Chef Lim Organic Kitchen – Restaurant Review

Dec 24, 2012 | Views: 1,255
Share this article

[Disclaimer: The following review has been reviewed by the Vegetarian Restaurant Review team]

  

Overview

Located at Scotts Garden on Old Klang Road, Chef Lim Organic Kitchen is dedicated to bring healthy food to their patrons. Opened less than a year ago, Chef Lim Organic Kitchen is already well-known for their healthy and delicious choice of meals. It was conceptualized by a group of people experienced and dedicated to bring healthy dining to Malaysians. They have, however, taken one step further to cater delicious dishes suitable for those with medical conditions such as hypertension, diabetes and even cancer patients. 


Reviewer’s Rating

Interior  -  3.5/5

The restaurant has a bright, clean and modern look. Catered for people of all ages, race and background, Chef Lim Organic Kitchen certainly gives one a pleasant dining experience. Emphasizing on health benefits through dining and lifestyle, they provide their patrons with a smoke-free environment. Upon request, the restaurant provides a private room for small gatherings above 30 pax. For gatherings of less than 20 pax, there is also a private section on the dining floor. The restaurant can fit up to 250 pax, and still have ample space to move around. 

 Private corner for small gatherings.  Inside looking out.
 Their table setting with a Lazy Susan.  Simple and elegant.
 Outside looking in. Community bulletin board.

 

Food  -  4/5

The food in Chef Lim Organic Kitchen is original, unique and healthy. Although they do not serve 100% organic food, all of their servings contain 70 – 80% organic ingredients, while the remaining consists of the highest graded natural product available in the market. Skilfully, their chefs produce delicious, healthy organic vegetarian dishes. They do not use any mock meat, instead, they substitute it with home made fu-chuk (Chinese bean curd skin) to provide a meaty texture. Their food contains no MSG, no colouring and no artificial flavouring – only naturally sourced flavourings are used. It is also an egg, milk, onion and garlic free restaurant; so it is very much suitable for our vegan friends. Catered for people with medical conditions, one can request for the food to consist of less salt and sugar. 

One of their signature dishes is their “Coconut Tom Yam”. Made using their homemade tom yam paste and young coconut water, the Tom Yam soup is an absolute treat (with hardly any oil!). Every ingredient used is fresh and unprocessed, even their button mushroom is fresh and not the ones we get from a can.

One of the more surprising dishes is their garlic bread. Why? No garlic is used! Instead, to simulate the taste of garlic, they use various natural flavouring to produce the garlic flavour. The bread is very thinly sliced and oven baked till crispy. Another surprising dish on the menu is their cheese cake, and yes you’ve guessed it – it does not contain any cheese! To substitute cheese, yoghurt is used.

Wild mushroom spaghetti Japanese style  Yam basket
Coconut Tom Yam Three Slice Lotus
Fruit Tea Garlic Bread

 Cheese Cake

 

Pricing  - 4/5

When compared with other vegetarian restaurants, Chef Lim Organic Kitchen is slightly more expensive. However, this is because a high percentage of their ingredients are organic. For a healthy and delicious meal, the price to pay is totally worth it. For example, their serving of Coconut Tom Yum (as shown above) is at RM 18.

 

Vegetarian Selection  - 4.5/5

At a quick glance, anyone can tell that their menu has a wide selection. However, upon a closer look at the choices available, it is very obvious that they cater towards people from all walks of life. They included many standard dishes that first time vegetarians (or non-vegetarians for that matter!) would feel comfortable with. There is also a wide selection for youngsters who usually prefers Western or Japanese cuisine. A very well-thought of menu.

 

Service  -  4.5/5

Excellent. Everything about this restaurant is aimed towards customer satisfaction. They accept personal requests for their patrons and try their best to create a delicious meal according to their customer’s preference. This is an excellent attitude because they cater their dining experience towards those with strict diets due to their medical condition. Their flexibility in listening to what their patrons wants gives them very good points for this evaluation point. Another factor that made their service excellent, is that 5% of their service charge is donated to charity homes such as orphanages, old folks home, OKU etc. 

 


Find your way there!


Chef Lim Organic Kitchen

Address: Lot 2-47, 2-48 & 2-49, The Scott Garden, 4 1/2 Miles, Jalan Klang Lama, 58200, Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan

Contact: 03-7982 3395

Fanpage: https://www.facebook.com/cheflimorganic/

Opening hours: Mon – Friday (11 am – 3 pm; 5 pm – 11 pm); Sat & Sun (11 am – 11 pm)

Features:

  • Vegan friendly
  • Food catered for people with health conditions (inform waiter to get a meal suitable for your diet)
  • Catering services
  • Walk in/ Reservation
  • Small/ Large gatherings
  • Private room for above 30 pax; call in advance for booking
  • Smart casual
  • Credit card accepted

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Please support us so that we can continue to bring you more Dharma:

If you are in the United States, please note that your offerings and contributions are tax deductible. ~ the tsemrinpoche.com blog team

Share this article

28 Responses to Chef Lim Organic Kitchen – Restaurant Review

  1. Wah Ying on Dec 24, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Three Slice Lotus and Wild Mushroom Japanese Spagetti look yummy. This restaurant’s interior design is modern and Western. Restaurant which provides tasty and healthy vegetarian food actually could promote vegetarianism. They show people vegetarianism can be tasty and nice as non-vegetarianism.

  2. Judy on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:24 am

    I liked th the restaurant layout as it is very clean, no frills. In these days of modern living, it is welcoming to see places like Chef Lim offering healthy and wholesome food for the people. In a way, restaurants play a part in society to care for people’s well being. It is not just about making money.

