai-lama-with-folded-hands.html From: June Tang (Khjb)
“OM BENZA WIKI BITANA SOHA“ 祈愿多杰雄登的禁令能够即刻解除 ,让更多的众生能够修持祂的法门和得到祂的加持和庇佑。 http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/dorje-shugden/dear-dalai-lama-with-folded-hands.html From: June Tang (Khjb)
~如何设立藏式佛坛~ https://youtu.be/WQNnPjBY6Sw 佛坛对佛教修持者而言具有好几重意义。首先,它是能辅助观想,启发修持者记得诸佛的特质,并逐渐放下世俗的执着。佛坛也是一个资粮田,让修持者能透过清洁和供养佛坛而累积大量功德。这个视频乃根据西藏佛教传统,向大家介绍设置各种简单至复杂佛坛的方法。 ~ 詹杜固仁波切 From: June Tang (Khjb)
~如何开始多杰雄登修持~ https://youtu.be/sOlEM_mYfNM 这个简短的日常课诵,能让您获得多杰雄登法门带来的好处。此视频以尊贵的詹杜固仁波切根据传统资料所编撰的短轨为蓝本,为您介绍如何展开宗喀巴大师和多杰雄登综合法门的修持法,适合未接受灌顶者修持。这个法门能带给大家智慧、丰裕、庇佑、和平和满愿的神圣加持。~詹杜固仁波切 From: June Tang (Khjb)
黑白颠倒,恶言恶语是不会改变真理。 http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/dorje-shugden/dear-dalai-lama-with-folded-hands.html From: June Tang (Khjb)





Page Views By Country
Malaysia 2,193,131
United States 1,328,419
Singapore 424,587
United Kingdom 272,630
Canada 250,663
Australia 224,606
India 187,617
Philippines 116,022
Nepal 71,805
Indonesia 92,334
Thailand 71,579
Germany 73,290
Netherlands 45,686
France 46,857
Italy 42,328
Portugal 35,999
Bhutan 46,137
Spain 36,619
Taiwan 37,196
Hong Kong 36,951
New Zealand 33,964
Romania 30,709
Brazil 31,946
Mexico 24,698
Switzerland 32,036
United Arab Emirates 20,384
South Africa 19,226
Sweden 24,290
Japan 21,358
Greece 17,598
Vietnam 17,898
Ireland 17,012
Sri Lanka 14,873
Hungary 16,326
Saudi Arabia 12,981
Mongolia 15,484
Poland 17,670
Russia 15,792
Pakistan 11,979
Total Pageviews: 6,364,134


Click to watch my talk about Dorje Shugden....