Chef Lim Organic Kitchen – Restaurant Review

Dec 24, 2012 | Views: 1,277
Share this article

[Disclaimer: The following review has been reviewed by the Vegetarian Restaurant Review team]

  

Overview

Located at Scotts Garden on Old Klang Road, Chef Lim Organic Kitchen is dedicated to bring healthy food to their patrons. Opened less than a year ago, Chef Lim Organic Kitchen is already well-known for their healthy and delicious choice of meals. It was conceptualized by a group of people experienced and dedicated to bring healthy dining to Malaysians. They have, however, taken one step further to cater delicious dishes suitable for those with medical conditions such as hypertension, diabetes and even cancer patients. 


Reviewer’s Rating

Interior  -  3.5/5

The restaurant has a bright, clean and modern look. Catered for people of all ages, race and background, Chef Lim Organic Kitchen certainly gives one a pleasant dining experience. Emphasizing on health benefits through dining and lifestyle, they provide their patrons with a smoke-free environment. Upon request, the restaurant provides a private room for small gatherings above 30 pax. For gatherings of less than 20 pax, there is also a private section on the dining floor. The restaurant can fit up to 250 pax, and still have ample space to move around. 

 Private corner for small gatherings.  Inside looking out.
 Their table setting with a Lazy Susan.  Simple and elegant.
 Outside looking in. Community bulletin board.

 

Food  -  4/5

The food in Chef Lim Organic Kitchen is original, unique and healthy. Although they do not serve 100% organic food, all of their servings contain 70 – 80% organic ingredients, while the remaining consists of the highest graded natural product available in the market. Skilfully, their chefs produce delicious, healthy organic vegetarian dishes. They do not use any mock meat, instead, they substitute it with home made fu-chuk (Chinese bean curd skin) to provide a meaty texture. Their food contains no MSG, no colouring and no artificial flavouring – only naturally sourced flavourings are used. It is also an egg, milk, onion and garlic free restaurant; so it is very much suitable for our vegan friends. Catered for people with medical conditions, one can request for the food to consist of less salt and sugar. 

One of their signature dishes is their “Coconut Tom Yam”. Made using their homemade tom yam paste and young coconut water, the Tom Yam soup is an absolute treat (with hardly any oil!). Every ingredient used is fresh and unprocessed, even their button mushroom is fresh and not the ones we get from a can.

One of the more surprising dishes is their garlic bread. Why? No garlic is used! Instead, to simulate the taste of garlic, they use various natural flavouring to produce the garlic flavour. The bread is very thinly sliced and oven baked till crispy. Another surprising dish on the menu is their cheese cake, and yes you’ve guessed it – it does not contain any cheese! To substitute cheese, yoghurt is used.

Wild mushroom spaghetti Japanese style  Yam basket
Coconut Tom Yam Three Slice Lotus
Fruit Tea Garlic Bread

 Cheese Cake

 

Pricing  - 4/5

When compared with other vegetarian restaurants, Chef Lim Organic Kitchen is slightly more expensive. However, this is because a high percentage of their ingredients are organic. For a healthy and delicious meal, the price to pay is totally worth it. For example, their serving of Coconut Tom Yum (as shown above) is at RM 18.

 

Vegetarian Selection  - 4.5/5

At a quick glance, anyone can tell that their menu has a wide selection. However, upon a closer look at the choices available, it is very obvious that they cater towards people from all walks of life. They included many standard dishes that first time vegetarians (or non-vegetarians for that matter!) would feel comfortable with. There is also a wide selection for youngsters who usually prefers Western or Japanese cuisine. A very well-thought of menu.

 

Service  -  4.5/5

Excellent. Everything about this restaurant is aimed towards customer satisfaction. They accept personal requests for their patrons and try their best to create a delicious meal according to their customer’s preference. This is an excellent attitude because they cater their dining experience towards those with strict diets due to their medical condition. Their flexibility in listening to what their patrons wants gives them very good points for this evaluation point. Another factor that made their service excellent, is that 5% of their service charge is donated to charity homes such as orphanages, old folks home, OKU etc. 

 


Find your way there!


Chef Lim Organic Kitchen

Address: Lot 2-47, 2-48 & 2-49, The Scott Garden, 4 1/2 Miles, Jalan Klang Lama, 58200, Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan

Contact: 03-7982 3395

Fanpage: https://www.facebook.com/cheflimorganic/

Opening hours: Mon – Friday (11 am – 3 pm; 5 pm – 11 pm); Sat & Sun (11 am – 11 pm)

Features:

  • Vegan friendly
  • Food catered for people with health conditions (inform waiter to get a meal suitable for your diet)
  • Catering services
  • Walk in/ Reservation
  • Small/ Large gatherings
  • Private room for above 30 pax; call in advance for booking
  • Smart casual
  • Credit card accepted

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Please support us so that we can continue to bring you more Dharma:

If you are in the United States, please note that your offerings and contributions are tax deductible. ~ the tsemrinpoche.com blog team

Share this article

28 Responses to Chef Lim Organic Kitchen – Restaurant Review

  1. Wah Ying on Dec 24, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Three Slice Lotus and Wild Mushroom Japanese Spagetti look yummy. This restaurant’s interior design is modern and Western. Restaurant which provides tasty and healthy vegetarian food actually could promote vegetarianism. They show people vegetarianism can be tasty and nice as non-vegetarianism.

  2. Judy on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:24 am

    I liked th the restaurant layout as it is very clean, no frills. In these days of modern living, it is welcoming to see places like Chef Lim offering healthy and wholesome food for the people. In a way, restaurants play a part in society to care for people’s well being. It is not just about making money.

  3. tenzin llhamo on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    Thank you! I didn’t know that Scott Garden has an Organic Restaurant. It is very convenient nowadays as people are more aware of the benefits of being vegetarian. I prefer to have organic food compared to vegetarian restaurant that use mock meat. So not a fan of mock meat….
    And the best part is that those good organic food chefs can work wonders with the ingredients they have and it doesn’t even feel like its a substitute. I will definitely go try it when I am near by.