  3. tenzin llhamo on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    Thank you! I didn’t know that Scott Garden has an Organic Restaurant. It is very convenient nowadays as people are more aware of the benefits of being vegetarian. I prefer to have organic food compared to vegetarian restaurant that use mock meat. So not a fan of mock meat….
    And the best part is that those good organic food chefs can work wonders with the ingredients they have and it doesn’t even feel like its a substitute. I will definitely go try it when I am near by.

  4. Girlie Ooi on Dec 24, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Old Klang Road area is not on my list when I look for food. Thank you Team for this review. I will give it a try. The Wild Mushroom spaghetti looks yummy!

  5. MayOng on Dec 24, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    I just asked Rena about the location of this place, Scott Garden and its actually located right beside the Old Klang Road main road in a new building. You cannot miss it if you are driving by.

    I will make time to go there to try with the family. Looks yummy and delicious. Another wonderful vegetarian restaurant to look forward to.

  6. grace (KHJB) on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    thank you for introduction, the restaurant look nice and cosy.the cheese cake look nice.will try it when happen pass by.

  7. Low ksjc on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    Thanks to the review team,for giving us more choices for good vegetarian restaurant around town.Will give it a try when we are passing by those area.

  8. Jace Chong on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    Thanks for sharing this nice restaurant, looks like vegetarian dining has wide selection now.

    The post remind me of the same restaurant at Kayu Ara, near our working place Sunwaymas Commercial Center, I didn’t know they have another branch at Old Klang Road.

    Anyway, I know the boss through an event many years ago. I used to look for him to help in some charity events, they sponsored one of my charity event for teenagers, all vegetarian and healthy food. They also sponsored “kuih” to sell during one of Kechara Wesak Fair, and finger food in some other events.

    If I am not mistaken, the boss is a Christian, he is very open, he say to me, no matter what religion we are belonged to, we practice to help others. He told me that he has a lot of rich friends, who want to spend their money in good way, he collects donations from them to buy and cook nice food and send to orphanage and old folks homes. How kind!

    I hope their efforts can inspire more people to dine with compassion and love.

    Buddha blesses you too =)

  9. Milly on Dec 25, 2012 at 12:42 am

    The food looks yummy with nice food presentation. I look forward to trying the tom yam and spaghetti. The decor is pleasant and neat. We are spoilt for choice these days with many vegetarian restaurants sprouting up in town.

  10. Lim (KH JB) on Dec 25, 2012 at 2:50 am

    Thanks review team for the recommendation, the foods look so delicious with a cozy place and decorations…

    Wow, feel hungry now… LOL…

    We got no more excuses to say very hard to find vegetarian foods again…

  11. June Tang(KHJB) on Dec 25, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing this article. I will give it a try if I am at KL. From the pictures, i can feel the cosy place with good food served . Coconut Tom Yam looks very delicious !!vegetarian is the way to good health!! You not only save a lot of animals, you have a healthy body and lifestyle!

  12. Darren Kechara Paradise on Dec 25, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Thanks Rinpoche for sharing the review, will visit one day as it’s just a 5 minute drive from my home. :)

  13. Carmen K. on Dec 25, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    Yummy! I LOVE tomyum! That tom yum soup looks delicious. Glad to know that we have more no frills, simple restaurants focussing on vegetarian food here in KL. The reviews are a great help for me to find places to eat around KL when I’m lost on where to go!

  14. Erickksiow on Dec 25, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Another restaurant that we can go an check it out, the foods look healthy and tasty.

    Thank You Rinpoche for sharing to us. :)

    Best Regards : Erickksiow

  15. patsy on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    The restaurant looks clean and pleasant.The dishes are very varied and fusion ranging from Chinese, Western and Thai. From the reviews, the ratings are high so this will be my next “must try” food destination:)

  16. Wan Wai Meng on Dec 27, 2012 at 1:38 am

    This is a eating place with an altruistic intention built into it. This seems like a fusion vegetarian restaurant somewhere I definitely want to go to.

  17. Uncle Eddie on Dec 27, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    Though eating is said to be a national pastime in Malaysia, be them chinese, western, Malay, Indian or Thai, finding a really good vegetarian cusine restuarant is sometimes truly hard to do. Inspite of the variety of common vegeterian food is endless as said, yet one must be familarised on how or where to locate the same. Unless you are familar, it may seem difficult to find a good vegetarian restuarant, not to mention an “organic” orientated one as advertised in this blog. As said “a picture speaks louder than a thousand words”, but when eating is concerned, its in the eating and taste that suits the taster that counts. So therefore, a real visit to chef Lim’s organic kitchen restuarant seems all the more necessary!

  18. Joy on Dec 27, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    I really like seeing that there is more and more “creative” vegetarian restaurants popping up here and there in KL. Malaysia is pretty slow in catching on this healthy natural culture of being vegetarian/organic… but through the increase in demand from customers will create the supply.

    This is why it is so important for us to actually ask for more vegetarian food in restaurants and cafes… this will be noticed by the owners and hence create the supply for it. Even secret recipe has now started to join the band wagon of going green and created a few handful of vegetarian branch cafes and I must say their food is not bad.

    It is also how we present vegetarian cuisine is very important as 90% of the population are still quite sceptical and think that vegetarian food is boring. But being creative in its taste, style of presentation is extremely important right up to the ambience.