  4. Girlie Ooi on Dec 24, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Old Klang Road area is not on my list when I look for food. Thank you Team for this review. I will give it a try. The Wild Mushroom spaghetti looks yummy!

  5. MayOng on Dec 24, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    I just asked Rena about the location of this place, Scott Garden and its actually located right beside the Old Klang Road main road in a new building. You cannot miss it if you are driving by.

    I will make time to go there to try with the family. Looks yummy and delicious. Another wonderful vegetarian restaurant to look forward to.

  6. grace (KHJB) on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    thank you for introduction, the restaurant look nice and cosy.the cheese cake look nice.will try it when happen pass by.

  7. Low ksjc on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    Thanks to the review team,for giving us more choices for good vegetarian restaurant around town.Will give it a try when we are passing by those area.

  8. Jace Chong on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    Thanks for sharing this nice restaurant, looks like vegetarian dining has wide selection now.

    The post remind me of the same restaurant at Kayu Ara, near our working place Sunwaymas Commercial Center, I didn’t know they have another branch at Old Klang Road.

    Anyway, I know the boss through an event many years ago. I used to look for him to help in some charity events, they sponsored one of my charity event for teenagers, all vegetarian and healthy food. They also sponsored “kuih” to sell during one of Kechara Wesak Fair, and finger food in some other events.

    If I am not mistaken, the boss is a Christian, he is very open, he say to me, no matter what religion we are belonged to, we practice to help others. He told me that he has a lot of rich friends, who want to spend their money in good way, he collects donations from them to buy and cook nice food and send to orphanage and old folks homes. How kind!

    I hope their efforts can inspire more people to dine with compassion and love.

    Buddha blesses you too =)

  9. Milly on Dec 25, 2012 at 12:42 am

    The food looks yummy with nice food presentation. I look forward to trying the tom yam and spaghetti. The decor is pleasant and neat. We are spoilt for choice these days with many vegetarian restaurants sprouting up in town.

  10. Lim (KH JB) on Dec 25, 2012 at 2:50 am

    Thanks review team for the recommendation, the foods look so delicious with a cozy place and decorations…

    Wow, feel hungry now… LOL…

    We got no more excuses to say very hard to find vegetarian foods again…

  11. June Tang(KHJB) on Dec 25, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Thank you Rinpoche for sharing this article. I will give it a try if I am at KL. From the pictures, i can feel the cosy place with good food served . Coconut Tom Yam looks very delicious !!vegetarian is the way to good health!! You not only save a lot of animals, you have a healthy body and lifestyle!

  12. Darren Kechara Paradise on Dec 25, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Thanks Rinpoche for sharing the review, will visit one day as it’s just a 5 minute drive from my home. :)

  13. Carmen K. on Dec 25, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    Yummy! I LOVE tomyum! That tom yum soup looks delicious. Glad to know that we have more no frills, simple restaurants focussing on vegetarian food here in KL. The reviews are a great help for me to find places to eat around KL when I’m lost on where to go!

  14. Erickksiow on Dec 25, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Another restaurant that we can go an check it out, the foods look healthy and tasty.

    Thank You Rinpoche for sharing to us. :)

    Best Regards : Erickksiow

  15. patsy on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    The restaurant looks clean and pleasant.The dishes are very varied and fusion ranging from Chinese, Western and Thai. From the reviews, the ratings are high so this will be my next “must try” food destination:)

  16. Wan Wai Meng on Dec 27, 2012 at 1:38 am

    This is a eating place with an altruistic intention built into it. This seems like a fusion vegetarian restaurant somewhere I definitely want to go to.

  17. Uncle Eddie on Dec 27, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    Though eating is said to be a national pastime in Malaysia, be them chinese, western, Malay, Indian or Thai, finding a really good vegetarian cusine restuarant is sometimes truly hard to do. Inspite of the variety of common vegeterian food is endless as said, yet one must be familarised on how or where to locate the same. Unless you are familar, it may seem difficult to find a good vegetarian restuarant, not to mention an “organic” orientated one as advertised in this blog. As said “a picture speaks louder than a thousand words”, but when eating is concerned, its in the eating and taste that suits the taster that counts. So therefore, a real visit to chef Lim’s organic kitchen restuarant seems all the more necessary!

  18. Joy on Dec 27, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    I really like seeing that there is more and more “creative” vegetarian restaurants popping up here and there in KL. Malaysia is pretty slow in catching on this healthy natural culture of being vegetarian/organic… but through the increase in demand from customers will create the supply.

    This is why it is so important for us to actually ask for more vegetarian food in restaurants and cafes… this will be noticed by the owners and hence create the supply for it. Even secret recipe has now started to join the band wagon of going green and created a few handful of vegetarian branch cafes and I must say their food is not bad.

    It is also how we present vegetarian cuisine is very important as 90% of the population are still quite sceptical and think that vegetarian food is boring. But being creative in its taste, style of presentation is extremely important right up to the ambience.

    Our very own Kechara Oasis have done a brilliant job in this section http://www.kecharaoasis.com/default.shtml and we’re getting more and more positie respond for events and wedding functions to be vegetarian. We know how hard the market it esp for chinese weddings… but they Irene and her crew have managed to penetrated the market and change people’s misconception that it is boring… in fact we’re very stylish… more then the meaty restaurants I must say :) Kudos to Kechara Oasis!!!

  19. Venix on Dec 27, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    Thanks for sharing Rinpoche.
    I will try it out soon and may Chef Lim Organic Kitchen well and continue to bring benefits to more people.

  20. Han on Dec 27, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    I brought many friends to this restaurant, overall they quite like the dishes, some commented some dishes a bit pricey. Even the western food, pizza all are very tasty!

    Thanks Rinpoche for sharing this post

  21. Albert Ratchaga on Dec 28, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    The coconut tom yam looks good, first time hearing this. Vegetarian restaurant is not as popular as normal restaurant, that’s why they need to come out a lot of new ideas, new design and new environment to attract people. Now, Vegetarian food is getting more and more popular and higher demand than before.

    In life, it is also the same, when we are in the advantage situation, we will slack and start to let our guard off, but when we are in difficult situation, we are in disadvantage, we will fight to go up, fight for the advantage, hence, being in the disadvantage is actually a privilege, because it makes us stronger.

  22. AdelineTan on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:45 am

    The layout of this restaurant is very modern, elegant and clean. The menus are suitable for all ages and they also cater for people who have medical problems that require special diets, very thoughtful of Chef Lim, on top of that they also donated 5% of their service charge to charitable organisations. The pictures showed the Japanese wild mushroom spaghetti, yam basket and cheese cake looked so delicious and they are organic very good for health.

  23. Khong Jean Mei on Dec 31, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    This review REALLY makes me wanna go to Chef Lim to eat! Haha what a well written vegetarian restaurant review!

    I really like how the restaurant accommodates to the patrons request. For a picky eater like myself, this is a real pull-factor! Haha

    There are a lot of Chinese vegetarian restaurants around, and sometimes that little extra touch makes all the difference. The extra care, the extra attentiveness and the extra effort to accommodate to the customers, hopefully makes Chef Lim stand out.

    I can’t wait to go! Will write my opinion here once I’ve eaten there! x

  24. Sharon Saw on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:48 am

    This restaurant looks really good and the food seems healthy. As a diabetic, it is not easy to find healthy food when eating out. Organic restaurants are always very health conscious and this seems to be the same. i look forward to trying it out. Thank you to the blog team for always looking out for good vegetarian outlets!

  25. Sean Wang on Jul 18, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    I just told my mother about this place. Hopefully we can go there one day when she feels better! The food looks very delicious and service seems very good. The Japanese style Mushroom Spaghetti looks very delicious. I really want to try it now.

  26. Carmen Lin @ KMP on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    Thank you so much of sharing this, I have tried it out and it’s delicious, planning to hang out there more often. The environment is simple and spacious, the food is delicious had a pasta there the other day, wanted to try something else the next time I go there. Cheers.

  27. Sean Wang on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    This restaurant looks very interesting. I really would like to try the japanese spaghetti. It is good to see that there are many vegetarian restaurants that are embracing a modern feel to it! I really like it!

  28. discount pizza coupons on Jan 7, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    If Cairo is the only remain in Egypt then ride a felucca in Maadi associated
    with downtown. They offer all types of CCTV and access control systems.
    Is actually usually cheaper even more scenic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

 

BLOG CHAT

Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you.

Tsem Rinpoche


 

Scheduled Chat Sessions

Every Wednesday: 10-11pm (GMT+8) | Wednesday, 6am (PST)
Every Saturday: 11am-12pm (GMT+8) | Friday, 7pm (PST)

Upcoming Discussion Topics

  • Kechara YAK: A Living Hell? (Sun) 1/Feb/2015 9-930pm (GMT+8)
  • Our main Practice is Mind Transformation, Accepting, Forgiving, and Compassion (Wed)
  • Amongst White Clouds (Sat)

Please come and join in the chat for a fun time and support. See you all there.

 


Blog Chat Etiquette

These are some simple guidelines to make the blog chat room a positive, enjoyable and enlightening experience for everyone. Please note that as this is a chat room, we chat! Do not flood the chat room, or post without interacting with others.

Be friendly

Remember that these are real people you are chatting with. They may have different opinions to you and come from different cultures. Treat them as you would face to face, and respect their opinions, and they will treat you the same.

Be Patient

Give the room a chance to answer you. Patience is a virtue. And if after awhile, people don't respond, perhaps they don't know the answer or they did not see your question. Do ask again or address someone directly. Do not be offended if people do not or are unable to respond to you.

Be Relevant

This is the blog of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche. Please respect this space. We request that all participants here are respectful of H.E. Tsem Rinpoche and his organisation, Kechara.

Be polite

Avoid the use of language or attitudes which may be offensive to others. If someone is disrespectful to you, ignore them instead of arguing with them.

Please be advised that anyone who contravenes these guidelines may be banned from the chatroom. Banning is at the complete discretion of the administrator of this blog. Should anyone wish to make an appeal or complaint about the behaviour of someone in the chatroom, please copy paste the relevant chat in an email to us at care@kechara.com and state the date and time of the respective conversation.

Please let this be a conducive space for discussions, both light and profound.


NEW! TsemRinpoche.com Navigation Video!

Find out how to navigate through Rinpoche's blog for a better browsing experience.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mh_PbIYDHSg

KECHARA FOREST RETREAT PROGRESS UPDATES

Here is the latest news and pictorial updates, as it happens, of our upcoming forest retreat project.

The Kechara Forest Retreat is a unique holistic retreat centre focused on the total wellness of body, mind and spirit. This is a place where families and individuals will find peace, nourishment and inspiration in a natural forest environment. At Kechara Forest Retreat, we are committed to give back to society through instilling the next generation with universal positive values such as kindness and compassion.

For more information, please read here (english), here (chinese), or the official site: retreat.kechara.com.



Dear blog friends,

I’ve created this section for all of you to share your opinions, thoughts and feelings about whatever interests you.