    Our very own Kechara Oasis have done a brilliant job in this section http://www.kecharaoasis.com/default.shtml and we’re getting more and more positie respond for events and wedding functions to be vegetarian. We know how hard the market it esp for chinese weddings… but they Irene and her crew have managed to penetrated the market and change people’s misconception that it is boring… in fact we’re very stylish… more then the meaty restaurants I must say :) Kudos to Kechara Oasis!!!

  19. Venix on Dec 27, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    Thanks for sharing Rinpoche.
    I will try it out soon and may Chef Lim Organic Kitchen well and continue to bring benefits to more people.

  20. Han on Dec 27, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    I brought many friends to this restaurant, overall they quite like the dishes, some commented some dishes a bit pricey. Even the western food, pizza all are very tasty!

    Thanks Rinpoche for sharing this post

  21. Albert Ratchaga on Dec 28, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    The coconut tom yam looks good, first time hearing this. Vegetarian restaurant is not as popular as normal restaurant, that’s why they need to come out a lot of new ideas, new design and new environment to attract people. Now, Vegetarian food is getting more and more popular and higher demand than before.

    In life, it is also the same, when we are in the advantage situation, we will slack and start to let our guard off, but when we are in difficult situation, we are in disadvantage, we will fight to go up, fight for the advantage, hence, being in the disadvantage is actually a privilege, because it makes us stronger.

  22. AdelineTan on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:45 am

    The layout of this restaurant is very modern, elegant and clean. The menus are suitable for all ages and they also cater for people who have medical problems that require special diets, very thoughtful of Chef Lim, on top of that they also donated 5% of their service charge to charitable organisations. The pictures showed the Japanese wild mushroom spaghetti, yam basket and cheese cake looked so delicious and they are organic very good for health.

  23. Khong Jean Mei on Dec 31, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    This review REALLY makes me wanna go to Chef Lim to eat! Haha what a well written vegetarian restaurant review!

    I really like how the restaurant accommodates to the patrons request. For a picky eater like myself, this is a real pull-factor! Haha

    There are a lot of Chinese vegetarian restaurants around, and sometimes that little extra touch makes all the difference. The extra care, the extra attentiveness and the extra effort to accommodate to the customers, hopefully makes Chef Lim stand out.

    I can’t wait to go! Will write my opinion here once I’ve eaten there! x

  24. Sharon Saw on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:48 am

    This restaurant looks really good and the food seems healthy. As a diabetic, it is not easy to find healthy food when eating out. Organic restaurants are always very health conscious and this seems to be the same. i look forward to trying it out. Thank you to the blog team for always looking out for good vegetarian outlets!

  25. Sean Wang on Jul 18, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    I just told my mother about this place. Hopefully we can go there one day when she feels better! The food looks very delicious and service seems very good. The Japanese style Mushroom Spaghetti looks very delicious. I really want to try it now.

  26. Carmen Lin @ KMP on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    Thank you so much of sharing this, I have tried it out and it’s delicious, planning to hang out there more often. The environment is simple and spacious, the food is delicious had a pasta there the other day, wanted to try something else the next time I go there. Cheers.

  27. Sean Wang on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    This restaurant looks very interesting. I really would like to try the japanese spaghetti. It is good to see that there are many vegetarian restaurants that are embracing a modern feel to it! I really like it!

  28. discount pizza coupons on Jan 7, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    If Cairo is the only remain in Egypt then ride a felucca in Maadi associated
    with downtown. They offer all types of CCTV and access control systems.
    Is actually usually cheaper even more scenic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

 

BLOG CHAT

Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you.

Tsem Rinpoche


 

Scheduled Chat Sessions

Every Wednesday: 10-11pm (GMT+8) | Wednesday, 7am (PST)
Every Saturday: 11am-1pm (GMT+8) | Friday, 8pm (PST)

Upcoming Discussion Topics

Please come and join in the chat for a fun time and support. See you all there.

 


Blog Chat Etiquette

These are some simple guidelines to make the blog chat room a positive, enjoyable and enlightening experience for everyone. Please note that as this is a chat room, we chat! Do not flood the chat room, or post without interacting with others.

Be friendly

Remember that these are real people you are chatting with. They may have different opinions to you and come from different cultures. Treat them as you would face to face, and respect their opinions, and they will treat you the same.

Be Patient

Give the room a chance to answer you. Patience is a virtue. And if after awhile, people don't respond, perhaps they don't know the answer or they did not see your question. Do ask again or address someone directly. Do not be offended if people do not or are unable to respond to you.

Be Relevant

This is the blog of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche. Please respect this space. We request that all participants here are respectful of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche and his organisation, Kechara.

Be polite

Avoid the use of language or attitudes which may be offensive to others. If someone is disrespectful to you, ignore them instead of arguing with them.

Please be advised that anyone who contravenes these guidelines may be banned from the chatroom. Banning is at the complete discretion of the administrator of this blog. Should anyone wish to make an appeal or complaint about the behaviour of someone in the chatroom, please copy paste the relevant chat in an email to us at care@kechara.com and state the date and time of the respective conversation.

Please let this be a conducive space for discussions, both light and profound.


NEW! TsemRinpoche.com Navigation Video!

Find out how to navigate through Rinpoche's blog for a better browsing experience.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mh_PbIYDHSg

KECHARA FOREST RETREAT PROGRESS UPDATES

Here is the latest news and pictorial updates, as it happens, of our upcoming forest retreat project.

The Kechara Forest Retreat is a unique holistic retreat centre focused on the total wellness of body, mind and spirit. This is a place where families and individuals will find peace, nourishment and inspiration in a natural forest environment. At Kechara Forest Retreat, we are committed to give back to society through instilling the next generation with universal positive values such as kindness and compassion.