Everyone has a different perspective, so this section is for you

Name:
Email:
For:  
Mail will not be published
  • tsemtulku
    (Thursday, Jan 29. 2015 01:38 PM)
    Every single day now I look forward very much to the day coming soon where the disappointing ban against the World Peace Buddha Protector Dorje Shugden will be over. It will be soon. Everything the Tibetan leadership has said against the Dorje Shugden practice has not made any sense. At first it sounded good, but as time goes on, educated people are examining their claims and coming to the conclusion it does not make sense. More are speaking out. Any government or leader should never criticize or ‘advise’ against any religious faith, path or practice. It is politically wrong not to mention it infringes on our religious freedom. If you don’t like a certain religious path, you keep it to yourself and not announce it publicly disappointing many.Un-democratic. What is important is look at the person not their skin color, race, religion or economic background. Religious apartheid must be removed even in the ‘advices’ we give others. Tsem Rinpoche
  • tsemtulku
    (Wednesday, Jan 28. 2015 03:05 PM)
    Dorje Shugden followers in the millions will not abandon their practice. So it would be good leaders of the Dorje Shugden practicing community met with the Tibetan leadership to work out something that will be a win-win situation for both sides. His Holiness Dalai Lama wants to meet the Chinese current leaders to resolve the Tibet issue. Why not meet the Shugden followers to resolve this issue too? Why forgive one ‘enemy’ and ignore another?~Tsem Rinpoche (Please read more here: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57431)
  • tsemtulku
    (Wednesday, Jan 28. 2015 04:59 AM)
    Bradley Kassian: Might interest a few people here. It’s amazing what can pop up on youtube these days. This initiation of Dorje Shugden was conferred in Los Angeles in the 1980s onto Geshe Tsultim Gyeltsen’s own students in Thubten Dhargye Ling. Prior to Kyabje Zong Rinpoche giving the advice, Geshe-la formally requested Kyabje Zong Rinpoche to give an initiation of Dorje Shugden. Geshe Tsultim Gyeltsen was a very strong and devoted practitioner of Dorje Shugden and you can hear Geshe Tsultim Gyeltsen’s voice at the beginning of the video. After the formal request was made, Kyabje Zong Rinpoche himself, who is the overlord of all tantric mandalas, gave the profound initiation of Dorje Shugden to Geshe-la and all his disciples. And thereafter, Geshe-la and all his students practiced Dorje Shugden very strongly and very devotedly until the ban. : http://youtu.be/f6KuCPKDuCI
  • abby foo
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 08:01 PM)
    Now I understand, spirituality is NEVER about how great my practice, my Guru, my lineage are. Spirituality is NOT a competition of I am better than you or I am the best, spirituality is NEVER about right or wrong, higher or lower, bad or good. All these are what make us bitter and unhappy, and are the reasons why we came to seek spirituality because we know deep down inside we should be someone with a more opened heart that accepts and tolerates. Why putting ourselves back to the bitter situation again when we are in spiritual?

    Then what is spirituality? From Tsem Rinpoche’s actions and teachings, I know loyalty IS spirituality. Humble, tolerance, respect, understanding, keeping promises and being kind are spirituality no matter what you practice, no matter what is your religion/belief. All the qualities above have nothing to do with what your religion/belief are, but how you act, speak and think determine if you are a spiritual person.

    Those who don’t like Dorje Shugden, why keep condemning people over and over? Why speaks against it over and over? If you think you going to stop people from getting ‘harm’ because Dorje Shugden is bad, your intention is to stop harm, but why end up you actually CREATING HARM everytime you speak against Dorje Shugden and put those who practice it down??? If your intention is pure and kind, then the results should be pure and kind too, but obviously you are hurting people’s belief and emotions, and you show no respect to people.
  • Ashlee
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 05:33 PM)
    Buddhism is about following the true lineage passed down from Buddha Shakyamuni to his disciples and i personally find that Buddhist teachings are very logical hence i continue to learn and practice it by following my Guru, Tsem Tulku Rinpoche. If Dorje Shugden is an enlightened protector practices by high lamas such as Trijang Rinpoche, Zong Rinpoche and passed down to Tsem Rinpoche, how can they be doing the wrong practice? After all, Dorje Shugden is an “Enlightened Protector” and not just any normal worldly protector. Enlightened protector are suppose to help excel our Dharma practice and help us clear away our Dharma obstacles in this degenerate age. Logically speaking, then how can an enlightened protector bring harm to us or even help us to harm others? Also how can an enlightened being harm another enlightened being? That is illogical.Each of us bring with us imprints from previous lives and for some of us, we do have strong affinity with Dorje Shugden due to our practices from previous lives. I personally feel that i have a very strong affinity with Dorje Shugden protector and if it’s good enough for my Lama and his root Gurus and other high lamas to practice it, i think i can safely practice it without any doubt and at the same time still respect H.H. Dalai Lama. Thank you Rinpoche for speaking up.
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 05:25 PM)
    Tsem Rinpoche: I hadn’t spoken up about the Dorje Shugden ‘conflict’ for 15 years. Let me explain why: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57431.
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 05:24 PM)
    When we find kind people, We appreciate them, When we find difficult people, We find ways to forgive them, When we find sad people, We find ways to uplift them, When we find people without hope, We find a way to give them light, By doing this tirelessly, We find our true selves. ~ Tsem Tulku Rinpoche
  • tsemtulku
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 05:08 PM)
    When we find kind people,
    We appreciate them,
    When we find difficult people,
    We find ways to forgive them,
    When we find sad people,
    We find ways to uplift them,
    When we find people without hope,
    We find a way to give them light,
    By doing this tirelessly,
    We find our true selves.~Tsem Tulku Rinpoche
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 01:34 PM)
    Steve Tobias can think beyond the box and yes he is right. I am only doing what my guru has instructed me to do over 26 years ago. No politics, leaders or other masters will change my practice or change what I have promised my guru to do. Guru devotion is everything to me and it always will be. Tsem Rinpoche

    http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/dorje-shugden-people.html
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 01:33 PM)
    Steve Tobias can think beyond the box and yes he is right. I am only doing what my guru has instructed me to do over 26 years ago. No politics, leaders or other masters will change my practice or change what I have promised my guru to do. Guru devotion is everything to me and it always will be. Tsem Rinpoche

    http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/dorje-shugden-people.html
  • Pastor Adeline
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 01:32 PM)
    A comment left on the post: DORJE SHUGDEN PEOPLE http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/tsem-tulku-rinpoche/buddhas-dharma/dorje-shugden-people.html

    Submitted on 2015/01/27 at 8:04 am
    I know that Rinpoche’s actions are making me think more deeply about my practice. I haven’t had a reason to really think about Dorje Shugden before, or what I would do if Rinpoche or Kechara practiced it. It is very taboo, and so it requires contemplation. If it wasn’t taboo, we wouldn’t be thinking deeply about it. If we appreciate Rinpoche’s kindness and think about all he has done, it is impossible run away at the simple mentioning of a dharma protector. Therefore we are forced to confront the topic of Dorje Shugden and come to a conclusion.

    In other words, is it really truthful to ignore every single one of Rinpoche’s blogs, videos, teachings, how he has helped the homeless and animals, how he has spread dharma, because of one thing? That one thing may be big depending on one’s commitments, but if you look Rinpoche has written in detail about the subject to help guide our minds. If it was just a random negative action with no instructions, it would be different.

    I personally may initially feel shock at the announcement, or have opinions, and those opinions change, and I may feel uncomfortable, but comfort is an obstacle to dharma practice. Rinpoche is keeping his commitments with his gurus, and we are supposed to do the same. I don’t need to practice Dorje Shugden, and I’m sure not all Kecharians will either. And during the times that Rinpoche gave me advice, he mentioned many Buddhas and even graciously sent me Buddhas, but not once told me to do this or that dharma protector practice, ever. He genuinely cares about his students. I feel that his real life students feel the same way, which is why many of them do not need to second-guess the choice of the new dharma protector. I thank Rinpoche for allowing me to get out of my routine for a few days to give serious thought about the issue. Whether I have moments of agreeing, disagreeing, re-agreeing, it doesn’t change that when I sit down to do my sadhana I’m not going to change the guru who I visualize as Buddha.

    Between Rinpoche’s two posts on this subject there is a repost from a few years ago when Rinpoche gave offerings to Theravada monks with his students. We would like to think that Dorje Shugden discriminates against Nyingma teachings, and so we are clean if we don’t practice it. If we look right in the tantra vows it says not to spend more than 7 nights in the house of a Hinayana. Does that mean we all discriminate? Or maybe we should investigate the truth further? Here Rinpoche is giving Hinayana monks offerings with his students with nothing but words of admiration. Are we going to pretend that it never happened?

    From Steve Tobias
  • Gina
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 11:38 AM)
    May those who practice Dorje Shugden in India be no longer segregate.
    May they be able to live in peace and practice their deity freely.
    May there be peace among all buddhist brothers and sisters, specially in India.
  • Gina
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 11:35 AM)
    Thank you so much, Tsem Tulku Rinpoche for speaking out your truth!
    Much love here for you and may there be peace and harmony for all.
  • Gina
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 11:33 AM)
    I have been practicing Dorje Shugden for years in the USA. And although I live in a free country and do not feel the limitations and humiliations caused by the Dalai Lama ban upon this practice I have always felt a certain discomfort (almost like shame) to say in public that I am a Shugden practitioner (so, I have to recognize the ban had a psychological impact on my me). Tsem Tulku Rinpoche decision to clarify his position openly on this matter helped me to feel perfectly fine for being a Shugden follower. No I am no longer a shame to speak out: YES, I am s Shugden practicioner!
  • tsemtulku
    (Tuesday, Jan 27. 2015 03:27 AM)
    Protectors are not our main point of worship. Protectors function is not as important as the Buddhas. If we wish to have a altar, in the centre should be our Guru, Buddha or Tsongkapa. Then on the left and right are any Buddhas. Then besides that is the Protectors. We must focus on Lord Tsongkapa for our practice daily or Manjushri, and last practice we do is protector. More important than that is the practice of Lam Rim and Lojong teachings. ~ Tsem Rinpoche

1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · »

Archives

CREDITS

Concept: Tsem Rinpoche
Technical: Lew Kwan Leng, Justin Ripley, Yong Swee Keong
Design: Justin Ripley, Cynthia Lee
Content: Tsem Rinpoche, Khong Jean Mei, Justin Ripley, Shin Tan, Sarah Yap
Writer: Pastor Loh Seng Piow
Admin: Pastor Loh Seng Piow, Beng Kooi

I must thank my dharma blog team who are great assets to me, Kechara and growth of dharma in this wonderful region. I am honoured and thrilled to work with them. I really am. Maybe I don't say it enough to them, but I am saying it now. I APPRECIATE THESE GUYS VERY MUCH!

Tsem Rinpoche

What I am writing now

Scroll down and click on "older messages" to view archived chit messages. Use 'prev' and 'next' links to navigate between pages

The Unknown

The Known and unknown are both feared,
Known is being comfortable and stagnant,
The unknown may be growth and opportunities,
One shall never know if one fears the unknown more than the known.
Who says the unknown would be worse than the known?
But then again, the unknown is sometimes worse than the known. In the end nothing is known unless we endeavour,
So go pursue all the way with the unknown,
because all unknown with familiarity becomes the known.
~Tsem Rinpoche