For more information, please read here (english), here (chinese), or the official site: retreat.kechara.com.



Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you

Name:
Email:
For:  
Mail will not be published
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Tuesday, Oct 28. 2014 04:19 PM)
    A kind reminder to all that this coming Friday/Saturday and the next one on Blog Chat we will be discussing and sharing on “Mantras-Holy Words of Power” post and video on http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=28029.

    Looking forward to seeing you this Friday on US Pacific Coast time 8PM or Malaysian timing on Saturday 11AM!
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Monday, Oct 27. 2014 12:19 PM)
    We have a new pastor on board http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/students-friends/congratulations-are-in-order.html! We need more and more people like Gim Lee to dedicate her life in serving others without agenda and tiredlessly! Thank you!
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Monday, Oct 27. 2014 12:15 PM)
    Watch what Jason Clare said in parliament http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4U9gqAxdZgA. ~ His Eminence Tsem Rinpoche

    His Eminence shared on “Videos On The Go” section of this blog.
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Monday, Oct 27. 2014 12:12 PM)
    In a country like Thailand where the public respects royalty very much, it’s nice to see Royalty in this case the Queen show so much respects to the sangha- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ZHKJDybu0g. ~ His Eminence Tsem Rinpoche

    His Eminence shared on “What I am writing now” section of this blog.
  • Frederick Law
    (Sunday, Oct 26. 2014 11:51 PM)
    The Buddha teaches that every sentient being has the same potential to attain Buddhahood that he had. Before attaining enlightenment, the Buddha had many, many lives: sometimes he was a human, sometimes an animal, sometimes an insect, and so on.
    All those who have become Buddha’s started out just like us. They were not Buddhas from the beginning. They obtained a special human life, came in contact with the teachings, and seriously practiced them over a long period of time. Slowly their mental affliction and ignorance decreased and their spiritual qualities increased.
    With a great deal of effort and courage they attained enlightenment. Because all living creatures have the same potential, all of them can attain enlightenment if they meet with a proper method, have enough courage, and exert enough effort.
    Right now flies and insect have an inferior physical body and mind, so for the present they cannot produce these qualities, but they have the potential to do so someday. Shantideva advises us to ask ourselves, “since even animal can attain Buddhahood, why can’t I do it?”

    Unlike animals or other unfortunate beings, we have a wonderful opportunity to accomplish enormous things; it is easy to see this by comparing spiritual development to an arduous physical task. Our ability to complete the task is severely compromised if we have to do every part of it by hand. If we have the right machines, the work will be accomplished easily. Similarly, in samsara the human life we now have is best equipped for accomplishing our ultimate goals. Human have the intelligence to understand the benefits and disadvantages of virtue and non-virtue, to deduce from present circumstances what type of causes we created in the past, and infer from our present actions what will happen in the future. With this kind of mental aptitude, of course we can attain enlightenment if we persevere with courage. We should encourage ourselves with this type of praise. Shantideva summarizes this reasoning as follows:

    I should not be indolent,
    Saying, “How can I attain Buddhahood?”
    Because the Buddha who says what is true
    Has spoken this truth:

    “even flies, bees, mosquitoes,
    And other types of insects
    Can attain the highest enlightenment so difficult to attain
    If they exert powerful effort.”

    Someone like me, born as a human,
    Is able to distinguish benefit from harm.
    Why couldn’t I attain enlightenment
    If I don’t give up the Bodhisatva practice?

    Extracted from: Steps on the Path to Enlightenment: A Commentary on Tsongkhapa’s Lamrim Chenmo, Volume 3: The Way of the Boddhisatva, Page 439
  • tsemtulku
    (Sunday, Oct 26. 2014 12:33 AM)
    This is one of the funniest things I’ve seen in a long time! I laughed till I teared..please watch: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=53930
  • tsemtulku
    (Saturday, Oct 25. 2014 10:15 PM)
    Wait till you see the pictures this photographer caught in portraits in order to evoke some feelings in us: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=53879
  • tsemtulku
    (Saturday, Oct 25. 2014 08:10 PM)
    Tsem Rinpoche: Guess what we did on Mt Rinjani? See: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=53342
  • tsemtulku
    (Saturday, Oct 25. 2014 12:31 PM)
    This is so wonderful that all of you are discussing dharma here on my blog chat (www.tsemrinpoche.com). I am so glad to see this every Friday on US Pacific Coast time 8PM (Malaysian timing every Saturday 11AM). For next two Fridays (October 31 & November 7, 2014) we have something very interesting for sharing on blog chat, please learn up on “Mantras-Holy Words of Power” post and video: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=28029. This is a long post so we do for the next two Fridays please. How much we can learn is a plus. We can never overlearn the dharma.

    We will discuss about this beneficial read. You will learn more as you read the post and discuss here with friends. I rejoice when you learn more. It stabilizes the mind to understand our spiritual practice and the benefits. :) Tsem Rinpoche
  • Pastor David Lai
    (Saturday, Oct 25. 2014 12:27 PM)
    Meat to Meatless… When I was 5, I hated eating vegetables. My mum used to tell me to eat my carrots as they gave me good eyesight. But I told her that was not a rabbit. I was no Bugs Bunny. Back then, I was this nasty little carnivore. Follow my little journey from Meat to meatless here – http://www.davidlai.me/2014/09/28/meattomeatless/
  • tsemtulku
    (Friday, Oct 24. 2014 12:13 PM)
    If your angersome, it means you are spoiled.
    If you want things to be given to you, then you want others to do your work.
    If you complain without doing, it means you want an easy way out.
    If you have no integrity, it means you have never earned respect.
    If you are always late with your promises, it means you take things for granted.
    If you always argue to win, it’s because you allowed yourself to lose in life.
    If you are not concerned about others, then you have been overly self absorbed.
    If you don’t wish to change your situation, it’s because you don’t consider others and their despair for you.
    If you are arrogant, it’s because others are to be used by you.
    If you are intolerant, it’s because you want things only your way.
    If you are full of hatred, it’s because you only wish to benefit yourself.
    If you always lie, then you innately think others dumb and unworthy.
    ~Tsem Rinpoche
  • tsemtulku
    (Thursday, Oct 23. 2014 11:46 PM)
    Guess what happened to Justin Cheah? Read here and don’t wait another minute:
    http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=53437
  • tsemtulku
    (Wednesday, Oct 22. 2014 09:43 PM)
    The highest achievements are usually done alone.~Tsem Rinpoche (Sometimes the further you move up and achieve, the less people will be around or unable to keep up. Some cannot understand, accept or wish to do more and they can drop off. Some may wish you well but cannot keep up anyways. The higher your goals, the less most are able to understand or envision. Some may be even against you. But what is important is you stay focused and consistent. After all big achievements are done by only a few and not the majority. Highest achievements are usually done alone or with a very few. Stamina, vision, consistency, focus, care, responsibility and sometimes even a sense of compassion is necessary to achieve anything big. Giving up gets us nowhere, so continuing is a good option. When you make it, some will come back, many will join and the naysayers regret and wished they had stayed. Tsem Rinpoche)
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Wednesday, Oct 22. 2014 12:07 PM)
    Halloween is my favorite holiday. Everything about it brings good memories. Tsem Rinpoche

    http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?nggpu=http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/wp-content/gallery/photos-on-the-go/moby-to-97yzp4.jpg
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Wednesday, Oct 22. 2014 12:05 PM)
    “One isn’t necessarily born with courage, but one is born with potential. Without courage, we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency. We can’t be kind, true, merciful, generous or honest.” ~ Maya Angelou

    http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?nggpu=http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/wp-content/gallery/photos-on-the-go/photo_141006150543_0.jpg

1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · »

Archives

CREDITS

Concept: Tsem Rinpoche
Technical: Lew Kwan Leng, Justin Ripley, Yong Swee Keong
Design: Justin Ripley, Cynthia Lee
Content: Tsem Rinpoche, Khong Jean Mei, Justin Ripley, Shin Tan, Sarah Yap
Writer: Pastor Loh Seng Piow
Admin: Pastor Loh Seng Piow, Beng Kooi

I must thank my dharma blog team who are great assets to me, Kechara and growth of dharma in this wonderful region. I am honoured and thrilled to work with them. I really am. Maybe I don't say it enough to them, but I am saying it now. I APPRECIATE THESE GUYS VERY MUCH!

Tsem Rinpoche

What I am writing now

Scroll down and click on "older messages" to view archived chit messages. Use 'prev' and 'next' links to navigate between pages

The Unknown

The Known and unknown are both feared,
Known is being comfortable and stagnant,
The unknown may be growth and opportunities,
One shall never know if one fears the unknown more than the known.
Who says the unknown would be worse than the known?
But then again, the unknown is sometimes worse than the known. In the end nothing is known unless we endeavour,
So go pursue all the way with the unknown,
because all unknown with familiarity becomes the known.
~Tsem Rinpoche