Photos On The Go

Click on the images to view the bigger version. And scroll down and click on "View All Photos" to view more images.
This is super good news. Let's hope this trend continues to grow massive until everything is vegan. Tsem Rinpoche 
10 hours ago
In the monasteries we debate out issues for a logical conclusion. I have laid out three possible scenarios regarding: CAN TIBETAN LAMAS MAKE MISTAKES? Please take a look and let me know what you think: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57528
20 hours ago
Dorje Shugden followers in the millions will not abandon their practice. So it would be good if leaders of the Dorje Shugden practicing community met with the Tibetan leadership to work out something that will be a win-win situation for both sides. His Holiness Dalai Lama wants to meet the Chinese current leaders to resolve the Tibet issue. Why not meet the Shugden followers to resolve this issue too? Why forgive one 'enemy' and ignore another?~Tsem Rinpoche (Please read more here: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57431)
yesterday
Adorable little boy paying respects to Lord Shugden. 
yesterday
I hadn't spoken up about the Dorje Shugden 'conflict' for 15 years. Let me explain why: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=57431
2 days ago
Scotch and Mykol who are Valentina's wonderful good friends came to our LA Tsem Ladrang to have dinner. I am so glad they can come as they are nice friends. Tsem Rinpoche 
2 weeks ago
January 15, 2015. On today's Vajra Yogini day, the ladrang arranged a Vajra Yogini mandala made of flowers as an offering. Beautiful. Tsem Rinpoche 
2 weeks ago
January 15, 2015. Today is Vajra Yogini day. So Pastor Jj and our wonderful team has arranged these beautiful offerings on my shrine. Nice.  Tsem Rinpoche 
2 weeks ago
Uncle Lai for years now without a miss comes in once a week to clean the altar of the ladrang. To clean the sacred spots where holy images reside is considered good purification of karmas. He never misses this and then upon completion he makes nice fresh offerings. Uncle Lai is generally a very kind and reliable person. We all love him. Tsem Rinpoche 
2 weeks ago
Kyabje Dagom Rinpoche said to me a few years back that in order to practice or teach dharma these days, it's like being a white crow among the black. That means we will stand out and look unusual. But no matter what we must persevere. I miss this great teacher so much since his passing. He was gentle, scholarly, erudite, accomplished in sutra and tantra and had a very loving demeanor. He treated everyone equally and his vows of a monk were spotless. He was like a bright sun in the night sky. Even the first time I met him, he impacted me very strongly. I have received many teachings from him. He was a student of H.H. Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche and H. H. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche. I brought 60 students with me from various countries to have audience with Kyabje Dagom Rinpoche the last time I had a chance to gaze upon his golden face. His perfect incarnation has returned. May he manifest in this incarnation as the previous. Tsem Rinpoche
2 weeks ago
His Holiness Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche with his close disciple Kyabje Gangchen Rinpoche. Very beautiful and old vintage picture. TR
2 weeks ago
This was the first woman to request Buddha to become a nun. Because of her, the nun's tradition began. She is a Arhat in the Chinese Mahayana Buddhist Tradition. Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
January 10, 2015. Nice to see Kecharians studying the dharma together today. I really enjoy seeing this and Pastor Shin was leading the class. Thank you.
3 weeks ago
How lucky I would be to live here...TR
3 weeks ago
Must share this wisdom always. Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
This is wonderful to remember. Tsem Rinpoche 
3 weeks ago
Pastor Niral giving a talk in Kechara. Wonderful.
3 weeks ago
January 9, 2015. Pastor Seng Piow takes his little nephew out for some toy shopping. The little guy was waiting anxiously to go out. 
3 weeks ago
His Holiness 9th Panchen Lama in Calcutta in 1905.
3 weeks ago
How nice. What a great gift from Mavis Yeh.  Tsem Rinpoche
3 weeks ago
I was so lucky to get teachings by His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche today on the SIX YOGAS OF NAROPA translated by Kyabje Zasep Rinpoche. And also Kyabje Zasep Rinpoche was the one who sent me these videos. How fortunate for me to get this. Tsem Rinpoche 
3 weeks ago
We have wonderful Kechara dharma seniors who are good and caring guides for our precious youths. I am happy to see this. Youths are so important. We must love them, respect them and share dharma with them to they mature into good people. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
Click on this photo and enlarge then read the caption.
4 weeks ago
Beautiful Lady Buddha, not everyone has realized you are the alpha and omega of our inner liberation. Our mind constantly wanders in karmic creations weary yet still travelling of no choice. I seek the solace of your embrace to experience great bliss and home. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
Does this picture remind you where all of our lives are eventually heading to? It's just where in line are you right now? But you still are in line.  Tsem Rinpoche
4 weeks ago
We have to save this one and reflect upon it. TR
4 weeks ago
Very powerful. Never be stuck in our comfort zones. Think out of the box and do more to accomplish our goals. Tsem Rinpoche 
4 weeks ago
I love this type of environment so much. TR
1 month ago
Special gifts of toys and snacks for some special doggies...
1 month ago
This is very helpful. Tsem Rinpoche 
1 month ago
We have to be ready to change when we seek a teacher otherwise stay hidden.~Tsem Rinpoche
1 month ago
15 minutes to watch this will blow your mind: http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/?p=55883
1 month ago
H.H. the current Kyabje Pabongka Rinpoche -December 2014
1 month ago
December 2014-His Holiness Kyabje Pabongka Rinpoche in front of the largest Tsongkapa statue in the world. This Tsongkapa is in Champa Ling Monastery, Chamdo, Tibet. 
1 month ago
This is the perfect setting of the environment of where I like to live. With trees, blue waters, mountains, green, speckled with flowers. TR
1 month ago
Nothing can be found without searching for it. Just because others say you can't do it or don't believe in you or you can't see it, doesn't mean it cannot exist. Never give up!~Tsem Rinpoche 
2 months ago
This Manjushri is in Kechara's publishing wing. Stunning. TR
2 months ago
This Tara is beautiful. Save the pictures. TR
2 months ago
Having dinner with special friends from around the world. We are honored to be with Geshe Konchok Gyeltsen lak. 
2 months ago
This is very powerful. Share it. TR
2 months ago
Decemeber 2014-They just finished their Tsongkapa retreat and I am so glad for them. TR
2 months ago
We have so many mysteries and some can be proven while others not. TR
2 months ago
Amazing and so appropriate for some. 
2 months ago
This is so true and we have to think about it carefully. 
2 months ago
This is so true. It makes sense. 
2 months ago
Good dharma friends explore interesting places together.
2 months ago
These powerful quotes are timeless and I must read from time to time. It brings sanity, peace and focus. Tsem Rinpoche 
2 months ago
This is very interesting news. News I thought was not possible. 
2 months ago
Click on "View All Photos" above to view more images