Photos On The Go

Click on the images to view the bigger version. And scroll down and click on "View All Photos" to view more images.
Beautiful. Please share with other spiritual friends. 
3 days ago
This is one of the funniest things I've seen in a long time! I laughed till I teared..please watch: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=53930
6 days ago
Wait till you see the pictures this photographer caught in portraits in order to evoke some feelings in us: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=53879
6 days ago
Guess what we did on Mt Rinjani? See: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=53342
6 days ago
Modern Buddhist Fellowship members joining in celebrations in Kechara.  October 24, 2014
6 days ago
This is a Cockatoo named Boy. He was in a small cage alone most of the time for 22 years. The owner finally relented and let us rescue Boy and be put in a large huge outdoor aviary with friends and fresh air. He came to us on October 24, 2014. 
6 days ago
October 24, 2014-Pastor Shin giving a talk in Kechara House. 
1 week ago
October 24, 2014-Was presented with lots of flowers today. How kind. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 week ago
Mark Twain once said, “Of all the creatures ever made Man is the most detestable. He’s the only creature that inflicts pain for sport, knowing it to be pain.” ~ From Earthlings, http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/animals-vegetarianism/earthlings.html
1 week ago
The highest achievements are usually done alone.~Tsem Rinpoche (Sometimes the further you move up and achieve, the less people will be around or unable to keep up. Some cannot understand, accept or wish to do more and they can drop off. Some may wish you well but cannot keep up anyways. The higher your goals, the less most are able to understand or envision. Some may be even against you. But what is important is you stay focused and consistent. After all big achievements are done by only a few and not the majority. Highest achievements are usually done alone or with a very few. Stamina, vision, consistency, focus, care, responsibility and sometimes even a sense of compassion is necessary to achieve anything big. Giving up gets us nowhere, so continuing is a good option. When you make it, some will come back, many will join and the naysayers regret and wished they had stayed. Tsem Rinpoche)
1 week ago
Since I was a young boy I wished to live in this type of environment. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 week ago
Halloween is my favorite holiday. Everything about it brings good memories. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 week ago
This is my dream home, dream location and a place where I would spiritually grow. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 week ago
"I like doing things that are going to last longer than a minute in the world."~ Christy Turlington
1 week ago
Click on this picture to enlarge and tell me what they are doing? Tsem Rinpoche 
2 weeks ago
"One isn't necessarily born with courage, but one is born with potential. Without courage, we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency. We can't be kind, true, merciful, generous or honest." ~ Maya Angelou
4 weeks ago
Mother gorilla's heart- A child fell into the gorilla cage. She broke her arms and legs and she was unconcious. A male gorilla came and tried to hurt her. Luckily, a female gorilla rescued her by chasing other gorillas away not to hurt her. This is an instinct of mother animals that take care of their babies. The mother gorilla climbed the 57 ft wall and took the girl to the zoo officer. The girl was sent to hospital and the doctor cured her. Thanks to mother gorilla's kind heart. -From FB (Please always be kind to animal. Never hurt them, kill them or eat them. Tsem Rinpoche)
4 weeks ago
October 3, 2014-Karen said there were even people in the Gifts Department of Kechara participating in Blog Chat today. Wonderful to learn. Tsem Rinpoche
4 weeks ago
October 3, 2014-William, Pastor David, Pastor Jean Ai and Jean Mei preparing for blog chat. Nice people here!
4 weeks ago
October 3, 2014-In Kechara Forest Retreat, the room is filled with Kecharians on the blog chat right now. According to Pastor Adeline who sent the photo, the whole room is buzzing with blurping sounds from blog chat!! LOL. I like this when people learn the dharma. Tsem Rinpoche
4 weeks ago
I've been friends with Dato' Ruby for nearly 20 years. When I asked her to head the Kechara Soup Kitchen she immediately agreed and put all her energy into making it successful. Many are benefitted by this. Kechara is committed to continuing to benefit others. Thank you. Tsem Rinpoche
4 weeks ago
Our likes and dislikes are impermanent, so don't be stuck.~Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
LOL. This guy is cute!
4 weeks ago
Please sign this petition. It will take five minutes to make a difference. Tsem Rinpoche https://action.hsi.org/ea-action/action?ea.client.id=104&ea.campaign.id=31967&ea.tracking.id=facebook
4 weeks ago
When this female named Dorothy died of heart failure, all the chimpanzee family came out of the forest to say good bye..... the most stunning reaction was a recurring, almost tangible silence, reported staff at Cameroon’s Sanaga-Yong Chimpanzee Rescue Centre. If you know chimpanzees, then you know that they are not usually silent beings. I think it’s beautiful how many of the chimps are touching each others’ shoulders.~from Butterbin
4 weeks ago
Praise to the Lady Buddha who eliminates all source of suffering. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
This is a cool snapshot! I love the paranormal mysteries. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
Our Kechara's Dato' Ruby is on this month's cover of prestige magazine for her work in our Soup Kitchen. Congratulations to a kind lady and my good friend. Tsem Rinpoche
4 weeks ago
Is it time to worry? You tell me. See what I'm talking about please: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=53452
4 weeks ago
How nice that Caryl Dumaine Lamont Munson reminds us that although the contest is over, the goal of the contest is still to be achieved. See what he is talking about: Win A Manjushri: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=52496 Thank you so much. Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
Once in a while we step through something magical that gives us hope and we continue on. ~Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
New species of herbivores discovered in USA...LOL...Tsem R
1 month ago
Must read this chart and share. TR
1 month ago
This is excellent! Save photo!
1 month ago
These two bright young people arrived in Los Angeles today to visit and help. They are very sincere and caring people. Glad to see them. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
If you want to read about compassion, strength, wisdom and fortitude, get this special edition of Essence. I did. Wonderful and a lot to learn from this lady of wisdom Ms. Maya Angelou. Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
The holy Tsongkapa image when He first arrived to Kechara.  Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
The other day I mentioned to my US team that it would be nice to have a oversized Monoply set to play with everyone for good clean relaxation sometimes. Guess what? Pastor Moh Mei secretly got us a set!! How thoughtful and sweet. Thank you very much. I appreciate it very much. Especially the thought. Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
His Holiness Kyabje Zong Dorje Chang
1 month ago
His Holiness the current Kyabje Pabongka Rinpoche. Who is very learned and spends much time in deep meditational retreats. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche said that Pabongka Rinpoche has merged and became one with Heruka-Chakrasamvara already and those who see fault in Pabongka Rinpoche do not have merits. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
I gave a special talk on equanimity, I am sure it will help you to understand this subject better: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=42419
1 month ago
Every week we have blog chat, this is Kecharians in E-division preparing for the blog chats. Nice to see this. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
When I see this, I primarily think of my guru and dharma friends immediately. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
Beautiful people bring happiness to others. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
Don't break another person's heart, it's hard to mend. ~Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
I have just finished doing 50+ tweets on mind, Buddhism, spirituality, acceptance, love, entanglements, thoughts and inner battles. Do enjoy reading them and sharing them. It might help someone I humbly hope. I do so every few days to share about wisdom, kechara and our spiritual journey. If it can reach people and benefit them, why not. Our lives and being alive is totally about benefitting others. That is the purpose of breathing and being human... Tsem Rinpoche Do follow me on tweets: http://www.twitter.com/tsemtulku
1 month ago
I would love to live in the Mt. Shasta area of Northern California. It has been recognized by the Native American Indian people to be a spiritually charged area. It has a power vortex under the ground in that area that energizes the place to be very blessed for spiritual practice, meditation and contemplations. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
Dear Andree Duckworth, Thank you very much for your feedback on our Kechara Pastors. They work very hard, they have great knowledge and very patient. I started the program so people who wish to bring dharma to others can have a lay life as well as a spiritual life recognized by others. Halfway to monk/nun-hood without being ordained. So naming them Pastors and having basic lay vows is good and it helps the public in Malaysia to identify with them easily. It worked out very much. I hope you will let them know you are benefitted by their hardwork. They will appreciate it very much as I do. Tsem R
1 month ago
Click on "View All Photos" above to view more images

Videos On The Go

Please click on the images to watch video
  • -
    -
    Mumu always prepares his bed this way before sleeping. Cute.
    7 days ago
  • Watch what Jason Clare said in parliament
    Watch what Jason Clare said in parliament
    Description
    1 week ago
  • Super cute attack. Have to watch!!
    Super cute attack. Have to watch!!
    4 weeks ago
  • -
    -
    They pump 'things' into poultry to make it look plump and bigger to attract you to buy. Then you eat whatever they've pumped and think how it builds up in your body? Is your taste buds worth it to risk your health? Tsem Rinpoche
    4 weeks ago
  • -
    -
    Look at this 2 minute video, while Hong Kong is having massive protests,right over the skyline of a city a UFO is spotted observing.. Incredible footage. UFO's are historically said to always gather where there is massive conflicts or congregations of people for hundreds of years.
    4 weeks ago
  • -
    -
    See this video and do share with friends. See what happens at 1:10........Om Mani Peme Hung Watch it for the sake of the beings within in enduring what they have to endure. Don't think about how you feel because you are not there, but how they feel. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 month ago
  • -
    -
    I just purchased an empty locket from an art store for around $10 and had a nice picture of His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche inserted in the front and His Holiness Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche inserted on the others side at home. Attached a str...ing and it's good to wear for blessings. Look how beautiful. I am the type, I devote myself to my practice but I remember it is the sole kindness of the guru's teachings. Without the guru there is no dharma at all as I cannot speak to Buddha directly. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 month ago
  • -
    -
    I was gifted this wonderful blingy shiny new pen by a spiritual friend. I didn't know Swarovski pens write so smoothly. I am going to enjoy writing with this. Thank you Jessica Pimentel. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 month ago
  • Is this the Loch Ness monster?
    Is this the Loch Ness monster?
    Description
    2 months ago
  • -
    -
    In Kechara Forest Retreat we have a large aviary with many rescued birds and tortoises. We just built a nice pool for them to cool down in. Tsem Rinpoche
    2 months ago
  • Rescuing dog in LA river
    Rescuing dog in LA river
    2 months ago
  • This is a very inspiring video by Jim Carrey you must see
    This is a very inspiring video by Jim Carrey you must see
    2 months ago
  • Dalai Lama watching TV
    Dalai Lama watching TV
    2 months ago
  • Dog with a heart of Gold
    Dog with a heart of Gold
    Description
    3 months ago
  • 14th Dalai Lama with Mrs.Indira Gandhi , Delhi INDIA 1966
    14th Dalai Lama with Mrs.Indira Gandhi , Delhi INDIA 1966
    5 months ago
  • The Girl Who Couldn't Cry - Water is Life
    The Girl Who Couldn't Cry - Water is Life
    It's really hard to educate a generation of people born in conditions where they take things for granted. A simple slogan campaign that says, "Save water, It's precious" isn't sticky enough to make inroads. That's exactly where this video steps in: to make people realize how precious water actually is. A brilliant video that follows the heartbreaking story of a young girl that cannot cry. Sounds like fiction? Sadly, it is not.
    6 months ago
  • -
    -
    Dear everyone, All sentient beings deserve to live, be happy and not hurt, including animals. We should never hurt them or eat them. Look how much this chicken welcomes a hug and love. Observe carefully. Don't eat beings who can feel pain because the karma comes back. Tsem Rinpoche
    6 months ago
  • The appreciation shown here is so deep and touching.
    The appreciation shown here is so deep and touching.
    Dear friends, See this incredible video. This chimp was found in captivity for many years. Dr Jane Goodall released him into the wild. Look how he comes back to thank her with deep apprecition. It's amazing. Animals have such strong feelings of pain and happiness just like us. We should never hurt them and share with others to not hurt them. Tsem Rinpoche http://www.tsemrinpoche.com
    6 months ago
  • Aki drinking some water in the aviary
    Aki drinking some water in the aviary
    Aki is a rescued bird, he now lives in Kechara Forest Retreat Aviary
    8 months ago
  • Jamyang enjoying some fresh corn
    Jamyang enjoying some fresh corn
    Jamyang is one of our rescue birds that live in Kechara Forest Retreat Aviary
    8 months ago
  • The Cute Mumus Practising Dog Orchestra at Kechara Forest Retreat
    The Cute Mumus Practising Dog Orchestra at Kechara Forest Retreat
    Today the Mumus (dogs) decided to do a dog orchestra rehearsal together with the Kechara Forest Retreat (KFR) dogs.
    8 months ago
  • -
    -
    Gongkar is our new bird for Kechara Forest Retreat's aviary. Gongkar never had friends and the original owner could not bring him to his destination. Now he is with us and assimilating in his cage within the aviary for a few weeks then released into aviary. Look at how much he wants attention from the other birds. Cute. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 years ago
  • Mumu, Oser and Dharma running and having a good time. I love seeing them playing. Tsem Rinpoche
    Mumu, Oser and Dharma running and having a good time. I love seeing them playing. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 years ago
  • Mumus running at Kechara Forest Retreat
    Mumus running at Kechara Forest Retreat
    1 years ago
  • Kechara Forest Retreat panorama, September 2013
    Kechara Forest Retreat panorama, September 2013
    1 years ago
  • -
    -
    Dechog our cockatoo at Kechara Forest Retreat grabbing long beans which he loves. Nice bird. We love him. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 years ago
  • The mumus having outdoor evening stroll!!!
    The mumus having outdoor evening stroll!!!
    1 years ago
  • -
    -
    17 May 2013, heavy rain at Kechara Forest Retreat from 7am-8am (1 hour). Water overflowed the existing drain and also opened up a much wider new "route" for itself.
    1 years ago
  • Must see video from Rajendra on our disciplined dogs
    Must see video from Rajendra on our disciplined dogs
    2 yearss ago
  • -
    -
    Dato' Ruby won the Bella Awards!
    2 yearss ago