Videos On The Go

Please click on the images to watch video
  • Socialite becomes a volunteer in Malaysian soup kitchen
    Socialite becomes a volunteer in Malaysian soup kitchen
    In the Malaysian capital, Ruby Khong devotes her lunch hours delivering food to the needy, even when the tropical heat and humidity make it hard to breathe. "It was always about myself, what I wanted and that continued on for a while until 1994," she says. That year, she was on a quest for spiritual guidance in India and met a Buddhist monk named Tsem Rinpoche. Read more here: http://www.bbc.com/news/business-29986205
    3 months ago
  • -
    -
    Mumu always prepares his bed this way before sleeping. Cute.
    3 months ago
  • Watch what Jason Clare said in parliament
    Watch what Jason Clare said in parliament
    Description
    3 months ago
  • Super cute attack. Have to watch!!
    Super cute attack. Have to watch!!
    4 months ago
  • -
    -
    They pump 'things' into poultry to make it look plump and bigger to attract you to buy. Then you eat whatever they've pumped and think how it builds up in your body? Is your taste buds worth it to risk your health? Tsem Rinpoche
    4 months ago
  • -
    -
    Look at this 2 minute video, while Hong Kong is having massive protests,right over the skyline of a city a UFO is spotted observing.. Incredible footage. UFO's are historically said to always gather where there is massive conflicts or congregations of people for hundreds of years.
    4 months ago
  • -
    -
    See this video and do share with friends. See what happens at 1:10........Om Mani Peme Hung Watch it for the sake of the beings within in enduring what they have to endure. Don't think about how you feel because you are not there, but how they feel. Tsem Rinpoche
    4 months ago
  • -
    -
    I just purchased an empty locket from an art store for around $10 and had a nice picture of His Holiness Kyabje Zong Rinpoche inserted in the front and His Holiness Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche inserted on the others side at home. Attached a str...ing and it's good to wear for blessings. Look how beautiful. I am the type, I devote myself to my practice but I remember it is the sole kindness of the guru's teachings. Without the guru there is no dharma at all as I cannot speak to Buddha directly. Tsem Rinpoche
    4 months ago
  • -
    -
    I was gifted this wonderful blingy shiny new pen by a spiritual friend. I didn't know Swarovski pens write so smoothly. I am going to enjoy writing with this. Thank you Jessica Pimentel. Tsem Rinpoche
    4 months ago
  • Is this the Loch Ness monster?
    Is this the Loch Ness monster?
    Description
    5 months ago
  • -
    -
    In Kechara Forest Retreat we have a large aviary with many rescued birds and tortoises. We just built a nice pool for them to cool down in. Tsem Rinpoche
    5 months ago
  • Rescuing dog in LA river
    Rescuing dog in LA river
    5 months ago
  • This is a very inspiring video by Jim Carrey you must see
    This is a very inspiring video by Jim Carrey you must see
    5 months ago
  • Dalai Lama watching TV
    Dalai Lama watching TV
    5 months ago
  • Dog with a heart of Gold
    Dog with a heart of Gold
    Description
    6 months ago
  • 14th Dalai Lama with Mrs.Indira Gandhi , Delhi INDIA 1966
    14th Dalai Lama with Mrs.Indira Gandhi , Delhi INDIA 1966
    8 months ago
  • The Girl Who Couldn't Cry - Water is Life
    The Girl Who Couldn't Cry - Water is Life
    It's really hard to educate a generation of people born in conditions where they take things for granted. A simple slogan campaign that says, "Save water, It's precious" isn't sticky enough to make inroads. That's exactly where this video steps in: to make people realize how precious water actually is. A brilliant video that follows the heartbreaking story of a young girl that cannot cry. Sounds like fiction? Sadly, it is not.
    8 months ago
  • -
    -
    Dear everyone, All sentient beings deserve to live, be happy and not hurt, including animals. We should never hurt them or eat them. Look how much this chicken welcomes a hug and love. Observe carefully. Don't eat beings who can feel pain because the karma comes back. Tsem Rinpoche
    9 months ago
  • The appreciation shown here is so deep and touching.
    The appreciation shown here is so deep and touching.
    Dear friends, See this incredible video. This chimp was found in captivity for many years. Dr Jane Goodall released him into the wild. Look how he comes back to thank her with deep apprecition. It's amazing. Animals have such strong feelings of pain and happiness just like us. We should never hurt them and share with others to not hurt them. Tsem Rinpoche http://www.tsemrinpoche.com
    9 months ago
  • Aki drinking some water in the aviary
    Aki drinking some water in the aviary
    Aki is a rescued bird, he now lives in Kechara Forest Retreat Aviary
    11 months ago
  • Jamyang enjoying some fresh corn
    Jamyang enjoying some fresh corn
    Jamyang is one of our rescue birds that live in Kechara Forest Retreat Aviary
    11 months ago
  • The Cute Mumus Practising Dog Orchestra at Kechara Forest Retreat
    The Cute Mumus Practising Dog Orchestra at Kechara Forest Retreat
    Today the Mumus (dogs) decided to do a dog orchestra rehearsal together with the Kechara Forest Retreat (KFR) dogs.
    11 months ago
  • -
    -
    Gongkar is our new bird for Kechara Forest Retreat's aviary. Gongkar never had friends and the original owner could not bring him to his destination. Now he is with us and assimilating in his cage within the aviary for a few weeks then released into aviary. Look at how much he wants attention from the other birds. Cute. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 years ago
  • Mumu, Oser and Dharma running and having a good time. I love seeing them playing. Tsem Rinpoche
    Mumu, Oser and Dharma running and having a good time. I love seeing them playing. Tsem Rinpoche
    1 years ago
  • Mumus running at Kechara Forest Retreat
    Mumus running at Kechara Forest Retreat
    1 years ago
  • Kechara Forest Retreat panorama, September 2013
    Kechara Forest Retreat panorama, September 2013
    1 years ago
  • -
    -
    Dechog our cockatoo at Kechara Forest Retreat grabbing long beans which he loves. Nice bird. We love him. Tsem Rinpoche
    2 yearss ago
  • The mumus having outdoor evening stroll!!!
    The mumus having outdoor evening stroll!!!
    2 yearss ago
  • -
    -
    17 May 2013, heavy rain at Kechara Forest Retreat from 7am-8am (1 hour). Water overflowed the existing drain and also opened up a much wider new "route" for itself.
    2 yearss ago
  • Must see video from Rajendra on our disciplined dogs
    Must see video from Rajendra on our disciplined dogs
    2 yearss ago