ASK A PASTOR


A section for you to clarify your Dharma questions with Kechara’s esteemed pastors.

Just post your name and your question below and one of our pastors will provide you with an answer.

Scroll down and click on "View All Questions" to view archived questions.

View All Questions
Today's quota for questions has been filled. Please come back tomorrow to re-submit your question

SUPPORT THIS BLOG


Featured Books


Related Links To Myself

My Blog in Chinese:
zhandugu.blog.163.com
My website:
www.tsemtulku.com
My organisation's website:
www.kechara.com





CHAT PICTURES

We can eat so many things without touching animals.~#tsemtulku_PB
54 minutes ago
"We all want to live a happy life and this is our basic right."~H.H.DalaiLama_Hee TS
1 hour ago
Saving lives helps to save our life~#tsemtulku_PB
1 hour ago
Not eating animals doesn't hurt us in any way but actually helps us~#tsemtulku_PB
1 hour ago
When we pursue our goals, being consistent is necessary ~ ‪H.E.Tsem Tulku Rinpoche_Hee TS
1 hour ago
Prayers help us to reach a distant dimension & the residing special beings.~Tsem Tulku Rinpoche_Hee TS
1 hour ago
Gift to Rinpoche from The Khongs on his birthday. Concept by Elisa Khong. DR.
1 hour ago
Datin Paduka Senator Chew Mei Fun, Deputy Minister of Women, Family & Community Development of Malaysia joined Kechara's soup kitchen in our midnight food distribution rounds to have a better understanding of the situation of the homeless and urban poor. DR.
1 hour ago
Gizmo and Luilui paying homage to Buddha Shakyamuni in Wisdom Hall, Kechara Forest Retreat. DR.
1 hour ago
Aren't they cute? Cranberry doggy biscuits for our cute mumus aka doggies of Tsem Ladrang. Freshly baked by a pet's cafe in Ikano, PJ. DR.
1 hour ago
Eight auspicious signs and Sensory offerings as seen in our souvenir shop in Kechara Forest Retreat, Bentong. DR.
1 hour ago
Our souvenir shop in Kechara Forest Retreat, Bentong. So elegant and well stocked. DR.
2 hours ago
Here you go. The cousins aka receptionists welcoming 40 students from Kojadi Institute. Hehehe. DR.
2 hours ago
Little Victoria came to visit after school. A seven year old who thinks and talks like an adult. She's such a bright girl. DR.
2 hours ago
I miss my Guru so much. DR.
2 hours ago
View of Vajrayogini Stupa from Wisdom Hall. DR.
2 hours ago
Vajrayogini Stupa Garden in Kechara Forest Retreat, Bentong. What's left to be done is landscaping. DR.
2 hours ago
They are DEFINITELY Kecharians! DR.
2 hours ago
Path to Kechara. DR.
2 hours ago
One of the quiet corners one can read, meditate or just chill out. The Japanese Garden in Kechara Forest Retreat, Bentong. DR.
2 hours ago
從克切拉禪修林藥師佛山補抓的美景。美嗎?Pastor Adeline
5 hours ago
Gyabshi puja is starting now, five of the Puja teams are join in. Pastor Yek Yee
6 hours ago
Preparing torma for Gyabshi puja. Pastor Yek Yee
7 hours ago
The secret of torma making is set up a good motivation, patient, focus, full of care & love.Pastor Yek Yee
7 hours ago
Preparing for a Gyabshi puja now at Puja House. Pastor Yek Yee
7 hours ago

YOUR FEEDBACK

We are continously improving this blog, and a major upgrade will be coming in the near future. We invite all users to share your feedback with us, so that the next version of the blog will be even better. Just enter your comments in the space below.

Page Views By Country
Malaysia 1,844,573
United States 953,439
Singapore 330,268
United Kingdom 201,615
Canada 181,372
Australia 165,096
India 125,630
Philippines 80,585
Thailand 58,943
Indonesia 65,458
Germany 57,876
France 35,267
Netherlands 33,039
Italy 27,904
Hong Kong 26,765
Bhutan 31,167
Spain 25,073
New Zealand 24,156
Romania 25,021
Taiwan 27,249
Brazil 24,770
Mexico 19,454
Nepal 20,034
Portugal 18,799
Sweden 19,528
Switzerland 22,891
Hungary 14,029
Sri Lanka 12,694
United Arab Emirates 13,168
Japan 15,256
Greece 13,449
Vietnam 14,395
South Africa 12,699
Ireland 12,688
Poland 14,504
Bulgaria 11,948
Pakistan 10,084
Saudi Arabia 8,786
Russia 10,746
Total Pageviews: 4,866,185

Login