ASK A PASTOR


A section for you to clarify your Dharma questions with Kechara’s esteemed pastors.

Just post your name and your question below and one of our pastors will provide you with an answer.

Scroll down and click on "View All Questions" to view archived questions.

View All Questions

SUPPORT THIS BLOG


Featured Books


Related Links To Myself

My Blog in Chinese:
zhandugu.blog.163.com
My website:
www.tsemtulku.com
My organisation's website:
www.kechara.com





CHAT PICTURES

Reading and hold discussions on Tsem Rinpoche's blog chat weekly promotes healthy learning together @ Kechara Puja House team. 29Jan15 may ong
49 minutes ago
House blessing in a new house today lead by Pastor Yek Yee and puja team. 29Jan15 may ong
56 minutes ago
Alter setup of Dorje Shugden for a sponsor today in Kechara Puja House. 29Jan15 may ong
58 minutes ago
Homeless no more! Uncle Tai (who was beaten and robbed the other night) is now living life #offthestreet. We also gave him new set of clothes and shower before referring him to Pusat Kebajikan Global for permanent stay. It took us quite a few days prior to this to build the trust that we can actually help him. Happy that this 72 year old uncle is now able to sleep on a comfortable bed with people taking care of him. Justin@KSK
2 hours ago
Students from INTI International University & Colleges who helped in the kitchen today! Justin@KSK
3 hours ago
Bless your home with beautiful Dorje Shugden canvas thangka available now at Kechara House gompa souvenir shop. Lucy Yap
5 hours ago
Karma is not fixed, take hope in that.~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
5 hours ago
No matter how big the opposition is, keep trying.~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
6 hours ago
Bless your home with this beautiful Dorje Shugden canvas thangka now available for invite at Kechara House gompa souvenir shop. Lucy Yap
6 hours ago
6 hours ago
Sometimes we have to realize nothing is fixed~~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
6 hours ago
Our life is filled with endless mysteries, embrace them and don't be attached~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
6 hours ago
Love is easy if we surrender our anger~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
6 hours ago
We could never harm another, but that doesn't mean we sit by and be harmed. ~ Tsem Rinpoche_Share by Frederick Law
yesterday
I am not always available to meet, but my teachings are online always.~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
yesterday
I am not always available to meet, but my teachings are online always.~Tsem Rinpoche_share by Frederick Law
yesterday
Being kind to animals should be effortless.~Tsem Rinpoche_Share by Frederick Law
yesterday
Weekly Dzambala puja (E) at Kechara House gompa was led by Tat Ming and assisted Choo Weng Loong. Time: 8pm to 9.30pm. Lucy Yap
yesterday
Tonight's puja attendance in Kechara gompa for Lord Setrap and Dorje Shugden in chinese lead by Pastors. 28Jan15 may ong
yesterday
At Puja House other than doing Torma, pujas, volunteers and staffs gathered to learn and discuss Dharma together from H.E Tsem Tulku Rinpoche Blog. http://www.tsemrinpoche.com/
yesterday
Weekly Dzambala puja (E) at Kechara House was led by Tat Ming and assisted by Choo Weng Loong. Time: 8pm to 9.30 pm. Lucy Yap
yesterday
Our Wednesday "A" team (from left) Ashley, Annabelle, Angeline and Agnieszka. Justin@KSK
yesterday
Kechara House gompa is beautifully set up for tonight's auspicious double Protector Dorje Shugden and Setrap puja. Puja starts at 8pm to 9.30pm. Lucy Yap
yesterday
New volunteers, Shuni and Hecelus Tan prepared cleaned fruits for the 1st double protector puja in chinese tonight. 28Jan15 may ong
yesterday
#Gyabshi puja for a sponsor to remove dangerous negative energy and obstacles of health, financial or supernatural causes. 28Jan15 may ong
yesterday

YOUR FEEDBACK

We are continously improving this blog, and a major upgrade will be coming in the near future. We invite all users to share your feedback with us, so that the next version of the blog will be even better. Just enter your comments in the space below.

Page Views By Country
Malaysia 1,923,717
United States 1,048,875
Singapore 352,338
United Kingdom 219,003
Canada 198,431
Australia 180,231
India 140,490
Philippines 92,829
Thailand 62,377
Indonesia 71,824
Germany 62,221
France 37,991
Netherlands 36,143
Bhutan 36,925
Italy 30,328
Hong Kong 29,038
Romania 27,588
Spain 27,614
New Zealand 27,277
Nepal 24,840
Taiwan 29,344
Brazil 26,402
Mexico 20,561
Portugal 20,615
Sweden 21,030
Switzerland 24,713
Japan 16,985
United Arab Emirates 14,595
South Africa 14,340
Greece 14,843
Vietnam 15,348
Hungary 14,713
Sri Lanka 13,308
Ireland 13,905
Bulgaria 12,776
Poland 15,236
Pakistan 10,559
Mongolia 11,714
Russia 12,037
Total Pageviews: 5,228,291

Login